DETAILED ACTION This detailed action is in response to the application filed on November 13 , 2023 and any subsequent filings. Claims 1- 19 are pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Claims 1- 5, 8-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ylikangas , et al., U.S. Patent No. 7727404 B2 (" Ylikangas "), in view o f Gregoli , et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 4978365 A (" Gregoli "), Thumm , et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 6159442 A (" Thumm ") , Claesson , et al., U.S. Patent No. 6656251 B1 (" Claesson ") , in further view of, “Controller Design and Control Structure Analysis for a Novel Oil–Water Multi-Pipe Separator.” Ohrem , et al (" Ohrem "). Regarding Claim 1, Ylikangas discloses a method for purification of contaminated oil (method for removal of dissolved materials and/or particles from a liquid stream, Ylikangas , Abstract, Figure 1) that includes providing contaminated oil to an inlet (hydrocarbon-containing produced water from the oil industry, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 43-45, Figure 1) into a mixing system (static mixer 2 and 4, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 49-51, Figure 1) configured to be controlled to allow contaminated oil to enter one or more of the mixers (static mixer 2 and 4, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 49-51, Figure 1). Mixing of the contaminated oil occurs in the mixing system (static mixer 2 and 4, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 49-51, Figure 1); forwarding the mixed contaminated oil from the mixing system (static mixer 2 and 4, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 49-51, Figure 1) to a separation device (mechanical separation by centrifuge 5, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 52-53, Figure 1). Ylikangas further discloses that the separating of the contaminated oil occurs in the separation device (mechanical separation by centrifuge 5, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 52-53, Figure 1) . Ylikangas does not teach two mixers connected in parallel connected to one valve, where the step of mixing includes measuring a pressure difference over one of the mixers and/or over the complete mixing system; and controlling the at least one valve in the mixing system such that the contaminated oil is allowed to enter one or more of the mixers depending on the measured pressure difference. Gregoli teaches two mixers connected in parallel (static mixing 108, Gregoli , Column 10, line 33-38, Figure 2). Thumm teaches two valves (directional proportional control valve 144, 144"", Thumm , Column 7, line 18-24, Figure 4), where the step of mixing (static mixer 2 and 4, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 49-51, Figure 1) includes measuring a pressure difference (pressure transducers 172, 172', Thumm , Column 7 line 67 - Column 8 line 5, Figure 4) over the complete mixing system ( Thumm , Column 7 line 67 - Column 8 line 5, Figure 4); and controlling the at least one valve (directional proportional control valve 144, 144"",Thumm, Column 7, line 18-24, Figure 4) in the mixing system such that the contaminated oil is allowed to enter one or more of the mixers depending on the measured pressure difference ( Thumm , Column 7, line 18-24, Figure 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the references of Ylikangas with the reference of Gregoli because the invention of Gregoli falls within the same field of innovation regarding a fluid mixing system . One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to combine these two inventions because the limitations of a mixer in parallel added by Gregoli improves the plant flow capacity by having two or more mixing steps in parallel ( Claesson , Column 4, line 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the references of Ylikangas and Gregoli with the reference of Thumm because the invention of Thumm falls within the same field of innovation regarding a fluid mixing and oil separation system . One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to combine these two inventions because the limitations of a controller, valve and pressure transducer added by Thumm improves the performance of the separator under varying inlet conditions that can be improved with proper selection of control inputs and measurements ( ohrem , Abstract). Regarding C laim 2 , paragraphs 7-13 in the office action discuss the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , and Thumm , and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of C laim 1 . The combination of references does teach the controlling the at least one valve (directional proportional control valve 144, 144", Thumm , Column 7, line 18-24, Figure 4) depending on the measured pressure difference (pressure transducers 172, 172', Thumm , Column 7 line 67 - Column 8 line 5, Figure 4) includes allowing contaminated oil to enter two or more mixers when the measured pressure difference is above a pressure difference threshold ( Thumm , Column 7, line 18-24, Figure 4). Regarding C laim 3 , paragraphs 7-13 in the office action discuss the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , and Thumm , and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of C laim 1 . The combination of references does teach controlling (controller 110, Thumm , Column 7, line 23-27, Figure 1 and 4) the at least one valve (directional proportional control valve 144, 144", Thumm , Column 