DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ arguments, filed 07/06/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office action are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Maintained
1) Claims 23-29, 34, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanmuga (WO 2021/013582 A1, publication date 01/28/2021; cited in IDS 03/13/2024) in view of Fanning (US 2015/0344380 A1, publication date 12/03/2015).
Shanmuga relates to a composition comprising a nitrification and/or urease inhibitors “dissolved in a liquid medium comprising a solvent comprising levoglucosenone or dihydrolevoglucosenone [6,8-Dioxabicyclo[3.2.1]octan-4-one] or a derivative thereof, is useful in making fertilizer compositions and in a method of fertilizing target plants” [abstract]. According to the claims, the composition is a “concentrated liquid fertilizer composition comprising based on weight of the composition (a) up to about 99 pbw, by weight of composition, of one or more nitrogenous fertilizer compounds, (b) at least one of a dicyandiamide and/or an alkyl thiophosphoric triamide, (c) at least one solvent comprising levoglucosenone or dihydrolevoglucosenone or a derivative thereof, and (d) optionally, water” [p. 26, lines 13-18]. “Suitable nitrogenous fertilizers are those containing a nitrogenous compound such as urea” [p. 21, lines 17-18]. According to Shanmuga the composition may further comprise stabilizers [p. 20, line 32], surfactants and dyes/colorants [p. 20, line 35].
Dihydrolevoglucosenone is 6,8-Dioxabicyclo[3.2.1]octan-4-one according to the instant specification at [0074] on page 16.
Shanmuga does not disclose specific surfactants and a pesticidal active ingredient.
Fanning discloses a “liquid fertilizer adjuvant composition is provided that includes a fertilizer, a pH buffering agent, a surfactant, and one or more color indicator that produce a first color change that indicates when an pre-selected first level of field treatment has been achieved” [abstract]. Fanning also discloses that “[t]he composition is particular well suited for inclusion of a urea fertilizer” [abstract]. According to Fanning, suitable surfactants include neutralized polyacrylic acid, neutralized acrylic and methacrylic acid copolymers (i.e., acrylic acid polymers) propylene glycol trisiloxane, alkylphenol ethoxylates (i.e., alkoxylated phenol derivative) or a combination thereof [0012]. Fanning further discloses “the inventive composition is pre-mixed with the herbicides, pesticides, fungicides, or plant growth regulators prior to application to the growing plants” (see last sentence of [0011], page 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have combined the fertilizer of Shanmuga with the fertilizer adjuvant of Fanning, which is pre-mixed with herbicides, pesticides, fungicides or plant growth regulators. One would have been motivated to make this combination to provide the advantage of the color change indicator of Fanning in the fertilizer of Shanmuga. One would have had an expectation of success because Shanmuga discloses the composition may comprise surfactants and colorants. One would have also had an expectation of success because Fanning discloses the fertilizer adjuvant compositions is particularly suited for urea fertilizers, e.g., fertilizers of Shanmuga. Additionally, in combining these elements one would have expected nothing more than predictable results because, when combined, each prior art element would have performed the same function as it had separately. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have formulated a composition comprising an herbicide, pesticide, fungicide, or plant growth regulator, 6,8-dioxabicyclo[3.2.1]octan-4-one (dihydrolevoglucosenone), and an acrylic acid polymer emulsifier. Wherein the composition further comprises water and stabilizers (i.e., instant claim 34). Additionally, because the concentrated fertilizer composition Shanmuga comprises water one or ordinary skill in the art would have considered it a soluble concentrate (i.e., instant claim 38).
Regarding instant claim 26, Fanning discloses “COMMAND (comazone)” (i.e., herbicide of the chemical class isoxazolidinone1) is a suitable active to pre-mix with the inventive fertilizer adjuvant [0011].
Regarding instant claim 27, Fanning discloses benomyl (i.e., fungicide from the class of benzimidazole2) is a suitable active to pre-mix with the inventive fertilizer adjuvant (see [0011] at p. 1, line 5).
Regarding instant claims 28-29, Fanning discloses oxamyl (i.e., a methyl carbamate insecticide, acaricide, miticide, nematicide3) is a suitable pesticide active to pre-mix with the inventive fertilizer adjuvant (see [0011] at page 2, line 1).
2) Claims 23-30 and 32-38 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowley et al. (US 2016/0270402 A1, publication date 09/22/2016; cited in IDS 02/03/2025) in view of Sherwood et al. (Chem. Commun., 2014, 50, p. 9650-9652; cited in IDS 02/03/2025).
