DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communication filed on 08/04/2026.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 16, 19, 21 and 22 are pending and rejected. Claims 3, 5, 11, 15 and 17 are canceled. Claims 7, 8 , 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 18 and 20 are withdrawn. Claim 1 is amended. Claims 21 and 22 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 16, 19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al (US 20240073887 A1) (hereinafter “Bae”) in view of Babaei et al (US 20220039072 A1) (hereinafter “Babaei”) and further in view of Bhamri et al (US 20240015729 A1) (hereinafter “Bhamri”).
Regarding claim 1, Bae discloses a communication method (see para. [0009]; [0015]; [0204] discloses method monitoring by a UE (first communication node) for receiving PDCCH, receiving scheduling information for uplink transmission and ULCI monitoring), applied by a first communication node (see para. [0009]; [0015]; [0204] discloses method monitoring by a UE (first communication node) for receiving PDCCH, receiving scheduling information for uplink transmission and ULCI monitoring), comprising:
receiving downlink control information (DCI) sent by a second communication node on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a first control resource set (CORESET) ) (see para. [0052];[0182] discloses PDCCH that carries DCI; PCCH is transmitted through a control resource set (CORESET), one or more CORESETs may be configured for the UE (first communication node), monitoring implies decoding each PDCCH according to monitored DCI);
wherein the DCI comprises scheduling information for uplink transmission of the first communication node (see para. [0097]-[0098] discloses DCI includes information about resource allocation of the UL-SCH referred as PUSCH scheduling, DCI scheduled cell where transmission of PUSCH is scheduled by DCI included in the PDCCH);
the first CORESET is a CORESET corresponding to a PDCCH where the DCI comprising the scheduling information for the uplink transmission of the first communication node is located (see para. [0052];[0182] discloses PDCCH that carries DCI; PCCH is transmitted through a control resource set (CORESET), one or more CORESETs may be configured for the UE (first communication node), monitoring implies decoding each PDCCH according to monitored DCI).
Bae fails to disclose but Babaei teaches wherein in a case where the DCI comprises first indication information and the first indication information indicates a presence of the time domain location information of a second CORESET or a need to detect the second CORESET (see para. [0259] discloses first CORESET and second CORESET resources may be bundled for transmission of the DCI, the DCI may be mapped to the bundled resource), the DCI further comprises the time domain location information of the second CORESET (see para. [0259] discloses first CORESET and second CORESET resources may be bundled for transmission of the DCI, the DCI may be mapped to the bundled resource)
Bae and Babaei are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bae to include the CORESETS as described by Babaei.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving uplink signaling.
Babaei fails to teach but Bhamri teaches the second CORESET is a CORESET corresponding to a PDCCH where DCI comprising an uplink cancellation indication (ULCI) is located (see Fig. 3 (ULCI), Fig. 4 (ULCI time regions), para. [0113];[0122] discloses scenario of UL cancellation indication using new DCI format; ULCI regions wherein the DL PI region is the CORESET).
Babaei and Bhamri are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and uplink transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Babaei to include the ULCI as described by Bhamri.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving uplink signaling.
Regarding claim 4, Bae discloses a communication method (see para. [0009]; [0015]; [0204] discloses method monitoring by a UE (first communication node) for receiving PDCCH, receiving scheduling information for uplink transmission and ULCI monitoring), applied by a second communication node (see para. [0009]; [0015]; [0204] discloses method monitoring by a UE (first communication node) for receiving PDCCH, receiving scheduling information for uplink transmission and ULCI monitoring), comprising:
sending downlink control information (DCI) on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a first control resource set (CORESET) to a first communication node (see para. [0052];[0182] discloses PDCCH that carries DCI; PCCH is transmitted through a control resource set (CORESET), one or more CORESETs may be configured for the UE (first communication node), monitoring implies decoding each PDCCH according to monitored DCI);
wherein the DCI comprises scheduling information for uplink transmission of the first communication node (see para. [0052];[0182] discloses PDCCH that carries DCI; PCCH is transmitted through a control resource set (CORESET), one or more CORESETs may be configured for the UE (first communication node), monitoring implies decoding each PDCCH according to monitored DCI);
the first CORESET is a CORESET corresponding to a PDCCH where the DCI comprising the scheduling information for the uplink transmission of the first communication node is located (see para. [0052];[0182] discloses PDCCH that carries DCI; PCCH is transmitted through a control resource set (CORESET), one or more CORESETs may be configured for the UE (first communication node), monitoring implies decoding each PDCCH according to monitored DCI).
