DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13, 24, and 28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2022/0086892 A1)(hereinafter “Kang”) in view of Ryu et al. (US 2019/0158162 A1)(hereinafter “Ryu”), and further in view of Black et al. (US 2016/0373181 A1)(hereinafter “Black”), and still further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0045067 A1)(hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Kang discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) ([¶0354]: Fig. 15 is a flow chart illustrating an example of a received beam determination process of a UE.),comprising:
receiving, from a base station, control signaling indicating a quasi co-location configuration for…multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications (Fig. 15, [¶0356]: in S610, the UE receives a NZP CSI-RS resource set IE from a base station. [¶0011]-[0012]: the pre-configured spatial QCL information may be spatial QCL information of a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest identity (ID) among monitored CORESETs in a latest slot. The spatial QCL information may include a channel state information (CSI)-reference signal (RS) identity or a synchronization signal block (SSB) index. [¶0003]: may be used with multiple input multiple output (MIMO) technologies.)…;
receiving, from the base station, an indication of a downlink transmission associated with the quasi co-location configuration … for the…MIMO communications from the base station… (Fig. 15, [¶0358]: in S620, the UE repeatedly receives CSI resource(s) configured as repetition “ON” in different OFDM symbols through the same Tx beam (or DL spatial domain transmission filter of the base station.); and
selecting a beam to receive the downlink transmission…for the…MIMO communications from the base station based at least in part on the quasi co-location configuration… (Fig. 15, [¶0359]: In S630, the UE determines its own RX beam based on the QCL configuration.).
Kang does not specifically disclose that the quasi co-location configuration associated with MIMO communications is within a distance threshold from the base station. However, Ryu discloses updating of beam management configuration based on the UE being within a distance threshold from the base station ([¶0055]: aspects of the disclosure provide for dynamic beam management of high-mobility wireless communications systems, for example, through dynamic updating of a beam management configuration (e.g., based on a relative distance between a user equipment (UE) and a base station). [¶0056]: a change in beam configuration may be triggered based on the distance between the UE and the base station changing (e.g., getting closer or farther apart). [¶0099]: a beam management configuration may include a set of beams to sweep a quasi co-location (QCL) configuration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive control signaling indicating a QCL configuration associated with MIMO communications, as taught by Kang, in which the QCL configuration is associated within a distance threshold from the base station, as taught by Ryu. Doing so provides for greater efficiency and reliability of wireless communications between the UE and the base station (See Ryu [¶0055]).
Neither Kang nor Ryu specifically disclose that the MIMO communications are holographic MIMO communications. However, Black discloses use of holographic multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications ([¶0056]: some embodiments provide for using MIMO in concert with holographic beamforming for additional channel capacity. [¶0057]: in some approaches, a MIMO enhancement of channel capacity may be implemented using multiple feeds for a holographic beamforming antenna.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MIMO communications, as taught by Kang, to include holographic MIMO communications, as taught by Black. Doing so provides for increased channel capacity (See Black [¶0020], [¶0056]- [¶0058]).
Neither Kang, Ryu, nor Black disclose wherein the indication is indicative of whether the downlink transmission utilizes a three-dimensional beam, or wherein selecting the beam is based at least in part on the indication indicating that the downlink transmission utilizes a three-dimensional beam. However, Zhang discloses wherein the indication is indicative of whether the downlink transmission utilizes a three-dimensional beam (Referring to operations of a base station, [0094]: a control unit 102 may control, for each three-dimensional spatial region, the base station to transmit a downlink reference signal to one or more user equipment by utilizing each of a predetermined number of downlink transmission beams, and determine, according to measurement results of downlink channel qualities fed back by the one or more user equipment based on the received downlink reference signal, a downlink transmission beam for each three-dimensional spatial region among the predetermined number of downlink transmission beams. An establishing unit 104 may establish, based on the downlink transmission beam determined for each three-dimensional spatial region, the mapping relationship between the three-dimensional spatial regions and the downlink transmission beams. [0130]: the mapping relationship may indicate a mapping relationship between three-dimensional spatial regions and downlink resources, so that the control unit 304 may determine a downlink resource suitable for the user equipment according to the information indicating the mapping relationship and the three-dimensional spatial location of the user equipment, and controls the base station to perform downlink transmission to the user equipment by utilizing the determined downlink resource. [0131]: the mapping relationship may also indicate a mapping relationship between three-dimensional spatial regions and downlink transmission beams, so that the control unit 304 may determine a downlink transmission beam for the user equipment according to the information indicating the mapping relationship and the three-dimensional spatial location of the user equipment, and controls the base station to perform downlink transmission to the user equipment by utilizing the determined downlink transmission beam. [0153]: the base station determines a corresponding downlink transmission beam according to the current three-dimensional spatial location of the user equipment, and transmits information of the determined downlink transmission beam or the uplink transmission angle determined based on the downlink transmission beam to the user equipment.), and selecting a beam to receive the downlink transmission…based at least in part on the indication indicating that the downlink transmission utilizes a three-dimensional beam (Referring to operations of a user equipment, [0150: ] the control unit 402 may be configured to: control user equipment to report a current three-dimensional spatial location to a base station; and control, based on a resource which is determined by the base station according to the current three-dimensional spatial location and information indicating at least mapping relationship between three-dimensional spatial regions and resources, the user equipment to perform communication operations. [0151]: in this way, the base station can allocate an appropriate uplink/downlink resource to the user equipment according to the location information of the user equipment and a pre-established mapping relationship between the three-dimensional spatial regions and the resources, so that the user equipment can perform uplink transmission or D2D transmission or downlink reception based on the allocated uplink/downlink resource.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indication of a downlink transmission associated with the quasi co-location configuration, as taught by Kang, to include an indication indicative of whether the downlink transmission utilizes a three-dimensional beam and selecting a beam to receive the downlink transmission based at least in part on the indication indicating that the downlink transmission utilizes a three-dimensional beam, as taught by Zhang. Doing so allows for utilizing the mapping relationship between the three-dimensional spatial regions and the downlink resources as well as the downlink transmission beams to allocate the beams according to the spatial location of the user equipment in order to save processing time, reduce system delay, and improve operational efficiency (See Zhang [0132]).
