DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when this claim recites "optical film…having a yellowness index of 3.0”, because the yellow index of an optical film depends upon its thickness; without setting forth the thickness associated with the yellowness index as claimed, the scope of the claimed range has not been clearly apprised. Claims 2-18 are also rejected for depending from claim 1, thus inclusion of its indefinite features.
Claim 1 is rejected as being vague and indefinite because the parameter of restoring force based on Equation 1 and 2 apparently depends upon the temperature at which the modulus and Poission’s ratio being measured, without setting forth the temperature associated with the parameter and elastic strain index as claimed, the scope of the claimed ranges have not been clearly apprised. In addition, in Equation 2, the definition of modulus is not clear. Claims 2-18 are also rejected for depending from claim 1, thus inclusion of its indefinite features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Choi et al (US 2023/0374219, ‘219 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-13 and 15-18, ‘219 discloses an optic film having a yellowness index less than 3.0 (Example 1, Table 2) comprising a polymer resin being a polyimide-amide derived from a first diamine-based compound is 2,2'-bis(trifluoromethyl) benzidine as in the present claims 9 and 15 (Example 1, Table 1), a second diamine-based compound being 3,3’-diaminodiphenylmethane (3DDS) (Example 1, Table 1), a dianhydride being 2,2′-bis(3,4-dicarboxyphenyl) hexafluoropropane dianhydride (6-FDA), and a dicarbonyl-based compound being terephthaloyl chloride (TPC) (Example 1, Table 1); wherein the amount of amide repeating unit is higher than 80% based on total number of imide and amide units, satisfying the limitations of present claims 3 and 4, and the molar ratio of the first diamine-based compound to second diamine compound can be 75:25 satisfying the limitations of present claims 12 and 18 (Example 1, Table 1). The polyimide-amide of ‘219 satisfies all the limitations of present claims 4-11 and 15-17 (it is noted that the claims do not require the first and second dianhydride having different chemical structures). ‘219 does not expressly set forth that the optical film satisfying Equation 1 and 2 as recited in the present claims 1 and 2. However, as set forth above, ‘219 discloses an optical film formed from a polyimide-amide polymerized from TFMB, 3DDS, FDA and TPC being majority monomers, which are identical to the monomers used in preparing polyimide-amide of present application (See Examples of the present application); therefore, it is reasonable to expect that the optical film of ‘219 would have possess all the properties including restoring force and elastic strain index as presently claimed, in absence of an objective showing to the contrary. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also MPEP § 2112.01(I)-(II).
Regarding claim 14, ‘219 also discloses that the optical film can be applied on a display panel as a cover window to form a display device (Fig. 2, [0023]-[0024]).
Claim 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Choi et al (US 2023/0375750, ‘750 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-13 and 15-18, ‘750 discloses an optic film having a yellowness index less than 3.0 (Example 4, Table 2) comprising a polymer resin being a polyimide-amide derived from a first diamine-based compound is 2,2'-bis(trifluoromethyl) benzidine as in present claims 9 and 15 (Example 4, Table 1), a second diamine-based compound being 3,3’-diaminodiphenylmethane (3DDS) (Example 4, Table 1), a dianhydride being 2,2′-bis(3,4-dicarboxyphenyl) hexafluoropropane dianhydride (6-FDA), and a dicarbonyl-based compound being terephthaloyl chloride (TPC) (Example 1, Table 1); wherein the amount of amide repeating unit is higher than 80% based on total number of imide and amide units, satisfying the limitations of present claims 3 and 4, and molar ratio of the first diamine-based compound to second diamine compound can be 75:25 satisfying the limitations of the present claims 12 and 18 (Example 4, Table 1). The polyimide-amide of ‘750 satisfies all the limitations of present claims 4-11 and 15-17 (it is noted that the claim does not require the first and second dianhydride having different chemical structures). ‘750 does not expressly set forth that the optical film satisfying Equation 1 and 2 as recited in the present claims 1 and 2. However, as set forth above, ‘750 discloses an optical film formed from a polyimide-amide polymerized from TFMB, 3DDS, FDA and TPC being majority monomers, which are identical to the monomers used in preparing polyimide-amide of present application (See Examples of the present application); therefore, it is reasonable to expect that the optical film of ‘750 would have possess all the properties including restoring force and elastic strain index as presently claimed, in absence of an objective showing to the contrary. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also MPEP § 2112.01(I)-(II).
Regarding claim 14, ‘750 also discloses that the optical film can be applied on a display panel as a cover window to form a display device (Fig. 2, [0028]-[0029]).