Bae fails to disclose but Babaei teaches wherein in a case where the DCI comprises first indication information and the first indication information indicates a presence of the time domain location information of a second CORESET or a need to detect the second CORESET (see para. [0259] discloses first CORESET and second CORESET resources may be bundled for transmission of the DCI, the DCI may be mapped to the bundled resource), the DCI further comprises the time domain location information of the second CORESET (see para. [0259] discloses first CORESET and second CORESET resources may be bundled for transmission of the DCI, the DCI may be mapped to the bundled resource).
Bae and Babaei are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bae to include the CORESETS as described by Babaei.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving uplink signaling.
Babaei fails to disclose but Bhamri teaches the second CORESET is a CORESET corresponding to a PDCCH where DCI comprising an uplink cancellation indication (ULCI) is located (see Fig. 3 (ULCI), Fig. 4 (ULCI time regions), para. [0113];[0122] discloses scenario of UL cancellation indication using new DCI format; ULCI regions wherein the DL PI region is the CORESET).
Babaei and Bhamri are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and uplink transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Babaei to include the ULCI as described by Bhamri.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving uplink signaling.
Regarding claim 16, Bae discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements the communication method of claim 1 (see Fig. 3 (memory, processors, computing unit), para. [0066]-[0067] discloses wireless device capable of performing implementation of method, the control unit may control an electric/mechanical operation of the wireless device based on programs/code/commands/information stored in the memory unit).
Regarding claim 19, Bae discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing a computer program (see para. [0072] discloses communication device includes at least one processor and at least one computer memory configured to store instructions), wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements the communication method of claim 4 (see para. [0069]-[0071] discloses memory may store instructions or programs may cause when executed by processor, to perform operation according to the method).
Regarding claim 21, Bae teaches a user equipment (see Fig. (100, 200), Fig. 3 (100, 200)), comprising a memory and at least one processor (see Fig. 2 (104 memory, 102 processor), Fig. 3 (130-memory, 120 processor));
wherein the memory is configured to store at least one program (see para. [0436] discloses UE may perform operations, UE may include at least one transceiver, memory and processor, storing instructions that when executed causes the processor to perform operations. Computer readable storage medium may store computer program that includes instructions); and
the at least one program, when executed by the at least one processor, enables the at least one processor to implement the communication method of claim 1 (see para. [0436] discloses UE may perform operations, UE may include at least one transceiver, memory and processor, storing instructions that when executed causes the processor to perform operations. Computer readable storage medium may store computer program that includes instructions that when executed cause ethe at least one processor to perform operation related to PDCCH UL CI, transmission, scheduling, etc.).
Regarding claim 22, Bae teaches a base station (see Fig. (100,200), Fig. 3 (100,200)), comprising a memory and at least one processor (see Fig. 2 (104 memory, 102 processor), Fig. 3 (130-memory, 120 processor));
wherein the memory is configured to store at least one program (see para. [0440] discloses UE may perform operations, UE may include at least one transceiver, memory and processor, storing instructions that when executed causes the processor to perform operations. Computer readable storage medium may store computer program that includes instructions); and
the at least one program, when executed by the at least one processor, enables the at least one processor to implement the communication method of claim 4 (see para. [0440] discloses UE may perform operations, UE may include at least one transceiver, memory and processor, storing instructions that when executed causes the processor to perform operations. Computer readable storage medium may store computer program that includes instructions that when executed cause ethe at least one processor to perform operation related to PDCCH UL CI, transmission, scheduling, etc.).
