DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-8 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Telfer et al (GB 2163346) in view of Machado (WO2015/109362) and Paul (WO2020/124167).
Telfer et al teaches a water-soluble glass rumen bolus for treating a mineral deficiency in a ruminant animal. The composition of the bolus is such that when the bolus is lodged in the reticulo rumen, it has a release rate of not more than 25 mg per square centimeter of its surface area per day, so making possible boluses which can be administered to the animal to release the required element or elements over periods up to one year or more (abstract).
Telfer et al does not teach the addition of seaweed or seaweed extract.
Machado teaches a method for reducing total gas production and/or methane production in a ruminant animal comprising the step of administering to said ruminant animal an effective amount of at least one species of red marine macroalgae (claim 1). More specifically, it discloses that red marine macroalgae (seaweed) is known to be administered to ruminant animals. Other ingredients such as vitamins, minerals, amino acids are also known to be administered to ruminant animals ([0162], [0164]).
Wardell discloses a method for boosting innate immunity in an animal with an alternative complement pathway, comprising the step of administering to said animal an effective amount of a red seaweed of Asparagopsis species, an extract therefrom or residual biomass following an extraction process (claim 1). It also discloses that the red seaweed is present in an animal feed but also other components selected from a group consisting of proteins, fish oil, binders, fillers, vitamins and minerals, amino acid supplements, colorants, chelating agents and preservatives (claims 15 and 20).
It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06. Here, the actives are all taught to be beneficial for bovine and as such, it would be obvious to combine them in the delivery system of the primary reference.
With regards to claims 3, 4, 7, and 13, where the actives are taught for specific purposes in the prior art, it would have been obvious to optimize the content and release based on the desired effect. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
With regards to claim 5, the claim is directed to a product, not the process of making the product. Therefore, any seaweed extract appears to meet the limitation.
Claim 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Telfer et al (GB 2163346) in view of Machado (WO2015/109362) and Paul (WO2020/124167), the combination further in view of Wardell (WO9011756).
Telfer et al, Machado and Paul are discussed above but do not teach carboxylate glass.
Wardell teaches carboxylate glasses were known to be used in delivery systems (abstract and claims).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use known glasses in the method of the primary references, given they are all taught to be water soluble and for delivery of actives.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/560,449 and 18/560507 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending applications are also directed to water soluble rumen bolus articles with seaweed extract and actives. They vary only in the order of dependent claims and specific amounts or properties of each component, which appear to overlap the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612