DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 9/2/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the non-final Office Action mailed 6/3/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claim 20 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Group I and claim 20 lack unity of invention (based on the originally filed claims in Group I) because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a lifting basket with a cover plate, a support assembly, a lifting basket bottom plate and a sample holder, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of EP 3178558, hereinafter Williams. Williams teaches a lifting basket (item 800), comprising a cover plate (item 821), a support assembly (lateral side of item 800), a lifting basket bottom plate (figure 5) for holding at least two rows of reagent strips (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), and a sample holder (item 830) for holding at least two sample tubes (item 802), wherein the sample holder is detachably connected to an end face of the lifting basket bottom plate (figures 7, 8D and 8E); the cover plate is rotatably connected to the lifting basket bottom plate to restrict movement of each of the at least two rows of reagent strips in a height direction when the cover plate contacts the lifting basket bottom plate (figure 5); and the support assembly is connected to a bottom surface of the lifting basket bottom plate (figure 5), and a height of the support assembly is greater than or equal to heights of the at least two rows of reagent strips (figure 5).
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 20 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3178558, hereinafter Williams in view of United States Patent No. 5,058,397, hereinafter MacDonald.
Regarding claim 1, Williams teaches a lifting basket (item 800), comprising, a support assembly (lateral side of item 800), a lifting basket bottom plate (the bottom plate as shown in figure 5) for holding at least two rows of reagent strips (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), and a sample holder (item 830) for holding at least two sample tubes (item 802), wherein the sample holder is detachably connected to an end face of the lifting basket bottom plate (figures 7, 8D and 8E); the at least two rows of reagent strips are movable in a length direction of the lifting basket bottom plate (figure 5); and the support assembly is connected to a bottom surface of the lifting basket bottom plate (figure 5), and a height of the support assembly is greater than or equal to heights of the at least two rows of reagent strips (figure 5).
Williams fails to teach a cover plate that is rotatably connected to the lifting basket bottom plate to restrict movement of each of the at least two rows of reagent strips in a height direction when the cover plate contacts the lifting basket bottom plate.
MacDonald teaches a storage container which has a cover which is connected to the device via a hinge (MacDonald, column 3, lines 43-66) which allows the cover to retain tubes in the housing (MacDonald, column 2, lines 30-36).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a cover which is rotatable connected to the lifting based bottom plate because it would restrict movement of the contents within the basket (MacDonald, column 2, lines 30-36). Further the examiner notes that the cover plate is rotatably connected to the lifting basket bottom plate and therefore the cover plate is always contacting the lifting basket bottom plate whether the cover plate is opened or closed and as such the at least two rows of reagent strips are movable in a length direction of the lifting basket bottom plate (see supra).
Regarding claim 2, Williams teaches a handle (item 806), wherein the handle is rotatably connected to the lifting basket bottom plate (figure 5 and 8).
Regarding claim 3, Williams teaches the lifting basket bottom plate (the bottom plate as shown in figure 5) has a handle mounting edge (the side of the bottom plate) and a plurality of reagent-strip mounting holes (figure 5) for holding the at least two rows of reagent strips (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in figure 5), and the handle mounting edge is arranged around the lifting basket bottom plate (figure 5); the handle (item 806) contacts the handle mounting edge when the handle is not rotated relative to the lifting basket bottom plate (figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, Williams teaches wherein a buffer pad (item 808) is provided on an upper surface of the handle mounting edge (figure 5).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams and MacDonald as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of United States Application Publication No. 2019/0031421, hereinafter Kneisel.
Regarding claim 5, Williams and MacDonald teach all limitations of claim 4; however, they fail to teach a first magnet is provided on a top surface of the lifting basket bottom plate, a second magnet is provided on a bottom surface of the cover plate, and the first magnet is attracted to the second magnet when the cover plate contacts the lifting basket bottom plate.
Kneisel teaches a device which has a lid magnet and a base magnet so that the lid can be magnetically couple the lid to the base member (Kneisel, abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a first magnet in the top surface of the lifting based bottom plate and a second magnet on the bottom surface of the cover plate because it would allow for the lifting basket bottom plate and cover plate to be magnetically coupled (Kneisel, abstract).
