DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on November 13, 2023 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the drawing figures are not numbered in accordance with 37 CFR 1.84 and PCT Rule 11.13(k). Several of the drawing Figures are labeled with the same Figure number. For example, see drawing sheets 1-5, which contain five figures labeled as “FIG. 1”. These five figures should be labeled as “FIG. 1A” to “FIG. 1E”. For example, see properly labeled FIG. 1F to FIG. 1H on drawing sheets 6-8. This same issue is present for Figures 2-7, 11-14, 16, 18-25, 28, and 30-34. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 9-11 are directed the alternative embodiments that are not required to be present in the parent claim. For example, claim 9 further limits the difunctional monomer of claim 2, but claim 2 does not require a difunctional monomer. See claim 2, lines 2-3, which recites “…formulation comprising a difunctional monomer…or a monofunctional monomer…”. In order for these claims, i.e., claims 9-11, to positively further limit the parent claim, they should be rewritten to require the alternative that is being further limited. For example, amending claim 9 to read “The dielectric elastomer of claim 2, wherein the formulation comprises the difunctional monomer, and wherein the difunctional monomer comprising the poly(propylene oxide) unit has a molecular weight less than 2000 g/mol.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites a multi-layer structure comprising a layer of conductive network sandwiched between two dielectric elastomer layers (see lines 1-3) and “a polymer layer” (lines 3-4) binding the conductive network and the two dielectric elastomer layers. This configuration is unclear because it is not clear how “a” single polymer layer can serve to bind the sandwiched conductive network between both of the two dielectric elastomer layers.
In claim 18, the phrases “between 5 and 100 micrometers” and “5≤thickness≤100 micrometers” appears to either be redundant or indefinite due to the recitation of a broad and narrow range in the same claim. See MPEP 2173.05(c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rhodia Operations (WO 2019/122262) as evidenced by Ward et al. (US Pub 2014/0120177).
Regarding claim 1, Rhodia teaches a dielectric elastomer (pg 1, ln 5-11, invention concerns an electroactive polymer composite layer comprising core-shell particles and at least one polymer and electrodes for the activation of said layer, electroactive polymers, or EAPs exhibit a change in size or shape when stimulated by an electric field; pg 7, ln 4-8, the electroactive polymer may be any dielectric polymer, the dielectric polymer is an elastomer), comprising: a crosslinked network (pg 2, 14-22, polymer composites having high dielectric permittivity, in composites, polymers are used as matrix where they bring excellent thermal and mechanical properties, polymer matrix in composite is responsible for high flexibility and high processability, dispersing in a polymer matrix conductive nano-objects is a strategy to achieve high dielectric permittivity materials. Polymer matrix composites/polymer matrices inherently comprise crosslinked polymer networks; see US ’177, para [0099], monomers are polymerized to form an ionic polymer within a preformed matrix, forming an interpenetrating polymer network (“IPN”); para [0100], the IPN will have a structure which crystalline hard segments act as physical crosslinks in the network, chemical crosslinks will be present in the network) comprising a poly(propylene oxide) unit on a network chain or a pendant group (pg 1, ln 5-6, invention concerns an electroactive polymer composite layer comprising core-shell particles; pg 5 ln 32-pg 6 ln 2, the core shell particles comprise an insulating shell, the insulating material may be selected from organic materials; pg 6, ln 6-21, suitable organic materials are selected from polymers such as poly(alkylene oxide)s, specific examples of suitable poly(alkylene oxide)s include polyoxypropylene glycol (also commonly referred to as poly(propylene glycol) or poly(propylene oxide))), wherein the poly(polypropylene oxide) unit comprises the structure O-(C3H6O)n and n is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (pg 6, ln 9-21, poly(alkylene oxide)s suitable for use in the present invention are polymers essentially all or all the repeating units of which comply with the general formula CnH2n-O wherein CnH2n represents a divalent alkylene group with n ranging from 2 to 10, specific examples of suitable poly(alkylene oxide)s include polyoxypropylene glycol (also commonly referred to as poly(propylene glycol) or poly(propylene oxide)). Polypropylene glycol, also known as polypropylene oxide, has the formula C3H6O2, or O-(C3H6O)).
