DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments filed on 09/01/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-2, 4, and 12-14 are currently under examination on the merits.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Choi et al (US 2023/0374219, ‘219 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4 and 12-13, ‘219 discloses an optic film having a yellowness index less than 3.0 (Example 1, Table 2) comprising a polymer resin being a polyimide-amide derived from a first diamine-based compound is 2,2' bis(trifluoromethyl) benzidine (Example 1, Table 1), a second diamine-based compound being 3,3’-diaminodiphenylmethane (3DDS)(Example 1, Table 1), a first and second dianhydride being 2,2′-bis(3,4-dicarboxyphenyl) hexafluoropropane dianhydride (6-FDA) (It is noted that the claim does not require the first and second dianhydride having different chemical structures, Example 1, Table 1), and a dicarbonyl-based compound being terephthaloyl chloride (TPC) (Example 1, Table 1); wherein the amount of amide repeating unit is higher than 80% based on total number of imide and amide units, satisfying the limitations of present claim 4, and the molar ratio of the first diamine-based compound to second diamine compound can be 75:25 satisfying the limitations of present claim 12 (Example 1, Table 1). ‘219 does not expressly set forth that the optical film satisfying Equation 1 and 2 as recited in the present claims 1 and 2. However, as set forth above, ‘219 discloses an optical film formed from a polyimide-amide polymerized from TFMB, 3DDS, FDA and TPC being majority monomers, which are identical to the monomers used in preparing polyimide-amide of present application (See Examples of the present application); therefore, it is reasonable to expect that the optical film of ‘219 would have possessed all the properties including restoring force and elastic strain index as presently claimed, in absence of an objective showing to the contrary. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also MPEP § 2112.01(I)-(II).
Regarding claim 14, ‘219 also discloses that the optical film can be applied on a display panel as a cover window to form a display device (Fig. 2, [0023]-[0024]).
Claim 1-2, 4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Choi et al (US 2023/0375750, ‘750 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4 and 12-13, ‘750 discloses an optic film having a yellowness index less than 3.0 (Example 4, Table 2) comprising a polymer resin being a polyimide-amide derived from a first diamine-based compound is 2,2'-bis(trifluoromethyl) benzidine (Example 4, Table 1), a second diamine-based compound being 3,3’-diaminodiphenylmethane (3DDS) (Example 4, Table 1), a first and a second dianhydride being 2,2′-bis(3,4-dicarboxyphenyl) hexafluoropropane dianhydride (6-FDA) (It is noted that the claim does not require the first and second dianhydride having different chemical structures, Example 1, Table 1), and a dicarbonyl-based compound being terephthaloyl chloride (TPC) (Example 1, Table 1); wherein the amount of amide repeating unit is higher than 80% based on total number of imide and amide units, satisfying the limitations of present claim 4, and molar ratio of the first diamine-based compound to second diamine compound can be 75:25 satisfying the limitations of the present claims 12 (Example 4, Table 1).. ‘750 does not expressly set forth that the optical film satisfying Equation 1 and 2 as recited in the present claims 1 and 2. However, as set forth above, ‘750 discloses an optical film formed from a polyimide-amide polymerized from TFMB, 3DDS, FDA and TPC being majority monomers, which are identical to the monomers used in preparing polyimide-amide of present application (See Examples of the present application); therefore, it is reasonable to expect that the optical film of ‘750 would have possessed all the properties including restoring force and elastic strain index as presently claimed, in absence of an objective showing to the contrary. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also MPEP § 2112.01(I)-(II).
Regarding claim 14, ‘750 also discloses that the optical film can be applied on a display panel as a cover window to form a display device (Fig. 2, [0028]-[0029]).
Claim 1-2, 4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Masui et al (JP 2020109156, of record, IDS 02/10/2025, ‘156 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4 and 12-13, ‘156 discloses an optic film ([0002], [0005]-[0006]-[0012]) comprising a polymer resin being a polyimide-amide derived from a first diamine-based compound is 2,2'-bis(trifluoromethyl) benzidine (Example 2, TFMB, [0192]); a second diamine-based compound being 2,2-bis(4-aminophenyl)hexafluoro propane (Example 2, 6FDAM, [0192]); a first and a second dianhydride being 2,2′-bis(3,4-dicarboxyphenyl) hexafluoropropane dianhydride (Example 2, 6-FDA, [0192], It is noted that the claims do not require the first and second dianhydride having different chemical structures), and a first dicarbonyl-based compound being bis(trifluoromethyl-biphenyldicarboxylic acid (Example 2, 6FBPDOC, [0192]), and a second dicarbonyl-based compound being oxybis(benzoyl chloride (Example 2, OBBC, [0192]); wherein the amount of amide repeating unit is higher than 80% based on total number of imide and amide units (40.21+5.59+10.17/5.59+5.59+40.21+10.17=90.1 mol%, [0192]), satisfying the limitations of present claim 4, the molar ratio of the first diamine-based compound to second diamine compound can be 90:10 satisfying the limitations of present claim 12 (Example 2. [0192], 11.11/100=90:10), and the weight average molecular weight being 227,000, satisfying present claim 13 ([0192]). ‘156 does not expressly set forth that the optical film satisfying yellow index and Equation 1 and 2 as recited in the present claims 1 and 2. However, as set forth above, ‘156 discloses an optical film formed from a polyimide-amide polymerized from two diamine and two dicarbonyl-based compounds being substantially identical to the monomers used in preparing polyimide-amide of present application (See Examples of the present application); therefore, it is reasonable to expect that the optical film of ‘156 would have possessed all the properties including yellow index, restoring force and elastic strain index as presently claimed, in absence of an objective showing to the contrary. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also MPEP § 2112.01(I)-(II).
Regarding claim 14, ‘156 also discloses that the optical film can be applied on a display panel as a front cover to form a display device ([0165]-[0166]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/01/2026 have been fully considered. The rejections over references ‘219 and ‘750 have been maintained for the applicant fails to submit certified English translation of foreign priority documents of present application to perfect priority date.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782