Claim(s) 6 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams and MacDonald as applied to claims 2, 3, 4 and 5, respectively, above, and further in view of United States Application Publication No. 2021/0180043, hereinafter Carrese.
Regarding claim 6, Williams and MacDonald teach all limitations of claim 2; however, they fail to teach a positioning assembly, wherein the positioning assembly comprises a guide seat, an extension spring, a guide shaft provided along the length direction of the lifting basket bottom plate, and a baffle for limiting the at least two rows of reagent strips, the guide seat is connected to the bottom surface of the lifting basket bottom plate; and the guide shaft is slidably connected to the guide seat, one end of the guide shaft is vertically connected to the baffle, and two ends of the extension spring are respectively connected to the baffle and the bottom surface of the lifting basket bottom plate.
Carrese teaches a positioning assembly (Carrese, item 900), wherein the positioning assembly comprises a guide seat (Carrese, item 906), an extension spring (Carrese, item 924), a guide shaft (Carrese, item 919) provided along a length direction of the lifting basket bottom plate (Carrese, figure 9), and a baffle (Carrese, item 902) for limiting the at least two rows of reagent strips (Carrese, figure 10b), the guide seat is connected to the bottom surface of the lifting basket bottom plate (Carrese, figure 8b); and the guide shaft is slidably connected to the guide seat (Carrese, figure 9), one end of the guide shaft is vertically connected to the baffle (Carrese, figure 9), and two ends of the extension spring are respectively connected to the baffle and the bottom surface of the lifting basket bottom plate (Carrese, figure 9) so that a bottom surface of the rack can contact a top surface of the magnet holder to apply a magnetic force to the receptacles (Carrese, paragraph [0193]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the positioning assembly of Carrese to the device of Williams because it would allow for the bottom surface of the rack can contact a top surface of the magnet holder to apply a magnetic force to the receptacles (Carrese, paragraph [0193]).
Regarding claim 11, Williams and MacDonald teach all limitations of claim 3; however, they fail to teach a positioning assembly, wherein the positioning assembly comprises a guide seat, an extension spring, a guide shaft provided along a length direction of the lifting basket bottom plate, and a baffle for limiting the at least two rows of reagent strips, the guide seat is connected to the bottom surface of the lifting basket bottom plate; and the guide shaft is slidably connected to the guide seat, one end of the guide shaft is vertically connected to the baffle, and two ends of the extension spring are respectively connected to the baffle and the bottom surface of the lifting basket bottom plate.
Carrese teaches a positioning assembly (Carrese, item 900), wherein the positioning assembly comprises a guide seat (Carrese, item 906), an extension spring (Carrese, item 924), a guide shaft (Carrese, item 919) provided along a length direction of the lifting basket bottom plate (Carrese, figure 9), and a baffle (Carrese, item 902) for limiting the at least two rows of reagent strips (Carrese, figure 10b), the guide seat is connected to the bottom surface of the lifting basket bottom plate (Carrese, figure 8b); and the guide shaft is slidably connected to the guide seat (Carrese, figure 9), one end of the guide shaft is vertically connected to the baffle (Carrese, figure 9), and two ends of the extension spring are respectively connected to the baffle and the bottom surface of the lifting basket bottom plate (Carrese, figure 9) so that a bottom surface of the rack can contact a top surface of the magnet holder to apply a magnetic force to the receptacles (Carrese, paragraph [0193]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the positioning assembly of Carrese to the device of Williams because it would allow for the bottom surface of the rack can contact a top surface of the magnet holder to apply a magnetic force to the receptacles (Carrese, paragraph [0193]).
Regarding claim 12, Williams and MacDonald teach all limitations of claim 4; however, they fail to teach a positioning assembly, wherein the positioning assembly comprises a guide seat, an extension spring, a guide shaft provided along a length direction of the lifting basket bottom plate, and a baffle for limiting the at least two rows of reagent strips, the guide seat is connected to the bottom surface of the lifting basket bottom plate; and the guide shaft is slidably connected to the guide seat, one end of the guide shaft is vertically connected to the baffle, and two ends of the extension spring are respectively connected to the baffle and the bottom surface of the lifting basket bottom plate.