Regarding claim 2, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Kang also discloses wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving the control signaling configuring a transmission configuration indicator state comprising the quasi co-location configuration for the…MIMO communications within the distance threshold from the base station ([¶0374]: a UE may be RRC-configured with a list of up to M candidate transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for the purpose of at least quasi co-location (QCL) indication, where M may be 64.).
Neither Kang nor Ryu specifically disclose that the MIMO communications are holographic MIMO communications. However, Black discloses use of holographic multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications ([¶0056]: some embodiments provide for using MIMO in concert with holographic beamforming for additional channel capacity. [¶0057]: in some approaches, a MIMO enhancement of channel capacity may be implemented using multiple feeds for a holographic beamforming antenna.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MIMO communications, as taught by Kang, to include holographic MIMO communications, as taught by Black. Doing so provides for increased channel capacity (See Black [¶0020], [¶0056]- [¶0058]).
Regarding claim 3, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 2 as outlined above.
Kang also discloses wherein receiving the indication of the downlink transmission further comprises: receiving an indication of the transmission configuration indicator state via a radio resource control message ([¶0374]: a UE may be RRC-configured with a list of up to M candidate transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for the purpose of at least quasi co-location (QCL) indication, where M may be 64.), a medium access control control element, or downlink control information ([¶0380]: a TCU state ID may be indicated via DCI).
Regarding claim 4, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 2 as outlined above.
Although Kang discloses that a TCI state IE associates one or more two DL reference signals (RS with a corresponding QCI type includes fields, Kang fails to specifically disclose wherein the control signaling includes a bit field indicating the transmission configuration indicator state is associated with the receive beam used for MIMO communications within the distance threshold from the base station. However, Ryu discloses wherein the control signaling includes a bit field indicating the transmission configuration indicator state is associated with a receive beam used for the…MIMO communications within the distance threshold from the base station ([¶0134]: indication receiver 625 may receive, at a UE…, an indication of one or more beam management configurations from a first base station…, the one or more beam management configurations being for managing a beam-based communication with the first base station. In some cases, the one or more beam management configurations is a set of beam management configurations for the UE. In some aspects, the indication includes one or more bits, each of the one or more bits corresponding to a respective set of the set of beam management configurations. In some instances, the indication includes a single bit that indicates a change to a subsequent beam management configuration of the set of beam management configurations.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indication of TCI state, as taught by Kang, to us a bit field, as taught by Ryu. Doing so allows for reduced bandwidth utilization for TCI signaling to provide greater efficiency of communication between the UE and the base station (See Ryu [¶0055]).
Neither Kang nor Ryu specifically disclose that the MIMO communications are holographic MIMO communications. However, Black discloses use of holographic multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications ([¶0056]: some embodiments provide for using MIMO in concert with holographic beamforming for additional channel capacity. [¶0057]: in some approaches, a MIMO enhancement of channel capacity may be implemented using multiple feeds for a holographic beamforming antenna.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MIMO communications, as taught by Kang, to include holographic MIMO communications, as taught by Black. Doing so provides for increased channel capacity (See Black [¶0020], [¶0056]- [¶0058]).
Regarding claim 5, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Kang also discloses wherein receiving the indication of the downlink transmission comprises: receiving, from the base station, an indication of a plurality of repetitions of the downlink transmission associated with the quasi co-location configuration within the distance threshold for the…MIMO communications from the base station; and receiving the plurality of repetitions of the downlink transmission based at least in part on selecting the beam (Fig. 15, [¶0358]: in S620, the UE repeatedly receives CSI resource(s) configured as repetition “ON” in different OFDM symbols through the same Tx beam (or DL spatial domain transmission filter of the base station. [¶0266]: in Table 5, the repetition parameter is a parameter indicating whether the same beam is repeatedly transmitted, and indicates whether a repetition is “ON” or “OFF” for each NZP CSI-RS resource set.).
Neither Kang nor Ryu specifically disclose that the MIMO communications are holographic MIMO communications. However, Black discloses use of holographic multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications ([¶0056]: some embodiments provide for using MIMO in concert with holographic beamforming for additional channel capacity. [¶0057]: in some approaches, a MIMO enhancement of channel capacity may be implemented using multiple feeds for a holographic beamforming antenna.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MIMO communications, as taught by Kang, to include holographic MIMO communications, as taught by Black. Doing so provides for increased channel capacity (See Black [¶0020], [¶0056]- [¶0058]).
Regarding claim 6, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 5 as outlined above.
Kang does not disclose wherein receiving the plurality of repetitions of the downlink transmission comprises: receiving the plurality of repetitions of the downlink transmission using a corresponding plurality of antenna combining weight configurations; and determining a beam weight configuration for the beam to receive the downlink transmission based at least in part on receiving the plurality of repetitions of the downlink transmission using the corresponding plurality of antenna combining weight configurations. However, Ryu discloses wherein receiving the plurality of repetitions of the downlink transmission comprises: receiving the plurality of repetitions of the downlink transmission using a corresponding plurality of antenna combining weight configurations ([¶0076]: in one example, a base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. For instance, some signals (e.g. synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions, which may include a signal being transmitted according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission.); and determining a beam weight configuration for the beam to receive the downlink transmission based at least in part on receiving the plurality of repetitions of the downlink transmission using the corresponding plurality of antenna combining weight configurations ([¶0077]: a receiving device may try multiple receive directions by receiving via different antenna subarrays, by processing received signals according to different antenna subarrays, by receiving according to different receive beamforming weight sets applied to signals received at a plurality of antenna elements of an antenna array, or by processing received signals according to different receive beamforming weight sets applied to signals received at a plurality of antenna elements of an antenna array, any of which may be referred to as “listening” according to different receive beams or receive directions.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive the repetitions of the downlink transmission, as taught by Kang, using a plurality of antenna combining weight configurations, as taught by Ryu. Doing so provides for improved reception of the downlink transmission.