Claims 1-9 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2020/0407506, ‘506 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-9 and 15, ‘506 discloses an optic film having a yellowness index less than 3.0 (Examples, Table 1, [0339]) comprising a polymer resin being a polyimide-amide derived from diamine diamine-based compound is 2,2'-bis(trifluoromethyl) benzidine as in present claims 9 and 15 (also named 2,2′-bis(trifluoromethyl)-4,4′-diaminobiphenyl, TFMB, Examples, Table 1, [0339]), a dianhydride being 2,2′-bis(3,4-dicarboxyphenyl) hexafluoropropane dianhydride (6-FDA), and a dicarbonyl-based compound being terephthaloyl chloride (TPC) (Examples, Table 1, [00339]); wherein the amount of amide repeating unit is higher than 80% based on total number of imide and amide units (Examples, Table 1); which satisfies all the limitations of present claims 3-9 and 15 (it is noted that the claim does not require the first and second diamine or first and second dianhydride having different chemical structures). ‘506 does not expressly set forth that the optical film satisfying Equation 1 and 2 as recited in the present claims 1 and 2. However, as set forth above, ‘506 discloses an optical film formed from a polyimide-amide polymerized from TFMB, FDA and TPC being majority monomers, which are substantially identical to the monomers used in preparing polyimide-amide of present application (See Examples of the present application); therefore, it is reasonable to expect that the optical film of ‘506 would have possess all the properties including restoring force and elastic strain index as presently claimed, in absence of an objective showing to the contrary. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also MPEP § 2112.01(I)-(II).
Regarding claim 14, ‘506 also discloses that the optical film can be applied on a display panel as a cover window to form a display device([0004]-[0008], [0336]).
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2020/0407506, ‘506 hereafter) in view of Miyamoto et al (US 2019/0390057, ‘057 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-11 and 15-17, ‘506 discloses an optic film having a yellowness index less than 3.0 (Examples, Table 1, [0339]) comprising a polymer resin being a polyimide-amide derived from diamine diamine-based compound is 2,2'-bis(trifluoromethyl) benzidine as in present claims 9 and 15 (TFMB, Examples, Table 1, [0339]), a dianhydride being 2,2′-bis(3,4-dicarboxyphenyl) hexafluoropropane dianhydride (6-FDA), and a dicarbonyl-based compound being terephthaloyl chloride (TPC) (Examples, Table 1, [00339]); wherein the amount of amide repeating unit is higher than 80% based on total number of imide and amide units (Examples, Table 1). ‘506 does not expressly the polyimide-amide further include a second diamine-based compound satisfying present claims 10-11 and 16-17. However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘057 discloses an optical film made from a polyimide-amide, wherein the polyimide-amide can be prepared from either one diamine being TFMB or a combination of TFMB with another aromatic diamine including 4,4’diaminodiphenyl methane ((MDA), 4,4’diaminodiphenyl sulfone (4DDS), 3,3’-diaminodiphenylmethane (3DDS) or 4,4’diaminodiphenyl ether (ODA) ([0062], Example 10), to render a polyimide-amide satisfying all the limitations of the present claims 5-8, and an optical film having similar properties including Elastic modulus, surface hardness and bending resistance (Table 2). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a mixture of diamine-based compound including TFMB with MDA, 4DDS, 3DDS or ODA, to render a polyimide-amide having similar properties; and because the simple substitution of one known element (such as MDA, 4DDS, 3DDS or ODA) for another (part of TFMB) that would provide predictable results (similar optical and mechanical properties in the present case) would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan (See MPEP 2143 (B)). The cited prior art does not expressly set forth that the optical film satisfying Equation 1 and 2 as recited in the present claims 1 and 2. However, as set forth above, modified ‘506 fairly suggests an optical film formed from a polyimide-amide polymerized from TFMB, 3DDS or 4DDS, FDA and TPC being majority monomers, which are substantially identical to the monomers used in preparing polyimide-amide of present application (See Examples of the present application); therefore, it is reasonable to expect that the prior art optical film would have possess all the properties including restoring force and elastic strain index as presently claimed, in absence of an objective showing to the contrary. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also MPEP § 2112.01(I)-(II).
Regarding claims 12-13 and 18, modified ‘506 teaches all the limitations of claims 7 and 8, ‘057 also discloses that the molar ratio of first diamine (TFMB) to second diamine (ODA and the like) can be 60:40 (Table 1, Example 9 and 10), satisfying present claims 12 and 18; and the weight average molecular weight can be 70,000 to 450,000 ([0037]), which significantly overlaps the instantly claimed range as in claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, modified ‘506 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘506 also discloses that the optical film can be applied on a display panel as a cover window to form a display device([0004]-[0008], [0336]).
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782