DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 04/07/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-5, 8, 9, 16, 19, 20 have been amended, claim 7 has been cancelled and claim 21 has been added. Thus, claims 1-6 and 8-21 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a cross section of the suture body in an area without the plurality of pairs of barbs is rectangular”. The originally filed specification only ever states “approximately rectangular” and the original drawings show an approximately rectangular shape (it has some curve to the edges). Therefore, this limitation is considered new matter. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “a cross section of the suture body in an area without the plurality of pairs of barbs is square”. The originally filed specification only ever states “approximately square” and the original drawings show an approximately square shape (it has some curve to the edges). Therefore, this limitation is considered new matter. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a cross section of the suture body in an area without the plurality of pairs of barbs is spindle-shaped”. The originally filed specification only ever states “approximately spindle-shaped” and the original drawings don’t show it. Therefore, this limitation is considered new matter. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “a cross section of the suture body in an area without the plurality of pairs of barbs is rectangular”. The originally filed specification only ever states “approximately rectangular” and the original drawings show an approximately rectangular shape (it has some curve to the edges). Therefore, this limitation is considered new matter. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 13, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindh et al. (US 20070257395) in view of Jin (CN 212369015 U) and Nawrocki et al. (US 20080312688 A1).
Note that all references to Jin herein refer to the attached English translation.
Regarding claims 1 and 21 Lindh discloses (fig. 3e-3f) a medical suture, comprising: a suture body 25b, wherein the suture body defines a longitudinal center line (see fig. 3e); and a plurality of pairs of barbs arranged at intervals along a direction of the longitudinal center line (see fig. 3e), wherein each pair of barbs is symmetrically arranged on opposite sides of the suture body (see fig. 3e), each of the plurality of pairs of barbs is provided with a proximal end connected with the suture body and a distal end not connected to the suture body (see fig. 3e and [0044]).
Lindh is silent regarding a first ratio of a transverse distance L1 of distal ends of each pair of the barbs along a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal center line to a transverse dimension LO of the suture body perpendicular to the direction of the longitudinal center line ranges from 1.5 to 2.5; a second ratio of a longitudinal dimension L2 of each of the plurality of pairs of barbs along the direction of the longitudinal center line to the transverse dimension LO of the suture body perpendicular to the direction of the longitudinal center line ranges from 1.8 to 2.8.
However Jin, in the same filed of endeavor, teaches (fig. 4) a transverse distance L1 (a+2c, see fig. 4) of distal ends of each pair of the barbs along a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal center line to a transverse dimension LO (a) of a suture body perpendicular to the direction of the longitudinal center line ranges from 1.5 to 2.5 (L1=.6-1.6mm and a is 0.2-0.6mm making the ratio 1.5-2.6; see pg. 6, last two paragraphs); a second ratio of a longitudinal dimension L2 (b) of each of the plurality of pairs of barbs along the direction of the longitudinal center line to the transverse dimension LO (a) of the suture body perpendicular to the direction of the longitudinal center line ranges from 1.8 to 2.8 (L2=1-1.4mm and L0=0.2 to 0.6 making the ratio 1.66-7, which includes the claimed range of 1.8 to 2.8, see pg. 6 last 2 paragraphs and pg. 7 first two paragraphs).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lindh to have a first ratio of a transverse distance L1 of distal ends of each pair of the barbs along a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal center line to a transverse dimension LO of the suture body perpendicular to the direction of the longitudinal center line ranges from 1.5 to 2.5; a second ratio of a longitudinal dimension L2 of each of the plurality of pairs of barbs along the direction of the longitudinal center line to the transverse dimension LO of the suture body perpendicular to the direction of the longitudinal center line ranges from 1.8 to 2.8 as taught by Jin, for the purpose of overcoming physical strength reduction, and having a barb with thickness or length accurately controlled (see pg. 2 seventh paragraph).
Lindh as modified is silent regarding each of the plurality of pairs of barbs comprises an outside face and an inside face, wherein the outside face is convex from the proximal end to the distal end, and the inside face is straight or concave from the proximal end to the distal end.
