Detailed Action
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: GAS BUCKET EXCAVATOR WITH HYDRAULIC DRIVE DEVICE AND FLEXIBLE PIPE ARRANGEMENT
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “two reinforcement layers adjacent to the outer tube being wound around the longitudinal axis with respective first windup angles and the remaining reinforcement layers being wound around the longitudinal axis with respective second windup angles differing from the first windup angles” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and its dependents are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites that “at least six reinforcement layers…are helically wound around a longitudinal axis of the flexible pipe in an alternated manner” which is fairly interpreted in a manner as shown in Figure 2 presentation and which encapsulates each alternating layer having one of the two particular angles, alpha and beta. However, claim 1 further recites that “two reinforcement layers adjacent to the outer tube being wound around the longitudinal axis with respective first windup angles and the remaining reinforcement layers being wound around the longitudinal axis with respective second windup angles differing from the first windup angles”. This recitation is confusing from two perspectives. First, no Figure reinforces this embodiment with its particular layer structure and angles. Secondly, this embodiment is at odds with the previously mentioned embodiment, namely that the six layers are each wound in an alternating manner (as shown in Fig. 2). Examiner views these embodiments as being mutually exclusive as they cannot both be followed within the same claim. Examiner requests clarification and/or amendments to better present an embodiment without conflict. For purposes of examination, Examiner will follow the embodiment first mentioned in claim 1 and which is clearly reinforced by the Figures (Figure 2) and ignore the limitations that cannot reasonably coexist with the first embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meiger (DE2501780A1) in view of Weil (US 8,479,777).
Claim 1: Mierger discloses a grab bucket excavator comprising a self-propelled vehicle (Fig. 1); a grab bucket (10) comprising, in turn, two shovels (note two shovels with 10) movable with respect to each other between an open position and a closed position (as can be appreciated via 12); a lifting device (18) fitted on the self-propelled vehicle for lowering and lifting the grab bucket (Fig. 1); and a hydraulic drive device (12/20/21) for moving the shovels between the open position and the closed position; the hydraulic drive device comprising at least one actuator cylinder (12) connected to the shovels (8), at least one flexible pipe (20) for supplying a fluid under pressure to the actuator cylinder, and, for each flexible pipe, a respective winding roller (21) fitted on the self-propelled vehicle (Fig. 1).
Mierger is not explicit about the flexible pipe comprising an inner tube; an outer tube; at least six reinforcement layers, which are interposed between the inner tube and the outer tube, and are helically wound around a longitudinal axis of the flexible pipe in an alternated manner in two windup directions opposite to each other having differing angles alpha and beta, respectively; and a plurality of intermediate layers, each one interposed between two respective adjacent reinforcement layers for ensuring the adhesion between the reinforcement layers. However, Weil (Fig. 1) teaches a flexible pipe comprising an inner tube (14); an outer tube (44); at least six reinforcement layers (30a-d; note col. 5, lines 55-58), which are interposed between the inner tube and the outer tube (Fig. 1), and are helically wound around a longitudinal axis of the flexible pipe in an alternated manner in two windup directions opposite to each other having differing angles alpha (note angle theta) and beta (note negative theta), respectively (Fig. 1); and a plurality of intermediate layers (50a-d), each one interposed between two respective adjacent reinforcement layers for ensuring the adhesion between the reinforcement layers (Fig. 1, note col. 7, lines 37-43). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize the reinforced hose as taught by Weil into the apparatus of Mierger as it can convey fluids under low temperature and high pressures (see Abstract).
Claim 2: Mierger and Weil teach the previous limitations. Weil further teaches that each first windup angle alpha is comprised between 36 and 54 degrees (see col. 6, lines 20-21).
Claim 3: Mierger and Weil teach the previous limitations. Weil further teaches that each second windup angle beta is comprised between 48 and 62 degrees (see col. 6, lines 20-21).
Claim 4: Mierger and Weil teach the previous limitations. Weil further teaches that the first windup angles are equal to each other or differ from each other (Fig. 1; see also col. 6, lines 29-30).
Claim 5: Mierger and Weil teach the previous limitations. Weil further teaches that the second windup angles are equal to each other or differ from each other (Fig. 1; see also col. 6, lines 29-30).
Claim 6: Mierger and Weil teach the previous limitations. Weil further teaches that the first windup angles are equal to each other (col. 6, lines 29-30), the second windup angles are equal to each other (col. 6, lines 29-30); while Weill is not explicit about the difference between the first windup angles and the second windup angles is comprised between 2 and 15 degrees, such a decision amounts to a choice of design, as the angle selection is a result effective variable. As discussed by Weill, angle choice “may be selected depending upon the desired convergence of strength, elongation, weight, and volumetric expansion characteristics of the hose…higher pitch angles..exhibit decreased radial expansion of the hose under pressure, but increased axial elongation” (col. 6, lines 21-36). As such, the choice to select a first angle of 45 degrees and a second angle of 47 degrees would be wholly within the design realm of the skilled artisan and would amount to an angle difference of 2 degrees.
Claim 7: Mierger and Weil teach the previous limitations. Weil further teaches that the first windup angles differ from each other (col. 6, lines 29-30), the second windup angles differ from each other (col. 6, lines 29-30); while Weill is not explicit about the difference between the greatest windup angle and the smallest windup angles is comprised between 2 and 15 degrees, such a decision amounts to a choice of design, as the angle selection is a result effective variable. As discussed by Weill, angle choice “may be selected depending upon the desired convergence of strength, elongation, weight, and volumetric expansion characteristics of the hose…higher pitch angles..exhibit decreased radial expansion of the hose under pressure, but increased axial elongation” (col. 6, lines 21-36). As such, the choice to select a greatest angle of 55 degrees and a smallest angle of 40 degrees would be wholly within the design realm of the skilled artisan and would amount to an angle difference of 15 degrees.
Claim 8: Mierger and Weil teach the previous limitations. Weil further teaches that the inner tube (14 or possibly inner layers discussed at col. 7, lines 24-30) and the outer tube (40) are made of polymeric material (col. 6, lines 61-67; col. 7, lines 24-30).
Claim 9: Mierger and Weil teach the previous limitations. Weil further teaches that the intermediate layers (50a-d) are made of polymeric material (col. 7, lines 40-44, 53).
Claim 10: Mierger and Weil teach the previous limitations. Weil further teaches that each reinforcement layer comprises a plurality of wires made of metallic material (see claim 2).
Claim 11: Mierger and Weil teach the previous limitations. Weil further teaches that the flexible pipe further comprises a consolidation layer made of textile material and fitted on the inner tube (see col. 7, lines 24-30, note “textile layers”).
Claim 12: Mierger and Weil teach the previous limitations. Weil further teaches that the flexible pipe further comprises a further intermediate layer interposed between the consolidation layer and the adjacent reinforcement layer (col. 7, lines 24-30, note “resin layers”).
Claim 13: Mierger and Weil teach the previous limitations. Weil further teaches that each first windup angle is equal to 45 degrees (see col. 6, lines 20-21 and 29-30).
Claim 14: Mierger and Weil teach the previous limitations. Weil further teaches each second windup angle is equal to 54°44' (col. 6, line 27).
Conclusion
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746