Regarding claim 7, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Kang also discloses receiving, using the beam within the distance threshold from the base station, the downlink transmission comprising a periodic or semi-persistent channel state information reference signal ([¶0269]-[¶0270]: the CSI report configuration-related information includes a report configuration type (reportConfigType) parameter indicating a time domain behavior and a report quantity (reportQuantity) parameter indicating CSI-related quantity for reporting. The time domain behavior may be periodic, aperiodic or semi-persistent.); and
transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information report based at least in part on receiving the periodic or semi-persistent channel state information reference signal ([¶0271]: the CSI report configuration-related information may be represented as a CSI-ReportConfig IE. [¶0360]: in S640, the UE transmits, to the base station, a CSI report including a CRI/L1-RSRP.).
Regarding claim 8, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Kang also discloses receiving, using the beam within the distance threshold from the base station, the downlink transmission comprising an aperiodic channel state information reference signal ([¶0269]-[¶0270]: the CSI report configuration-related information includes a report configuration type (reportConfigType) parameter indicating a time domain behavior and a report quantity (reportQuantity) parameter indicating CSI-related quantity for reporting. The time domain behavior may be periodic, aperiodic or semi-persistent.); and
transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information report based at least in part on receiving the aperiodic channel state information reference signal ([¶0271]: the CSI report configuration-related information may be represented as a CSI-ReportConfig IE. [¶0360]: in S640, the UE transmits, to the base station, a CSI report including a CRI/L1-RSRP.).
Regarding claim 9, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Kang also discloses receiving, using the beam within the distance threshold from the base station, the downlink transmission comprising a physical downlink shared channel message ([¶0007]: in one aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a method of receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) in a wireless communication system.).
Regarding claim 10, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Kang also discloses receiving, using the beam within the distance threshold from the base station, the downlink transmission comprising a physical downlink control channel message. ([¶0007]: in one aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a method of receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising transmitting UE capability information related to a number of simultaneously supportable reception beams, receiving a plurality of physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) including PDSCH scheduling information, and based on at least one PDSCH scheduled within a time required to apply spatial quasi co-location (QCL) information, receiving the plurality of PDSCHs using pre-configured spatial QCL information.).
Regarding claim 11, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Kang does not disclose receiving, from the base station, control signaling comprising an indication of a beam direction of a transmit beam from the base station; comparing the beam direction of the transmit beam to a position of the UE, wherein the beam is selected to receive the downlink transmission based at least in part on the position of the UE correlating to the beam direction of the transmit beam. However, Ryu discloses receiving, from the base station, control signaling comprising an indication of a beam direction of a transmit beam from the base station ([¶0076]: in one example, a base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. For instance, some signals (e.g. synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions, which may include a signal being transmitted according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission.); and
comparing the beam direction of the transmit beam to a position of the UE, wherein the beam is selected to receive the downlink transmission based at least in part on the position of the UE correlating to the beam direction of the transmit beam ([¶0004]: each beamformed transmission/reception may have an associated beam configuration, such as a beam width, a beam direction, a beam shape, etc. [¶0076]: a UE 115 may receive one or more of the signals transmitted by the base station 105 in different directions, and the UE 115 may report to the base station 105 an indication of the signal it received with a highest signal quality, or an otherwise acceptable signal quality.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the beam to receive the downlink transmission, as taught by Kang, by receiving control signaling including an indication of a beam direction of a transmit beam from the base station and comparing the beam direction of the transmit beam to a position of the UE, as taught by Ryu. Doing so provides for improved reception of the downlink transmission.
Regarding claim 12, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 11 as outlined above.
Kang does not disclose wherein the indication of the beam direction is an absolute positional value or a relative positional value associated with an antenna panel of the base station. However, Ryu discloses wherein the indication of the beam direction is an absolute positional value or a relative positional value associated with an antenna panel of the base station ([¶0055]: aspects of the disclosure provide for dynamic beam management in high-mobility wireless communications systems (e.g., a millimeter wave (mmW) system). For example, through dynamic updating of a beam management configuration (e.g., based on a relative distance between a user equipment (UE) and a base station), wireless communications between a UE and a base station may be more efficient and reliable.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the beam to receive the downlink transmission, as taught by Kang, by receiving control signaling including an indication of a beam direction of a transmit beam from the base station as a relative positional value associated with an antenna panel of the base station, as taught by Ryu. Doing so provides for improved efficiency and reliability of the downlink transmission (See Ryu [¶0055]).
Regarding claim 13, Kang discloses a method for wireless communication at a base station (UE) ([¶0364]: Fig. 16 is a flow chart illustrating an example of a method of determining, by a base station, a transmission beam.),comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), control signaling indicating a quasi co- location configuration for…multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications … (Fig. 16, [¶0364]: in S610, the UE receives a NZP CSI-RS resource set IE from a base station. [¶0011]-[0012]: the pre-configured spatial QCL information may be spatial QCL information of a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest identity (ID) among monitored CORESETs in a latest slot. The spatial QCL information may include a channel state information (CSI)-reference signal (RS) identity or a synchronization signal block (SSB) index. [¶0003]: may be used with multiple input multiple output (MIMO) technologies.)…;
transmitting, to the UE, an indication of a downlink transmission associated with the quasi co-location configuration … for the…MIMO communications from the base station… (Fig. 15, [¶0367]: in S720, the UE receives CSI resource(s) configured as repetition “OFF” through different through different Tx beams (or DL spatial domain transmission filter of the base station.); and
transmitting, to the UE, the downlink transmission using a beam … for the…MIMO communications from the base station. ([¶0600]: the base station may transmit a plurality of physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) including PDSCH scheduling information, in S2002.).
