DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/14/23 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-11, 13-17, 22-23, 25-29, 34-35, 37-40 and 46-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2021/0219103 A1).
Consider claim 1, Wang teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE) (abstract and Fig. 16), the method comprising:
identifying a set of positioning peer UEs, the set comprising at least one positioning peer UE (paragraph 203, the target UE may discover potential assisting UEs and the assisting UE’s identification; and
performing a UE-initiated sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration process, the process comprising, for each of at least one positioning peer UE in the set of positioning peer UEs, selecting a desired SL-PRS configuration to be used by the respective positioning peer UE, and indicating, to the respective positioning peer UE, the desired SL-PRS configuration (paragraph 204-207, the target UE sends an SL RefSig configuration to the assisting UE where the SL RefSig configuration is the claimed SL-PRS).
Consider claims 13, 25 and 37, claims 13, 25 and 37 are the apparatus and non-transitory computer-readable medium claims of claim 1 and having similar limitations as claim 1. Therefore, claims 13, 25 and 37 are rejected for the same reasons claim 1 is rejected.
Consider claims 2, 14, 26 and 38, Wang also teaches wherein identifying the set of positioning peer UEs comprises performing a sidelink (SL) positioning peer discovery process (paragraph 203).
Consider claims 3, 15, 27 and 39, Wang also teaches wherein selecting the desired SL-PRS configuration to be used by the respective positioning peer UE comprises selecting the desired SL-PRS configuration based on a capability of the first UE, or a capability of the respective positioning peer UE, or combinations thereof (paragraph 12, 149, 158, 167 and 201, the sidelink RefSig configuration is based on the capability of the UE and the target UE).
Consider claims 4, 16, 28 and 40, Wang also teaches wherein the capability of the first UE or the respective positioning peer UE comprises a power budget or constraint, a transmission capability, a processing capability, or combinations thereof (paragraph 45, 56 and 148, measurement capability and sending capability).
Consider claims 5, 17, 29 and 41, Wang also teaches wherein the desired SL-PRS configuration comprises a desired periodicity, number of transactions, repetition factor, time gap between repetitions, comb size, bandwidth, resource element offset, number of symbols per slot, or scrambling identifier, or combinations thereof (paragraph 203, the RefSig configuration may be number of repetitions, period, etc.).
Consider claims 10, 22, 34 and 46, Wang also teaches wherein indicating the desired SL-PRS configuration to the respective positioning peer UE comprises indicating, to the respective positioning peer UE, one or more desired characteristics or attributes for a SL-PRS configuration (paragraph 16, 185 and 203).
Consider claims 11, 23, 35 and 47, Wang also teaches detecting a reconfiguration trigger condition; and reperforming the UE-initiated SL-PRS configuration process in response to detecting the reconfiguration trigger condition (paragraph 201-204).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 9, 18-19, 21, 30-31, 33, 42-43 and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0219103 A1) in view of Yilmaz et al. (US 2024/0276430 A1).
Consider claims 6-7, 18-19, 30-31 and 42-43, Wang does not teach wherein selecting the desired SL-PRS configuration to be used by the respective positioning peer UE comprises selecting the desired SL-PRS configuration from a set of resource pool configurations or wherein the set of resource pool configurations is common to all of the positioning peer UEs in the set of positioning peer UEs.
Yilmaz further teaches wherein selecting the desired SL-PRS configuration to be used by the respective positioning peer UE comprises selecting the desired SL-PRS configuration from a set of resource pool configurations or wherein the set of resource pool configurations is common to all of the positioning peer UEs in the set of positioning peer UEs (paragraph 27 and 70).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and utilize the above teachings for the purposes of using a proper configuration for effectively performing positioning function.
Consider claims 9, 21, 33 and 45, Yilmaz further teaches wherein indicating the desired SL-PRS configuration to the respective positioning peer UE comprises identifying one SL-PRS configuration from a set of SL-PRS configurations known to the respective positioning peer UE (paragraph 27 and 70).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and utilize the above teachings for the purposes of using a proper configuration for effectively performing positioning function.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 12, 20, 24, 32, 36, 44 and 48 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644 2/27/26