Regarding instant claims 23-25, 27, 32, 33, and 36-38, Rowley relates to emulsifiable concentrates of pesticides and fertilizers “comprising water miscible, organic solvents and water soluble anionic/non-ionic surfactants/emulsifiers that aid in the dissolution of an active substance” [abstract]. In one example Rowley discloses a composition comprising 23% w/w azoxystrobin (i.e., methoxyacrylate analog4; instant claim 27), 37% w/w N-methyl-pyrrolidone (NMP), 27% w/w Jeffsol AG1730 (i.e., solvent selected from chemical class of amides5; instant claim 32) and 13% w/w Stepfac 8180 (an ethoxylated phosphate ester) [0042].
Rowley does not disclose a dioxabicycloalkane solvent.
Sherwood discloses “[d]ihydrolevoglucosenone (Cyrene) is a bio-based molecule, derived in two simple steps from cellulose, which demonstrates significant promise as a dipolar aprotic solvent. The dipolarity of dihydrolevoglucosenone is similar to NMP” [abstract]. Sherwood also discloses that N-methylpyrrolidone (NMP) is on the European candidate list of substances of very high concern due to its toxicity [p. 9650, col. 1, end of paragraph 2]. Furthermore, Sherwood discloses that “[d]ihydrolevoglucosenone (Cyrene) is a new and very promising bio-based solvent substitute for widely used dipolar aprotic solvents (e.g. NMP) that are increasingly under threat from chemical legislation such as REACh” [p. 9652, col. 1, para. 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have simply substituted the dihydrolevoglucosenone (i.e., 6,8-dioxabicyclo[3.2.1 ]octan-4-one) of Sherwood in place of the NMP of Rowley as the solvent. One would have been motivated to make this substitution because the toxicity and legislative concerns of NMP that Sherwood discloses. One would have had an expectation of success because Sherwood discloses dihydrolevoglucosenone is a suitable substitute for NMP as a solvent. The simple substitution of one known element (e.g., the dihydrolevoglucosenone of Sherwood) in place of another (e.g., the NMP of Rowley) in order to achieve predictable results (solvent) is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale B.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). In the present case, the instantly claimed ranges of pesticidal active (0.1-95%w/v and 10-90%w/v; instant claims 33 and 36) and emulsifier (1-25% w/v) would have been expected to overlap with range of the prior art for pesticide active (23% w/w) and emulsifier (13%w/w) and so a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
The amounts of pesticidal actives and emulsifier would have also been obvious through routine optimization. It has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable ranges by routine experimentation where, as is here, the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In the present case one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the amounts of pesticidal active and emulsifier in the composition disclosed by Rowley to optimize the composition dosage and solubility, respectively. One would have had an expectation of success because a skilled artisan would have understood that the active agent is responsible for dosage and Rowley discloses emulsifiers aid dissolution.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have formulated an emulsifiable concentrate comprising 6,8-dioxabicyclo[3.2.1]octan-4-one (i.e., dihydrolevoglucosenone) and an compound from the class of amides (i.e., JEFFSOL AG-1730) as the solvents, a methoxyacrylic fungicide (azoxystrobin) and a phosphate ester emulsifier (Stepfac 8180). Wherein the pesticidal active and emulsifier are within the instantly claimed amounts.
Regarding instant claim 26, Rowley discloses suitable actives also include benzoic acid herbicides (see [0026] on page 5, line 5).
Regarding instant claims 28 and 29, Rowley discloses suitable actives also include avermectin insecticides (i.e., nematicide according to instant claim 29; see lines 3-4 of [0022]).
Regarding instant claim 30, Rowley discloses the compositions disclosed therein may further comprise plant growth agents such as fulvic acid [0008].
Regarding instant claims 34 and 35, Rowley discloses that “[i]n some embodiments, the formulation is mixed with a fertilizer composition Such that the formulation makes up anywhere from 20% to 0.1% (by volume or by weight) of the final mixture.” [0034]. Rowley also discloses the example composition comprising azoxystrobin, Jeffsol AG1730, and Stepfac 8180 was mixed with a variety of liquid fertilizer compositions [0042] such as 10-34-0 (10-34-0 comprises 50-70% water6) [p. 8, Table 2].
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). In the present case, the instantly claimed range of water in amounts up to 30% w/v overlaps with the range of the prior art which discloses water in amounts of 0.04-14% w/v (40-70% of 20% to 0.1% w/v) and so a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding instant claim 41, Rowley discloses applying the inventive compositions to a plant, seed or soil [0009].
