DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the hydroxyl groups" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2010-255682 Inaba.
Regarding claim 1, Inaba teaches a sliding assembly (paragraph 0001), comprising:
a first sliding element (a rolling element) having a sliding surface, the first sliding element including a first base member and a first hard layer (DLC) as the sliding surface on a surface of the first base member (paragraph 0014); and
a second sliding element (first or second member) having a sliding surface, the second sliding element including a second base member and a second hard layer (DLC) as the sliding surface on a surface of the second base member (paragraph 0014),
wherein the sliding surface of the first sliding element and the sliding surface of the second sliding clement come in contact with each other (paragraph 0014) with a water layer in between to allow the first sliding element and the second sliding element to slide relative to each other (paragraph 0012), and
both of the first hard layer in the first sliding element and the second hard layer in the second sliding element (paragraph 0010) includes a nanosilica layer supporting nanosilica particles (paragraph 0011, where “nano” is taught by the particle size).
Regarding claim 2, Inaba teaches that at least one of the first hard layer or the second hard layer has a surface with hydroxyl groups (paragraph 0012, where water is constant changing from 2 H2O ↔ OH + H3O such that hydroxyl ions are present in the water lubricant, and the polarity of both hydroxyl and individual Si-O bonds create a bond between the silica particles and the hydroxyl group).
Regarding claim 3, Inaba teaches that the nanosilica layer is supported by the at least one of the first hard layer or the second hard layer (paragraph 0010) based on covalent bonds between the hydroxyl groups activated in the at least one of the first hard layer or the second hard layer and hydroxyl groups in the nanosilica particles (paragraph 0012, teaching water as the lubricant).
Regarding claim 4, Inaba teaches that each of the first hard layer in the first sliding element and the second hard layer in the second sliding element (paragraph 0014) includes the nanosilica layer (paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 8, Inaba teaches that at least one of the first hard layer in the first sliding element or the second hard layer in the second sliding element is a part of at least one of the first base member or the second base member (paragraph 0009).
Regarding claim 9, Inaba teaches that the first base member including the first hard layer comprises a ceramic material (paragraph 0009, layer D4).
Regarding claim 10, Inaba teaches that the first hard layer in the first sliding element is a part of the first base member, and the second hard layer in the second sliding element is a part of the second base member (paragraph 0009), and each of the first base member including the first hard layer and the second base member including the second hard layer comprises a ceramic material (paragraph 0004, layer D4).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2010-255682 Inaba with evidence from JP 6-095090 Niiyama et al.
Regarding claim 5, Inaba teaches the sliding assembly with diamond-like carbon forming both first and second hard layers (0009). Inaba does not explicitly teach the hardness of the layer. Niiyama teaches a rolling and sliding surface where a diamond-like coating material has a hardness of 1000 to 7000 HV (paragraph 0033). Therefore, because Niiyama teaches that DLC has a hardness of 1000 to 7000 HV, the DLC of Inaba would also have a hardness of 1000 to 7000 HV.
Regarding claim 6, Inaba teaches that the first hard layer in the first sliding element and the second hard layer in the second sliding element comprises diamond-like carbon on a surface of the first base member and the second base member, respectively (paragraph 0014).
Regarding claim 7, Inaba teaches that the diamond-like carbon comprises silicon (paragraph 0010, in the form of silica).
Conclusion
/MEGHA M GAITONDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781