DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the reference numbers “166” shown in Figures 5-7 are all pointing at different places.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 6, line 28, it seems that “two pull 164 portions” should be described as -- two portions of the pull 164 -- because the drawings show the instant invention having only one pull 164.
Page 6, line 30, it seems that “a pull 164 portion” should be -- a portion of the pull 164 --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 11, 16 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 11, 16 and 17 recites, “selective retention feature”. However, while the present specification does not describe, “selective retention feature”, the present specification describes, “selective securement feature 196”, which is disposed on the upper portion 168 (see the last two lines 34-35 of Page 7). Therefore, it seems that “selective retention feature” recited in claims 11, 16 and 17 should be -- selective securement feature --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1-18, the independent claims 1, 10 and 14 identified the claimed invention as “A cable assembly”. However, all the claims 1-18 do not recite any cable or any structure related with a cable. Therefore, it is not clear how the claimed invention can be a cable assembly when there are no cables.
Claim 1, line 4 recites, “a portion of the pull”, but line 5 recites, “two pull portions”. It not clear how the portion of line 4 is structurally related with the two pull portions of line 5. If the portion of line 4 is the same element as two pull portions of line 5, it is not clear how one portion (a portion) can suddenly become the two portions (two pull portions).
The last line of claim 1 recites, “an angle of at least about 30 degrees”. It is not clear whether this angle is measured between two pull portions or between two pull portions and the lower pull cross member. If the angle is measured between two pull portions and the lower pull cross member, which one of the two pull portions is used to measure the angle with the lower pull cross member?
Claims 3-9 also recite “an angle” measured the same way as the angle recited in claim 1, but with different values. However, the angle recited in claims 3-9 also have the same problem as the angle recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shen et al (US 11,171,445 B1).
Regarding claims 10-13, Shen discloses a cable assembly, comprising: (claim 10) 35 a and a lower portion 1311, the upper portion 1312 defining an upper pull aperture13122 and the lower portion 1311 defining a lower pull aperture 13114; and a pull 132 disposed proximate the latch 13, a portion (not labeled, see Fig. 3) of the pull 132 being disposed within the lower pull aperture 13114 and a portion of the pull being disposed within the upper pull aperture 13122;
(claim 11) wherein at least one selective retention feature 13121 is disposed on the upper portion 1312;
(claim 12) wherein the selective retention feature 13121 selectively secures the cable assembly to a mating connector 2; and
(claim 13) wherein the lower portion 1311 defines a retention feature 13111 and the latch 13 is secured to the housing 12 by the retention feature 13111.
Regarding claim 14-18, Shen discloses a cable assembly, comprising: (claim 14) a housing 12; a latch 13 connected to the housing 12, the latch 13 defining an upper portion 1312 and a lower portion 1311, the upper portion 1312 including an upper pull cross member 13122 and the lower portion 1311 defining a lower pull cross member 13115; and a pull 132 disposed proximate the latch 13, a portion (see Fig. 3) of the pull 132 being disposed below the lower pull cross member 13115 as measured along a Z axis (see Fig. 3) and a portion of the pull being looped around the upper pull cross member 13122;
(claim 15) wherein a portion of the pull 132 extends above the upper pull cross member 13122 as measured along the Z axis;
(claim 16) wherein at least one selective retention feature 13121 is disposed on the upper portion 1312;
(claim 17) wherein the selective retention feature 13121 selectively secures the cable assembly to a mating connector 2; and
(claim 18) wherein the lower portion 1311 defines a retention feature 13111 and the latch 13 is secured to the housing 12 by the retention feature 13111.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al (US 11,171,445 B1) in view of Hsiao et al (US 11,228,140 B2) or Wang et al (US 11,303,065 B2).
Regarding claims 1-9, Shen discloses a cable assembly, comprising: (claim 1) a housing 12; a latch 13 connected to the housing 12, the latch 12 defining a lower pull cross member 13115; and a pull 132 disposed proximate the latch 13, a portion of the pull 132 at least partially travelling around the lower pull cross member 13115 (see Fig. 3) such that two pull portions (see Fig. 3) extending away from the lower pull cross member 13115; (claim 2) wherein the latch 13 defines a retention feature 13111 and the latch 13 is secured to the housing 12 by the retention feature 13111.
However, Shen does not disclose that two pull portions (see Fig. 3) extending away from the lower pull cross member 13115 are separated by an angle of at least about 30-100 degrees.
On the other hand, Hsiao discloses a cable assembly, comprising: (claim 1) a housing 31; a latch 32 connected to the housing 31, the latch 32 defining a lower pull cross member (not labeled, see Fig. 5 showing a cross member between two hooks 3213 and adjacent to the through hole 3214); and a pull 33 disposed proximate the latch 32, a portion of the pull 33 at least partially travelling around the lower pull cross member (see Fig. 9) such that two pull portions (see Fig. 3) extending away from the lower pull cross member; (claim 2) wherein the latch 32 defines a retention feature 3213 and the latch 32 is secured to the housing 31 by the retention feature 3213.
In addition, Wang discloses a cable assembly, comprising: (claim 1) a housing 4; a latch 6 connected to the housing 4, the latch 6 defining a lower pull cross member 63; and a pull 7 disposed proximate the latch 6, a portion 71 of the pull 7 at least partially travelling around the lower pull cross member 63 (see Fig. 17) such that two pull portions (see Fig. 17) extending away from the lower pull cross member 63; (claim 2) wherein the latch 6 defines a retention feature 623 and the latch 13 is secured to the housing 4 by the retention feature 623.
As seen by all three cited references, Shen, Hsiao and Wang disclose three similar structure latches with pulls, where a latch having lower pull cross member attached to a pull with two pull portion that is extending away from the lower pull cross member by three different separation angles. Therefore, the separation angle can be changed without affecting or changing the functions of the latch with pull depending on the location of the lower pull cross member on the latch and the extension of the pull in relationship to the latch.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cable assembly taught by Shen such that it would have two pull portions of the pull extending away from the lower pull cross member can be separated by a desired angle as taught by either Hsiao or Wang because the functions of the latch and the pull are not affected or changed by the change of the separation angle. Therefore, choosing the right separation angle only deals with finding the optimum value separation angle for the latch and the pull. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
/hmh/
/Hae Moon Hyeon/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831