Given the disclosure of each component individually, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at, at the time of filling, to have selected and combined known components for their established functions with predictable results by following the teachings of Rowley. MPEP 2143 and 2144.06(I).
Therefore it, would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have applied the emulsifiable concentrate composition taught by Rowley and Sherwood to a plant, seed or soil.
3) Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowley et al. (US 2016/0270402 A1, publication date 09/22/2016; cited in IDS 02/03/2025) in view of Sherwood et al. (Chem. Commun., 2014, 50, p. 9650-9652; cited in IDS 02/03/2025), as applied to claims 23-30 and 32-38 and 41 above, and further in view of Capuzzi et al. (WO 2020/193035 A1, publication date 10/01/2020).
Rowley and Sherwood, which are taught above, differ from the instant claims insofar as they do not teach the specifically claimed phytotoxicity-reducing compounds. Rowley discloses the composition may comprise herbicide safeners [0024].
Capuzzi relates to fungicidal formulations comprising azoxystrobin [abstract]. The composition may be in the form of an emulsifiable concentrate [p. 3, line 4] and may also comprise safeners such as benoxacor [p. 4, line 20].
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. In the present case it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have selected the benoxacor of Capuzzi for the safener desired by Rowley because Capuzzi discloses benoxacor is a suitable safener for emulsifiable concentrates comprising azoxystrobin.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to formulated the composition taught by Rowley and Sherwood to further comprise benoxacor.
4) Claims 39, 40, 42 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowley et al. (US 2016/0270402 A1, publication date 09/22/2016; cited in IDS 02/03/2025) in view of Sherwood et al. (Chem. Commun., 2014, 50, p. 9650-9652; cited in IDS 02/03/2025), as applied to claims 23-30 and 32-38 and 41 above, and further in view of Hazra et al. (Journal of Pharmacognosy and Phytochemistry, 2019, vol. 8, no. 2, p. 686-693) and Cao et al. (CN 102599165 A, publication date 07/25/2012; citing machine English translation).
Rowley and Sherwood, which are taught above, differ from the instant claims insofar as they do not teach a capsules. Rowley, however, teaches a chemically and physically stable composition is purpose of the inventive composition insofar as Rowley discloses “mixing them [liquid fertilizers] with liquid pesticides, physical incompatibilities involving the active substances and inert ingredients of a pesticide and a fertilizer can affect the overall mixture become unstable” and that “[w]hat is needed are improved formulations that facilitate the combination of agriculture products (e.g., pesticides, fungicides, insecticides, herbicides, plant growth regulators (PGRs), seed treatment products, etc.) with fertilizers for co-administration to plants” [0004-5].
Hazra relates to pesticidal formulations [title]. Hazra discloses that ZW formulations, which comprise encapsuled actives, may comprise multiple actives and that “[f]ormulating the active ingredients together eliminates the need for tank mixing, which can lead to incompatibility” [p. 691, col. 1, last para.]. Hazra discloses that such a formulation may be used to “increase the residual biological activity, or reduce the acute toxicity, or to obtain a physical[ly] or chemically stable water-based formulation” [p. 691, col. 2, para. 1].
Cao discloses an azoxystrobin microcapsule composition [abstract].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have formulated the composition taught by Rowley and Sherwood as a ZW formulation. One would have been motivated to do so because the intended purpose of Rowley is to provide stable and chemically compatible pesticide/fertilizer compositions and according to Hazra, ZW formulations improve physical and chemical stability. One would have had an expectation of success because Cao discloses azoxystrobin can be formulated as a microcapsule formulation. Additionally, in combining these elements by known methods one would have expected nothing more than predictable results because, when combined, each prior art element would have performed the same function as it had separately. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
Regarding instant claim 39, "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (See MPEP 2113.). In this case, the prior art product is the same or obvious as the claimed capsule composition, despite not teaching the claimed step of using a dioxabicycloalkane as the solvent for the polymer system from which the capsules are formed, insofar as the prior art teaches a pesticidal capsule formulation comprising the instantly claimed solvents and emulsifier. Specifically, Rowley, Sherwood, Hazra and Cao teach a composition comprising a capsule suspension (i.e., ZW formulation) of a fungicide, a dioxabicyclo[3.2.1]octane derivative as the solvent and a phosphate ester emulsifier, which is the same product as instantly claimed. The presence of capsules in the prior art suffices as the capsules as per claim 39.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to formulated the composition taught by Rowley and Sherwood as a ZW formulated.
