Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 22 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 22 April 2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claims 8-17 are non-elected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/9/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 14 November 2023. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouderkirk et al. (US 5,825,543) (hereafter Ouderkirk).
Regarding claim 1, Ouderkirk discloses an optically diffusive film comprising a plurality of particles dispersed in a binder (see at least Fig. 1), the particles and the binder comprising respective indices n1b and n2b along a same in-plane block-direction of the optically diffusive film, and respective indices n1p and n2p along an in-plane pass-direction orthogonal to the block-direction, such that for at least a first wavelength in a first wavelength range extending from about 400 nm to about 1000 nm (see at least Col. 6, lines 28-33): a magnitude of a difference between n1b and n2b is greater than about 0.05; and a magnitude of a difference between n1p and n2p is less than about 0.05 (see at least Col. 7, lines 7-19).
Ouderkirk does not specifically disclose that, for a substantially normally incident light having the first wavelength, the optically diffusive film has: a diffuse optical transmittance TDb and a diffuse optical reflectance RDb when the incident light is polarized along the block-direction, TDb/RDb ≥ 4; and a total optical transmittance TTp and a diffuse optical transmittance TDp when the incident light is polarized along the pass-direction, TTp/TDp ≥ 1.1.
However, Ouderkirk discloses diffuse transmittance, diffuse reflectance, and total transmittance (see at least Col. 6, lines 44-62). Diffuse optical transmittance TDb, diffuse optical reflectance RDb, total optical transmittance TTp, and diffuse optical transmittance TDp are all considered result effective variables, and thus any inequalities relying on such variables are also considered result effective variables.
Additionally, Ouderkirk discloses a variety of properties of the film that can be optimized in order to obtain the desired scattering, diffusion, reflection, and transmission properties (see at least Col. 5, line 11 through Col. 6, line 27).
It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Among the benefits of, for a substantially normally incident light having the first wavelength, the optically diffusive film has: a diffuse optical transmittance TDb and a diffuse optical reflectance RDb when the incident light is polarized along the block-direction, TDb/RDb ≥ 4; and a total optical transmittance TTp and a diffuse optical transmittance TDp when the incident light is polarized along the pass-direction, TTp/TDp ≥ 1.1 include optimizing the film to obtain the desired scattering, diffusion, reflection, and transmission properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the film of Ouderkirk so that, for a substantially normally incident light having the first wavelength, the optically diffusive film has: a diffuse optical transmittance TDb and a diffuse optical reflectance RDb when the incident light is polarized along the block-direction, TDb/RDb ≥ 4; and a total optical transmittance TTp and a diffuse optical transmittance TDp when the incident light is polarized along the pass-direction, TTp/TDp ≥ 1.1 for the purpose of optimizing the film to obtain the desired scattering, diffusion, reflection, and transmission properties.
Regarding claim 2, Ouderkirk discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Ouderkirk does not specifically disclose that for the substantially normally incident light having the first wavelength, the optically diffusive film has a diffuse optical reflectance RDp when the incident light is polarized along the pass-direction, TTp/RDp ≥ 10.
However, Ouderkirk discloses diffuse transmittance, diffuse reflectance, and total transmittance (see at least Col. 6, lines 44-62). Diffuse optical transmittance TDb, diffuse optical reflectance RDb, total optical transmittance TTp, and diffuse optical transmittance TDp are all considered result effective variables, and thus any inequalities relying on such variables are also considered result effective variables.
Additionally, Ouderkirk discloses a variety of properties of the film that can be optimized in order to obtain the desired scattering, diffusion, reflection, and transmission properties (see at least Col. 5, line 11 through Col. 6, line 27).
It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Among the benefits of, for the substantially normally incident light having the first wavelength, the optically diffusive film has a diffuse optical reflectance RDp when the incident light is polarized along the pass-direction, TTp/RDp ≥ 10 include optimizing the film to obtain the desired scattering, diffusion, reflection, and transmission properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the film of Ouderkirk so that, for the substantially normally incident light having the first wavelength, the optically diffusive film has a diffuse optical reflectance RDp when the incident light is polarized along the pass-direction, TTp/RDp ≥ 10 for the purpose of optimizing the film to obtain the desired scattering, diffusion, reflection, and transmission properties.
Regarding claim 3, Ouderkirk discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Ouderkirk also discloses that, for a substantially normally incident light polarized along the block-direction, a total optical transmittance of the optically diffusive film has first and second intensity distributions in first and second scattering planes comprising the respective block- and pass-directions, the first and second intensity distributions having full width at half maxima F 1 and F2, respectively, F2/F1 ≥ 11.5.
However, Ouderkirk discloses diffuse transmittance, diffuse reflectance, and total transmittance (see at least Col. 6, lines 44-62). Diffuse optical transmittance TDb, diffuse optical reflectance RDb, total optical transmittance TTp, and diffuse optical transmittance TDp are all considered result effective variables, and thus any inequalities relying on such variables are also considered result effective variables.
Additionally, Ouderkirk discloses a variety of properties of the film that can be optimized in order to obtain the desired scattering, diffusion, reflection, and transmission properties (see at least Col. 5, line 11 through Col. 6, line 27).
