DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are pending. Claim 7 has been canceled. Claim 21 is newly added.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim of priority from U.S. Provisional Application No. 63186971, filed May 11, 2021 and PCT Application No. PCT/US2022/028804, filed May 11, 2022.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot because of the new grounds of rejection, presented in the sections below. Applicant argues that the Li and Zhan references cannot be combined in claims 1, 12 and 16 to teach “generating, by the computer system and based at least in part on the one or more binary object masks, one or more object optical flows respectively for the one or more objects”. However, the Zhan reference is no longer relied upon to teach this limitation. The newly presented Terrano reference teaches generating object optical flows based at least in part on an object mask (i.e., the binary object mask of Li). Therefore, the 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 1, 12 and 16 is upheld.
Applicant further argues that the Zhan reference does not teach the limitation in claim 8 of “wherein each of the one or more object layers comprises a refined object optical flow for the corresponding object”. However, this argument is moot as the Zhan reference is no longer relied upon to teach this limitation. Instead, the newly presented Pourian reference teaches generating a more refined optical flow estimation from estimated optical flow maps (see Pourian, Para. [0060]). Thus, the 35 USC 103 rejections are upheld.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2015/0248590 A1) in view of Mark Terrano (US 10,956,724 B1) further in view of Yu et al. (US 2022/0262009 A1, filed February 17, 2021), Palanisamy et al. (US 2020/0142421 A1) and Shen et al. (US 2017/0236287 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a computer-implemented method for identifying and extracting object-related effects in videos, the computer-implemented method comprising:
obtaining, by a computing system comprising one or more computing devices, video data, the video data comprising a plurality of image frames depicting one or more objects (Li, Para. [0041], processing a target image, the target image is an individual frame of a sequence of video frames); and
for each of the plurality of image frames:
generating, by the computing system, one or more binary object masks, wherein each of the one or more binary object masks is descriptive of a respective location of a corresponding object of the one or more objects within the image frame (Li, Para. [0047], foreground image, foreground frame, and foreground mask relate to a binary mask obtained by comparing (e.g., pixel-wise subtracting or performing goodness of fit tests) the current frame with the current background estimate, followed by thresholding. For example, pixels with a binary value of "1" after the comparison correspond to locations where foreground objects have been detected; conversely, pixels with a binary value of "0" correspond to locations where no foreground objects have been detected);
wherein each of the one or more object layers comprises image data illustrative of the corresponding object and one or more trace effects at least partially attributable to the corresponding object (Li, Para. [0059], the detected foreground mask (i.e., object layer) contains pixels corresponding to both the vehicle and its cast shadow).
Although Li teaches obtaining a binary mask indicating the presence of foreground objects and a background region (Li, Para. [0047]), Li does not explicitly teach “generating, by the computer system and based at least in part on the one or more binary object masks, one or more object optical flows respectively for the one or more objects”. However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Terrano teaches applying the object mask of the segmented area to the first image to obtain a first segmented image, applying the object mask of the segmented area to the one or more subsequent images to obtain one or more subsequent segmented images, and generating a plurality of optical flow vectors indicating movement of corresponding pixels from the first segmented image to the one or more subsequent segmented images (i.e., generating based at least in part on the one or more binary object masks, one or more object optical flows) (Terrano, Col. 31, lines 49-62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li with the teachings of Terrano by including generating object optical flows based at least in part on an object mask (i.e., the binary object mask of Li). One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these references because doing so would allow for detecting small, fast and precise object movements, as recognized by Terrano.