Regarding instant claim 42 and 43, Rowley discloses applying the inventive compositions to a plant, seed or soil [0009].
Given the disclosure of each component individually, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at, at the time of filling, to have selected and combined known components for their established functions with predictable results by following the teachings of Rowley. MPEP 2143 and 2144.06(I).
Therefore it, would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have applied the composition taught by Rowley, Sherwood Hazra and Cao to a plant, seed or soil.
Technological Background
1) The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CornellCals (Command / clomazone, 2026 [retrieved 03/03/2026], https://cals.cornell.edu/weed-science/herbicides/herbicide-reference/command-clomazone). CornellCals is pertinent for teaching COMMAND (clomazone) is a isoxazolidinone herbicide at line 2.
2) The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wikipedia (Benomyl, 2026 [retrieved 3/3/2026], https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Benomyl). Wikipedia is pertinent for teaching benomyl is a systemic benzimidazole fungicide at the first paragraph.
3) The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. EPA (Oxamyl Summary Document Registration Review, Docket Number EPA-HQ-OPP-2010-0028). EPA is pertinent for teaching Oxamyl is a restricted use N-methyl carbamate insecticide, acaricide, miticide, nematicide, and plant growth regulator, at page 4 paragraph 3.
4) The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. PubChem Azoxystrobin (NCBI PubChem Compound Summary for CID 3034285, Azoxystrobin. Retrieved February 26, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Azoxystrobin). PubChem Azoxystrobin is pertinent for teaching Azoxystrobin is a methoxacrylate analog and a strobilurin fungicide (i.e., instant claim 27), at page 2 paragraph 2.
5) The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Huntsman (Huntsman, 2009 [retrieved 2/26/2026], https://www.huntsman.com/about/performance-products/news/detail/12507/huntsmans-jeffsol-ag-1730-solvent-approved-for-use-in). Huntsman is pertinent for teaching JEFFSOL AG-1730 solvent is the morpholine amide of a C8, 10 fatty acid (i.e., solvent selected from chemical class of amides), at the third sentence.
6) The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. 10-34-0 SDS (Simplot 10-34-0 Liquid Ammonium Polyphosphate, 2025 [retrieved 2/26/2026], https://sds.simplot.com/datasheets/14090.pdf). 10-34-0 SDS is pertinent for teaching 10-34-0 comprises 50-70% water at section 3.
Response to Arguments
1) On pages 10 and 11 of their Remarks, Applicant argues that “Shanmuga and Fanning are directed to functionally distinct compositions that address different technical problems. Neither reference provides a teaching or suggestion that would have motivated a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the references in the manner as stated by the Examiner” (Remarks at page 11).
This argument is not persuasive. Both Shanmuga and Fanning relate to fertilizer compositions. Specifically, Shanmuga relates to compositions comprising urea fertilizer (Shanmuga at p. 3, lines 13 and second paragraph and p. 21, lines 17-18), and Fanning relates to a composition for improving a urea based fertilizer compositions (i.e., “liquid fertilizer adjuvant” that is “particular[ly] well suited for inclusion of a urea fertilizer”) (Fanning at abstract). Therefore, Shanmuga and Fanning are in the same field and a skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Fanning with the compositions of Shanmuga for desirable effects of a colorimetric indicator, as disclosed by Fanning and discussed above.
2) On page 11 of their Remarks, Applicant argues that “the motivation for combining the references [Shanmuga and Fanning] is not commensurate with the scope of the claims” because none of the claims recite a color indicator. Applicant also asserts the combination of Shanmuga and Fanning utilizes hindsight bias and fails to disclose the essential features of the pending claims because “Shanmuga lacks the specific surfactants and pesticidal active ingredients relied upon in the rejection, while Fanning lacks the claimed dioxabicycloalkane solvent” (Remarks, p. 11).
These arguments are not persuasive. The claims recite open claim language and so compositions comprising additional components, e.g., color indicators, read on the compositions of the instant claims. Additionally, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In the present case, as discussed above, a skilled artisan would have been motivated by the desirable effects of colorimetric indicators in urea fertilizers discussed in Fanning.
Finally, the Examiner disagrees with Applicants assertion that the combination would not have all the claimed elements. As discussed above, the compositions of Fanning remedy the cited deficiencies of Shanmuga. The resulting compositions would have comprised all the claimed elements.
