Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 05/12/26 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the independent claims, Applicant argues Lee fails to disclose “providing, by the device, the measurement results defined by the CDDM to a management server” [Remarks pg. 10-11]. Examiner respectively disagrees. As discussed below, Lee discloses the user device (device) performing measurements, based on input/parameters from the management server/base station (server), and transmitting those measurements back to the server [pg. 9-10 (see particularly pg. 10 par. 4)]. Applicant additionally argues Lee fails to disclose the amendment “receiving, by the device, a command from the [server] to perform an action according to a determination based on the measurement results defined by the CDDM” [Remarks pg. 11]. Applicant’s arguments with respect this have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument, where Examiner additionally notes Applicant’s change from the originally recited “parameters” in dependent claim 3 (i.e., arguably part of the aforementioned communication from the server to the device) to “measurement results” requires a different interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-12, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20070049445 A) in view of Wallentin (US 20230217329 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a method for performing cellular diagnostics [fig. 3, pg. 9-10], comprising:
conducting, by a device [fig. 1 no. 300], a quality measurement procedure to obtain measurement results associated with radio communication, wherein the device telecommunicates with at least one base station [fig. 1 no. 200] (Diagnostic server compiles and terminal(s) perform some number (e.g., up to 20) of measurements [pg. 10 par. 1 (P10:P1)]);
configuring, by the device, the measurement results according to a Cellular Diagnostic Data Model (Terminal(s) analyze DM test scenario(s) in order to perform the DM measurement(s) (e.g., RSS, SIR) according to the scenario(s) (i.e., according to CDDM) [P10:P4, 1]); and
providing, by the device, the measurement results defined by the Cellular Diagnostic Data Model to a management server [fig. 1 no. 100, 110] (Terminal(s) transmit results (i.e., defined by CDDM) to diag server [P10:P4]).
Although Lee discloses receiving, by the device, a command from the management server to perform … defined by the Cellular Diagnostic Data Model, as discussed above, Lee does not explicitly disclose an action according to a determination based on the measurement results. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Wallentin.
In the same field of endeavor, Wallentin discloses:
an action according to a determination based on the measurement results (UE sends measurement report to network and receives an action to perform based on the measurement results [fig. 18 no. 1-7]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with Wallentin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of performing mobility operations in relation to cells in a wireless network based on conditions [Wallentin 0001, 20].
Regarding claim 9, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in apparatus claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Lee further discloses a Device [fig. 1 no. 300, fig. 5A, P12:P5], comprising: a memory storing computer-readable instructions [fig. 5A no. D200, P13:P1]; and a processor connected to the memory [fig. 5A no. D100, P13:P2].
Regarding claim 17, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in CRM claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Lee further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable media having computer-readable instructions stored thereon [fig. 4, 5A no. D100, P13:P2].
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 18, Lee and Wallentin disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Lee further discloses:
wherein the providing, by the device, the measurement results defined by the Cellular Diagnostic Data Model to the management server includes providing the measurement results defined by the Cellular Diagnostic Data Model to the management server for diagnosing the device or the at least one base station attached to by the device (Mutual interference of overall terminals (i.e., at device) and overall influence of BS (i.e., at BS) [P3:P2, 5, P4:P3]).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 19, Lee and Wallentin disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Lee further discloses:
wherein the device corresponds to a Customer Premise Equipment (CPE) and the management server corresponds to an Auto-Configuration Server (ACS) (Diag server scenario(s) set so measurement is automatically performed (i.e., ACS) [P7:P3] based on the person/owner’s location (i.e., CPE) [P8:P3, P11:P5]).
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 20, Lee discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Lee discloses CPE(s) communicating with BS(s) [P3:P4], and as discussed above, Lee does not explicitly disclose further comprising: telecommunicating by the CPE with a first base station of a first carrier and a second base station of a second carrier; wherein the receiving the command further comprises receiving the command prompting the CPE to disconnect from a first serving cell and attach to a second serving cell, the second serving cell being selected from a plurality of neighbor cells; and wherein the first serving cell is for the first base station of the first carrier and the second serving cell is for the second base station of the second carrier. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Wallentin.
In the same field of endeavor, Wallentin discloses further comprising:
telecommunicating by the CPE with a first base station of a first carrier and a second base station of a second carrier [fig. 18];
wherein the receiving the command further comprises receiving the command prompting the CPE to disconnect from a first serving cell and attach to a second serving cell, the second serving cell being selected from a plurality of neighbor cells [fig. 18, par. 374+ (see A6-A8)]; and
wherein the first serving cell is for the first base station of the first carrier and the second serving cell is for the second base station of the second carrier [fig. 18, par. 374+ (see A6-A8)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with Wallentin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of performing mobility operations in relation to cells in a wireless network based on conditions [Wallentin 0001, 20].
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Wallentin as applied to claims 1 and 9 respectively, and further in view of Mahimkar (US 20220159515 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Lee and Wallentin disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Lee discloses wherein the configuring the measurement results into parameters of the Cellular Diagnostic Data Model, as discussed above, Lee and Wallentin do not explicitly disclose includes configuring the measurement results into a parameter name identifying the parameter and a value associated with the parameter name, wherein the parameter name includes at least one of a physical Cell ID, a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) Result, or a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) Result respectively for a serving cell and at least one neighbor cell. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Mahimkar.
In the same field of endeavor, Mahimkar discloses:
includes configuring the measurement results into a parameter name identifying a parameter and a value associated with the parameter name, wherein the parameter name includes at least one of a physical Cell ID, a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) Result, or a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) Result respectively for a serving cell and at least one neighbor cell [par. 0015, where one of ordinary skill in the art would know the parameter’s value must be “identified” in some manner].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee and Wallentin with Mahimkar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of better cell HO [Mahimkar par. 0015].
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Wallentin as applied to claims 1 and 9 respectively, and further in view of Moser (US 20130286851 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Lee and Wallentin disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Lee discloses CPE(s) and configuring the measurement results into parameters of the Cellular Diagnostic Data Model, as discussed above, Lee and Wallentin do not explicitly disclose wherein the device corresponds to a Customer Premise Equipment (CPE), the CPE including a Customer Premise Equipment (CPE) WAN Management Protocol (CWMP) client; the method further comprising: configuring, by the CWMP client of the CPE. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Moser.
In the same field of endeavor, Moser discloses:
wherein the device corresponds to a Customer Premise Equipment (CPE), the CPE including a Customer Premise Equipment (CPE) WAN Management Protocol (CWMP) client [par. 0070];
the method further comprising:
configuring, by the CWMP client of the CPE [par. 0070].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee and Wallentin with Moser. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of remotely managing end user devices [Moser par. 0070].
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Lee, Wallentin, and Moser disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Lee and Moser further disclose further comprising:
receiving a request from an Auto-Configuration Server (ACS) [Lee, as discussed above]; and
upon receiving the request from the ACS, reading [Lee, as discussed above], by the CWMP client of the CPE [Moser par. 0070], the measurement results from the quality measurement procedure and configuring, by the CWMP client of the CPE [Moser par. 0070], the measurement results into the parameters of the Cellular Diagnostic Data Model [Lee, as discussed above].
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Lee, Wallentin, and Moser disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Lee and Moser further disclose:
wherein the receiving the request includes receiving the request [Lee, as discussed above] in response to a handover taking place [Moser par. 0005], and wherein the CPE [Lee, as discussed above] changes attachment from a first serving cell to a second serving cell [Moser par. 0005].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WALTER J DIVITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465