However Nawrocki, in the same filed of endeavor, teaches (fig. 4a) each of the plurality of comprises an outside face 402 and an inside face 402a (see fig 4a), wherein the outside face 402 is convex from the proximal end to the distal end (see fig 4a), and the inside face 402a is straight from the proximal end to the distal end (see fig. 4a).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lindh to have each of the plurality of pairs of barbs comprises an outside face and an inside face, wherein the outside face is convex from the proximal end to the distal end, and the inside face is straight or concave from the proximal end to the distal end as taught by Nawrocki, since it has been held a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to change the shape. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 2, Lindh as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Lindh further discloses (fig. 3e-3f) a cross section of the suture body in an area without the plurality of pairs of barbs is rectangular (see center of fig, 3f), and the suture body comprises a first end face and a second end face which are oppositely arranged and a third end face and a fourth end face which are oppositely arranged, wherein the barbs are connected onto the first end face and the second end face (see fig. 3f and [0044]), a first width D1 of the first end face ranges from 0.2 mm to 0.6 mm, and a second width D2 of the third end face ranges from 0.2 mm to 0.6 mm (see [0044]).
Regarding claim 3, Lindh as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 2. Lindh further discloses (fig. 3e-3f) the cross section of the suture body in the area without the barbs is square (see fig. 3f).
Regarding claim 4, Lindh as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 2. Lindh further discloses (fig. 3e-3f) a cross section of the suture body in an area with the plurality of pairs of barbs is spindle-shaped (see fig. 3f).
Regarding claim 5, Lindh as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Lindh further discloses (fig. 3e-3f) the outside face extends to the distal end of each of the plurality of pairs of barbs along a first part of the suture body, the inside face extends to the distal end of each of the plurality of pairs of barbs along a second part of the suture body (see fig. 3e).
Regarding claim 13, Lindh as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Lindh further discloses (fig. 3e-3f) each of the plurality of pairs of barbs are equidistantly distributed along an extension direction of the longitudinal center line, and a second distance T between adjacent barbs ranges from 1 mm to 2.5 mm (see fig. 3e and [0044]).
Regarding claim 16, Lindh as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Lindh further discloses (fig. 3e-3f) the suture body forms a transverse center line at a first set position, the transverse center line is perpendicular to the longitudinal center line, and the barbs on two sides of the transverse center line extend towards opposite directions (see fig. 3e).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindh in view of Jin and Nawrocki as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kim (US 20210259686 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Lindh as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Lindh as modified is silent regarding a first distance L3 between the first part and the second part along the direction of the longitudinal center line ranges from 0.4 mm to 1 mm.
However Kim, in the same filed of endeavor, teaches (fig. 4) a distance (b) between a first part and a second part of a barb along the direction of a longitudinal center line ranges from 0.4 mm to 1 mm (see [0074]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lindh as modified to have a first distance L3 between the first part and the second part along the direction of the longitudinal center line ranges from 0.4 mm to 1 mm as taught by Kim, for the purpose of being able to choose the distance required for the specific surgical use case (see Kim [0074]).
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindh in view of Jin, Nawrocki, and Kim as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Sung et al. (US 20080281357 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Lindh as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 6. Sung further teaches a first radius of the arc face of the outside face (see annotated fig. 4 below).
Lindh as modified is silent regarding a first radius of the arc face of the outside face ranges from 1 mm to 2 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lindh as modified to have a first radius of the arc face of the outside face ranges from 1 mm to 2 mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Lindh as modified would not operate differently with the claimed radius since barbs would still be able to engage tissue. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the radius is within the claimed ranges “in some embodiments” (specification pg. 3 third paragraph).
Regarding claim 9, Lindh as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 7. Lindh further discloses (fig. 3e-3f) an included angle between an extension face of the inside face and the longitudinal center line ranges from 25 degrees to 45 degrees (see [0044]).
Regarding claims 10-12, Lindh as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 6. Lindh as modified is silent regarding the outside face is approximately an arc face, and the inside face is approximately a straight face.
