DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. This Office action is responsive to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed under 37 CFR §1.53(d) for the instant application on September 1, 2026. Applicants have properly set forth the RCE, which has been entered into the application, and an examination on the merits follows herewith.
Claims 1-7 have been examined and rejected. This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed on August 14, 2026, which has been entered in the above identified application.
Claim Objections
3. The correction to claim 1 has been approved, and the objection to the claim is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lossl et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,338,491) in view of Schumacher et al (Pub. No. US 2019/0315037).
5-1. Regarding claim 1, Lossl teaches the claim comprising the following steps: detecting machine parameters relating to properties and/or settings of at least one film extrusion machine, by disclosing a two-stage design process that allows a person to set specific machine variables so as to produce a specific product having specific product characteristics [column 8, lines 20-23] by using a machine-dependent sensor model and a product-dependent process model [column 9, lines 6-26, 41-48]. Machine variables may be identified by means of which particular product characteristics are to be achieved [column 8, lines 24-29; figures 2-3].
Lossl teaches detecting film parameters relating to desired properties of the film, by disclosing that film characteristics may be set, on the process model, by means of various stages or segments, i.e., individual steps of the manufacturing process in such a way that the film ultimately manufactured thus exhibits the desired product characteristics [column 11, lines 27-31].
Lossl teaches detecting raw material parameters relating to properties of the total quantity of raw materials, by disclosing that production variables, such as the starting material for manufacturing a plastics film web [column 4, lines 45-56; figure 3], are in a functional correlation with the machine variables and the process variables [column 5, lines 1-8]. This includes raw material parameters [column 21, lines 13-16]. If an operator wishes to amend specific process variables for a plastics film that is to be produced, the process model determines new production variables in order to achieve said product characteristics [column 20, lines 59-66].
Lossl teaches inputting the detected parameters in a film production model, by disclosing that an operator may amend specific process variables for the plastics film that is to be produced and a software-controlled assistant program can submit proposals of how best to amend which parameters in order to achieve a desired aim [column 10, lines 33-37]. When developing a product, an operator may directly set the final product characteristic of the finished plastics film, and the setting values dependent thereon are then achieved automatically and in a system-assisted manner [column 12, lines 7-26].
Although Lossl discloses correlating the production variables with the process variables of the plastics film to be manufactured based on the two-stage setting model [Lossl, column 12, lines 7-24], Lossl does not expressly teach the film comprising at least two layers, and calculating a selection and an amount of raw materials for each layer of the film from the total quantity of raw materials based on the detected parameters and the film production model, wherein the selection of raw materials is a subset of the total quantity of raw materials. Schumacher discloses a method for deriving a systematic dependence in a production process of a film web between a setting variable of the production process and an optical property of the produced film web [paragraphs 2, 20]. This includes a variety of systematic dependencies between properties and/or functional and/or geometric properties of the film web and setting variables of the manufacturing process of the film web [paragraphs 91, 110-112]. Such functional properties that are associated with optical properties of the film comprise used raw materials, proportions of raw materials, and proportions of recycled material [paragraphs 92-95]. In one embodiment, a measured variable determines functional properties of the film web depending on the optical properties, in particular the raw materials used and/or the proportion of each raw materials and/or the proportion of recyclate [paragraphs 147, 149]. This dependency can be quantified, stored, and then used to achieve a more precise property of the film [paragraphs 70-71]. This may be used in a variety of different art-like manufacturing devices for the production of film webs [paragraphs 128, 150, 280]. The film web may be multi-layered [paragraph 24]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use, as part of the process model of Lossl, a derived dependence used to calculate the amount of raw materials to use for each layer of a multi-layer film based on a product characteristic of the film, as taught by Schumacher. This would provide a stronger film and help ensure proper product development.
Lossl-Schumacher teach outputting information relating to the selection and the amount of raw materials for each layer of the film, by disclosing that a software-controlled assistant program can submit proposals on how best to amend which parameters in order to achieve a desired aim [Lossl, column 10, lines 33-37]. Such a proposal to produce a product having desired characteristics include an amount of raw material in a multi-layer film [Schumacher, paragraphs 24, 91-95, 147, 149].
Lossl-Schumacher teach producing the film using the at least one film extrusion machine, wherein each layer of the film is melted and extruded based on the output information relating to the selection and the amount of raw materials, by disclosing producing the multi-layer film by feeding raw materials to an extrusion process [Lossl, column 6, lines 1-48; Schumacher, paragraph 24, 147, 149, 280].
5-2. Regarding claim 3, Lossl-Schumacher teach all the limitations of claim 1, additionally comprising the following step: calculating expected properties of the film based on the film production model, by disclosing predicting product characteristics from particular machine variables [Lossl, column 8, lines 24-30].
5-3. Regarding claim 4, Lossl-Schumacher teach all the limitations of claim 1, additionally comprising the following step: considering previous orders when calculating the selection and/or amounts of raw materials, by disclosing that proceeding from fixed product characteristics, a process model specifies the production variables necessary therefor by means of suitable methods, such as machine learning algorithms [Lossl, column 12, lines 41-44].
5-4. Regarding claim 5, Lossl-Schumacher teach all the limitations of claim 1, additionally comprising the following steps: detecting batch-specific properties of at least a part of the raw materials, considering said batch-specific properties, calculating a selection and/or amount of raw materials, by disclosing that production variables, such as the starting material for manufacturing a plastics film web [Lossl, column 4, lines 45-56; figure 3], are in a functional correlation with the machine variables and the process variables [Lossl, column 5, lines 1-8]. This includes raw material parameters [Lossl, column 21, lines 13-16]. If an operator wishes to amend specific process variables for a plastics film that is to be produced, the process model determines new production variables in order to achieve said product characteristics [Lossl, column 20, lines 59-66]. The amount of raw material may be calculated based on desired properties of the product [Lehman, column 1, lines 13-22].