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al (US 20240073887 A1) (hereinafter “Bae”) in view of Babaei et al (US 20220039072 A1) (hereinafter “Babaei”) and further in view of Bhamri et al (US 20240015729 A1) (hereinafter “Bhamri”) as applied to claim 1 and 4 above and further in view of (US 20220174660 A1) (hereinafter “Ji”).
Regarding claim 2, Bae discloses method (see para. [0009]; [0015]; [0204] discloses method monitoring by a UE (first communication node) for receiving PDCCH, receiving scheduling information for uplink transmission and ULCI monitoring).
Bae fails to disclose but Ji teaches herein the time domain location information of the second CORESET is indicated by an offset (see para. [0009]; [0015]; [0204] discloses method monitoring by a UE (first communication node) for receiving PDCCH, receiving scheduling information for uplink transmission and ULCI monitoring);
wherein the offset comprises one of the following:
an offset of a time domain start location of the second CORESET from an end location of the PDCCH where the scheduling information for the uplink transmission of the first communication node is carried (see para. [0038] discloses terminal may determine one or more monitoring occasions (span) based on the configuration information of the plurality of CORESETs, span indicate duration of monitoring of PDCCH by the terminal); an
offset of a time domain start location of the second CORESET from an end location of the first CORESET (see para. [0040]; [0072] terminal may determine the span corresponding to each CORESET based on information about each CORESET);
a maximum offset of a time domain location of the second CORESET where the first communication node needs to perform PDCCH detection from an end location of the PDCCH where the scheduling information for the uplink transmission of the first communication node is carried (see para. [0044]; [0074] discloses terminal determines one span based on information about the plurality of CORESETs, a length of the span may be a sum of maximum lengths of the CORESETs); length of the span is determined based on maximum length of each CORESET); or
a maximum offset of a time domain location of the second CORESET where the first communication node needs to perform PDCCH detection from an end location of the first CORESET (This part is optional).
Bae and Ji are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bae to include the offset as described by Ji.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling.
Regarding claim 6, Bae discloses a method (see para. [0009]; [0015]; [0204] discloses method monitoring by a UE (first communication node) for receiving PDCCH, receiving scheduling information for uplink transmission and ULCI monitoring).
Bae fails to disclose but Ji teaches wherein the time domain location information of the second CORESET is indicated by an offset (see para. [0045] discloses terminal determines one span based on information about the plurality of CORESETs);
wherein the offset comprises one of the following:
an offset of a time domain start location of the second CORESET from an end location of the PDCCH where the scheduling information for the uplink transmission of the first communication node is carried (see para. [0038] discloses terminal may determine one or more monitoring occasions (span) based on the configuration information of the plurality of CORESETs, span indicate duration of monitoring of PDCCH by the terminal);
an offset of a time domain start location of the second CORESET from an end location of the first CORESET (see para. [0040];[0072] terminal may determine the span corresponding to each CORESET based on information about each CORESET);
a maximum offset of a time domain location of the second CORESET where the first communication node needs to perform PDCCH detection from an end location of the PDCCH where the scheduling information for the uplink transmission of the first communication node is carried (see para. [0044]; [0074] discloses terminal determines one span based on information about the plurality of CORESETs, a length of the span may be a sum of maximum lengths of the CORESETs); length of the span is determined based on maximum length of each CORESET); or
a maximum offset of a time domain location of the second CORESET where the first communication node needs to perform PDCCH detection from an end location of the first CORESET (This part is optional).
Bae and Ji are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bae to include the CORESETS and offset as described by Ji.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8 and 9, filed 08/04/2026, for claims 15 and 17,with respect to interpretations subject to 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b), have been fully considered. Since claims 15 and 17 are cancelled, the claim interpretation is moot and rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-12, filed 08/04/2026, with respect to the rejection of independent claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Babaei et al (US 20220039072 A1) (hereinafter “Babaei”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419