DETAILED ACTION
This detailed action is in response to the application filed on November 13, 2023 and any subsequent filings.
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: the dependent claim 7 is dependent on the rejected independent Claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: the dependent claim 8 is dependent on the rejected independent Claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Publication No. JP 2014531316 A ("Puglia"), in view of International Publication No. JP H10203592 A ("Nakamura"). The machine translation for Puglia and Nakamura is used in this office action in regards to claim mapping and a copy of the machine translation used is attached in this office action.
Regarding claim 1, Puglia discloses a filtration system (filter system, Puglia, pg 33, line 37-39) that has a membrane arrangement with a membrane housing (filter bay housing 1162, Puglia, pg 33, line 43-45) extending in a first direction and having openings that are located in a common plane and, membranes (filter bay assemblies 1150, Puglia, pg 33, line 43-45) arranged inside the membrane housing (filter bay housing 1162, Puglia, pg 33, line 43-45) and configured to be replaced via the openings, and a support frame (manifold retaining bar 1280, Puglia) having a beam that extends along the common plane and is provided vertically above the common area(manifold retaining bar 1280 having manifold retaining bar end members 1285 rotatably coupled to a sidewall of the housing 1162 and one or more cross bars 1290 that can extend across the front opening of the manifold receiving area, Puglia, pg 36, line 7-9), a gripper unit (Gripping a portion of filter element 125, Puglia, pg 20, line 38-39) the membranes (helps hold filter element 125 for later assembly steps, Puglia, pg 20, line 38-39).
Puglia does not disclose a lifting arrangement slidably attached to the beam and arranged to grip and transport the membranes in a direction along the common plane.
Nakamura teaches a lifting arrangement slidably attached (able to slide along the guide shaft, Nakamura, Pr 12) to the beam and arranged to grip (gripping arms 23, Nakamura, Pr 12) and transport the membranes in a direction along the common plane (longitudinal direction of the membrane 101, Nakamura, Pr 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the references of Puglia with the reference of Nakamura because the invention of Nakamura falls within the same field of innovation regarding a filtration system comprising a membrane arrangement. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to combine these two inventions because the limitations added by Nakamura would greatly improving work efficiency and significantly reducing costs of handling filtration membranes (Nakamura, Pr 36).
Regarding claim 2, paragraphs 9-13 in the office action discuss the references from Puglia and Nakamura, and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of claim 1. The combination of references does teach a filtration system where the membrane housing (manifold 1045, 1050, Puglia, pg 32, line 30-32) are arranged in horizontal rows and vertical columns (Puglia, pg 32, line 30-32, Figure 32).
Regarding claim 4, paragraphs 9-13 in the office action discuss the references from Puglia and Nakamura, and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of claim 1. The combination of references does teach a filtration system where the beam is provided with a groove to which the gripper unit is connected (threadedly engaged with one of the gripping arms 23 Nakamura, Pr 12), for allowing the gripper unit to slide along the beam in the direction along the common plane (able to slide along the guide shaft, Nakamura, Pr 12).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Publication No. JP 2014531316 A ("Puglia"), in view of International Publication No. JP H10203592 A ("Nakamura"), Lindstorm, et al., U.S. Patent No. 20220001333 A1 ("Lindstorm"), and further view of, “Performance Comparison of Spiral-Wound and Plate-and-Frame Forward Osmosis Membrane Module.” Lee, et al ("Lee").
Regarding claim 3, paragraphs 9-13 in the office action discuss the references from Puglia and Nakamura, and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of claim 1. The combination of references does teach a filtration system where the membranes are that are arranged in groups in the membrane housings, where the membranes in each group are positioned after one another in the first direction. The combination of references does not teach a spiral wound membrane.
Lindstorm teaches a spiral wound membranes (Spiral-wound type 12, Lindstorm, Pr 33, Figure 1) arranged in groups in the membrane housings (arranged to extend horizontally, Lindstorm, Pr 5, Figure 1) where the membranes in each group are positioned after one another in the first direction (Lindstorm, Pr 5, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the references of Puglia and Nakamura with the reference of Lindstorm because the invention of Lindstorm falls within the same field of innovation regarding a filtration system comprising a membrane arrangement. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to combine these two inventions because the limitations added by Lindstorm would improve higher draw channel pressure drop, increase packing density (Lee, Abstract) provide a more commercialized application, and exhibit a higher flux (Lee, Introduction).
