DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant provided an amended specification but a marked up copy of the specification was not provided so as to ascertain how the specification was amended.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 2 and 2a.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites a separation aid tank connected such that a separation aid from the separation aid tank is added to the contaminated oil. The recitation of the separation aid being added to the contaminated oil is a process limitation and the claim is directed to an apparatus. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite a separation aid is capable of being added to the contaminated oil.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregoli et al. US 4,978,365.
Claim 9, Gregoli teaches a system comprising: a mixing system including an inlet (50) for receiving a fluid and an outlet (110), a separation device (300) including an inlet (123) fluidly connected to the outlet of the mixing system, wherein the mixing system includes at least two mixers (108a, 108b) connected in parallel and at least one valve (134, 136) configured to be controlled to allow fluid to enter one or more of the mixers, the mixing system further including a pressure measuring device (106) positioned in the mixing system to measure a pressure difference over the mixing system (fig. 1, 2, col. 10, lines 31-33). Gregoli does not teach at least two pressure sensors to measure the pressure difference over the mixing system. Providing two pressure sensors, one at the inlet of the mixing system and one at the outlet of the mixing system, would have been an obvious alternative configuration to one of ordinary skill in the art as a way to measure the pressure difference over the mixing system. Providing two pressure sensors upstream and downstream of a system to measure the pressure drop over that system is a very common technique in the art and would have been well within the normal capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. The claim would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The recitation of the system being an oil purification system and the mixing system being for receiving contaminated oil to be purified is a recitation of an intended use of the system and does not provide any further structural limitations to the claims system.
Claim 13, Gregoli further teaches a tank (64) connected in the system such that a material from the tank can be added to the fluid before it enters the mixing system (fig. 1). The recitation of the tank being a separation aid tank and separation aid being added to the contaminated oil is a recitation of intended use and does not provide any further structural limitations to the system.
Claim 14, Gregoli further teaches the mixers being static inline mixers (fig. 1, col. 10, lines 31-40).
Claim 15, Gregoli teaches a separation device but does not teach a centrifugal separator. Gregoli teaches the separation can be accomplished by any suitable means (col. 16, lines 32-51). Centrifugal separation is a very common separation technique to separate oil and water and would have been well within the normal capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art as a suitable means. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 and 20-22 are allowed.
Claims 10-12 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, Gregoli teaches a method for purification of contaminated oil where contaminated oil is provided into a mixing system (at 105) including at least two mixers (108a, b) connected in parallel and at least one valve (134, 136) configured to be controlled to allow contaminated oil to enter one or more of the mixers, mixing the contaminated oil in the mixing system, forwarding the mixed contaminated oil from the mixing system to a separation device (300) and separating the contaminated oil in the separation device, wherein the step of mixing comprises: measuring a pressure difference over the mixing system (fig. 1, 2, col. 10, lines 31-33). Gregoli does not teach controlling the at least one valve in the mixing system depending on the measured pressure difference nor would it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prior art to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 10, Gregoli teaches as obvious the system of claim 9 but does not teach a control system configured to control the at least one valve depending on the measured pressure difference over the mixers nor would it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prior art to arrive at the claimed invention.
The additional claims are allowable as depending from claim 1 or 10.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779