Although Li in view of Terrano teaches obtaining a binary mask indicating the presence of foreground objects and a background region (Li, Para. [0047]), they do not explicitly teach “inputting, by the computing system, the image frame, the one or more binary object masks, into a machine-learned matte generation model” and “receiving, by the computing system as output from the machine-learned matte generation model, a background layer illustrative of a background of the video data and one or more object layers respectively associated with the one or more binary object masks”. However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Yu teaches an act of generating a first alpha matte for a digital image via a first layer of a matting neural network utilizing the digital image (i.e., image frame) and a guidance mask corresponding to an object portrayed in the digital image (i.e., binary object mask) (Yu, Para. [0132]). Yu further teaches the alpha matte generation system 106 performs image matting by deconstructing pixel color values for the digital image 202 (denoted as “I” in FIG. 2) into the sum of two samples that account for the alpha values (“α”) of the final alpha matte 214. For example, a first sample corresponds to foreground pixel color values (denoted as “F”) that are multiplied by corresponding alpha values of the final alpha matte 214. Further, a second sample corresponds to background pixel color values (denoted as “B”) that are multiplied by a corresponding difference between one and the alpha values (or “1−α”). In this manner, the alpha matte generation system 106 can segregate (e.g., selects, extracts, and/or identifies) an object portrayed in the digital image 202 from a background of the digital image 202 by utilizing the final alpha matte 214 (Yu, Para. [0051]; Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Li in view of Terrano with the teachings of Yu by including a matting neural network using the image frame (i.e., digital image) and binary object mask (i.e., guidance mask) to generate an alpha matte for separating the object portrayed in the image from the background. One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to combine these references because doing so would allow for efficiently and flexibly generating enhanced, refined alpha mattes for digital image matting, as recognized by Yu.
Although Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu teaches generating a first alpha matte for a digital image via a first layer of a matting neural network utilizing the digital image (i.e., image frame) and a guidance mask corresponding to an object portrayed in the digital image (i.e., binary object mask) (Yu, Para. [0132]), they do not explicitly teach “inputting, by the computing system, the image frame, the one or more binary object masks, and the one or more object optical flows” into the machine-learned matte generation model. However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Palanisamy teaches a first concatenation unit concatenates the pre-processed image data with both the segmentation map and the optical flow map to generating the dynamic scene output (Palanisamy, Para. [0074]). The convolutional neural network processes the dynamic scene output to extract features and generate a feature map of the extracted spatial features (Palanisamy, Para. [0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu with the teachings of Palanisamy by including that the input to the matte generation model of Yu is the pre-processed image data (i.e., image frame), the segmentation map (i.e., binary object mask), and the optical flow map (i.e., one or more object optical flows). One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these references because doing so would allow for determining spatial features in an image based on an input image, a segmentation map, and an optical flow map, as recognized by Palanisamy.
Although Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu and Palanisamy teaches segregating an object portrayed in the image from the background (Yu, Para. [0051]), they do not explicitly teach that the separated background and foreground are “a background layer” and “an object layer” and “wherein the one or more object layers are separate from the background layer”. However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Shen teaches consider that the image is composed of the background sky layer B and the foreground layer F. An alpha matte defines the transparent/opacity areas of the background and the foreground layer (Shen, Para. [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li in view of Yu with the teachings of Shen by including that the matting neural network determines a background layer and foreground layer (i.e., object layer), wherein the object layer is separate from the background layer. One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to combine these references because doing so would allow for segmenting foreground objects from a background layer, as recognized by Shen. Thus, the claimed invention would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 2, Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy and Shen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the background layer and the one or more object layers comprise one or more color channels and an opacity matte (Yu, Para. [0044], an alpha matte (as a type of guidance mask) refers to a representation of a digital image that indicates, for one or more pixels, a corresponding alpha value (e.g., an opacity value or blending amount between foreground and background color values) (i.e., an opacity matte). Para. [0051], the alpha matte generation system performs image matting by deconstructing pixel color values for the digital image into the sum of two samples that account for the alpha values (“α”) of the final alpha matte. For example, a first sample corresponds to foreground pixel color values (denoted as “F”) that are multiplied by corresponding alpha values of the final alpha matte. Further, a second sample corresponds to background pixel color values (denoted as “B”) that are multiplied by a corresponding difference between one and the alpha values (or “1−α”) (i.e., one or more color channels)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Li, Terrano, Yu, Palanisamy and Shen references presented in the rejection of Claim 1, apply to Claim 2 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the method recited in Claim 2 is met by Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy and Shen.
Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy and Shen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein, for each corresponding object, at least a portion of the one or more trace effects have locations which different from the respective location of the corresponding object (Li, Para. [0059]; Fig. 13, It can be seen that the detected foreground mask contains pixels corresponding to both the vehicle and its cast shadow. An additional step is required for shadow removal, whereby a decision is made about whether each detected foreground pixel is a shadow pixel or not. The method disclosed herein obtains a clean foreground mask (see lower right block of FIG. 13) containing only vehicle pixels through a background subtraction process (i.e., a portion of the one or more trace effects has a location different form the location of the corresponding object because it can be removed while the object pixels stay).
Regarding claim 4, Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy and Shen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein, for each corresponding object, at least a portion of the one or more trace effects are time-varying effects (Li, Para. [0061], without a shadow removal technique, multiple cars will be identified as a single moving object during morning hours due to the length of the cast shadows. A sample video used in conjunction with this scenario was 1.5 hours in length and captured activity during the peak breakfast hour on a sunny morning when cast shadows are the strongest (i.e., trace effects are time-varying).
Regarding claim 5, Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy and Shen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein each of the one or more binary object masks is descriptive of the respective location of the corresponding object independent of and excluding the one or more trace effects (Li, Para. [0059]; Fig. 13, It can be seen that the detected foreground mask contains pixels corresponding to both the vehicle and its cast shadow. An additional step is required for shadow removal, whereby a decision is made about whether each detected foreground pixel is a shadow pixel or not. The method disclosed herein obtains a clean foreground mask (see lower right block of FIG. 13) containing only vehicle pixels through a background subtraction process. Para. [0047], foreground image, foreground frame, and foreground mask relate to a binary mask obtained by comparing (e.g., pixel-wise subtracting or performing goodness of fit tests) the current frame with the current background estimate, followed by thresholding. For example, pixels with a binary value of "1" after the comparison correspond to locations where foreground objects have been detected; conversely, pixels with a binary value of "0" correspond to locations where no foreground objects have been detected)-.
Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy and Shen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein, for at least one of the corresponding objects, the one or more trace effects comprise a shadow, a reflection, smoke generated by the object, or a ripple (Li, Para. [0059], the detected foreground mask contains pixels corresponding to both the vehicle and its cast shadow (i.e., trace effect comprises a shadow)).
Regarding claim 9, Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy and Shen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the corresponding objects comprises a plurality of objects treated as a collective object (Li, Para. [0061], multiple cars will be identified as a single moving object during morning hours due to the length of the cast shadows).
Regarding claim 10, Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy and Shen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the machine-learned matte generation model comprises a neural network (Yu, Para. [0047], using the matting neural network, the alpha matte generation system processes the digital image and the guidance mask. A matting neural network refers to a neural network for generating an alpha matte).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Li, Terrano, Yu, Palanisamy and Shen references presented in the rejection of Claim 1, apply to Claim 10 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the method recited in Claim 10 is met by Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy and Shen.
Regarding claim 11, Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy and Shen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the machine-learned matte generation model has been trained based at least in part on a reconstruction loss, a flow loss, and a regularization loss (Yu, Para. [0116], the loss function comprises a summation of three loss components” regression loss, a composition loss, and a Laplacian loss).