Claims 5, 9-10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Publication No. JP 2014531316 A ("Puglia"), in view of International Publication No. JP H10203592 A ("Nakamura"), and further view of International Publication No. JP 2013226471 A ("Sugiura"). The machine translation for Puglia, Nakamura, and Sugiura are used in this office action in regards to claim mapping and a copy of the machine translation used is attached in this office action.
Regarding claim 5, paragraphs 9-13 in the office action discuss the references from Puglia and Nakamura, and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of claim 1. The combination of references does teach a filtration system where the gripper unit (gripping arms 23, Nakamura, Pr 12) is attached to the beam (guide shaft, Nakamura, Pr 12).
The combination of references does not teach a hoist unit that has a motor arranged to vertically move the gripper unit together with a membrane held by the gripper unit.
Sugiura discloses a hoist unit (crane, tow truck, hoist, or chain block, Sugiura, pg 3, line 25-28) that has a motor arranged to vertically move the gripper unit together with a membrane held by the gripper unit (used to lift the reverse osmosis membrane element, Sugiura, pg 3, line 25-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the references of Puglia and Nakamura with the reference of Sugiura because the invention of Sugiura falls within the same field of innovation regarding a filtration system comprising a membrane arrangement. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to combine these two inventions because the limitations added by Sugiura would improve the apparatus and method for easily transporting, elevating, and loading a cylindrical spiral reverse osmosis membrane element into a cylindrical pressure vessel (Sugiura, pg 4, line 1-3)
Regarding claim 9, paragraphs 9-13 in the office action discuss the references from Puglia and Nakamura, and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of claim 1. Paragraphs 20-24 in the office action discuss the references from Puglia, Nakamura and Sugiura, and the motivation of combining the references. The combination of references from Puglia, Nakamura and Sugiura does teach a filtration system where the support frame is fixedly attached relative to the membrane arrangement (element transport unit 2 or cart 3 to a separate support or anchor on the floor, Sugiura, pg 7, line 22-25).
Regarding claim 10, paragraphs 9-13 in the office action discuss the references from Puglia and Nakamura, and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of claim 1. Paragraphs 20-24 in the office action discuss the references from Puglia, Nakamura and Sugiura, and the motivation of combining the references. The combination of references from Puglia, Nakamura and Sugiura does teach a filtration system where the support frame is fixedly attached to the membrane housings (securing the cylindrical pressure vessel 10 to the element transport unit 2 or cart 3, Sugiura, pg 7, line 22-25).
Regarding claim 12, paragraphs 9-13 in the office action discuss the references from Puglia and Nakamura, and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of claim 1. Paragraphs 20-24 in the office action discuss the references from Puglia, Nakamura and Sugiura, and the motivation of combining the references. The combination of references from Puglia, Nakamura and Sugiura does teach a filtration system that has a support device (cart 3, Sugiura, pg 7, line 22-25) arranged to be connected to one of the membrane housings (cylindrical pressure vessel 10 , Sugiura, pg 7, line 22-25) at the opening of the membrane housing (Sugiura, pg 7, line 22-25, Figure 1), and configured to support membranes (element transport unit 2, Sugiura, pg 7, line 22-25, Figure 1) that are pushed into or pulled out from the membrane housing (Sugiura, pg 7, line 22-25, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, paragraphs 9-13 in the office action discuss the references from Puglia and Nakamura, and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of claim 1. Paragraphs 20-24 in the office action discuss the references from Puglia, Nakamura and Sugiura, and the motivation of combining the references. The combination of references from Puglia, Nakamura and Sugiura does teach a lifting arrangement arranged to be fixedly attached relative to a membrane arrangement (element transport unit 2 or cart 3 to a separate support or anchor on the floor, Sugiura, pg 7, line 22-25) such that a filtration system (filter system, Puglia, pg 33, line 37-39), has a lifting arrangement with a support frame having a beam that extends along the common plane and is provided vertically above the common area (cart 3 that has a beam that extends along the common plane that is attached to hoist 5, Sugiura, pg 7, line 22-25, Figure 1), and a gripper unit (Gripping a portion of filter element 125, Puglia, pg 20, line 38-39) slidably attached (able to slide along the guide shaft, Nakamura, Pr 12) to the beam and arranged to grip (gripping arms 23, Nakamura, Pr 12) the membranes (helps hold filter element 125 for later assembly steps, Puglia, pg 20, line 38-39) and to transport the membranes in a direction along the common plane (longitudinal direction of the membrane 101, Nakamura, Pr 13).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Publication No. JP 2014531316 A ("Puglia"), in view of International Publication No. JP H10203592 A ("Nakamura"), International Publication No. CN 106217837 A ("Guo"), further view of, “Gillmore's Patent Adjustable Pipe Tongs.” Munn, et al ("Munn"). The machine translation for Puglia, Nakamura, and Guo are used in this office action in regards to claim mapping and a copy of the machine translation used is attached in this office action.