Regarding claim 3, Rhodia teaches the dielectric elastomer of claim 1 wherein the crosslinked network is formed by polymerization of a formulation comprising a difunctional monomer (pg 8, ln 13-15, non-limitative examples of (meth)acrylic monomers are acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, hydroxyethyl (meth)acrylate, hydroxypropyl(meth)acrylate, hydroxyethylhexyl(meth)acrylate. Hydroxyethyl (meth)acrylate is a difunctional acrylate monomer) comprising a poly(propylene oxide) unit having a molecular weight at least 2000 g/mol (pg 6, ln 6-21, suitable organic materials are selected from polymers such as poly(alkylene oxide)s, specific examples of suitable poly(alkylene oxide)s include polyoxypropylene glycol (also commonly referred to as poly(propylene glycol) or poly(propylene oxide)); pg 15, ln 12-17, poly(alkylene oxide)s having a weight average molecular weight of at least 20,000, at most 10,000, the molecular weight of the poly(alkylene oxides) suitable may also be optimized) and a difunctional monomer having a molecular weight less than 2000 g/mol (pg 8, ln 13-15, non-limitative examples of (meth)acrylic monomers are acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, hydroxyethyl (meth)acrylate, hydroxypropyl(meth)acrylate, hydroxyethylhexyl(meth)acrylate. Hydroxyethyl (meth)acrylate is a difunctional acrylate monomer, with a molecular weight of 116.11 g/mol).
Regarding claim 12, Rhodia teaches an actuator (pg 1, ln 14, actuator comprising EAP thin layer) comprising the dielectric elastomer of claim 1 (pg 1, ln 5-24, electroactive polymer composite layer, electroactive polymers, or EAPs, EAP may be a dielectric elastomer used as a film), further comprising electrodes on the dielectric elastomer (pg 1, ln 24-25, EAP may be a dielectric elastomer used as a film deposited between two electrodes), wherein an electric field applied between two positions on the dielectric elastomer or across a thickness of the dielectric elastomer, in response to a voltage applied to the electrodes, actuates a deformation or stretching of the dielectric elastomer that outputs mechanical work (pg 1, ln 10-27, electroactive polymers, or EAPs, are polymers that exhibit a change in size or shape when stimulated by an electric field, EAP may be a dielectric elastomer used as a film deposited between two electrodes, applying voltage between two electrodes leads to an electrostatic attraction between the electrodes and to compression of the elastomer, the shape of the elastomer is recovered when the voltage is removed; pg 2, ln 6-10, electroactive polymers having high dielectric permittivity are highly desirable for the manufacture of devices having high mechanical response to electrical stimuli such as haptic actuators. The applied voltage, or electrical energy, leads to the output of mechanical work when the shape of the elastomer changes due to the electric field).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 8-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhodia Operations (WO 2019/122262) as evidenced by Ward et al. (US Pub 2014/0120177).
Regarding claim 2, Rhodia teaches the dielectric elastomer of claim 1, wherein the crosslinked network is formed by polymerization of a comprising a difunctional monomer (pg 8, ln 13-15, non-limitative examples of (meth)acrylic monomers are acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, hydroxyethyl (meth)acrylate, hydroxypropyl(meth)acrylate, hydroxyethylhexyl(meth)acrylate. Hydroxyethyl (meth)acrylate is a difunctional acrylate monomer) comprising a poly(propylene oxide) unit (pg 6, ln 6-21, suitable organic materials are selected from polymers such as poly(alkylene oxide)s, specific examples of suitable poly(alkylene oxide)s include polyoxypropylene glycol (also commonly referred to as poly(propylene glycol) or poly(propylene oxide))) but does not specifically teach wherein the poly(propylene oxide) unit constitutes or comprises 50 wt% or more in the formulation. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to incorporate 50 wt% or more of the poly(propylene oxide) unit in the formulation to optimize crosslinking reactions and strengthen polymer networks.