3) On pages 13-15 of their Remarks, Applicant argues that a skilled artisan would not have had a reasonable expectation of success substituting Cyrene (i.e., 6,8-dioxabicyclo(3.2.1)octan-4-one) for NMP in a pesticidal composition because Sherwood does not address formulation stability, emulsification behavior, dilution phenomena, compatibility with living plant tissues or differences in logP values. Applicant asserts that agrochemical formulation science is itself highly unpredictable. Arguing that because the Cyrene of Sherwood “functions merely as a transient reaction medium that is removed at the end of the process” (Remarks, p. 14), a skilled artisan would not have had an expectation of success using Cyrene “in agrochemical formulations [where] the solvent remains in the final composition, interacting continuously with the active ingredient, emulsifiers, dilution water, and the target biological system to determine physical stability, active ingredient solubility, emulsifiability, and crop safety” (Remarks, p. 14).
This argument is not persuasive. As discussed above, Sherwood expressly discloses that Cyrene “is able to serve as a bio-based substitute for toxic petrochemical-derived solvents such as NMP” (Sherwood at page 9650, col. 1, para. 3). Accordingly, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to substitute NMP for Cyrene to avoid toxic petrochemical derived solvents. A skilled artisan would have appreciated that solvents have different properties and understood that any changes/substitutions to the components of a composition would likely necessitate routine optimization. However, this would not have precluded a skilled artisan from substituting Cyrene in place of NMP because routine optimization would have been within the ability of a skilled artisan motivated by Sherwood to make this substitution. See MPEP 2144.05 IIA.
With respect to the argument that the prior art belongs to a “fundamentally different technological field” [Remarks, p. 13], it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Rowley relates to pesticidal compositions comprising NMP and Sherwood relates to less toxic alternatives to the NMP solvent, including Cyrene (i.e., 6,8-dioxabicyclo(3.2.1)octan-4-one of the instant claims). As such, the prior art references are reasonably pertinent to the particular problem of solvent toxicity with which the inventor was concerned (see, for example, paragraph [0008-0009] of the instant specification).
4) On page 14 of their Remarks, Applicant argues that a skilled artisan would not expected success substituting Cyrene in place of NMP because “even within the technological context of Sherwood, Cyrene is not presented as an equivalent replacement for NMP” (Remarks, p. 14).
This argument is not persuasive. A skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Sherwood expressly discloses that Cyrene “is able to serve as a bio-based substitute for toxic petrochemical-derived solvents such as NMP” (Sherwood at page 9650, col. 1, para. 3).
5) On page 16 of their Remarks, Applicant argues that “Capuzzi is unrelated to the technical problem addressed by the instant application” (Remarks, p. 16).
This argument is not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that Capuzzi is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Capuzzi relates to the same field of endeavor as the instant application, fungicidal compositions.
7) On page 17 of their Remarks, Applicant argues that neither Hazra nor Coa “teaches or suggests employing a dioxabicycloalkane derivative as the solvent or co-solvent of the polymeric encapsulation system, as required by the present claims” (Remarks, p. 17).
This argument is not persuasive. As discussed above, Sherwood addresses the dioxabicycloalkane solvent. Hazra and Cao are not relied on for the limitation of dioxabicycloalkane solvents.
8) On pages 13-12 and 14 of their Remarks, Applicant asserts the instantly claimed compositions unexpectedly demonstrate no crystallization of water insoluble active upon dilution with water and unexpectedly low phytotoxicity as compared to N-methylpyrrolidone (NMP), gamma-butyrolactone and NN-dimethylamide.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Overcoming a rejection based on unexpected results requires the combination of three different elements: (i) the results must fairly compare with the prior art, (ii) the results must truly be unexpected and (iii) the claims must be commensurate in scope. MPEP §716.02. The burden rests with Applicant to establish results are unexpected and significant. MPEP §716.02(b). Applicant's showing of allegedly unexpected results does not satisfy any of these requirements.
(i) Applicant has compared compositions of azoxystrobin and Cyrene (Dihydrolevoglucosenone) to compositions of azoxystrobin and NMP, however, these compositions do not capture the claimed emulsifiers. The closest prior art is Rowley at Example 1 ( paragraph [0042]). Example 1 of Rowley is an Emulsifiable Concentrate (EC) comprising a “mixture of Azoxystrobin (a fungicide sold under the brand name AMISTAR) 23% w/w, N-Methyl-Pyrrolidone (NMP) 37% w/w, Jeffsol AG1730 (a solvent sold by HUNTSMAN) 27% w/w, and Stepfac 8180 (an ethoxylated phosphate ester sold by STEPAN) 13% w/w was prepared”.