However Sung, in the same filed of endeavor, teaches (fig. 4) of a plurality of barbs having an outside face the is approximately an arc face, and an inside face that is approximately a straight face (see fig. 5 and [0058]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lindh as modified to have the outside face of the barb be approximately an arc face, and the inside face of the barb be approximately a straight face as taught by Kim, for the purpose of reducing the insertion forces exerted on the barbs during suturing while maintaining high tissue-holding strength by facilitating capturing a large volume of tissue (see Sung [0059]).
Claim 10, Sung further teaches the outside face and the inside face are in transition through a first arc face (see annotated fig. 4 below).
Lindh as modified is silent regarding the second radius (r2) of the first arc face ranges from 0.02 mm to 0.05 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lindh as modified to have a second radius of the first arc face ranges from 0.02 mm to 0.05 mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Lindh as modified would not operate differently with the claimed radius since barbs would still be able to engage tissue. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the radius is within the claimed ranges “in some embodiments” (specification pg. 3 fifth paragraph).
Claim 11, Sung further teaches the outside face and the suture body are in transition through a second arc face (see annotated fig. 4 below).
Lindh as modified is silent regarding a third radius (r3) of the second arc face ranges from 0.5 mm to 1.5 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lindh as modified to have a third radius of the second arc face ranges from 0.5 mm to 1.5 mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Lindh as modified would not operate differently with the claimed radius since barbs would still be able to engage tissue. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the radius is within the claimed ranges “in some embodiments” (specification pg. 3 sixth paragraph).
Claim 12, Sung further teaches the inside face and the suture body are in transition through a third arc face (see annotated fig. 4 below).
Lindh as modified is silent regarding a fourth radius (r4) of the third arc face ranges from 0.02 mm to 0.05 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lindh as modified to have a fourth radius of the third arc face ranges from 0.02 mm to 0.05 mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Lindh as modified would not operate differently with the claimed radius since barbs would still be able to engage tissue. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the radius is within the claimed ranges “in some embodiments” (specification pg. 3 seventh paragraph).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindh in view of Jin and Nawrocki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu (US 20050267532 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Lindh as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Lindh further discloses (fig. 3e-3f) a second distance T between adjacent barbs ranges from 1 mm to 2.5 mm (see [0044]).
Lindh as modified is silent regarding each of the plurality of barbs are unequidistantly distributed along an extension direction of the longitudinal center line.
However Wu, in the same filed of endeavor, teaches that the barb spacing can vary (see [0048]) which would make them unequidistantly distributed along an extension direction of the longitudinal center line.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lindh as modified to have each of the plurality of pairs of barbs spacing vary which would make them unequidistantly distributed along an extension direction of the longitudinal center line as taught by Wu, for the purpose of being able to choose the spacing required to the specific surgical use case.
Claims 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindh in view of Jin and Nawrocki as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Morency et al. (US 20030149447 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Lindh as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Lindh as modified is silent regarding each of the plurality of pairs of barbs extend towards the same direction to form a unidirectional barb suture.
However Morency, in the same filed of endeavor, teaches (fig. 1A-1B) the barbs extend towards the same direction to form a unidirectional barb suture (see fig. 1A and [0009]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lindh as modified to have each of the plurality of pairs of barbs extend towards the same direction to form a unidirectional barb suture as taught by Morency, for the purpose of preventing the suture from moving in an opposite direction (see [0009]) and because Morency teaches this is an alternative to having barbs in two directions (see [0009]-[0010]).
Regarding claim 18, Lindh as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 16. Lindh as modified is silent regarding suture needles respectively arranged at two ends of the medical suture; the medical suture comprising a first barb section and a second barb section with the plurality of pairs of barbs, the first barb section and the second barb section being connected through a transition section; and guide sections located at end parts, the suture needles and the medical suture being in transition through the guide sections.