Regarding claim 8, Rhodia teaches the dielectric elastomer of claim 2. Rhodia further teaches wherein the formulation comprises a polymerizable functional group comprising at least one of an acrylate, a methacrylate, or a mixture thereof (pg 8, ln 13-14).
Regarding claim 9, Rhodia teaches the dielectric elastomer of claim 2. Rhodia further teaches wherein the difunctional monomer comprising the poly(propylene oxide) unit has a molecular weight less than 2000 g/mol (pg 15, ln 12-18, poly(alkylene oxide)s, average molecular weights preferably at most 1000 are useful, the molecular weight of the poly(alkylene oxides) suitable may also be optimized).
Regarding claim 10, Rhodia teaches the dielectric elastomer of claim 9. Rhodia further teaches wherein the difunctional monomer comprising the poly(propylene oxide) unit comprises an oligo(propylene oxide) and two polymerizable groups (pg 5 ln 32-pg 6 ln 2, the core shell particles comprise an insulating shell, the insulating material may be selected from organic materials; pg 6, ln 6-24, suitable organic materials are selected from polymers such as poly(alkylene oxide)s, specific examples of suitable poly(alkylene oxide)s include polyoxypropylene glycol (also commonly referred to as poly(propylene glycol) or poly(propylene oxide)), these polymers may be used in combinations of two or more; pg 8, ln 13-15, non-limitative examples of (meth)acrylic monomers are acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, hydroxyethyl (meth)acrylate, hydroxypropyl(meth)acrylate, hydroxyethylhexyl(meth)acrylate. Hence, the monomer may comprise more multiple poly(propylene oxide) units and multiple polymerizable groups such as acrylic acid and methacrylic acid; see instant claim 8, polymerizable functional group comprising an acrylate, methacrylate, or a mixture thereof) but does not specifically teach wherein the polymerizable groups are terminal. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art ensure that the two polymerization groups are terminal to optimize the polymerization of the dielectric elastomer.
Regarding claim 11, Rhodia teaches the dielectric elastomer of claim 2 but does not specifically teach wherein the monofunctional monomer comprising the poly(propylene oxide) unit comprises an oligo(propylene oxide) with a molecular weight less than 500 g/mol. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to adjust the molecular weight of the oligo(propylene oxide) to less than 500 g/mol to optimize the polymerization and formation of the dielectric elastomer.
Regarding claim 13, Rhodia teaches the actuator of claim 12, wherein: the dielectric elastomer has a strain that is proportional to the electric field (pg 1 ln 32-pg 2 ln 3, the strain of a polymer layer is linearly proportional to the applied electric field, strain is to be understood as a change of shape or size of an object/layer due to externally applied field), and the dielectric elastomer converts electrical energy inputted through the electrodes into the mechanical work (pg 1, ln 10-27, electroactive polymers, or EAPs, are polymers that exhibit a change in size or shape when stimulated by an electric field, EAP may be a dielectric elastomer used as a film deposited between two electrodes, applying voltage between two electrodes leads to an electrostatic attraction between the electrodes and to compression of the elastomer, the shape of the elastomer is recovered when the voltage is removed; pg 2, ln 6-10, electroactive polymers having high dielectric permittivity are highly desirable for the manufacture of devices having high mechanical response to electrical stimuli such as haptic actuators. The applied voltage, or electrical energy, leads to the output of mechanical work when the shape of the elastomer changes due to the electric field), and the actuator comprises a deformable capacitor (pg 1, ln 22-25, EAP can be processed in the form of a film preparing very thin actuators, EAP may be a dielectric elastomer used as a film deposited between two electrodes. Dielectric elastomer materials or films act as deformable capacitors; see instant specification pg 1, ln 25, dielectric elastomer (DE) materials can act as deformable capacitors) and the electric field generates an electrostatic interaction between the electrodes, known as a Maxwell stress (p), which compresses the dielectric elastomer in the thickness direction and expands it in area (pg 1, ln 10-27, electroactive polymers, or EAPs, are polymers that exhibit a change in size or shape when stimulated by an electric field, EAP may be a dielectric elastomer used as a film deposited between two electrodes, applying voltage between two electrodes leads to an electrostatic attraction between the electrodes and to compression of the elastomer, the shape of the elastomer is recovered when the voltage is removed) but does not specifically teach wherein the dielectric elastomer has an area strain greater than 20% in response to the electric field less than 150 Volts per micron. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to utilize a dielectric elastomer with an area strain of greater than 20% in response to an applied electric field of less than 150 Volts per micron to optimize the mechanical properties of the elastomer. Rhodia also does not specifically teach wherein the dielectric elastomer converts at least 10% of the electrical energy inputted through the electrodes into mechanical work. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to ensure that the dielectric elastomer converts at least 10% of the electrical energy inputted through the electrodes into mechanical work to optimize the size and shape of the elastomer.
Regarding claim 14, Rhodia teaches the actuator of claim 13 but does not specifically teach wherein the dielectric elastomer maintains the strain after 50 cycles at an actuation frequency of at least 2 Hz. However, Rhodia teaches wherein the dielectric elastomer has a strain (pg 1 ln 32-pg 2 ln 3, the strain of a polymer layer is linearly proportional to the applied electric field, strain is to be understood as a change of shape or size of an object/layer due to externally applied field) and a frequency of 1 to 10000 Hz (pg 17, ln 7-14, the electroactive polymer composite layer is capable of being activated by an excitation having a frequency ranging from 1 to 10000 Hz, the electroactive polymer composite layer is capable of vibrating at a frequency ranging from 1 to 10000 Hz). It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to maintain the strain of the dielectric elastomer after 50 cycles at an actuation frequency of at least 2 Hz to optimize the mechanical properties of the dielectric elastomer.
Regarding claim 15, Rhodia teaches a multi-layer dielectric elastomer structure comprising two adjacent dielectric elastomer layers each comprising the dielectric elastomer of claim 1 (pg 4, ln 14-16, haptic system including at least one electroactive polymer composite. “At least one” includes two layers), a layer of conductive network sandwiched between the two dielectric elastomer layers (pg 4, ln 14-17, haptic system including at least one electroactive polymer composite layer comprising core-shell particles; pg 5, ln 6-19, core shell particles comprise a conductive core, conductive core is generally selected from the list consisting of silver or copper nanowires, silver, copper, gold or zinc nanoparticles, graphene and carbon nanotubes. Metal nanowires and carbon nanotubes are applicable conductive network materials; see instant claim 16, wherein the conductive network is formed by a conductive material comprising carbon nanotubes, metal nanowires), and a polymer binder layer (pg 4, ln 14-17, haptic system including at least one electroactive polymer composite layer comprising at least one polymer; pg 15, ln 32-pg 15, ln 2, casting of a composition comprising core-shell particles, at least one polymer on a substrate to form a swollen film to obtain a film corresponding to the layer, it may be prepared and then assembled with other elements of the haptic system; pg 7, ln 8-10, the dielectric polymer is an elastomer, the elastomer is selected from the list consisting of acrylic elastomers, butadiene acrylonitrile rubber (NBR), polyisoprene (IR). The polymer binding layer is a dielectric elastomer; see instant claim 19, wherein the polymer binding layer is a dielectric elastomer) but does not specifically teach wherein the dielectric elastomer layers are adjacent. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to ensure that the dielectric elastomer layers are adjacent to effectively form the multi-layer structure. Rhodia also does not specifically teach wherein the polymer layer binds the conductive network and the two adjacent dielectric elastomer layers. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to use the polymer to bind the conductive network with the two adjacent dielectric elastomer layers to readily form the multi-layer structure.