Regarding claim 6, paragraphs 9-13 in the office action discuss the references from Puglia and Nakamura, and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of claim 1. The combination of references from Puglia and Nakamura does teach a filtration system with a gripper unit (gripping arms 23, Nakamura, Pr 12). The combination of references does not teach a pipe tong for gripping a membrane.
Guo discloses a pipe tong (pipe tong, Guo, claim 9) for gripping a membrane.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the references of Puglia and Nakamura with the reference of Guo because the invention of Guo falls within the same field of innovation regarding a mount for a membrane. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to combine these two inventions because the limitations added by Guo would improve the grasping of pipes of different sizes and maintain a hold that the winding membrane can readily be turned or manipulated in any manner that may be desirable (Munn, Gilmore's Patent adjustable Pipe tongs, Pg 1, Pr 1).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Publication No. JP 2014531316 A ("Puglia"), in view of International Publication No. JP H10203592 A ("Nakamura"), International Publication No. JP 2013226471 A ("Sugiura"), and further view of International Publication No. FR 2979335 A1 ("Mirault"). The machine translation for Puglia, Nakamura, and Mirault are used in this office action in regards to claim mapping and a copy of the machine translation used is attached in this office action.
Regarding claim 11, paragraph 26 in the office action discusses the references from Puglia, Nakamura and Sugiura, and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of claim 10. The combination of references from Puglia, Nakamura and Sugiura does teach a filtration system where the support frame is attached to the membrane housings The combination of references from Puglia, Nakamura and Sugiura does not teach a first and second pipe clamp.
Mirault teaches a first and a second pipe clamp (clamping straps 12, Mirault, pg 5, Pr 3) attached to the membrane housings (filtration module M, Mirault, pg 5, Pr 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the references of Puglia, Nakamura and Sugiura with the reference of Mirault because the invention of Mirault falls within the same field of innovation regarding filtration system comprising a membrane arrangement and a mount for a membrane. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to combine these two inventions because the limitations added by Mirault would improve the handling and placement of an elongated and heavy object, in particular a membrane filtration module. In addition, the invention is compact, inexpensive, and easy to use (Mirault, pg 2, Pr 3).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Publication No. JP 2014531316 A ("Puglia"), in view of International Publication No. JP H10203592 A ("Nakamura"), International Publication No. JP 2013226471 A ("Sugiura"), and further view of International Publication No. JP S577203 A ("Tatsuhiko"). The machine translation for Puglia, Nakamura, Sugiura, and Tatsuhiko are used in this office action in regards to claim mapping and a copy of the machine translation used is attached in this office action.