7, line 18-24, Figure 4) that includes controlling at least one valve (directional proportional control valve 144, 144", Thumm , Column 7, line 18-24, Figure 4) to allow contaminated oil to enter one additional mixer when a measured (pressure transducers 172, 172', Thumm , Column 7 line 67 - Column 8 line 5, Figure 4) pressure difference increases above a pressure difference threshold ( Thumm , Column 7, line 18-24, Figure 4). Regarding C laim 4 , paragraphs 7-13 in the office action discuss the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , and Thumm , and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of C laim 1 . The combination of references does teach measuring a pressure difference (pressure transducers 172, 172',Thumm, Column 7 line 67 - Column 8 line 5, Figure 4) over the complete mixing system (static mixer 2 and 4, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 49-51, Figure 1) that includes measuring at least two pressures by a pressure measuring device including at least two pressure sensors (pressure transducers 172, 172',Thumm, Column 7 line 67 - Column 8 line 5, Figure 4) positioned in the mixing system (static mixer 2 and 4, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 49-51, Figure 1) such that each pressure sensor measures a pressure difference over at least one of the mixers and/or over the complete mixing system (static mixer 2 and 4, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 49-51, Figure 1) and where the step of controlling (controller 110,Thumm, Column 7, line 23-27, Figure 1 and 4) the at least one valve (directional proportional control valve 144, 144",Thumm, Column 7, line 18-24, Figure 4) depending on the measured pressure difference (pressure transducers 172, 172',Thumm, Column 7 line 67 - Column 8 line 5, Figure 4) includes controlling the at least one valve (directional proportional control valve 144, 144",Thumm, Column 7, line 18-24, Figure 4) using a control system (controller 110,Thumm, Column 7, line 23-27, Figure 1 and 4) communicatively connected with the pressure measuring device (pressure transducers 172, 172',Thumm, Column 7 line 67 - Column 8 line 5, Figure 4) and with the at least one valve (directional proportional control valve 144, 144",Thumm, Column 7, line 18-24, Figure 4). Regarding C laim 5 , paragraphs 7-13 in the office action discuss the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , and Thumm , and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of C laim 1 . The combination of references does teach a separation aid (container for dosing point 1, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 48, Figure 1) to the contaminated oil before or when the contaminated oil (method for removal of dissolved materials and/or particles from a liquid stream, Ylikangas , Abstract, Figure 1) is mixed in the mixing system (static mixer 2 and 4, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 49-51, Figure 1). Regarding C laim 8 , paragraph 14 in the office action discusses the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , and Thumm , and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of C laim 2 . The combination of references does teach the pressure difference (pressure transducers 172, 172', Thumm , Column 7 line 67 - Column 8 line 5, Figure 4) threshold (controller 110, Thumm , Column 7, line 23-27, Figure 1 and 4) is defined using one of measured properties (pressure transducers 172, 172', Thumm , Column 7 line 67 - Column 8 line 5, Figure 4). Regarding C laim 9 , paragraphs 7-13 in the office action discuss the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , and Thumm , and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of C laim 1 . The combination of references does teach a mixing system including an inlet (inlet of static or mechanical mixer 2, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 49, Figure 1) for receiving contaminated oil to be purified in the oil purification system and an outlet (outlet of static mixer 4, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 51, Figure 1); and a separation device (mechanical separation by centrifuge 5 , Ylikangas , Column 7, line 52-53, Figure 1) including an inlet fluidly connected to the outlet of the mixing system ( Ylikangas , Column 7, line 52-53, Figure 1), where the mixing system includes two mixers connected in parallel (static mixing 108, Gregoli , Column 10, line 33-38, Figure 2) and two valve s (directional proportional control valve 144, 144"",Thumm, Column 7, line 18-24, Figure 4) configured to be controlled to allow contaminated oil to enter one or more of the at least two mixers ( Gregoli , Column 10, line 33-38, Figure 2), the mixing system further including a pressure measuring device with two pressure sensors (pressure transducers 172, 172', Thumm , Column 7 line 67 - Column 8 line 5, Figure 4) positioned in the mixing system such that two sensors measure a pressure difference over the entire mixing system ( Thumm , Column 7 line 67 - Column 8 line 5, Figure 4). Regarding C laim 10 , paragraph 19 in the office action discusses the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , and Thumm , and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of C laim 9 . The combination of references does teach an oil purification system that has a control system (controller 110,Thumm, Column 7, line 23-27, Figure 1 and 4) communicatively connected with the pressure measuring device (pressure transducers 172, 172', Thumm , Column 7 line 67 - Column 8 line 5, Figure 4) and with t wo valve s (directional proportional control valve 144, 144", Thumm , Column 7, line 18-24, Figure 4) and where the control syste m (controller 110, Thumm , Column 7, line 23-27, Figure 1 and 4) is configured to control the at least one valve (directional proportional control valve 144, 144", Thumm , Column 7, line 18-24, Figure 4) such that the contaminated oil is allowed to enter one or more of the mixers depending on the measured pressure difference over the complete mixing system (static mixing 108, Gregoli , Column 10, line 33-38, Figure 2). Regarding C laim 11 , paragraph 20 in the office action discusses the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , and Thumm , and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of C laim 10 . The combination of references does teach an oil purification system where the control system (controller 110, Thumm , Column 7, line 23-27, Figure 1 and 4) is configured to control the at least one valve (directional proportional control valve 144, 144", Thumm , Column 7, line 18-24, Figure 4) to allow contaminated oil to enter two mixers when the measured pressure difference is above a pressure difference threshold (static mixing 108, Gregoli , Column 10, line 33-38, Figure 2). Regarding C laim 12 , paragraph 20 in the office action discusses the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , and Thumm , and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of C laim 10 . The combination of references does teach an oil purification system where the control system (controller 110, Thumm , Column 7, line 23-27, Figure 1 and 4) is configured to control the at least one valve (control valve 134,136, Gregoli , Column 27, line 36-40, Figure 2) to allow contaminated oil to enter one additional mixer (static mixing 108, Gregoli , Column 10, line 33-38, Figure 2) when a measured pressure difference is above a pressure difference threshold (pressure transducers 172, 172', Thumm , Column 7 line 67 - Column 8 line 5, Figure 4). Regarding C laim 13 , paragraph 19 in the office action discusses the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , and Thumm , and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of C laim 9 . The combination of references does teach an oil purification system that has a separation aid tank (container for dosing point 1, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 48, Figure 1) connected in the system such that a separation aid (alginate, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 48, Figure 1 ) from the separation aid tank (container for dosing point 1, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 48, Figure 1) is added to the contaminated oil before the contaminated oil enters the mixing system (dosing point 1, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 48, Figure 1). Regarding C laim 14 , paragraph 19 in the office action discusses the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , and Thumm , and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of C laim 9 . The combination of references does teach an oil purification system where the mixers are static inline mixers (static mixer 2 and 4, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 51, Figure 1). Regarding C laim 15 , paragraph 19 in the office action discusses the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , and Thumm , and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of C laim 9 . The combination of references does teach an oil purification system where the separation device is a centrifugal separator (mechanical separation by centrifuge 5, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 52-53, Figure 1). Regarding C laim 17 , paragraph 21 in the office action discusses the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , and Thumm , and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of C laim 11 . The combination of references does teach an oil purification system where the control system (controller 110, Thumm , Column 7, line 23-27, Figure 1 and 4) is configured to define the pressure difference threshold in using at least one value of the measured properties (pressure transducers 172, 172', Thumm , Column 7 line 67 - Column 8 line 5, Figure 4). Regarding C laim 18 , paragraphs 7-13 in the office action discuss the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , and Thumm , and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of C laim 1 . The combination of references does teach a mixing system (mechanical mixer 2, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 49, Figure 1) that is connected to the separation device by a filtration device, a centrifugal separator (mechanical separation by centrifuge 5, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 52-53, Figure 1). Regarding C laim 19 , paragraph 19 in the office action discusses the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , and Thumm , and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of C laim 9 . The combination of references does teach an oil purification system where the outlet of the mixing system (outlet of static mixer 4, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 51, Figure 1) is connected with the inlet of the separation device by a filtration device, a centrifugal separator (mechanical separation by centrifuge 5, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 52-53, Figure 1). Claims 