Regarding claim 16, Rhodia teaches the multi-layer dielectric elastomer structure of claim 15, wherein the conductive network is formed by a conductive material comprising single walled carbon nanotubes, multi walled carbon nanotubes, carbon nanopowder, metal nanowires, metal nanoparticles, conductive polymer, or a mixtures thereof (pg 5, ln 6-19, core shell particles comprise a conductive core, conductive core is generally selected from the list consisting of silver or copper nanowires, silver, copper, gold or zinc nanoparticles, graphene and carbon nanotubes).
Regarding claim 17, Rhodia teaches the multi-layer dielectric elastomer structure of claim 15 but does not specifically teach wherein the two adjacent dielectric elastomer layers have a same thickness. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to ensure that the two adjacent dielectric elastomer layers have the same thickness to optimize the performance and structural integrity of the multi-layer dielectric elastomer structure.
Regarding claim 18, Rhodia teaches the multi-layer dielectric elastomer structure of claim 15 but does not specifically teach wherein the two adjacent dielectric elastomer layers have a thickness in the range between 5 and 100 micrometers, including 5 and 100 micrometers. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to adjust the thickness of both dielectric elastomer layers to a range between 5 and 100 micrometers, including 5 and 100 micrometers to optimize the structural integrity of the multi-layer dielectric elastomer.
Regarding claim 19, Rhodia teaches the multi-layer dielectric elastomer structure of claim 18, wherein the polymer binding layer is a dielectric elastomer (pg 7, ln 8-10, the dielectric polymer is an elastomer, the elastomer is selected from the list consisting of acrylic elastomers, butadiene acrylonitrile rubber (NBR), polyisoprene (IR)) but not specifically with a binder layer thickness less than one tenth of the thickness of the adjacent dielectric elastomer layers. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to ensure that the polymer binding layer has a thickness that is less than one tenth of the thickness of the adjacent dielectric elastomer layers to optimize the binding between the conductive network and two adjacent dielectric elastomer layers.
Regarding claim 20, Rhodia teaches an actuator comprising the multi-layer dielectric elastomer structure of claim 15 (pg 1, ln 14, actuator comprising EAP thin layer; pg 2, ln 14-15, polymer composites can be a material of choice for manufacturing actuators useful in haptic devices; pg 4, ln 14-16, haptic system including at least one electroactive polymer composite), further comprising electrodes connected to the layer of the conductive network sandwiched between the two adjacent dielectric elastomer layers (pg 1, ln 24-25, EAP may be a dielectric elastomer used as a film deposited between two electrodes; pg 4, ln 14-17, haptic system including at least one electroactive polymer composite layer comprising core-shell particles; pg 5, ln 6-19, core shell particles comprise a conductive core, conductive core is generally selected from the list consisting of silver or copper nanowires, silver, copper, gold or zinc nanoparticles, graphene and carbon nanotubes), wherein an electric field applied between two positions on the layers of the conductive network, in response to a voltage applied to the electrodes, actuates a deformation or stretching the multi-layer dielectric elastomer that outputs mechanical work (pg 1, ln 10-27, electroactive polymers, or EAPs, are polymers that exhibit a change in size or shape when stimulated by an electric field, EAP may be a dielectric elastomer used as a film deposited between two electrodes, applying voltage between two electrodes leads to an electrostatic attraction between the electrodes and to compression of the elastomer, the shape of the elastomer is recovered when the voltage is removed; pg 2, ln 6-10, electroactive polymers having high dielectric permittivity are highly desirable for the manufacture of devices having high mechanical response to electrical stimuli such as haptic actuators. The applied voltage, or electrical energy, leads to the output of mechanical work when the shape of the elastomer changes due to the electric field).
27. Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhodia Operations (WO 2019/122262) as evidenced by Ward et al. (US Pub 2014/0120177) in view of Kiyomori et al. (US Pub 2016/0333171).
