DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
The Amendment filed on 11Jun2026 is acknowledged in which claim(s) 16-21, 25-358 were canceled by Applicant.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and the species of a chimeric polypeptide comprising one CD molecule selected from (CD28, CD3e, CD45, etc.) in the reply filed on 11Jun2026 is acknowledged. No claims are withdrawn because all claims drawn to the non-elected invention were canceled by Applicant in the Amendment filed on 11Jun2026.
Claim(s) 1-15, 22-24 is/are presented for examination on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0292533 A1 (hereinafter “US533”).
Regarding instant claim(s) 1-4, US532 teaches an isolated immune cell comprising an inducible cytokine receptor CAR (e.g., a chimeric polypeptide) comprising an extracellular BCMA domain, a hinge region, and a transmembrane domain [e.g., abstract, ¶ 0017, 0050, 0196, 0224, 0286, 0502; pg. 90, “16.”; figs. 37A-B]. US533 further teaches the BCMA sequence comprises SEQ ID NO: 84 [e.g., tbl. 1B], which is the same as the instant claimed SEQ ID NO: 19 (see alignment below).
Alignment of instant extracellular domain (SEQ ID NO: 19) with US533 BCMA (SEQ ID NO: 84):
Regarding instant claim(s) 7-11, US533 further teaches the CARs comprises a CD8a (e.g., a CD8 alpha chain) hinge and transmembrane domain of SEQ ID NO: 182 (e.g., one sequence with hinge, transmembrane, and LYC motif) [e.g., ¶ 0286], wherein the transmembrane domain is the same as instant claimed SEQ ID NO: 26 (see alignment below).
Alignment of instant CD8a transmembrane domain (SEQ ID NO: 26) with US533 CD8a hinge and transmembrane domain (SEQ ID NO: 182):
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0292533 A1 (hereinafter “US533”) as applied to claim(s) 1-4 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (Human Vaccines & Immunotherapeutics, 2019, VOL. 15, NO. 5, 1111–1122; hereinafter “Jiang”).
The teachings of US533 as recited above are applied.
Regarding instant claim(s) 6, 8, 12, US533 further teaches the transmembrane domain is derived from “monomeric receptors (e.g., PD1)” [e.g., ¶ 0241].
US533 does not expressly teach that the hinge and transmembrane domains are PD-L1 (instant SEQ ID NO: 25).
Regarding instant claim(s) 6, 8, 12, Jiang teaches PD1 and PDL1 are both type I transmembrane glycoproteins that each comprise hydrophobic transmembrane and extracellular IgV domains [e.g., ¶ 1111-1112, “2. Structure of PD-1 and PD-1 Ligands”].
it would have been prima facia obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effect filing date of the claimed invention to try a PDL1 transmembrane and hinge domain as taught by Jiang, in place of the PD1 hinge and transmembrane domains of the chimeric polypeptide taught by US533, to arrive at the instant invention of a chimeric polypeptide comprising a BCMA extracellular domain (ECD), and a PDL1 hinge and transmembrane domain. A PHOSITA would have been motivated to substitute the PD1 hinge and transmembrane domains of US533 with the PDL1 hinge and transmembrane domains as taught by Jiang, because US533 and Jiang both teach PD1 transmembrane and extracellular (e.g., comprising hinge sequence) domains, and Jiang teaches that PD1 and PDL1 are both Type I transmembrane glycoproteins with hydrophobic transmembrane domains and extracellular IgV domains. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for a PHOSITA to substitute the PD1 hinge and transmembrane domains of US533 with the PDL1 hinge and transmembrane domains as taught by Jiang, because Jiang teaches that PD1 and PDL1 are both Type I transmembrane glycoproteins with hydrophobic transmembrane domains and extracellular IgV domains, and therefore since the domains of each are similarly categorized, they’d reasonably be expected to result in the same function(s) in a fusion protein (e.g., a chimeric polypeptide), despite differing amino acid sequences. This rationale aligns with the “obvious to try” principle of choosing from identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 5, 13-15, 22-24 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 is drawn to a PDL1 hinge comprising SEQ ID NO: 23, claims 13-15 are drawn to a PDL1 transmembrane domain comprising or consisting of SEQ ID NO: 25, and claims 22-24 are drawn to a TROP2 intracellular region comprising or consisting of SEQ ID NO: 40. While PDL1 hinge and transmembrane domains are considered obvious in view of the closest prior art (see 103 rejection above), no specific hinge or transmembrane sequences are taught in the prior art (e.g., specific residues of PDL1 that would be utilized for hinge, or transmembrane) for fusion/chimeric proteins. Additionally, while TROP2, including TROP2 intracellular domain (ICD), were known in the art at the time of filing, there was no prior art found to suggest utilizing only the intracellular domain for chimeric or fusion proteins (e.g., in place of a 41BB, CD3z, etc.), and additionally no specific teachings of the TROP2 ICD residues that would be required for a functional fusion or chimeric protein were found in the prior art. Given the above, claims 5, 13-15, and 22-24 are considered non-obvious in view of the closest prior art.
Conclusion
No claims are currently allowed.
/AMY M. CHATTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/GARY B NICKOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643