DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communication filed on 01/23/2026.
Claims 1-6, 15-17 and 19 are pending and rejected. Claims 7-10,12-14, 18 and 20 are withdrawn. Claim 11 is cancelled.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6, 15-17 and 19 in the reply filed on 01/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/13/2023 and 06/12/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 15 and 17, the limitation recites “…wherein the communication module is configured to perform communication exchanging between a first communication node and a second communication node”. Limitation does not explicitly use the words “means for”, instead uses but “communication module is configured to perform”, invoking of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112 is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 and 17 limitation “…wherein the communication module is configured to perform communication exchanging between a first communication node and a second communication node” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The limitation present in claim 15 and 17 uses "communication module" as substitute for "means" and “configured” as a modifier that does not have enough structural meaning for performing the claimed function. Specification (para. [0097 "...the communication module 930 in the device may be connected via a bus or in other manners...") does not provide cure to the structure. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al (US 20240073887 A1) (hereinafter “Bae”) in view of Ji et al (US 20220174660 A1) (hereinafter “Ji”) and further in view of Bhamri et al (US 20240015729 A1) (hereinafter “Bhamri”).
Regarding claim 1, Bae discloses a communication method (see para. [0009]; [0015]; [0204] discloses method monitoring by a UE (first communication node) for receiving PDCCH, receiving scheduling information for uplink transmission and ULCI monitoring), applied by a first communication node (see para. [0009]; [0015]; [0204] discloses method monitoring by a UE (first communication node) for receiving PDCCH, receiving scheduling information for uplink transmission and ULCI monitoring), comprising:
receiving downlink control information (DCI) sent by a second communication node on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a first control resource set (CORESET) (see para. [0052];[0182] discloses PDCCH that carries DCI; PCCH is transmitted through a control resource set (CORESET), one or more CORESETs may be configured for the UE (first communication node), monitoring implies decoding each PDCCH according to monitored DCI);
wherein the DCI comprises scheduling information for uplink transmission of the first communication node (see para. [0097]-[0098] discloses DCI includes information about resource allocation of the UL-SCH referred as PUSCH scheduling, DCI scheduled cell where transmission of PUSCH is scheduled by DCI included in the PDCCH); and
the first CORESET is a CORESET corresponding to a PDCCH where the DCI comprising the scheduling information for the uplink transmission of the first communication node is located (see para. [0052];[0182] discloses PDCCH that carries DCI; PCCH is transmitted through a control resource set (CORESET), one or more CORESETs may be configured for the UE (first communication node), monitoring implies decoding each PDCCH according to monitored DCI).
Bae fails to disclose but Ji teaches the DCI further comprises time domain location information of a second CORESET (see Fig. 4, (CORESET #1, CORESET#2), para. [0249]; [0253]-[0254] discloses when network device performs coordinated transmission of DCI of the terminal using plurality of TRP, the network device configures a plurality of CORESETs; terminal receives configuration information of the plurality of CORESETs, terminal determines one or more spans based on the configuration information of the plurality of CORESETs, where each span is used to indicate duration of monitoring the PDCCH by the terminal).
Bae and Ji are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bae to include the CORESETS as described by Ji.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving uplink signaling.
Ji does not clearly disclose but Bhamri teaches the second CORESET is a CORESET corresponding to a PDCCH where DCI comprising an uplink cancellation indication (ULCI) is located (see Fig. 3 (ULCI), Fig. 4 (ULCI time regions), para. [0113];[0122] discloses scenario of UL cancellation indication using new DCI format; ULCI regions wherein the DL PI region is the CORESET).
Ji and Bhamri are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and uplink transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ji to include the ULCI as described by Bhamri.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving uplink signaling.
Regarding claim 2, Bae discloses a method (see para. [0009]; [0015]; [0204] discloses method monitoring by a UE (first communication node) for receiving PDCCH, receiving scheduling information for uplink transmission and ULCI monitoring).
Bae fails to disclose but Ji teaches wherein the time domain location information of the second CORESET is indicated by an offset (see para. [0045] discloses terminal determines one span based on information about the plurality of CORESETs);
wherein the offset comprises one of the following:
an offset of a time domain start location of the second CORESET from an end location of the PDCCH where the scheduling information for the uplink transmission of the first communication node is carried (see para. [0038] discloses terminal may determine one or more monitoring occasions (span) based on the configuration information of the plurality of CORESETs, span indicate duration of monitoring of PDCCH by the terminal);
an offset of a time domain start location of the second CORESET from an end location of the first CORESET (see para. [0040]; [0072] terminal may determine the span corresponding to each CORESET based on information about each CORESET);
a maximum offset of a time domain location of the second CORESET where the first communication node needs to perform PDCCH detection from an end location of the PDCCH where the scheduling information for the uplink transmission of the first communication node is carried (see para. [0044]; [0074] discloses terminal determines one span based on information about the plurality of CORESETs, a length of the span may be a sum of maximum lengths of the CORESETs); length of the span is determined based on maximum length of each CORESET);
or a maximum offset of a time domain location of the second CORESET where the first communication node needs to perform PDCCH detection from an end location of the first CORESET (This part is optional).