Claims 12-15 recite systems with elements corresponding to the steps recited in Claims 1-3 and 6, respectively. Therefore, the recited elements of these claims are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in their corresponding method claims. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Li, Terrano, Yu, Palanisamy and Shen references, presented in rejection of Claim 1, apply to these claims. Finally, the combination of the Li, Terrano, Yu, Palanisamy and Shen references discloses a processor (Li, Para. [0115], on or more processors) and non-transitory computer-readable media (Li, Para. [0115], non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program instructions).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2015/0248590 A1) in view of Mark Terrano (US 10,956,724 B1) further in view of Yu et al. (US 2022/0262009 A1, filed February 17, 2021), Palanisamy et al. (US 2020/0142421 A1) and Shen et al. (US 2017/0236287 A1), as applied to claims 1-6 and 9-15 above, and further in view of Pourian et al. (US 2021/0004969 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy and Shen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, as described above.
Although Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy and Shen teaches generating an optical flow from an object mask (Terrano, Col. 31, lines 49-62), they do not explicitly teach “wherein each of the one or more object layers comprises a refined object optical flow for the corresponding object”. However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Pourian teaches a merging technique is then applied on the estimated optical flow maps of the branches (i.e., high resolution optical flow results 207, 208) to define a more refined optical flow estimation (i.e., high resolution optical flow map 208) for the stereo input pair that is more suitable for view interpolation and other applications (Pourian, Para. [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy and Shen with the teachings of Pourian by including that the one or more object layers comprises a refined object optical flow. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these references because doing so would allow for high quality optical flow results, as recognized by Pourian. Thus, the claimed invention would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2015/0248590 A1) in view of Mark Terrano (US 10,956,724 B1) further in view of Yu et al. (US 2022/0262009 A1, filed February 17, 2021), Palanisamy et al. (US 2020/0142421 A1), Shen et al. (US 2017/0236287 A1), Labbe et al. (US 2018/0286053 A1) and Kim et al. (US 2019/0042882 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that collectively store a machine-learned matte generation model (Li, Para. [0115], non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program instructions), wherein the machine-learned matte generation model has been trained by performance of operations, the operations comprising:
obtaining, by a computing system comprising one or more computing devices, video data, the video data comprising a plurality of image frames depicting one or more objects (Li, Para. [0041], processing a target image, the target image is an individual frame of a sequence of video frames); and
for each of the plurality of image frames:
generating, by the computing system, one or more binary object masks, wherein each of the one or more binary object masks is descriptive of a respective location of a corresponding object of the one or more objects within the image frame (Li, Para. [0047], foreground image, foreground frame, and foreground mask relate to a binary mask obtained by comparing (e.g., pixel-wise subtracting or performing goodness of fit tests) the current frame with the current background estimate, followed by thresholding. For example, pixels with a binary value of "1" after the comparison correspond to locations where foreground objects have been detected; conversely, pixels with a binary value of "0" correspond to locations where no foreground objects have been detected);
wherein each of the one or more object layers comprises image data illustrative of the corresponding object and one or more trace effects at least partially attributable to the corresponding object (Li, Para. [0059], the detected foreground mask (i.e., object layer) contains pixels corresponding to both the vehicle and its cast shadow).
Although Li teaches obtaining a binary mask indicating the presence of foreground objects and a background region (Li, Para. [0047]), Li does not explicitly teach “generating, by the computer system and based at least in part on the one or more binary object masks, one or more object optical flows respectively for the one or more objects”. However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Terrano teaches applying the object mask of the segmented area to the first image to obtain a first segmented image, applying the object mask of the segmented area to the one or more subsequent images to obtain one or more subsequent segmented images, and generating a plurality of optical flow vectors indicating movement of corresponding pixels from the first segmented image to the one or more subsequent segmented images (i.e., generating based at least in part on the one or more binary object masks, one or more object optical flows) (Terrano, Col. 31, lines 49-62).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Li and Terrano references presented in the rejection of Claim 1, apply to Claim 16 and are incorporated herein by reference.
