DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 11/13/2023 and 06/05/2025 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (hereinafter Yoshida), U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0013134, in view of Tokyo Denki CC (Toshiba) (hereinafter Toshiba), Japanese Patent JPS62-80315 (JPU_1987080315).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoshida teaches (except where italicized), an electromagnetic device (Fig. 1), comprising:
a core body (100), wherein
the core body comprises an outer peripheral iron core composed of a plurality of outer peripheral iron core portions (11, 12, 13), and at least three iron cores (id.) joined with the plurality of outer peripheral iron core portions, the electromagnetic device further comprising:
coils (21-23) which are installed on the at least three iron cores, and
coil cases (31-33) which at least partially cover each of the at least three iron cores to insulate them from the coils, wherein
mating parts by means of which the core body and the coil cases are mated with each other are formed on each of the core body and the coil case. (Yoshida: Figs. 1-7 and 10-13, para. [0034], [0035], [0037], [0086]-[0089]).
Yoshida does not explicitly teach, mating parts by means of which the core body and the coil cases are mated with each other are formed on each of the core body and the coil case.
However, Toshiba teaches (Fig. 1), mating parts (28, 29) by means of which the core body and the coil cases are mated with each other are formed on each of the core body and the coil case. (Toshiba: Figs. 1-4, machine translation, page 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the component of Yoshida to include the lead-out portion and the end of the coil having an interface formed therebetween of Toshiba, the motivation being “the insertion workability becomes good at the time of junction of side leg iron core 29. Once coil 21 is positioned by central leg iron core 20, both relative physical relationship is maintained by fitting with protruding line part 28 and crevice 29 in the same position”. (Toshiba: Figs. 1-4, machine translation, page 2). Therefore, the limitation of Claim 1 would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 2 and similarly claim 3, the combination of Yoshida in view of Toshiba further teaches, wherein the mating parts each comprise a concave part which is formed so as to extend at least partially parallel to an axial direction of the core body, and a convex part which mates with the concave part (id.), the motivation being “the insertion workability becomes good at the time of junction of side leg iron core 29. Once coil 21 is positioned by central leg iron core 20, both relative physical relationship is maintained by fitting with protruding line part 28 and crevice 29 in the same position”. (Toshiba: Figs. 1-4, machine translation, page 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Yoshida in view of Toshiba further teaches, wherein a number of the at least three iron cores is a multiple of three. (Yoshida: Figs. 1-7 and 10-13, para. [0034], [0035], [0037], [0086]-[0089]).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Yoshida in view of Toshiba further teaches, wherein a number of the at least three iron cores is an even number of four or more (“the iron cores may be an even number of four or more” [0021]). (Yoshida: Figs. 1-7 and 10-13, para. [0021]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shirouzu (US 20210057140) and Yoshida et al. (JP2019004126A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if claim 4 is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitation of the base claims and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 recites, inter alia, “…wherein the mating parts each comprise a first mating part formed between an outer peripheral surface of the coil cases and the iron cores, and a second mating part formed between an inner peripheral surface of the coil cases and the outer peripheral iron core, and a distance between the first mating part and a center of the electromagnetic device is different from a distance between the second mating part and the center of the electromagnetic device”. (Emphasis added).
Conclusion
/MALCOLM BARNES/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837
6/26/2026