It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Among the benefits of, for a substantially normally incident light polarized along the block-direction, a total optical transmittance of the optically diffusive film has first and second intensity distributions in first and second scattering planes comprising the respective block- and pass-directions, the first and second intensity distributions having full width at half maxima F 1 and F2, respectively, F2/F1 ≥ 11.5 include optimizing the film to obtain the desired scattering, diffusion, reflection, and transmission properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the film of Ouderkirk so that, for a substantially normally incident light polarized along the block-direction, a total optical transmittance of the optically diffusive film has first and second intensity distributions in first and second scattering planes comprising the respective block- and pass-directions, the first and second intensity distributions having full width at half maxima F 1 and F2, respectively, F2/F1 ≥ 11.5 for the purpose of optimizing the film to obtain the desired scattering, diffusion, reflection, and transmission properties.
Regarding claim 5, Ouderkirk discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Ouderkirk also discloses that the binder comprises a birefringent first thermoplastic polymer (see at least Col. 13, lines 12-37 and Col. 32, claims 21-24), where the continuous or disperse phase comprises polyethylene naphthalate, which is a birefringent thermoplastic polymer) and the particles comprise a substantially optically isotropic second thermoplastic polymer (see at least Col. 13, line 44 through Col. 14, line 19 and Col. 32, claims 25 and 26, where the second phase comprises a polystyrene, which is an optically isotropic thermoplastic polymer), the first and second thermoplastic polymers being immiscible at a temperature greater than melting temperatures of the first and second thermoplastic polymers (see at least Col. 12, line 65 through Col. 13, line 11).
Regarding claim 6, Ouderkirk discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Ouderkirk does not specifically disclose that the optically diffusive film has an optical haze Hb for substantially normally incident light polarized along the block- direction and an optical haze Hp for substantially normally incident light polarized along the pass-direction, Hb/Hp ≥ 1.5.
Haze is a known result effective variable since it affects the image quality of light transmitted through a film and is related to the diffusion of transmitted light.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Among the benefits of the film satisfying Hb/Hp ≥ 1.5 include improving image quality of light transmitted through the film.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the film of Ouderkirk so that the film satisfies Hb/Hp ≥ 1.5 for the purpose of improving the image quality of light transmitted through the film.
Regarding claim 7, Ouderkirk discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Ouderkirk also discloses that the particles are elongated along the in-plane block-direction and have an aspect ratio of at least 5 (see at least Fig. 1 and Col. 11, lines 61-66).
Ouderkirk does not specifically disclose that the particles have an average aspect ratio of greater than about 10.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Among the benefits of the particles having an average aspect ratio of greater than about 10 include enhancing polarization reflection (see at least Col. 10, lines 32-50 of Ouderkirk).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the film of Ouderkirk so that the particles have an average aspect ratio of greater than about 10 for the purpose of enhancing polarization reflection (see at least Col. 10, lines 32-50 of Ouderkirk).
Regarding claim 18, Ouderkirk discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Ouderkirk does not specifically disclose that TTp/TDp is no more than about 5.
However, Ouderkirk discloses diffuse transmittance, diffuse reflectance, and total transmittance (see at least Col. 6, lines 44-62). Diffuse optical transmittance TDb, diffuse optical reflectance RDb, total optical transmittance TTp, and diffuse optical transmittance TDp are all considered result effective variables, and thus any inequalities relying on such variables are also considered result effective variables.
Additionally, Ouderkirk discloses a variety of properties of the film that can be optimized in order to obtain the desired scattering, diffusion, reflection, and transmission properties (see at least Col. 5, line 11 through Col. 6, line 27).
It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Among the benefits of TTp/TDp is no more than about 5 include optimizing the film to obtain the desired scattering, diffusion, reflection, and transmission properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the film of Ouderkirk so that TTp/TDp is no more than about 5 for the purpose of optimizing the film to obtain the desired scattering, diffusion, reflection, and transmission properties.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouderkirk et al. (US 5,825,543) (hereafter Ouderkirk) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hebrink et al. (US 2008/0020186) (hereafter Hebrink).
Regarding claim 4, Ouderkirk discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Ouderkirk also discloses that the optically diffusive film is formed by an extrusion process (see at least Col. 11, lines 17-24).
Ouderkirk does not specifically disclose that the optically diffusive film comprises a plurality of substantially parallel extrusion die-lines making an angle of less than about 20 degrees with the pass-direction.
However, Hebrink teaches an optically diffusive film (see at least the abstract and Fig. 2) formed by an extrusion process, wherein the optically diffusive film comprises a plurality of substantially parallel extrusion die-lines making an angle of less than about 20 degrees with the pass-direction (see at least paragraphs [0004]-[0005], where the film comprises a plurality of die-lines in the extrusion direction, which is the machine direction (MD), and where the block axis is along the transverse direction (TD), thus the die-lines are parallel to the pass-direction of the film).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the film of Ouderkirk to include the teachings of Hebrink so that the optically diffusive film comprises a plurality of substantially parallel extrusion die-lines making an angle of less than about 20 degrees with the pass-direction for the purpose of reducing defects from the die lines (see at least paragraph [0005] of Hebrink).
Conclusion
/A.W.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872