The amendments filed 8/27/26 overcome the rejections set forth in 35 USC 112(b) and (d) in the office action mailed 5/7/26, but do not overcome the rejections set forth under 35 USC 103, which are maintained below. The discussions of the rejections have been updated as necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 15-18, 21, 23, 25, 30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aepli (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2019/0055405).
In paragraphs 10-16 Aepli discloses polyamide molding compounds comprising a mixture of polyamides (A1) and (A2). In paragraph 43 Aepli discloses that both polyamides are preferably amorphous.
In paragraphs 59-66 Aepli discloses that polyamide (A2) has 20 to 100 mol% of cycloaliphatic diamines (a-A2) relative to the total quantity of diamines, 20 to 100 mol% of open-chain aliphatic dicarboxylic acids (d-A2) relative to the total quantity of dicarboxylic acids, and 0 to 80 mol% of cycloaliphatic dicarboxylic acids (f-A2) relative to the total quantity of dicarboxylic acids. In paragraph 71 Aepli discloses that the cycloaliphatic diamine (a-A2) can be various cycloaliphatic diamines recited for R1 of amended claims 1-2, and that MACM is a particularly preferred cycloaliphatic diamine. In paragraph 76 Aepli discloses that a preferred cycloaliphatic dicarboxylic acid (f-A2) is 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid, which leads to recurring units meeting the limitations of RPA1 when reacted with the cycloaliphatic diamine In paragraph 74 Aepli discloses that the open-chain aliphatic dicarboxylic acid (d-A2) can be 1,9-nonanedioic acid (azelaic acid) or 1,10-decanedioic acid (sebacic acid), which lead to recurring units meeting the limitations of RPA2 when reacted with the cycloaliphatic diamine. Based on the concentration ranges of cycloaliphatic diamines, open-chain aliphatic dicarboxylic acids, and cycloaliphatic dicarboxylic acids, the amount of recurring units in the polyamide (A2) of Aepli corresponding to RPA1 and the amount corresponding to RPA2 will each encompass the ranges recited in claim 1. In paragraph 91 Aepli discloses that the glass transition temperature of the polyamide (A2) is preferably at least 140° C, encompassing the range recited in claim 1.
In accordance with the above discussion, the concentrations of the 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid and azelaic or sebacic acid used in forming the polyamide (A2) of Aepli overlap the ranges recited in claims 2 and 17, the cycloaliphatic diamines can be those recited in claim 2-4 (including diamines other than PACM, in which case the limitation regarding the trans-trans ratio of claim 2 is moot), and the glass transition temperature encompasses the range recited in claim 2. In paragraph 95 Aepli discloses that the polyamide (A2) can be free of lactams and aminocarboxylic acids, as recited in claim 2, and Aepli also does not disclose tertiary amines as required reactants, also meeting the limitations of claim 2. In paragraph 82 Aepli discloses that the polyamide (A2) can be various polyamides that are formed by reacting diamines and dicarboxylic acids in substantially equimolar amounts, as recited in claim 2.
In paragraph 96 Aepli discloses that the polyamide (A2) can be free of monomers having aromatic structural units, meeting the limitations of claims 16 and 23, and when there is no aromatic dicarboxylic acid present, the dicarboxylic acid component will consist essentially of the open-chain dicarboxylic acid and the cycloaliphatic dicarboxylic acid, which can preferably be the acids recited in claim 5. When the polyamide (A2) is free of aromatic monomers, the it will consist essentially of the units RPA1 and RPA2, as recited in amended claim 1. The diamines of Aepli in the preparation of polyamide (A2) can be all cycloaliphatic diamines, meeting the limitations of claims 6-7. As discussed above, the proportion of recurring units RPA1 will overlap or encompass the ranges recited in claim 18, and the range of ratios of RPA1 to RPA2 will encompass the range recited in claim 15.