Kang does not specifically disclose that the quasi co-location configuration associated with MIMO communications is within a distance threshold from the base station. However, Ryu discloses updating of beam management configuration based on the UE being within a distance threshold from the base station ([¶0055]: aspects of the disclosure provide for dynamic beam management of high-mobility wireless communications systems, for example, through dynamic updating of a beam management configuration (e.g., based on a relative distance between a user equipment (UE) and a base station). [¶0056]: a change in beam configuration may be triggered based on the distance between the UE and the base station changing (e.g., getting closer or farther apart). [¶0099]: a beam management configuration may include a set of beams to sweep a quasi co-location (QCL) configuration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit control signaling indicating a QCL configuration associated with MIMO communications, as taught by Kang, in which the QCL configuration is associated within a distance threshold from the base station, as taught by Ryu. Doing so provides for greater efficiency and reliability of wireless communications between the UE and the base station (See Ryu [¶0055]).
Neither Kang nor Ryu specifically disclose that the MIMO communications are holographic MIMO communications. However, Black discloses use of holographic multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications ([¶0056]: some embodiments provide for using MIMO in concert with holographic beamforming for additional channel capacity. [¶0057]: in some approaches, a MIMO enhancement of channel capacity may be implemented using multiple feeds for a holographic beamforming antenna.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MIMO communications, as taught by Kang, to include holographic MIMO communications, as taught by Black. Doing so provides for increased channel capacity (See Black [¶0020], [¶0056]- [¶0058]).
Neither Kang, Ryu, nor Black disclose wherein the indication is indicative of whether the downlink transmission utilizes a three-dimensional beam. However, Zhang discloses wherein the indication is indicative of whether the downlink transmission utilizes a three-dimensional beam (Referring to operations of a base station, [0094]: a control unit 102 may control, for each three-dimensional spatial region, the base station to transmit a downlink reference signal to one or more user equipment by utilizing each of a predetermined number of downlink transmission beams, and determine, according to measurement results of downlink channel qualities fed back by the one or more user equipment based on the received downlink reference signal, a downlink transmission beam for each three-dimensional spatial region among the predetermined number of downlink transmission beams. An establishing unit 104 may establish, based on the downlink transmission beam determined for each three-dimensional spatial region, the mapping relationship between the three-dimensional spatial regions and the downlink transmission beams. [0130]: the mapping relationship may indicate a mapping relationship between three-dimensional spatial regions and downlink resources, so that the control unit 304 may determine a downlink resource suitable for the user equipment according to the information indicating the mapping relationship and the three-dimensional spatial location of the user equipment, and controls the base station to perform downlink transmission to the user equipment by utilizing the determined downlink resource. [0131]: the mapping relationship may also indicate a mapping relationship between three-dimensional spatial regions and downlink transmission beams, so that the control unit 304 may determine a downlink transmission beam for the user equipment according to the information indicating the mapping relationship and the three-dimensional spatial location of the user equipment, and controls the base station to perform downlink transmission to the user equipment by utilizing the determined downlink transmission beam. [0153]: the base station determines a corresponding downlink transmission beam according to the current three-dimensional spatial location of the user equipment, and transmits information of the determined downlink transmission beam or the uplink transmission angle determined based on the downlink transmission beam to the user equipment.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indication of a downlink transmission associated with the quasi co-location configuration, as taught by Kang, to include an indication indicative of whether the downlink transmission utilizes a three-dimensional beam, as taught by Zhang. Doing so allows for utilizing the mapping relationship between the three-dimensional spatial regions and the downlink resources as well as the downlink transmission beams to allocate the beams according to the spatial location of the user equipment in order to save processing time, reduce system delay, and improve operational efficiency (See Zhang [0132]).
Regarding claim 14, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 13 as outlined above.
Kang also discloses wherein transmitting the control signaling comprises: transmitting the control signaling indicating a transmission configuration indicator state comprising the quasi co-location configuration associated with the…MIMO communications within the distance threshold from the base station ([¶0374]: a UE may be RRC-configured with a list of up to M candidate transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for the purpose of at least quasi co-location (QCL) indication, where M may be 64.).
Neither Kang nor Ryu specifically disclose that the MIMO communications are holographic MIMO communications. However, Black discloses use of holographic multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications ([¶0056]: some embodiments provide for using MIMO in concert with holographic beamforming for additional channel capacity. [¶0057]: in some approaches, a MIMO enhancement of channel capacity may be implemented using multiple feeds for a holographic beamforming antenna.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MIMO communications, as taught by Kang, to include holographic MIMO communications, as taught by Black. Doing so provides for increased channel capacity (See Black [¶0020], [¶0056]- [¶0058]).
Regarding claim 15, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 14 as outlined above.
Kang also discloses wherein transmitting the indication of the downlink transmission further comprises: transmitting an indication of the transmission configuration indicator state via a radio resource control message ([¶0374]: a UE may be RRC-configured with a list of up to M candidate transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for the purpose of at least quasi co-location (QCL) indication, where M may be 64.), a medium access control control element, or downlink control information ([¶0380]: a TCU state ID may be indicated via DCI).
Regarding claim 16, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black discloses all features of claim 14 as outlined above.