6-7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ylikangas , et al., U.S. Patent No. 7727404 B2 (" Ylikangas "), in view o f Gregoli , et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 4978365 A (" Gregoli "), Thumm , et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 6159442 A (" Thumm ") , Claesson , et al., U.S. Patent No. 6656251 B1 (" Claesson ") , “Controller Design and Control Structure Analysis for a Novel Oil–Water Multi-Pipe Separator.” Ohrem , et al (" Ohrem "), Miller , et al., U.S. Patent No. 10456792 B2 (" Miller ") , in further view of, “ Centrifugal separator, the new technical solution, application in mineral processing .” Batalovic , et al (" Batalovic "). Regarding C laim 6 , paragraphs 7-13 in the office action discuss the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , and Thumm , and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of C laim 1 . The combination of references does teach the separating of the contaminated oil in the separation device (mechanical separation by centrifuge 5, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 52-53, Figure 1) includes centrifuging the contaminated oil (mechanical separation by centrifuge 5, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 52-53, Figure 1), where the separation device is a centrifugal separator (mechanical separation by centrifuge 5, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 52-53, Figure 1) . The combination of references does not teach a heavy phase and a light phase are retrieved from the centrifugal separator. Miller teaches a heavy phase (effluent line 124, Miller, paragraph 163, Figure 13) and a light phase (Miller, paragraph 164, Figure 13) that are retrieved from the centrifugal separator (system 10, Miller, Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the references of Ylikangas , Gregoli , Thumm with the reference of Miller because the invention of Miller falls within the same field of innovation regarding a centrifugal separation system . One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to combine these two inventions because the limitations of centrifugal separator added by Miller improves the settling velocity which shortens the particle settling time in the rotor of separator, resulting in smaller separator dimensions at the same capacity ( Batalovi c , I ntroduction) . Regarding C laim 7 , paragraphs 7-13 in the office action discuss the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , and Thumm , and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of C laim 1 . P aragraphs 30-33 in the office action discuss the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , Thumm , and Miller , and the motivation of combining the references . The combination of references does teach a measuring (flowmeter 132, Miller, paragraph 164, Figure 13) one property in a light phase retrieved from a light phase outlet (Miller, paragraph 164, Figure 13) of the separation device (system 10, Miller, Figure 1) and/or in a heavy phase retrieved from a heavy phase outlet (effluent line 124, Miller, paragraph 163, Figure 13) of the separation device (system 10, Miller, Figure 1) that include a flow rate (flowmeter 132, Miller, paragraph 164, Figure 13) where the step of controlling (controller 110, Thumm , Column 7, line 23-27, Figure 1 and 4) at least one valve (directional proportional control valve 144, 144", Thumm , Column 7, line 18-24, Figure 4) in the mixing system (static mixer 2 and 4, Ylikangas , Column 7, line 49-51, Figure 1) that is further dependent on at least one value of the one measured properties (flowmeter 132, Miller, paragraph 164, Figure 13). Regarding C laim 16 , paragraph 20 in the office action discusses the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , and Thumm , and the motivation of combining the references to achieve invention of C laim 10 . P aragraphs 30-33 in the office action discuss the references from Ylikangas , Gregoli , Thumm , and Miller , and the motivation of combining the references . The combination of references does teach an oil purification system that has one sensor (flowmeter 132, Miller, paragraph 164, Figure 13) positioned in fluid connection with a light phase outlet (Miller, paragraph 164, Figure 13) of the separation device (system 10, Miller, Figure 1) and/or a heavy phase outlet (effluent line 124, Miller, paragraph 163, Figure 13) of the separation device, where the at least one sensor (flowmeter 130, Miller, paragraph 163, Figure 13) is configured to measure flow rate (Miller, paragraph 163, Figure 13), where at least one sensor (pressure transducers 172, 172', Thumm , Column 7 line 67 - Column 8 line 5, Figure 4) is communicatively connected with the control system (controller 110, Thumm , Column 7, line 23-27, Figure 1 and 4) and the control system is configured to control the at least one valve (directional proportional control valve 144, 144", Thumm , Column 7, line 18-24, Figure 4) depending on one value of the one or more measured properties. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT DeMarkus J Hodge whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-3593 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday 8-5 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Bobby Ramdhanie can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-3240 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. / DeMarkus Jerrell Hodge/ Examiner, Art Unit 1779 /Bobby Ramdhanie/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779