DETAILED ACTION
The information disclosure statements filed on 11/14/2023 and 12/19/2024 have been entered. The preliminary amendment filed on 11/14/2023 has been entered. Claims 1-14 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (Lee et al. – 2017/0347500; herein after referred to as “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a battery pack cooling device comprising:
a battery pack (Lee; Fig. 1; par. 0038-0054; high voltage battery 100, plug in charging vehicle , On Board Charger 200, cooling an OCB by circulating coolant when the temperature of the OCB rises while a high voltage battery is being charged; the step circulating the coolant implies an coolant inlet and coolant outlet; water pump 320, cooler 300 for circulating water, radiator fan 340);
a charging housing provided with having an inlet, an outlet, and a pack insertion space into which a-the battery pack is inserted insertable (Lee; Fig. 1; par. 0038 – 0054; high voltage battery 100, plug in charging vehicle , On Board Charger 200, cooling an OBC by circulating coolant when the temperature of the OBC rises while a high voltage battery is being charged; the step circulating the coolant implies an coolant inlet and coolant outlet; water pump 320, cooler 300 for circulating water, radiator fan 340, controller 400);
a charging part, which is electrically connected to the battery pack inserted into the pack insertion space (Lee; Fig. 1; par. 0038-0054; high voltage battery 100, plug in charging vehicle , On Board Charger 200, cooling an OCB by circulating coolant when the temperature of the OCB rises while a high voltage battery is being charged; the step circulating the coolant implies an coolant inlet and coolant outlet; water pump 320, cooler 300 for circulating water, radiator fan 340);
the charging part configured for charging the battery pack (Lee; Fig. 1; par. 0038-0054; high voltage battery 100, plug in charging vehicle , On Board Charger 200, cooling an OCB by circulating coolant when the temperature of the OCB rises while a high voltage battery is being charged; the step circulating the coolant implies an coolant inlet and coolant outlet; water pump 320, cooler 300 for circulating water, radiator fan 340);
a circulation part provided such that cooling water is supplied configured to supply cooling water to the pack insertion space through the inlet and the recover cooling water in from the pack insertion space is recovered through the outlet (Lee; Fig. 1; par. 0038-0054; high voltage battery 100, plug in charging vehicle , On Board Charger 200, cooling an OCB by circulating coolant when the temperature of the OCB rises while a high voltage battery is being charged; the step circulating the coolant implies an coolant inlet and coolant outlet; water pump 320, cooler 300 for circulating water, radiator fan 340);
a heating part configured to heat to the pack insertion space (Lee; Fig. 1; high voltage battery 100, plug in charging vehicle , On Board Charger 200, cooling an OCB by circulating coolant when the temperature of the OCB rises while a high voltage battery is being charged; the step circulating the coolant implies an coolant inlet and coolant outlet; water pump 320, cooler 300 for circulating water, radiator fan 340);
and a control part for controlling the charging part, the heating part, and the circulation part (Lee; Fig. 1; par. 0038-0054; high voltage battery 100, plug in charging vehicle , On Board Charger 200, cooling an OCB by circulating coolant when the temperature of the OCB rises while a high voltage battery is being charged; the step circulating the coolant implies an coolant inlet and coolant outlet; water pump 320, cooler 300 for circulating water, radiator fan 340).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the battery pack cooling device according to claim 1, wherein the control part is configured to operates the circulation part such that upon operation of the charging part in a state where when the battery pack is inserted into the pack insertion space, the cooling water is supplied to the pack insertion space and the cooling water that has been heat- exchanged with the battery pack is recovered (Lee; Fig. 1; par. 0038-0054; high voltage battery 100, plug in charging vehicle , On Board Charger 200, cooling an OCB by circulating coolant when the temperature of the OCB rises while a high voltage battery is being charged; the step circulating the coolant implies an coolant inlet and coolant outlet; water pump 320, cooler 300 for circulating water, radiator fan 340; par. 0011 – “When the voltage of the high-voltage battery is lower than the reference voltage range, the controller may control the water pump to operate when a temperature of the OBC has reached an operating temperature range that is previously-stored”; par. 0012 – “ When the voltage of the high-voltage battery is within the reference voltage range, the controller may control the water pump to operate in a corrected temperature range higher than the operating temperature range“).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the battery pack cooling device according to claim 2, wherein when the heat-exchanged cooling water is completely discharged from the pack insertion space, the control part is configured to stops the operation of the circulation part and operates enable the heating part to supply heat to the pack insertion space (Lee; Fig. 1; par. 0038-0054; high voltage battery 100, plug in charging vehicle , On Board Charger 200, cooling an OCB by circulating coolant when the temperature of the OCB rises while a high voltage battery is being charged; the step circulating the coolant implies an coolant inlet and coolant outlet; water pump 320, cooler 300 for circulating water, radiator fan 340) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (Lee et al. – 2017/0347500; herein after referred to as “Lee”) in view of Sabripour (Sabripour – 2015/0130281).
Regarding claim 14, see the discussions to claim 1 in view of Lee. The claim differs in calling for a charging station comprising the battery pack cooling device according to any one of claims 1.
Sabripour discloses charging power stations that may include multiple power management systems to recharge batteries of EV vehicles (Sabripour; par. 0055-0060 – charging stations to recharge batteries of EV vehicles).
In view of Sabripour’s teachings, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the EV charging system as taught by Lee in a charging station. The modification is well within the skill levels and expectations of an ordinary skilled in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-13 are allowed.
Claim 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
i. The prior art fails to discloses the battery pack cooling device according to claim 3, wherein the control part is configured to stops the operation of the charging part and then operates enable the heating part as recited in claim 4.
ii. The prior art fails disclose the battery pack cooling device according to claim 3, wherein the heating part is configured to supplies supply heat to vaporize the cooling water remaining in the pack insertion space as recited in claim 5.
iii. The prior art fails to disclose the battery pack cooling device according to claim 3, wherein the circulation part comprises: a cooling water tank, a cooler, a pump, and a cooling water tank having the interconnections as recited in claim 6 (claims 7-9 depend on claim 6).
iv. The prior fails to disclose the battery pack cooling device comprising a cooler, a cooling water tank, a pump, a battery pack and having the interconnections as recited in claim 10.
Conclusion
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876