Although Kang discloses that a TCI state IE associates one or more two DL reference signals (RS with a corresponding QCI type includes fields, Kang fails to specifically disclose wherein the control signaling includes a bit field indicating the transmission configuration indicator state is associated with the receive beam used for MIMO communications within the distance threshold from the base station. However, Ryu discloses wherein the control signaling includes a bit field indicating the transmission configuration indicator state is associated with the receive beam used for the…MIMO communications within the distance threshold from the base station ([¶0134]: indication receiver 625 may receive, at a UE…, an indication of one or more beam management configurations from a first base station…, the one or more beam management configurations being for managing a beam-based communication with the first base station. In some cases, the one or more beam management configurations is a set of beam management configurations for the UE. In some aspects, the indication includes one or more bits, each of the one or more bits corresponding to a respective set of the set of beam management configurations. In some instances, the indication includes a single bit that indicates a change to a subsequent beam management configuration of the set of beam management configurations.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indication of TCI state, as taught by Kang, to us a bit field, as taught by Ryu. Doing so allows for reduced bandwidth utilization for TCI signaling to provide greater efficiency of communication between the UE and the base station (See Ryu [¶0055]).
Neither Kang nor Ryu specifically disclose that the MIMO communications are holographic MIMO communications. However, Black discloses use of holographic multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications ([¶0056]: some embodiments provide for using MIMO in concert with holographic beamforming for additional channel capacity. [¶0057]: in some approaches, a MIMO enhancement of channel capacity may be implemented using multiple feeds for a holographic beamforming antenna.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MIMO communications, as taught by Kang, to include holographic MIMO communications, as taught by Black. Doing so provides for increased channel capacity (See Black [¶0020], [¶0056]- [¶0058]).
Regarding claim 17, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 13 as outlined above.
Kang also discloses wherein transmitting the indication of the downlink transmission comprises: transmitting, to the UE, an indication of a plurality of repetitions of the downlink transmission associated with the quasi co-location configuration within the distance threshold for the…MIMO communications from the base station; and transmitting the plurality of repetitions of the downlink transmission based at least in part on selecting the beam (Fig. 15, [¶0358]: in S620, the UE repeatedly receives CSI resource(s) configured as repetition “ON” in different OFDM symbols through the same Tx beam (or DL spatial domain transmission filter of the base station. [¶0266]: in Table 5, the repetition parameter is a parameter indicating whether the same beam is repeatedly transmitted, and indicates whether a repetition is “ON” or “OFF” for each NZP CSI-RS resource set.).
Neither Kang nor Ryu specifically disclose that the MIMO communications are holographic MIMO communications. However, Black discloses use of holographic multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications ([¶0056]: some embodiments provide for using MIMO in concert with holographic beamforming for additional channel capacity. [¶0057]: in some approaches, a MIMO enhancement of channel capacity may be implemented using multiple feeds for a holographic beamforming antenna.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MIMO communications, as taught by Kang, to include holographic MIMO communications, as taught by Black. Doing so provides for increased channel capacity (See Black [¶0020], [¶0056]- [¶0058]).
Regarding claim 18, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 13 as outlined above.
Kang also discloses transmitting, using the beam within the distance threshold from the base station, the downlink transmission comprising a periodic or semi-persistent channel state information reference signal ([¶0269]-[¶0270]: the CSI report configuration-related information includes a report configuration type (reportConfigType) parameter indicating a time domain behavior and a report quantity (reportQuantity) parameter indicating CSI-related quantity for reporting. The time domain behavior may be periodic, aperiodic or semi-persistent.); and
receiving, from the UE, a channel state information report based at least in part on receiving the periodic or semi-persistent channel state information reference signal ([¶0271]: the CSI report configuration-related information may be represented as a CSI-ReportConfig IE. [¶0360]: in S640, the UE transmits, to the base station, a CSI report including a CRI/L1-RSRP.).
Regarding claim 19, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Kang also discloses transmitting, using the beam within the distance threshold from the base station, the downlink transmission comprising an aperiodic channel state information reference signal ([¶0269]-[¶0270]: the CSI report configuration-related information includes a report configuration type (reportConfigType) parameter indicating a time domain behavior and a report quantity (reportQuantity) parameter indicating CSI-related quantity for reporting. The time domain behavior may be periodic, aperiodic or semi-persistent.); and
receiving, from the UE, a channel state information report based at least in part on receiving the aperiodic channel state information reference signal ([¶0271]: the CSI report configuration-related information may be represented as a CSI-ReportConfig IE. [¶0360]: in S640, the UE transmits, to the base station, a CSI report including a CRI/L1-RSRP.).
Regarding claim 20, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black discloses all features of claim 13 as outlined above.
Kang also discloses transmitting, using the beam within the distance threshold from the base station, the downlink transmission comprising a physical downlink shared channel message ([¶0007]: in one aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a method of receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) in a wireless communication system. The downlink transmissions are received from the base station.).
Regarding claim 21, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 13 as outlined above.
Kang also discloses transmitting, using the beam within the distance threshold from the base station, the downlink transmission comprising a physical downlink control channel message. ([¶0007]: in one aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a method of receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising transmitting UE capability information related to a number of simultaneously supportable reception beams, receiving a plurality of physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) including PDSCH scheduling information, and based on at least one PDSCH scheduled within a time required to apply spatial quasi co-location (QCL) information, receiving the plurality of PDSCHs using pre-configured spatial QCL information.).
Regarding claim 22, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 13 as outlined above.