5-5. Regarding claim 6, Lossl-Schumacher teach all the limitations of claim 1 additionally comprising the following steps: detecting at least one property of the film, calculating the deviation of said at least one property from an expected property of the film, inferring at least one property of a raw material, by disclosing that proceeding from fixed product characteristics, a process model specifies the production variables necessary therefor by means of suitable methods, such as machine learning algorithms [Lossl, column 12, lines 41-44], which relies on calculating deviations. Thus, the process model would be able to learn how certain production variables, such as a starting material, affects certain product characteristics. This correlation between production variable and product characteristic may be considered a property of the production variable.
5-6. Regarding claim 7, Lossl-Schumacher teach a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions which, when the instructions are executed on a computer, cause the computer to carry out the steps of a method comprising the features of Claim 1, by disclosing a control apparatus for manufacturing and/or treating a plastics film [Lossl, column 3, lines 34-40].
6. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lossl et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,338,491), in view of Schumacher et al (Pub. No. US 2019/0315037), and further in view of Shioyama et al (Pub. No. US 2005/0174880).
6-1. Regarding claim 2, Lossl-Schumacher teach all the limitations of claim 1. Lossl-Schumacher do not expressly teach the claim additionally comprising the following step: specifying a recommendation of a film extrusion machine on which the film is produced. Shioyama discloses determining a suitable molding machine, such as a particular extrusion machine, based upon the shape of a desired molded product [paragraph 19]. This would allow the product to be produced more efficiently. Since Lossl-Schumacher disclose a software-controlled assistant program can submit proposals on how best to amend which parameters in order to achieve a desired aim [Lossl, column 10, lines 33-37], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the assistant program of Lehman to recommend a suitable extrusion machine based on characteristics of the product, as taught by Shioyama. This would allow the product to be produced more efficiently.
Response to Arguments
7. The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s amendments to claim 1.
Regarding independent claim 1, Applicant alleges that Lossl et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,338,491) in view of Schumacher et al (Pub. No. US 2019/0315037) do not teach, “calculating a selection and an amount of raw materials for each layer of the film from the total quantity of raw materials based on the detected parameters and the film production model, wherein the selection of raw materials is a subset of the total quantity of raw materials,” as has been amended to the claim, because Schumacher reinforces the selection of raw materials after they are used in the film production whereas the configuration claimed allows for a proper selection of raw materials before beginning production.
Examiner notes that the combination of Lossl in view of Schumacher teaches the claim limitation. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Lossl discloses that production variables, such as the starting material for manufacturing a plastics film web [Lossl, column 4, lines 45-56; figure 3], are in a functional correlation with the machine variables and the process variables [Lossl, column 5, lines 1-8]. This includes raw material parameters [Lossl, column 21, lines 13-16]. If an operator wishes to amend specific process variables for a plastics film that is to be produced, the process model determines new production variables in order to achieve said product characteristics [Lossl, column 20, lines 59-66].
Schumacher discloses a method for deriving a systematic dependence in a production process of a film web between a setting variable of the production process and an optical property of the produced film web [paragraphs 2, 20]. This includes a variety of systematic dependencies between properties and/or functional and/or geometric properties of the film web and setting variables of the manufacturing process of the film web [paragraphs 91, 110-112]. Such functional properties that are associated with optical properties of the film comprise used raw materials, proportions of raw materials, and proportions of recycled material [paragraphs 92-95]. In one embodiment, a measured variable determines functional properties of the film web depending on the optical properties, in particular the raw materials used and/or the proportion of each raw materials and/or the proportion of recyclate [paragraphs 147, 149]. This dependency can be quantified, stored, and then used to achieve a more precise property of the film [paragraphs 70-71]. As part of the process of producing the film, a measuring system is used to detect an optical property of a produced film web [paragraph 286] and a data processing and evaluation unit is adapted to carry out a method for indirect derivation of a systematic dependence of a film web between a setting variable of the manufacturing process and an optical property of the produced film web [paragraph 291, lines 1-6]. Once the systematic dependencies have been determined and optimized, such dependencies may be used to achieve a desired property of the film web with high precision. That is, of the total quantity of raw materials initially provided to the plant, the derived systematic dependency will provide which raw materials should be used and the proportion of each raw material that is needed to achieve a film with a desired property.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use, as part of the process model of Lossl, a derived dependence used to calculate the amount of raw materials to use for each layer of a multi-layer film based on a product characteristic of the film, as taught by Schumacher. This would provide a stronger film and help ensure proper product development. Thus, the model of Lossl-Schumacher would allow an operator to amend specific process variables for the plastics film that is to be produced, and a software-controlled assistant program will submit proposals of how best to amend which parameters in order to achieve a desired aim [Lossl, column 10, lines 33-37], including the raw materials used, the proportion of each raw material, and the proportion of recyclate.
Applicant states that dependent claims 2-7 recite all the limitations of the independent claims, and thus, are allowable in view of the remarks set forth regarding independent claim 1. However, as discussed above, Lossl in view of Schumacher are considered to teach claim 1, and consequently, claims 2-7 are rejected.
Conclusion
/ALVIN H TAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118