Bae and Ji are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bae to include the offset as described by Ji.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling.
Regarding claim 3, Bae discloses a method (see para. [0009]; [0015]; [0204] discloses method monitoring by a UE (first communication node) for receiving PDCCH, receiving scheduling information for uplink transmission and ULCI monitoring).
Bae fails to disclose but Ji teaches wherein in a case where the DCI sent on the PDCCH in the first CORESET comprises first indication information and the first indication information indicates a presence of the time domain location information of the second CORESET or
a need to detect the second CORESET, the DCI sent on the PDCCH in the first CORESET comprises the time domain location information of the second CORESET (see Fig. 4, (CORESET #1, CORESET#2), para. [0249]; [0253]-[0254] discloses when network device performs coordinated transmission of DCI of the terminal using plurality of TRP, the network device configures a plurality of CORESETs; terminal receives configuration information of the plurality of CORESETs, terminal determines one or more spans based on the configuration information of the plurality of CORESETs, where each span is used to indicate duration of monitoring the PDCCH by the terminal).
Bae and Ji are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bae to include the CORESETS as described by Ji.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving uplink signaling.
Regarding claim 4, Bae discloses a communication method (see para. [0009]; [0015]; [0204] discloses method monitoring by a UE (first communication node) for receiving PDCCH, receiving scheduling information for uplink transmission and ULCI monitoring), applied by a second communication node (see Fig. 2 (second device), para. [0009]; [0015]; [0204] discloses method monitoring by a UE (first communication node) for receiving PDCCH, receiving scheduling information for uplink transmission and ULCI monitoring), comprising:
sending downlink control information (DCI) on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a first control resource set (CORESET) to a first communication node (see para. [0052];[0182] discloses PDCCH that carries DCI; PCCH is transmitted through a control resource set (CORESET), one or more CORESETs may be configured for the UE (first communication node), monitoring implies decoding each PDCCH according to monitored DCI);
wherein the DCI comprises scheduling information for uplink transmission of the first communication node (see para. [0052];[0182] discloses PDCCH that carries DCI; PCCH is transmitted through a control resource set (CORESET), one or more CORESETs may be configured for the UE (first communication node), monitoring implies decoding each PDCCH according to monitored DCI); and
the first CORESET is a CORESET corresponding to a PDCCH where the DCI comprising the scheduling information for the uplink transmission of the first communication node is located (see para. [0052];[0182] discloses PDCCH that carries DCI; PCCH is transmitted through a control resource set (CORESET), one or more CORESETs may be configured for the UE (first communication node), monitoring implies decoding each PDCCH according to monitored DCI); and
Bae fails to disclose but Ji teaches the DCI further comprises time domain location information of a second CORESET (see Fig. 4, (CORESET #1, CORESET#2), para. [0249]; [0253]-[0254] discloses when network device performs coordinated transmission of DCI of the terminal using plurality of TRP, the network device configures a plurality of CORESETs; terminal receives configuration information of the plurality of CORESETs, terminal determines one or more spans based on the configuration information of the plurality of CORESETs, where each span is used to indicate duration of monitoring the PDCCH by the terminal).
Bae and Ji are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bae to include the CORESETS as described by Ji.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving uplink signaling
Ji does not clearly disclose but Bhamri teaches the second CORESET is a CORESET corresponding to a PDCCH where DCI comprising an uplink cancellation indication (ULCI) is located (see Fig. 3 (ULCI), Fig. 4 (ULCI time regions), para. [0113];[0122] discloses scenario of UL cancellation indication using new DCI format; ULCI regions wherein the DL PI region is the CORESET).
Ji and Bhamri are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and uplink transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ji to include the ULCI as described by Bhamri.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving uplink signaling.
Regarding claim 5, Bae discloses a method (see para. [0009]; [0015]; [0204] discloses method monitoring by a UE (first communication node) for receiving PDCCH, receiving scheduling information for uplink transmission and ULCI monitoring)
Bae fails to disclose but Ji teaches wherein in a case where the DCI sent on the PDCCH in the first CORESET comprises first indication information and the first indication information indicates a presence of the time domain location information of the second CORESET (This part is optional) or
a need to detect the second CORESET, the DCI sent on the PDCCH in the first CORESET comprises the time domain location information of the second CORESET (see Fig. 4, (CORESET #1, CORESET#2), para. [0249]; [0253]-[0254] discloses when network device performs coordinated transmission of DCI of the terminal using plurality of TRP, the network device configures a plurality of CORESETs; terminal receives configuration information of the plurality of CORESETs, terminal determines one or more spans based on the configuration information of the plurality of CORESETs, where each span is used to indicate duration of monitoring the PDCCH by the terminal).