Kang does not disclose transmitting, to the UE, control signaling comprising an indication of a beam direction of a transmit beam from the base station. However, Ryu discloses transmitting, to the UE, control signaling comprising an indication of a beam direction of a transmit beam from the base station ([¶0076]: in one example, a base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. For instance, some signals (e.g. synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions, which may include a signal being transmitted according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the beam to receive the downlink transmission, as taught by Kang, by receiving control signaling including an indication of a beam direction of a transmit beam from the base station and comparing the beam direction of the transmit beam to a position of the UE, as taught by Ryu. Doing so provides for improved reception of the downlink transmission.
Regarding claim 23, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 22 as outlined above.
Kang does not disclose wherein the indication of the beam direction is an absolute positional value or a relative positional value associated with an antenna panel of the base station. However, Ryu discloses wherein the indication of the beam direction is an absolute positional value or a relative positional value associated with an antenna panel of the base station ([¶0055]: aspects of the disclosure provide for dynamic beam management in high-mobility wireless communications systems (e.g., a millimeter wave (mmW) system). For example, through dynamic updating of a beam management configuration (e.g., based on a relative distance between a user equipment (UE) and a base station), wireless communications between a UE and a base station may be more efficient and reliable.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the beam to receive the downlink transmission, as taught by Kang, by transmitting control signaling including an indication of a beam direction of a transmit beam from the base station as a relative positional value associated with an antenna panel of the base station, as taught by Ryu. Doing so provides for improved efficiency and reliability of the downlink transmission (See Ryu [¶0055]).
Regarding claim 24, Kang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE),comprising:
one or more processors; one or more memories in electronic communication with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories ([0014] In another aspect, there is provided a user equipment (UE) receiving a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising one or more transceivers, one or more processors, and one or more memories functionally connected to the one or more processors and configured to store instructions performing operations.), wherein the instructions are executable by the one or more processors to:
receive, from a base station, control signaling indicating a quasi co- location configuration for…multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications within a distance threshold from the base station (Fig. 15, [¶0356]: in S610, the UE receives a NZP CSI-RS resource set IE from a base station. [¶0011]-[0012]: the pre-configured spatial QCL information may be spatial QCL information of a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest identity (ID) among monitored CORESETs in a latest slot. The spatial QCL information may include a channel state information (CSI)-reference signal (RS) identity or a synchronization signal block (SSB) index. [¶0003]: may be used with multiple input multiple output (MIMO) technologies.)…;
receive, from the base station, an indication of a downlink transmission associated with the quasi co-location configuration within the distance threshold for the…MIMO communications from the base station… (Fig. 15, [¶0358]: in S620, the UE repeatedly receives CSI resource(s) configured as repetition “ON” in different OFDM symbols through the same Tx beam (or DL spatial domain transmission filter of the base station.); and
select a beam to receive the downlink transmission within the distance threshold for the…MIMO communications from the base station based at least in part on the quasi co-location configuration… (Fig. 15, [¶0359]: In S630, the UE determines its own RX beam based on the QCL configuration.).
Kang does not specifically disclose that the quasi co-location configuration associated with MIMO communications is within a distance threshold from the base station. However, Ryu discloses updating of beam management configuration based on the UE being within a distance threshold from the base station ([¶0055]: aspects of the disclosure provide for dynamic beam management of high-mobility wireless communications systems, for example, through dynamic updating of a beam management configuration (e.g., based on a relative distance between a user equipment (UE) and a base station). [¶0056]: a change in beam configuration may be triggered based on the distance between the UE and the base station changing (e.g., getting closer or farther apart). [¶0099]: a beam management configuration may include a set of beams to sweep a quasi co-location (QCL) configuration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive control signaling indicating a QCL configuration associated with MIMO communications, as taught by Kang, in which the QCL configuration is associated within a distance threshold from the base station, as taught by Ryu. Doing so provides for greater efficiency and reliability of wireless communications between the UE and the base station (See Ryu [¶0055]).
Neither Kang nor Ryu specifically disclose that the MIMO communications are holographic MIMO communications. However, Black discloses use of holographic multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications ([¶0056]: some embodiments provide for using MIMO in concert with holographic beamforming for additional channel capacity. [¶0057]: in some approaches, a MIMO enhancement of channel capacity may be implemented using multiple feeds for a holographic beamforming antenna.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MIMO communications, as taught by Kang, to include holographic MIMO communications, as taught by Black. Doing so provides for increased channel capacity (See Black [¶0020], [¶0056]- [¶0058]).