Regarding claim 4, Rhodia teaches the dielectric elastomer of claim 2 but does not specifically teach wherein the formulation comprises at least one photoinitiator. In a similar invention, however, Kiyomori teaches a dielectric elastomer (para [0007], resins having a high dielectric constant are needed; abstract, a cured product obtained by curing the photocurable composition is a polymeric material which has a high dielectric constant; para [0119], the cured product was dried into a rubbery product) comprising a photoinitiator (abstract, photocurable composition comprising a photo-polymerization initiator). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to incorporate a photoinitiator in the dielectric elastomer to optimize the photo-polymerization of the formulation and strengthen its crosslinked networks.
Regarding claim 5, Rhodia teaches the dielectric elastomer of claim 1, wherein the crosslinked network is formed by polymerization of a formulation comprising an oligomer comprising a urethane unit (pg 7, ln 4-17, the electroactive polymer may be any dielectric polymer, the dielectric polymer is an elastomer, this elastomer is selected from the list consisting of thermoplastic polyurethanes (TPU)), a difunctional monomer comprising a poly(propylene oxide) unit (1, ln 5-6, invention concerns an electroactive polymer composite layer comprising core-shell particles; pg 5 ln 32-pg 6 ln 2, the core shell particles comprise an insulating shell, the insulating material may be selected from organic materials; pg 6, ln 6-24, suitable organic materials are selected from polymers such as poly(alkylene oxide)s, specific examples of suitable poly(alkylene oxide)s include polyoxypropylene glycol (also commonly referred to as poly(propylene glycol) or poly(propylene oxide)), these polymers may be used in combinations of two or more) but does not specifically teach wherein the formulation comprises a monofunctional reactive diluent and a photoinitiator. In a similar invention, however, Kiyomori teaches a dielectric elastomer (para [0007], resins having a high dielectric constant are needed; abstract, a cured product obtained by curing the photocurable composition is a polymeric material which has a high dielectric constant; para [0119], the cured product was dried into a rubbery product) comprising a monofunctional reactive diluent (para [0090]-[0091], photocurable composition comprise an ethylenically unsaturated monofunctional monomer, suitable monomers include butyl (meth)acrylate. A monomer comprising a butyl group is an applicable monofunctional reactive diluent; see instant claim 6, wherein the monofunctional reactive diluent comprises a monomer comprising at least one of a butyl group) and a photoinitiator (abstract, photocurable composition comprising a photo-polymerization initiator). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to incorporate a monofunctional reactive diluent and photoinitiator in the dielectric elastomer to optimize the photo-polymerization of the formulation and strengthen its crosslinked networks.
Regarding claim 6, Rhodia in view of Kiyomori teaches the dielectric elastomer of claim 5. Kiyomori further teaches wherein the monofunctional reactive diluent comprises a monomer comprising at least one of a poly(propylene oxide) unit, a butyl group, an isobornyl group, a carboxylic acid group, a 2-ethylhexyl group, or a mixture thereof (para [0090]-[0091], photocurable composition comprise an ethylenically unsaturated monofunctional monomer, suitable monomers include butyl (meth)acrylate).
Regarding claim 7, Rhodia in view of Kiyomori teaches the dielectric elastomer of claim 5. Rhodia further teaches wherein the oligomer comprising the urethane unit is a difunctional monomer having a molecular weight greater than 2000 g/mol (pg 7, ln 4-17, the electroactive polymer may be any dielectric polymer, the dielectric polymer is an elastomer, this elastomer is selected from the list consisting of thermoplastic polyurethanes (TPU). Thermoplastic polyurethanes are capable of having molecular weights of 20,000-150,000 g/mol, which is well over 2000 g/mol).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub 2015/0325779 and US Pub 2015/0318074 are directed to polymeric actuators and are cited to show the state of the art.
/BLAINE COPENHEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781