Bae and Ji are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bae to include the CORESETS as described by Ji.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving uplink signaling.
Regarding claim 6, Bae discloses a method (see para. [0009]; [0015]; [0204] discloses method monitoring by a UE (first communication node) for receiving PDCCH, receiving scheduling information for uplink transmission and ULCI monitoring)
Bae fails to disclose but Ji teaches wherein the time domain location information of the second CORESET is indicated by an offset (see para. [0045] discloses terminal determines one span based on information about the plurality of CORESETs);
wherein the offset comprises one of the following:
an offset of a time domain start location of the second CORESET from an end location of the PDCCH where the scheduling information for the uplink transmission of the first communication node is carried (see para. [0038] discloses terminal may determine one or more monitoring occasions (span) based on the configuration information of the plurality of CORESETs, span indicate duration of monitoring of PDCCH by the terminal);
an offset of a time domain start location of the second CORESET from an end location of the first CORESET (see para. [0040];[0072] terminal may determine the span corresponding to each CORESET based on information about each CORESET);
a maximum offset of a time domain location of the second CORESET where the first communication node needs to perform PDCCH detection from an end location of the PDCCH where the scheduling information for the uplink transmission of the first communication node is carried (see para. [0044]; [0074] discloses terminal determines one span based on information about the plurality of CORESETs, a length of the span may be a sum of maximum lengths of the CORESETs); length of the span is determined based on maximum length of each CORESET);
or a maximum offset of a time domain location of the second CORESET where the first communication node needs to perform PDCCH detection from an end location of the first CORESET (This part is optional).
Bae and Ji are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bae to include the CORESETS and offset as described by Ji.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling.
Regarding claim 15, Bae discloses a communication device, comprising a communication module, a memory, and at least one processor (see Fig. 3 (memory, processors, computing unit), para. [0066]-[0067] discloses wireless device capable of performing implementation of method, the control unit may control an electric/mechanical operation of the wireless device based on programs/code/commands/information stored in the memory unit);
wherein the communication module is configured to perform communication exchanging between a first communication node and a second communication node (see Fig. 3 (110), para. [0071] discloses processing device or apparatus may include at least one processor, and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor. The at least one computer memory may store instructions or programs, and the instructions or programs may cause, when executed, the at least one processor operably connected to the at least one memory to perform operations according to some embodiments or implementations);
the memory is configured to store at least one program (see para. [0069]-[0071] discloses memory may store instructions or programs may cause when executed by processor, to perform operation according to the method); and
the at least one program, when executed by the at least one processor, enables the at least one processor to implement the communication method of claim 1 (see para. [0069]-[0071] discloses memory may store instructions or programs may cause when executed by processor, to perform operation according to the method).
Regarding claim 16, Bae discloses non-transitory storage medium storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements the communication method of claim 1 (see Fig. 3 (memory, processors, computing unit), para. [0066]-[0067] discloses wireless device capable of performing implementation of method, the control unit may control an electric/mechanical operation of the wireless device based on programs/code/commands/information stored in the memory unit).
Regarding claim 17, Bae discloses a communication device, comprising a communication module, a memory, and at least one processor (see Fig. 3 (memory, processors, computing unit), para. [0066]-[0067] discloses wireless device capable of performing implementation of method, the control unit may control an electric/mechanical operation of the wireless device based on programs/code/commands/information stored in the memory unit);
wherein the communication module is configured to perform communication exchanging between a first communication node and a second communication node (see para. [0071] discloses processing device or apparatus may include at least one processor, and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor. The at least one computer memory may store instructions or programs, and the instructions or programs may cause, when executed, the at least one processor operably connected to the at least one memory to perform operations according to some embodiments or implementations);
the memory is configured to store at least one program (see para. [0069]- [0071] discloses memory may store instructions or programs may cause when executed by processor, to perform operation according to the method); and
the at least one program (see para. [0069]- [0071] discloses memory may store instructions or programs may cause when executed by processor, to perform operation according to the method. Memory may store at least one instruction or program), when executed by the at least one processor, enables the at least one processor to implement the communication method of claim 4 program (see para. [0069]-[0071] discloses memory may store instructions or programs may cause when executed by processor, to perform operation according to the method).
Regarding claim 19, Bae discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing a computer program (see para. [0072] discloses communication device includes at least one processor and at least one computer memory configured to store instructions) , wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements the communication method of claim 4 (see para. [0069]-[0071] discloses memory may store instructions or programs may cause when executed by processor, to perform operation according to the method).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shi et al (US 20200229196 A1) provides method and device for CORESET signaling.
Yang et al (US 20210352673 A1) provides methods and devices for uplink cancellation indication (ULCI) based on configuration and control channels.
Babaei (US 20220039072 A1) provides configuration parameters indicating search space for reception of DCI.
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419