Regarding claim 14, paragraph 27 in the office action discusses the references from Puglia, Nakamura and Sugiura, and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of claim 12. The combination of references from Puglia, Nakamura and Sugiura does teach a method for replacing membranes in a filtration system (membrane installation method, Nakamura, Pr 9) the membrane housings (filter bay housing 1162, Puglia, pg 33, line 43-45) in the filtration system extending in a horizontal direction (longitudinal direction of the membrane 101, Nakamura, Pr 13),
attaching the support device (cart 3, Sugiura, pg 7, line 22-25) to an opening of one of the membrane housings (cylindrical pressure vessel 10, Sugiura, pg 7, line 22-25) of the filtration system,
pulling, in the horizontal direction (element transport unit 2, Sugiura, pg 7, line 22-25, Figure 1), a membrane out from the membrane housing (cylindrical pressure vessel 10, Sugiura, pg 7, line 22-25) and into the support device (cart 3, Sugiura, pg 7, line 22-25),
gripping and lifting the membrane with the gripper unit (Gripping a portion of filter element 125, Puglia, pg 20, line 38-39),
moving the gripper unit with the membrane in the direction along the common plane (element transport unit 2, Sugiura, pg 7, line 22-25, Figure 1),
repeating steps g) to j) until the membrane housing (cylindrical pressure vessel 10, Sugiura, pg 7, line 22-25).
removing the support device (element transport unit 2 or cart 3 to a separate support or anchor on the floor, Sugiura, pg 7, line 22-25) from the opening of the membrane housing (cylindrical pressure vessel 10, Sugiura, pg 7, line 22-25),
repeating steps a) to l) for a number of membrane housings (cylindrical pressure vessel 10, Sugiura, pg 7, line 22-25) of the filtration system.
The combination of references from Puglia, Nakamura and Sugiura does not teach:
lowering and releasing the membrane in a drop off area,
repeating steps b) to e) until the membrane housing is empty,
gripping and lifting from a pick-up, a new with the gripper unit,
sliding the gripping unit with the new membrane in the direction along the common plane,
Tatsuhiko discloses a method for replacing membranes in a filtration system:
lowering and releasing (replacement tool 5b, Tatsuhiko, pg 6, Pr 1, Figure 1) the membrane (membranes 14, Tatsuhiko, pg 6, Pr 1, Figure 1) in a drop off area (drum 8 for disposal, Tatsuhiko, pg 7, Pr 1),
repeating steps b) to e) until the membrane housing is empty (Tatsuhiko, pg 7-8, Pr 1, Figure 1),
gripping and lifting (replacement tool 5b, Tatsuhiko, pg 6, Pr 1, Figure 1), from a pick-up area (storage tube 15, Tatsuhiko, pg 6, Pr 1, Figure 1), a new membrane (membranes 14, Tatsuhiko, pg 6, Pr 1, Figure 1) with the gripper unit (replacement tool 5b, Tatsuhiko, pg 6, Pr 1, Figure 1),
is full with new membranes (membranes 14, Tatsuhiko, pg 6, Pr 1, Figure 1) (Tatsuhiko, pg 7-8, Pr 1, Figure 1),
sliding the gripping unit (replacement tool 5b, Tatsuhiko, pg 6, Pr 1, Figure 1) with the new membrane (membranes 14, Tatsuhiko, pg 6, Pr 1, Figure 1) in the direction along the common plane (Tatsuhiko, pg 6, Pr 1, Figure 1),
lowering and releasing (replacement tool 5b, Tatsuhiko, pg 6, Pr 1, Figure 1) the new membrane (membranes 14, Tatsuhiko, pg 6, Pr 1, Figure 1),
pushing, in the horizontal direction (replacement tool 5b, Tatsuhiko, pg 6, Pr 1, Figure 1), the new membrane (membranes 14, Tatsuhiko, pg 6, Pr 1, Figure 1) into the membrane housing, and
repeating steps a) to l) for a number of membrane housings of the filtration system (Tatsuhiko, pg 7-8, Pr 1, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the references of Puglia, Nakamura and Sugiura with the reference of Tatsuhiko because the invention of Tatsuhiko falls within the same field of innovation regarding filtration system comprising a membrane arrangement and a mount for a membrane. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to combine these two inventions because the limitations added by Tatsuhiko would improve the replacement process of membranes and reduces the risk when replacing membranes in water plants (Tatsuhiko, pg 2-3, Pr 1).
Conclusion
/DeMarkus Jerrell Hodge/Examiner, Art Unit 1779
/Bobby Ramdhanie/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779