(ii) Regarding the alleged unexpectedly low phytotoxicity of Cyrene as compared to NMP, any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. MPEP § 716.02. In the present case the prior art teaches Cyrene is a less toxic alternative to NMP (see Sherwood at page 9650, col. 1, para. 3). As a result, a skilled artisan would have expected reduced toxicity, including phytotoxicity, in compositions that use Cyrene instead of NMP. Therefore, applicant results, showing marked improvement over results with other solvents (e.g., NMP) constitute a difference in degree from what is expected rather than a difference in kind, as required for a demonstration of unexpected results.
Regarding the crystallization upon dilution, where the unexpected properties of a claimed invention are not shown to have a significance equal to or greater than the expected properties, the evidence of unexpected properties may not be sufficient to rebut the evidence of obviousness. In re Nolan, 553 F.2d 1261, 1267, 193 USPQ 641, 645 (CCPA 1977) (MPEP 716.02(c)). In the present case, the lack of crystallization upon diluting the composition with water demonstrated by Applicant does not appear to be an unexpected result over the closest prior art. Rowley discloses an emulsifiable concentration (EC) formulation comprising azoxystrobin and NMP at paragraph 42. Considering the composition is in the form of an emulsifiable concentrate a skilled artisan would have reasonably expected the composition to remain suitable for its intended purpose upon dilution (i.e., dilution without precipitation). As such, a skilled artisan would have expected the same results when substituting the Cyrene for the NMP in the compositions disclosed by Rowley because, as discussed above, Sherwood expressly discloses that Cyrene “is able to serve as a bio-based substitute for toxic petrochemical-derived solvents such as NMP” (Sherwood at page 9650, col. 1, para. 3).
(iii) The "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support" (see MPEP 716.02(d) quoting In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980)). In the present case the claims are not commensurate in scope because narrow showing of a specific water insoluble pesticide, azoxystrobin, in a specific solvent, dihydrolevoglucosenone, does not reasonably represent the broadly claimed composition comprising any herbicide, fungicide, nematicide, phytotoxicity reducers and plant growth regulators and the broad range of solvents. Specifically, azoxystrobin does not reasonably represent active agents which would have been expected to dissolve in the water phase upon dilution. Additionally, there is no explanation as to how dihydrolevoglucosenone reasonably represents the broad group of the solvents claimed as derivatives of specific dioxabicycloalkanes. For example, 4-pentoxy-6,8-dioxabicyclo[3.2.1]octane, a derivative of dioxabicyclo[3.2.1]octane, has a calculated logP of 2.1, as evidence at page 4 of PubChem CID 67761305 (NCBI, PubChem Compound Summary for CID 67761305, (1R,4R,5R)-4-pentoxy-6,8-dioxabicyclo[3.2.1]octane. Retrieved August 26, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/67761305). As such, a skilled artisan would not have expected crystal development upon dilution composition comprising 4-pentoxy-6,8-dioxabicyclo[3.2.1]octane because 4-pentoxy-6,8-dioxabicyclo[3.2.1]octane is immiscible with water. Furthermore, the claims encompass composition comprising emulsifiers which is important because emulsifiers are known to prevent crystallization. See, for example, paragraph [0004] of Warrrington (US 20050038094A1, publication date 02/17/2005):
“The drawback in using water-soluble solvents for dissolving active ingredients of low water solubility is their poor dilution properties in water. The active ingredient is often rapidly precipitated as coarse crystals giving both application problems, such as spray filter or nozzle blockage, and poor or inconsistent bioefficacy. To prevent, or, more usually, delay precipitation, an excess of emulsifying or dispersing agent, typically at a 1:1 ratio with the active ingredient, needs to be incorporated and at these concentrations surfactants may give rise to phytotoxicity problems in their own right.”
Accordingly, the emulsifiers of the claims would have been expected to address the issue of crystallization upon dilution.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.T.W./ Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/WALTER E WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612
1 Cornell Cals, Cpmmand / clomazone, 2026.
2 Wikipedia, Benomyl.
3 Oxamyl Summary Document Registration Review, EPA, 2010.
4 NCBI PubChem Compound Summary for CID 3034285, Azoxystrobin. Retrieved February 26, 2026
5 Huntsman, 2009 [retrieved 2/26/2026].
6 10-34-0 SDS (Simplot 10-34-0 Liquid Ammonium Polyphosphate.