Neither Kang, Ryu, nor Black disclose wherein the indication is indicative of whether the downlink transmission utilizes a three-dimensional beam, or wherein selecting the beam is based at least in part on the indication indicating that the downlink transmission utilizes a three-dimensional beam. However, Zhang discloses wherein the indication is indicative of whether the downlink transmission utilizes a three-dimensional beam (Referring to operations of a base station, [0094]: a control unit 102 may control, for each three-dimensional spatial region, the base station to transmit a downlink reference signal to one or more user equipment by utilizing each of a predetermined number of downlink transmission beams, and determine, according to measurement results of downlink channel qualities fed back by the one or more user equipment based on the received downlink reference signal, a downlink transmission beam for each three-dimensional spatial region among the predetermined number of downlink transmission beams. An establishing unit 104 may establish, based on the downlink transmission beam determined for each three-dimensional spatial region, the mapping relationship between the three-dimensional spatial regions and the downlink transmission beams. [0130]: the mapping relationship may indicate a mapping relationship between three-dimensional spatial regions and downlink resources, so that the control unit 304 may determine a downlink resource suitable for the user equipment according to the information indicating the mapping relationship and the three-dimensional spatial location of the user equipment, and controls the base station to perform downlink transmission to the user equipment by utilizing the determined downlink resource. [0131]: the mapping relationship may also indicate a mapping relationship between three-dimensional spatial regions and downlink transmission beams, so that the control unit 304 may determine a downlink transmission beam for the user equipment according to the information indicating the mapping relationship and the three-dimensional spatial location of the user equipment, and controls the base station to perform downlink transmission to the user equipment by utilizing the determined downlink transmission beam. [0153]: the base station determines a corresponding downlink transmission beam according to the current three-dimensional spatial location of the user equipment, and transmits information of the determined downlink transmission beam or the uplink transmission angle determined based on the downlink transmission beam to the user equipment.), and selecting a beam to receive the downlink transmission…based at least in part on the indication indicating that the downlink transmission utilizes a three-dimensional beam (Referring to operations of a user equipment, [0150: ] the control unit 402 may be configured to: control user equipment to report a current three-dimensional spatial location to a base station; and control, based on a resource which is determined by the base station according to the current three-dimensional spatial location and information indicating at least mapping relationship between three-dimensional spatial regions and resources, the user equipment to perform communication operations. [0151]: in this way, the base station can allocate an appropriate uplink/downlink resource to the user equipment according to the location information of the user equipment and a pre-established mapping relationship between the three-dimensional spatial regions and the resources, so that the user equipment can perform uplink transmission or D2D transmission or downlink reception based on the allocated uplink/downlink resource.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indication of a downlink transmission associated with the quasi co-location configuration, as taught by Kang, to include an indication indicative of whether the downlink transmission utilizes a three-dimensional beam and selecting a beam to receive the downlink transmission based at least in part on the indication indicating that the downlink transmission utilizes a three-dimensional beam, as taught by Zhang. Doing so allows for utilizing the mapping relationship between the three-dimensional spatial regions and the downlink resources as well as the downlink transmission beams to allocate the beams according to the spatial location of the user equipment in order to save processing time, reduce system delay, and improve operational efficiency (See Zhang [0132]).
Regarding claim 25, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 23 as outlined above.
Kang also discloses wherein the instructions executable by the one or more processors to receive the control signaling comprise instructions executable by the one or more processors to: receive the control signaling configuring a transmission configuration indicator state comprising the quasi co-location configuration associated with the…MIMO communications within the distance threshold from the base station ([¶0374]: a UE may be RRC-configured with a list of up to M candidate transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for the purpose of at least quasi co-location (QCL) indication, where M may be 64.).
Neither Kang nor Ryu specifically disclose that the MIMO communications are holographic MIMO communications. However, Black discloses use of holographic multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications ([¶0056]: some embodiments provide for using MIMO in concert with holographic beamforming for additional channel capacity. [¶0057]: in some approaches, a MIMO enhancement of channel capacity may be implemented using multiple feeds for a holographic beamforming antenna.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MIMO communications, as taught by Kang, to include holographic MIMO communications, as taught by Black. Doing so provides for increased channel capacity (See Black [¶0020], [¶0056]- [¶0058]).
Regarding claim 26, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 25 as outlined above.
Kang also discloses wherein the instructions executable by the one or more processors to receive the indication of the downlink transmission comprise instructions executable by the one or more processors to: receive an indication of the transmission configuration indicator state via a radio resource control message ([¶0374]: a UE may be RRC-configured with a list of up to M candidate transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for the purpose of at least quasi co-location (QCL) indication, where M may be 64.), a medium access control control element, or downlink control information ([¶0380]: a TCU state ID may be indicated via DCI).
Regarding claim 27, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 25 as outlined above.
Although Kang discloses that a TCI state IE associates one or more two DL reference signals (RS with a corresponding QCI type includes fields, Kang fails to specifically disclose wherein the control signaling includes a bit field indicating the transmission configuration indicator state is associated with the receive beam used for MIMO communications within the distance threshold from the base station. However, Ryu discloses wherein the control signaling includes a bit field indicating the transmission configuration indicator state is associated with the receive beam used for the…MIMO communications within the distance threshold from the base station ([¶0134]: indication receiver 625 may receive, at a UE…, an indication of one or more beam management configurations from a first base station…, the one or more beam management configurations being for managing a beam-based communication with the first base station. In some cases, the one or more beam management configurations is a set of beam management configurations for the UE. In some aspects, the indication includes one or more bits, each of the one or more bits corresponding to a respective set of the set of beam management configurations. In some instances, the indication includes a single bit that indicates a change to a subsequent beam management configuration of the set of beam management configurations.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indication of TCI state, as taught by Kang, to us a bit field, as taught by Ryu. Doing so allows for reduced bandwidth utilization for TCI signaling to provide greater efficiency of communication between the UE and the base station (See Ryu [¶0055]).
Neither Kang nor Ryu specifically disclose that the MIMO communications are holographic MIMO communications. However, Black discloses use of holographic multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications ([¶0056]: some embodiments provide for using MIMO in concert with holographic beamforming for additional channel capacity. [¶0057]: in some approaches, a MIMO enhancement of channel capacity may be implemented using multiple feeds for a holographic beamforming antenna.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MIMO communications, as taught by Kang, to include holographic MIMO communications, as taught by Black. Doing so provides for increased channel capacity (See Black [¶0020], [¶0056]- [¶0058]).
