DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 10/10/25 and 5/11/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1, 2, 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Mahler et al., US 2014/0367721. Regarding claim 1, Mahler teaches (at least in Figure 4 and [0022 and 0229]) a light emitting device, comprising: a first electrode layer (402), wherein the first electrode layer is located on a side of the base substrate ([0298]) ; a second electrode layer (403) , wherein the second electrode layer is located on a side of the first electrode layer facing away from the base substrate (see Figure 4 and [0298] b/c substrate not shown) ; and an emitting layer (405) , wherein the emitting layer is located between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer (see Figure 4) and comprises a plurality of anisotropic nanostructures (401) , and a main extension direction of an anisotropic nanostructure is substantially parallel to the base substrate (see Figure 4 and [0229]) . Regarding claim 2, Mahler teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches a main body shape of the anisotropic nanostructure comprises at least one of a strip shape and a sheet shape; and main extension directions of the plurality of the anisotropic nanostructures are substantially the same ([0263] anisotropic flat colloidal nanocrystals) . Regarding claim 6, Mahler teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches an anisotropic nanostructure whose main body shape is a strip shape is selected from one or more of following groups: nanorods, nanowires, nanopillars, nanobelts, and nanobranches (examiner considers the anisotropic flat colloidal nanocrystals to be nanorods) . Regarding claim 20, Mahler teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 2 and further teaches an anisotropic nanostructure whose main body shape is a strip shape is selected from one or more of following groups: nanorods, nanowires, nanopillars, nanobelts, and nanobranches (examiner considers the anisotropic flat colloidal nanocrystals to be nanorods). Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hack et al., US 2021/0351247. Regarding claim 13, Hack teaches a manufacturing method of a display apparatus (at least Figure 1 and [0038]), comprising: providing a base substrate (110); forming a first electrode layer (115) on a side of the base substrate; forming a first transport layer (125) on a side of the first electrode layer facing away from the base substrate; forming an emitting layer (135) with a plurality of anisotropic nanostructures on a side of the first transport layer facing away from the first electrode layer ([0025 and 0027]), wherein a main extension direction of an anisotropic nanostructure is substantially parallel to the base substrate (Figure 3 and [0027]); forming a second transport layer (145) on a side of the emitting layer facing away from the first transport layer; and forming a second electrode layer (160) on a side of the second transport layer facing away from the emitting layer. Regarding claim 14, Hack teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 13 and further teaches the forming the emitting layer with the plurality of anisotropic nanostructures on the side of the first transport layer facing away from the first electrode layer, comprises: forming the emitting layer with the plurality of anisotropic nanostructures on the side of the first transport layer facing away from the first electrode layer through a spin coating or inkjet printing process ([0038]); and performing a guiding processing on the anisotropic nanostructures of the emitting layer ([0027]). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 3, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahler in view of Kim et al., US 2012/0032138. Regarding claim 3, Mahler teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1, but is silent as to the transport layers. However, in the same field of endeavor of light emitting devices, Kim teaches a first transport layer located between the first electrode layer and the emitting layer; and a second transport layer located between the emitting layer and the second electrode layer (Abstract). Further, it would have been well known to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that an electron transport layer and hole transport layer render the light emitting device more efficient and effective. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a hole transport and an electron transport layer in the Mahler device in order to increase light emitting efficiency. Regarding claim 7, Mahler teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1, but is silent as to a plurality of light emitting devices. However, in the same field of endeavor of light emitting devices, Kim teaches a plurality of light emitting devices (see at least Figure 6). Further, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that providing a plurality of light emitting devices within an illumination device would allow for increased size and functionality. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the Mahler device with a plurality of light emitting devices in order to allow for independent addressability and increased size. Regarding claim 8, Mahler and Kim teach the invention as explained above regarding claim 7 and further it is the position of the examiner that based on the combined teaching, the extension direction of the nanostructures in Mahler would have been the same direction as the plurality of light emitting devices, either in the rows or columns. Allowable Subject Matter Claims 4, 5, 9-12 and 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach or suggest a plurality of first grooves extending along a first direction on a side of the first transport layer close to the emitting layer and the anisotropic nanostructure located in the first groove. The prior art further fails to teach or suggest a pixel definition layer and a guide electrode embedded within the pixel definition layer and the guide electrode is configured to form an electric field to guide an arrangement direction of the nanostructures. Further, the prior art fails to teach or suggest performing frictional orientation on the emitting layer through a guide body with fluff to enable main extension directions of the nanostructures to be consistent or pushing the nanostructures through airflow and/or air pressure to enable main extension directions of the anisotropic nanostructure to be consistent. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Angioni et al., US 2022/0263039 teaches a light emitting device comprising transport layers and nanoparticles in the emission layer. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT MARY-ELLEN BOWMAN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-5383 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Thursday; 7:00 am-5:00 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT James Greece can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-3711 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT MARY ELLEN BOWMAN Examiner Art Unit 2875 /MARY ELLEN BOWMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875