DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 9 and 13-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (USPN 12,256,378) in view of Yuan et al. (USPN 12,628,162).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches a terminal comprising: a receiver that receives downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition [Abstract, indicator for PUSCH transmission is provided in DCI]; and a processor that controls transmission of the PUSCH repetition, based on values of two sounding reference signal (SRS) indicator (SRI) fields included in the DCI [Col. 4, lines 14-23, PUSCH transmission is based on multiple SRI field values included in DCI].
However, Zhang does not teach the terminal supports physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition based on two linked search space sets and the receiver receives the DCI using the two linked search space sets.
Yuan teaches the terminal supports PDCCH repetition based on two linked search space sets and the receiver receives the DCI using the two linked search space sets [Col. 16, line 56 – Col. 17, line 3].
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have DCI communicated in two linked search space sets so that multiple CORESETs can be used in two linked search space sets.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches a radio communication method for a terminal, comprising: receiving downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition [Abstract, indicator for PUSCH transmission is provided in DCI]; and controlling transmission of the PUSCH repetition, based on values of two sounding reference signal (SRS) indicator (SRI) fields included in the DCI [Col. 4, lines 14-23, PUSCH transmission is based on multiple SRI field values included in DCI].
However, Zhang does not teach the terminal supports physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition based on two linked search space sets and the terminal receives the DCI using the two linked search space sets.
Yuan teaches the terminal supports PDCCH repetition based on two linked search space sets and the terminal receives the DCI using the two linked search space sets [Col. 16, line 56 – Col. 17, line 3].
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have DCI communicated in two linked search space sets so that multiple CORESETs can be used in two linked search space sets.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches a base station comprising: a transmitter that transmits downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition [Abstract, indicator for PUSCH transmission is provided in DCI]; and a processor that controls reception of the PUSCH repetition that is transmitted from a terminal based on values of two sounding reference signal (SRS) indicator (SRI) fields included in the DCI [Col. 4, lines 14-23, PUSCH transmission is based on multiple SRI field values included in DCI].
However, Zhang does not teach physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition based on two linked search space sets is supported and the transmitter transmits the DCI using the two linked search space sets.
Yuan teaches physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition based on two linked search space sets is supported and the transmitter transmits the DCI using the two linked search space sets [Col. 16, line 56 – Col. 17, line 3].
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have DCI communicated in two linked search space sets so that multiple CORESETs can be used in two linked search space sets.
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches a system comprising a terminal and a base station, wherein the terminal comprises: a receiver that receives downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition [Abstract, indicator for PUSCH transmission is provided in DCI]; and a processor that controls transmission of the PUSCH repetition, based on values of two sounding reference signal (SRS) indicator (SRI) fields included in the DCI [Col. 4, lines 14-23, PUSCH transmission is based on multiple SRI field values included in DCI], and the base station comprises: a transmitter that transmits the DCI [Col. 4, lines 1-9].
However, Zhang does not teach the terminal supports physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition based on two linked search space sets and the receiver receives the DCI using the two linked search space sets.
Yuan teaches the terminal supports PDCCH repetition based on two linked search space sets and the receiver receives the DCI using the two linked search space sets [Col. 16, line 56 – Col. 17, line 3].
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have DCI communicated in two linked search space sets so that multiple CORESETs can be used in two linked search space sets.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Chandrahas B Patel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464