Regarding claim 28, Kang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station ([¶0364]: Fig. 16 is a flow chart illustrating an example of a method of determining, by a base station, a transmission beam.),comprising:
one or more processors; one or more memories in electronic communication with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories ([¶0624]: the second wireless device 2000 may include one or more processors 2020 and one or more memories 2040. The processor 2020 may control the memory 2040 and may be configured to implement descriptions, functions, procedures, proposals, methods, and/or operation flows described in the present disclosure. The memory 2040 may be connected to the processor 2020 and store various information related to an operation of the processor 2020. For example, the memory 2040 may store a software code including instructions for performing some or all of processes controlled by the processor 2020 or performing the descriptions, functions, procedures, proposals, methods, and/or operation flowcharts described in the present disclosure.), wherein the instructions are executable by the one or more processors to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), control signaling indicating a quasi co- location configuration for…multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications … (Fig. 16, [¶0364]: in S610, the UE receives a NZP CSI-RS resource set IE from a base station. [¶0011]-[0012]: the pre-configured spatial QCL information may be spatial QCL information of a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest identity (ID) among monitored CORESETs in a latest slot. The spatial QCL information may include a channel state information (CSI)-reference signal (RS) identity or a synchronization signal block (SSB) index. [¶0003]: may be used with multiple input multiple output (MIMO) technologies.)…;
transmit, to the UE, an indication of a downlink transmission associated with the quasi co-location configuration…for the…MIMO communications from the base station… (Fig. 15, [¶0367]: in S720, the UE receives CSI resource(s) configured as repetition “OFF” through different through different Tx beams (or DL spatial domain transmission filter of the base station.); and
transmit, to the UE, the downlink transmission using a beam … for the holographic MIMO communications from the base station. ([¶0600]: the base station may transmit a plurality of physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) including PDSCH scheduling information, in S2002.).
Kang does not specifically disclose that the quasi co-location configuration associated with MIMO communications is within a distance threshold from the base station. However, Ryu discloses updating of beam management configuration based on the UE being within a distance threshold from the base station ([¶0055]: aspects of the disclosure provide for dynamic beam management of high-mobility wireless communications systems, for example, through dynamic updating of a beam management configuration (e.g., based on a relative distance between a user equipment (UE) and a base station). [¶0056]: a change in beam configuration may be triggered based on the distance between the UE and the base station changing (e.g., getting closer or farther apart). [¶0099]: a beam management configuration may include a set of beams to sweep a quasi co-location (QCL) configuration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit control signaling indicating a QCL configuration associated with MIMO communications, as taught by Kang, in which the QCL configuration is associated within a distance threshold from the base station, as taught by Ryu. Doing so provides for greater efficiency and reliability of wireless communications between the UE and the base station (See Ryu [¶0055]).
Neither Kang nor Ryu specifically disclose that the MIMO communications are holographic MIMO communications. However, Black discloses use of holographic multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications ([¶0056]: some embodiments provide for using MIMO in concert with holographic beamforming for additional channel capacity. [¶0057]: in some approaches, a MIMO enhancement of channel capacity may be implemented using multiple feeds for a holographic beamforming antenna.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MIMO communications, as taught by Kang, to include holographic MIMO communications, as taught by Black. Doing so provides for increased channel capacity (See Black [¶0020], [¶0056]- [¶0058]).
Neither Kang, Ryu, nor Black disclose wherein the indication is indicative of whether the downlink transmission utilizes a three-dimensional beam. However, Zhang discloses wherein the indication is indicative of whether the downlink transmission utilizes a three-dimensional beam (Referring to operations of a base station, [0094]: a control unit 102 may control, for each three-dimensional spatial region, the base station to transmit a downlink reference signal to one or more user equipment by utilizing each of a predetermined number of downlink transmission beams, and determine, according to measurement results of downlink channel qualities fed back by the one or more user equipment based on the received downlink reference signal, a downlink transmission beam for each three-dimensional spatial region among the predetermined number of downlink transmission beams. An establishing unit 104 may establish, based on the downlink transmission beam determined for each three-dimensional spatial region, the mapping relationship between the three-dimensional spatial regions and the downlink transmission beams. [0130]: the mapping relationship may indicate a mapping relationship between three-dimensional spatial regions and downlink resources, so that the control unit 304 may determine a downlink resource suitable for the user equipment according to the information indicating the mapping relationship and the three-dimensional spatial location of the user equipment, and controls the base station to perform downlink transmission to the user equipment by utilizing the determined downlink resource. [0131]: the mapping relationship may also indicate a mapping relationship between three-dimensional spatial regions and downlink transmission beams, so that the control unit 304 may determine a downlink transmission beam for the user equipment according to the information indicating the mapping relationship and the three-dimensional spatial location of the user equipment, and controls the base station to perform downlink transmission to the user equipment by utilizing the determined downlink transmission beam. [0153]: the base station determines a corresponding downlink transmission beam according to the current three-dimensional spatial location of the user equipment, and transmits information of the determined downlink transmission beam or the uplink transmission angle determined based on the downlink transmission beam to the user equipment.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indication of a downlink transmission associated with the quasi co-location configuration, as taught by Kang, to include an indication indicative of whether the downlink transmission utilizes a three-dimensional beam, as taught by Zhang. Doing so allows for utilizing the mapping relationship between the three-dimensional spatial regions and the downlink resources as well as the downlink transmission beams to allocate the beams according to the spatial location of the user equipment in order to save processing time, reduce system delay, and improve operational efficiency (See Zhang [0132]).
Regarding claim 29, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 28 as outlined above.
Kang also discloses wherein the instructions executable by the processor to transmit the control signaling comprise instructions executable by the processor to: transmit the control signaling indicating a transmission configuration indicator state comprising the quasi co-location configuration associated with the MIMO communications within the distance threshold from the base station ([¶0374]: a UE may be RRC-configured with a list of up to M candidate transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for the purpose of at least quasi co-location (QCL) indication, where M may be 64.).
Regarding claim 30, Kang in view of Ryu and further in view of Black, and still further in view of Zhang, discloses all features of claim 29 as outlined above.
Kang also discloses wherein the instructions executable by the processor to transmit the indication of the downlink transmission comprise instructions executable by the processor to: transmit an indication of the transmission configuration indicator state via a radio resource control message ([¶0374]: a UE may be RRC-configured with a list of up to M candidate transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for the purpose of at least quasi co-location (QCL) indication, where M may be 64.), a medium access control control element, or downlink control information ([¶0380]: a TCU state ID may be indicated via DCI).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463