Although Li in view of Terrano teaches obtaining a binary mask indicating the presence of foreground objects and a background region (Li, Para. [0047]), they do not explicitly teach “inputting, by the computing system, the image frame, the one or more binary object masks, into the machine-learned matte generation model” and “receiving, by the computing system as output from the machine-learned matte generation model, a background layer illustrative of a background of the video data and one or more object layers respectively associated with the one or more binary object masks”. However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Yu teaches an act of generating a first alpha matte for a digital image via a first layer of a matting neural network utilizing the digital image (i.e., image frame) and a guidance mask corresponding to an object portrayed in the digital image (i.e., binary object mask) (Yu, Para. [0132]). Yu further teaches the alpha matte generation system 106 performs image matting by deconstructing pixel color values for the digital image 202 (denoted as “I” in FIG. 2) into the sum of two samples that account for the alpha values (“α”) of the final alpha matte 214. For example, a first sample corresponds to foreground pixel color values (denoted as “F”) that are multiplied by corresponding alpha values of the final alpha matte 214. Further, a second sample corresponds to background pixel color values (denoted as “B”) that are multiplied by a corresponding difference between one and the alpha values (or “1−α”). In this manner, the alpha matte generation system 106 can segregate (e.g., selects, extracts, and/or identifies) an object portrayed in the digital image 202 from a background of the digital image 202 by utilizing the final alpha matte 214 (Yu, Para. [0051]; Fig. 2).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Li, Terrano and Yu references presented in the rejection of Claim 1, apply to Claim 16 and are incorporated herein by reference.
Although Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu teaches generating a first alpha matte for a digital image via a first layer of a matting neural network utilizing the digital image (i.e., image frame) and a guidance mask corresponding to an object portrayed in the digital image (i.e., binary object mask) (Yu, Para. [0132]), they do not explicitly teach “inputting, by the computing system, the image frame, the one or more binary object masks, and the one or more object optical flows” into the machine-learned matte generation model. However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Palanisamy teaches a first concatenation unit concatenates the pre-processed image data with both the segmentation map and the optical flow map to generating the dynamic scene output (Palanisamy, Para. [0074]). The convolutional neural network processes the dynamic scene output to extract features and generate a feature map of the extracted spatial features (Palanisamy, Para. [0075]).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Li, Terrano, Yu and Palanisamy references presented in the rejection of Claim 1, apply to Claim 16 and are incorporated herein by reference.
Although Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu and Palanisamy teaches segregating an object portrayed in the image from the background (Yu, Para. [0051]), they do not explicitly teach that the separated background and foreground are “a background layer” and “an object layer” and “wherein the one or more object layers are separate from the background layer”. However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Shen teaches consider that the image is composed of the background sky layer B and the foreground layer F. An alpha matte defines the transparent/opacity areas of the background and the foreground layer (Shen, Para. [0051]).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Li, Terrano, Yu, Palanisamy and Shen references presented in the rejection of Claim 1, apply to Claim 16 and are incorporated herein by reference.
Although Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy and Shen teaches segregating an object portrayed in the image from the background (Yu, Para. [0051]), they do not explicitly teach “compositing the background layer and the one or more object layers to generate a reconstructed frame”. However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Labbe teaches compositing the foreground layer and the background layer into a frame (Labbe, Para. [0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the non-transitory computer readable media of Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy and Shen with the teachings of Labbe by including generating a reconstructed frame by compositing the background layer and foreground layer (i.e., object layer). One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these references because doing so would allow for reconstructing a video frame by compositing a foreground layer and background layer, as recognized by Labbe.