However Morency teaches (fig. 4) suture needles (110, 111) respectively arranged at two ends of the medical suture 100 (see fig. 4 and [0048]); the medical suture comprising a first barb section (left of 114) and a second barb section (right of 114) with a plurality of barbs (see fig. 4 and [0048]), the first barb section and the second barb section being connected through a transition section (section comprising 114; see fig. 4 and [0048]); and guide sections located at end parts (part between 110/111 and barbs), the suture needles and the medical suture being in transition through the guide sections (see fig. 4 and [0048]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lindh as modified to have suture needles respectively arranged at two ends of the medical suture; the medical suture comprising a first barb section and a second barb section with a plurality of the barbs, the first barb section and the second barb section being connected through a transition section; and guide sections located at end parts, the suture needles and the medical suture being in transition through the guide sections as taught by Morency, for the purpose of being able to insert the suture through tissue with one side moving in one direction and the other side in another direction (see [0010]).
Claims 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindh in view of Jin and Nawrocki as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Morency and Ruff et al. (US 20050267531 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Lindh as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 16. Lindh as modified is silent regarding a suture needle arranged at a first end of the medical suture and a tail member arranged at a second end of the medical suture; the medical suture comprising a barb section located at a middle part and provided with the plurality of pairs of barbs, and guide sections located at end parts, and the suture needle and the medical suture, and the tail member and the medical suture being in transition through the guide section.
However Morency teaches (fig. 1A) a suture needle 29 arranged at a first end of the medical suture and a tail member 27 arranged at a second end of the medical suture (see fig. 1A, [0033] and [0046]; the medical suture comprising a barb section located at a middle part and provided with a plurality of barbs (see fig. 1A and [0033]), and guide sections located at end parts (sections between 29/27 and the barbs; see fig. 1A), and the suture needle and the medical suture, and the tail member and the medical suture being in transition through the guide section (see fig. 1A).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lindh as modified to have a suture needle arranged at a first end of the medical suture and a tail member arranged at a second end of the medical suture; the medical suture comprising a barb section located at a middle part and provided with the plurality of barbs, and guide sections located at end parts, and the suture needle and the medical suture, and the tail member and the medical suture being in transition through the guide section as taught by Morency, for the purpose of preventing the suture from moving in an opposite direction (see [0009]) and because Morency teaches this is an alternative to having barbs in two directions (see [0009]-[0010]).
Lindh as modified is silent regarding the tail member is a ring.
However Ruff, in the same filed of endeavor, teaches a variety of different tail member configurations where one is a loop (see fig. 24-25 and [0044]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lindh as modified to have the tail member be a ring as taught by Ruff, for the purpose of having a more secure attachment to tissue by being able to thread the suture through the loop.
Regarding claim 19, Lindh as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 17. Lindh further discloses (fig. 3e-3f) a cross section of the suture body in an area without the barbs is approximately rectangular (see center of fig, 3f), and the suture body comprises a first end face and a second end face which are oppositely arranged and a third end face and a fourth end face which are oppositely arranged, wherein the barbs are connected onto the first end face and the second end face (see fig. 3f and [0044]), a first width D1 of the first end face ranges from 0.2 mm to 0.6 mm, and a second width D2 of the third end face ranges from 0.2 mm to 0.6 mm (see [0044]).
Regarding claim 20, Lindh as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 17. Lindh further discloses (fig. 3e-3f), the outside face extends to the second end each of the barb along a first part of the suture body, the inside face extends to the second end of the barb along a second part of the suture body (see fig. 3e).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 6, filed 04/07/2026, with respect to the objections of claims 2, 16, and 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of claims 2, 16, and 19 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 7, filed 04/07/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 7-8, filed 04/07/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lindh, Jin and Nawrocki.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Gardner V TEC cannot be used in the rejection of claims 8-12 because “Gardner stands for the proposition that a difference in dimension alone is not patentable, wherein that difference generally mentioned in the prior art and does not relate to an improvement in performance”. The Office respectfully disagrees. It is the position of The Office that Gardner V TEC is applicable only when the prior art does not disclose any dimensions for the features claimed. This The Office maintains that one of ordinary skill in the art would find the rejection of claims 8-12 in view of Gardner V TEC obvious.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE H SCHWIKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771