Alternatively, in paragraphs 50-57 Aepli discloses that polyamide (A1) has 10 to 100 mol% of cycloaliphatic diamines (a-A1) relative to the total quantity of diamines, 0 to 65 mol% of open-chain aliphatic dicarboxylic acids (d-A1) relative to the total quantity of dicarboxylic acids, and 0 to 65 mol% of cycloaliphatic dicarboxylic acids (f-A1) relative to the total quantity of dicarboxylic acids. The maximum total quantity of the open-chain aliphatic dicarboxylic acids and cycloaliphatic dicarboxylic acids is 65 mol% relative to the total quantity of dicarboxylic acids, since at least 35 mol% of aromatic dicarboxylic acid must also be present. In paragraph 71 Aepli discloses that the cycloaliphatic diamine (a-A1) can be various cycloaliphatic diamines recited for R1 of claim 1. In paragraph 76 Aepli discloses that a preferred cycloaliphatic dicarboxylic acid (f-A1) is 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid, which leads to recurring units meeting the limitations of RPA1 when reacted with the cycloaliphatic diamine In paragraph 74 Aepli discloses that the open-chain aliphatic dicarboxylic acid (d-A1) can be 1,9-nonanedioic acid (azelaic acid) or 1,10-decanedioic acid (sebacic acid), which lead to recurring units meeting the limitations of RPA2 when reacted with the cycloaliphatic diamine. Based on the concentration ranges of cycloaliphatic diamines, open-chain aliphatic dicarboxylic acids, and cycloaliphatic dicarboxylic acids, the amount of recurring units in the polyamide (A1) of Aepli corresponding to RPA1 of claim will be up to 65 mol%, and the amount corresponding to RPA2 will be up to 65 mol% both overlapping the ranges recited in claim 1, with the proviso that the total amount of RPA1 and RPA2 is not more than 65 mol%, but this proviso does not prevent the polyamide (A1) of Aepli from meeting the limitations of the claimed amorphous polyamide. In paragraph 90 Aepli discloses that the glass transition temperature of the polyamide (A1) is preferably at least 140° C, encompassing the range recited in claim 1.
In accordance with the above discussion, the concentrations of the 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid and azelaic or sebacic acid used in forming the polyamide (A1) of Aepli overlap the ranges recited in claims 2 and 17, the cycloaliphatic diamines can be those recited in claim 2-4 (including diamines other than PACM, in which case the limitation regarding the trans-trans ratio of claim 2 is moot), and the glass transition temperature encompasses the range recited in claim 2. In paragraph 95 Aepli discloses that the polyamide (A1) can be free of lactams and aminocarboxylic acids, as recited in claim 2, and Aepli also does not disclose tertiary amines as required reactants, also meeting the limitations of claim 2. In paragraph 81 Aepli discloses that the polyamide (A1) can be various polyamides that are formed by reacting diamines and dicarboxylic acids in substantially equimolar amounts, as recited in claim 2.
The diamines of Aepli can be all cycloaliphatic diamines in the preparation of polyamide (A1), meeting the limitations of claims 6-7. As discussed above, the proportion of recurring units RPA1 will overlap or encompass the ranges recited in claim 18, and the range of ratios of RPA1 to RPA2 will encompass the range recited in claim 15.
In paragraph 31 Aepli discloses that the amorphous polyamides have a melting heat (heat of fusion) of 5 J/g or less, particularly preferably 3 J/g or less, meeting the limitations of claim 21.
In paragraphs 15-16 and 120 Aepli discloses that the polyamide molding compounds comprise a glass filler, which is a reinforcing agent as recited in claim 25, and can also comprise various additional additives recited in claim 25. In paragraph 12 Aepli discloses that the polyamine is present in the polyamide molding compound in an amount of 50 to 95% by weight, within the range recited in claim 30. In paragraph 159 Aepli discloses that articles made from the polyamide molding compounds include vehicle trim parts, meeting the limitations of the automotive component of claim 32, and various mobile electronic device components, such as shields of cellular phones.