Although Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy, Shen and Labbe teaches generating a reconstructed frame by compositing the foreground and background layer (Labbe, Para. [0132]), they do not explicitly teach “evaluating a loss function that comprises a reconstruction loss term that compares the reconstructed frame with the image frame” and “modifying one or more values of one or more parameters of the machine-learned matte generation model based on the loss function”. However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Kim teaches in order to update their parameters, the neural networks utilize a reconstruction loss that represents a difference between the reconstruction source image (i.e., reconstructed frame) and the original source image (i.e., image frame). (Kim, Para. [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the non-transitory computer-readable media of Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy, Shen and Labbe with the teachings of Kim by including updating the parameters of the machine-learned matte generation model (i.e., neural network) based on the reconstruction loss representing a difference between a reconstructed frame and the original frame. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these references because doing so would allow for updating a model for reconstructing images with higher accuracy, as recognized by Kim. Thus, the claimed invention would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 17, Li in view of Terrano, further in view of Yu, Palanisamy, Shen, Labbe and Kim teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 16, wherein the background layer and the one or more object layers comprise one or more color channels and an opacity matte (Yu, Para. [0044], an alpha matte (as a type of guidance mask) refers to a representation of a digital image that indicates, for one or more pixels, a corresponding alpha value (e.g., an opacity value or blending amount between foreground and background color values) (i.e., an opacity matte). Para. [0051], the alpha matte generation system performs image matting by deconstructing pixel color values for the digital image into the sum of two samples that account for the alpha values (“α”) of the final alpha matte. For example, a first sample corresponds to foreground pixel color values (denoted as “F”) that are multiplied by corresponding alpha values of the final alpha matte. Further, a second sample corresponds to background pixel color values (denoted as “B”) that are multiplied by a corresponding difference between one and the alpha values (or “1−α”) (i.e., one or more color channels)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Li, Terrano, Yu, Palanisamy, Shen, Labbe and Kim references presented in the rejection of Claim 16, apply to Claim 17 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the non-transitory computer-readable media recited in Claim 17 is met by Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy, Shen, Labbe and Kim.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2015/0248590 A1) in view of Mark Terrano (US 10,956,724 B1) further in view of Yu et al. (US 2022/0262009 A1, filed February 17, 2021), Palanisamy et al. (US 2020/0142421 A1), Shen et al. (US 2017/0236287 A1), Labbe et al. (US 2018/0286053 A1) and Kim et al. (US 2019/0042882 A1), as applied to claims 16 and 17 above, and further in view of Urtasun (US 2020/0160117 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy, Shen, Labbe and Kim teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 16, as described above.
Although Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy, Shen, Labbe and Kim teaches a loss function based on a reconstruction loss (Kim, Para. [0056]), they do not explicitly teach “wherein the loss function further comprises a regularization loss term that encourages an opacity matte of each object layer toward sparsity”. However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Urtasun teaches the loss can be based at least in part on evaluation of a loss function based at least in part on a regularization term that is used to increase sparsity of the binarized target feature representation (i.e., opacity matte) (Urtasun, Para. [0273]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the non-transitory computer-readable media of Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy, Shen, Labbe and Kim with the teachings of Urtasun by including encouraging the matte toward sparsity using a regularization loss. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these references because doing so would allow for increasing sparsity in a feature representation, as recognized by Urtasun. Thus, the claimed invention would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2015/0248590 A1) in view of Mark Terrano (US 10,956,724 B1) further in view of Yu et al. (US 2022/0262009 A1, filed February 17, 2021), Palanisamy et al. (US 2020/0142421 A1) and Shen et al. (US 2017/0236287 A1), as applied to claims 1-6 and 9-15 above, and further in view of Tagra et al. (US 2020/0167981 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy and Shen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, as described above.
Although Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy and Shen teaches an object layer corresponding to the object and one or more trace effects (Li, Para. [0059]), they do not explicitly teach “wherein the one or more trace effects are adjusted together with the corresponding object”. However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Tagra teaches the modules work in conjunction with each other to jointly edit related objects in a digital image, such as by warping a first object together with a shadow or reflection of the first object, so that the edited images looks realistic (Tagra, Para. [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li in view of Terrano further in view of Yu, Palanisamy and Shen with the teachings of Tagra by including jointly editing (i.e., adjusting) a first object together with its shadow or reflection (i.e., trace effect). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to combine these references because doing so would allow for efficiently generating digital images that maintain realistic correspondence between objects, as recognized by Tagra. Thus, the claimed invention would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Conclusion
/Emma Rose Goebel/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662