Carrese teaches a positioning assembly (Carrese, item 900), wherein the positioning assembly comprises a guide seat (Carrese, item 906), an extension spring (Carrese, item 924), a guide shaft (Carrese, item 919) provided along a length direction of the lifting basket bottom plate (Carrese, figure 9), and a baffle (Carrese, item 902) for limiting the at least two rows of reagent strips (Carrese, figure 10b), the guide seat is connected to the bottom surface of the lifting basket bottom plate (Carrese, figure 8b); and the guide shaft is slidably connected to the guide seat (Carrese, figure 9), one end of the guide shaft is vertically connected to the baffle (Carrese, figure 9), and two ends of the extension spring are respectively connected to the baffle and the bottom surface of the lifting basket bottom plate (Carrese, figure 9) so that a bottom surface of the rack can contact a top surface of the magnet holder to apply a magnetic force to the receptacles (Carrese, paragraph [0193]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the positioning assembly of Carrese to the device of Williams because it would allow for the bottom surface of the rack can contact a top surface of the magnet holder to apply a magnetic force to the receptacles (Carrese, paragraph [0193]).
Regarding claim 13, Williams and MacDonald teach all limitations of claim 5; however, they fail to teach a positioning assembly, wherein the positioning assembly comprises a guide seat, an extension spring, a guide shaft provided along a length direction of the lifting basket bottom plate, and a baffle for limiting the at least two rows of reagent strips, the guide seat is connected to the bottom surface of the lifting basket bottom plate; and the guide shaft is slidably connected to the guide seat, one end of the guide shaft is vertically connected to the baffle, and two ends of the extension spring are respectively connected to the baffle and the bottom surface of the lifting basket bottom plate.
Carrese teaches a positioning assembly (Carrese, item 900), wherein the positioning assembly comprises a guide seat (Carrese, item 906), an extension spring (Carrese, item 924), a guide shaft (Carrese, item 919) provided along a length direction of the lifting basket bottom plate (Carrese, figure 9), and a baffle (Carrese, item 902) for limiting the at least two rows of reagent strips (Carrese, figure 10b), the guide seat is connected to the bottom surface of the lifting basket bottom plate (Carrese, figure 8b); and the guide shaft is slidably connected to the guide seat (Carrese, figure 9), one end of the guide shaft is vertically connected to the baffle (Carrese, figure 9), and two ends of the extension spring are respectively connected to the baffle and the bottom surface of the lifting basket bottom plate (Carrese, figure 9) so that a bottom surface of the rack can contact a top surface of the magnet holder to apply a magnetic force to the receptacles (Carrese, paragraph [0193]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the positioning assembly of Carrese to the device of Williams because it would allow for the bottom surface of the rack can contact a top surface of the magnet holder to apply a magnetic force to the receptacles (Carrese, paragraph [0193]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams, MacDonald and Carrese as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of United States Application Publication No. 2013/0100549, hereinafter Nichols.
Regarding claim 7, Williams teaches the C-shaped handle are rotatably connected to two ends of the lifting basket bottom plate in the length direction of the lifting basket bottom plate (figures 5 and 8).
Williams, MacDonald and Carrese fail to teach the handle comprises two C-shaped handles of a same size and opposite rotation directions.
Nichols teaches a device which has one or two carrying handles (Nichols, paragraph [0032]).
Examiner further finds that the prior art included each element claimed (as set forth above), although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements within a single reference. Moreover, an ordinarily skilled artisan could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., using two handles instead of one), and that in combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately (i.e., carrying the basket), and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Therefore, pursuant to MPEP §2143 (I), Examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention to combine the single handle of reference Williams with two handles of reference Nichols, since the result would have been predictable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Williams in view of MacDonald does not teach the at least two rows of reagent strips are movable in a length direction of the lifting basket bottom plate when the cover plate contacts the lifting basket bottom plate is not found persuasive. As shown above, Williams teaches that the at least two rows of reagent strips are movable in a length direction of the lifting basket bottom plate. The cover as added by MacDonald is also rotatably connected to the lifting basket bottom plate as shown above. As the cover added by MacDonald is rotatably connected to the lifting basket bottom plate, the cover would always contact the lifting basket bottom plate. With the cover always contacting the lifting basket bottom plate, as long as the two rows of reagent strips are movable in a length direction of the lifting basket bottom plate at some point during use, the claim is rendered as obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796