The difference between Aepli and the currently presented claims is that some of the ranges of Aepli overlap or encompass the claimed ranges rather than falling within them.
See MPEP 2144.05(I): “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976);” "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
In light of the above, claims 1-2, 5-7, 15-18, 21, 23, 25, 30, and 32 are rendered obvious by Aepli.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aepli in light of the evidence provided by Stoppelmann (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2017/0107337).
The discussion of Aepli in paragraph 3 above is incorporated here by reference. Aepli discloses in paragraph 97 that the polyamides (A1) and (A2) have a relative viscosity of 1.35 to 2.40. While relative viscosity is correlated to molecular weight, Aepli does not specifically disclose the number-average molecular weight of the polyamides.
In paragraphs 51-58 Stoppelmann discloses amorphous polyamides made from similar components to the polyamides of Aepli, and in paragraph 58 discloses that the amorphous polyamides have relative viscosities within the range taught by Aepli. In paragraph Stoppelmann teaches that a relative viscosity of less than 1.9 equates to a number average molecular weight of less than 20,000; in other words, a relative viscosity of 1.9, in the middle of the range taught by Aepli, equates to a number-average molecular weight of about 20,000, in the middle of the range recited in claim 22. Stoppelmann therefore provides evidence that the relative viscosity range disclosed by Aepli equates to a number-average molecular weight range that would fall within, or at least overlap, the range recited in claim 22. Claim 22 is therefore rendered obvious by Aepli in light of the evidence provided by Stoppelmann.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aepli in view of Yang (CN 110092906 A).
The discussion of Aepli in paragraph 3 above is incorporated here by reference. Aepli discloses an amorphous polyamide meeting the limitations of claims 1-2. Aepli does not disclose preparing the amorphous polyamide from the specific diamine mixture of claims 13-14.
Aepli discloses in paragraph 71 that the cycloaliphatic diamine can be a mixture, and that suitable cycloaliphatic diamines include isophorone diamine (IPDA), as well as MACM and PACM, all as recited in claims 1-2, from which claims 13-14 depend. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted). It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine IPDA with MACM or PACM as the cycloaliphatic diamine component in either polyamide (A1) or (A2) of Aepli.
Additionally, Yang, an English-language machine translation of which is attached, indicates in paragraph 77 that a 1:1 mole ratio of IPDA and PACM can be used as a diamine component for reacting with an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid in preparing a component for a polyamide (nylon) composition, where the 1:1 (50/50) mole ratio falls within the ranges recited in claims 13-14. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine IPDA with PACM (or another of the suitable diamines of Aepli) in a 1:1 mole ratio, since Yang discloses that diamines can be combined in such as ratio in the preparation of polyamides.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/7/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Aepli teaches possible combinations of monomers or recurring units which may overlap the claimed monomers or recurring units but does not teach the specific claimed polyamides. As discussed in the rejections, however, Aepli teaches that al of the reactants required to produce the claimed polyamide are preferred reactants; it clearly would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the amorphous polyamides of Aepli by reacting the preferred reactants of Aepli.
Applicant also argues that certain combinations of reactants are required to produce polyamides having a certain combination of properties, and points to the data supplied in Table 1 of the specification. Applicant argues that it would not have been obvious in view of Aepli to arrive at the claimed polyamide polymers which are amorphous and have the claimed glass transition temperature of 160° and 220° C. However, in paragraph 43 Aepli teaches that the polyamides are preferably amorphous, and in paragraphs 90-91 Aepli discloses that the polyamides preferably have glass transition temperatures in ranges encompassing the claimed range. While applicant has not explicitly made an argument of unexpected results, applicant is reminded that a showing of unexpected results sufficient to overcome a prima facie case of obviousness requires both a comparison with the closest prior art (MPEP 716.02(e)) and a demonstration that the unexpected results are commensurate in scope with the claimed invention (MPEP 716.02(d)).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES C GOLOBOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771