DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Claims 1-9, 13, and 15-17 have been examined. Claims 1-5, 7-9, 13, 15, and 17 have been rejected. Claims 6 and 16 have been objected to. This is the first Office action on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
6. The following limitations have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
a. In claim 1, the claim limitation “an abnormality detection device configured to detect at least one abnormality cause from operation data of at least one air conditioning system by using a trained model” [lines 2-3 of claim 1] because it uses a non-structural term “abnormality detection device” coupled with functional language “detect at least one abnormality cause from operation data of at least one air conditioning system by using a trained model” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the non-structural term is not preceded by a structural modifier.
b. In claim 1, the claim limitation “a maintenance management device configured to manage a maintenance task for each of the at least one air conditioning system” [lines 8-9 of claim 1] because it uses a non-structural term “maintenance management device” coupled with functional language “manage a maintenance task for each of the at least one air conditioning system” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the non-structural term is not preceded by a structural modifier.
c. In claim 1, the claim limitation “a maintenance assistance device configured to transmit, to the maintenance management device, maintenance information determined using specific information associated, in the group of databases, with an abnormality cause detected by the abnormality detection device” [lines 10-12 of claim 1] because it uses a non-structural term “maintenance assistance device” coupled with functional language “transmit, to the maintenance management device, maintenance information determined using specific information associated, in the group of databases, with an abnormality cause detected by the abnormality detection device” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the non-structural term is not preceded by a structural modifier.
d. In claim 15, the claim limitation “the maintenance assistance device is configured to identify specific information associated with a detected abnormality cause by referring to a group of databases, and to transmit, to a maintenance management device, maintenance information determined using the specific information [lines 3-6 of claim 15] because it uses a non-structural term “maintenance assistance device” coupled with functional language “identify specific information associated with a detected abnormality cause by referring to a group of databases, and to transmit, to a maintenance management device, maintenance information determined using the specific information” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the non-structural term is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since these claim limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f), claims 1 and 15 are interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Objections
7. Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 13 recites the limitation “the maintenance assistance device” in [line 11] of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1, 2, 4, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (WO 2018/127974) in view of Fujimoto et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,898,783).
9-1. Regarding claims 1, 13, and 15, Sato teaches the claim comprising: an abnormality detection device configured to detect at least one abnormality cause from operation data of at least one air conditioning system, by disclosing an air conditioning management device 30 comprising an air conditioning control device 40 connected to a plurality of air conditioners [paragraphs 13, 22]. The air conditioner control device 40 stores a plurality of thresholds used to determine whether there is an abnormality in the operation data of the air conditioners [paragraphs 22, 24].
Sato teaches a group of databases including a database in which identification information about each of the at least one abnormality cause or each of the at least one air conditioning system is associated with specific information about a maintenance task required to eliminate the abnormality cause, by disclosing database 20 that comprises a model data file 11 that associates abnormality data and service data with the model information of the air conditioner as a key [paragraphs 31-33].
Sato teaches a maintenance management device configured to manage a maintenance task for each of the at least one air conditioning system, by disclosing information processing device 50 that allows a worker to monitor and operate the plurality of air-conditioning devices, and information terminal 80 that an operator uses to perform maintenance and repair [paragraph 14].
Sato teaches a maintenance assistance device configured to transmit, to the maintenance management device, maintenance information determined using specific information associated, in the group of databases, with an abnormality cause detected by the abnormality detection device, by disclosing data holding device 10 that is connected to the information terminal 80 and air conditioning management device 30, which acquires information on maintenance from the database 20 [paragraph 14; figure 1]. A search processing unit 18 of the data holding device 10 acquires information about the abnormality [paragraph 43] and a communication management unit 16 of the data holding device 10 transmits the information to the information processing device 50 via the air conditioning management device 30, or the information terminal 80 [paragraphs 27, 40, 44].
Sato teaches wherein the maintenance assistance device is arranged in a first location, and the maintenance management device is arranged in a second location different from the first location, by disclosing that the data holding device 10 is accessed by the information processing device 50 and the information terminal 80 via a wide area network 90 [paragraphs 13, 15]. Thus, the data holding device 10 is at a separate location than the information processing device 50 and the information terminal 80.
Sato does not expressly teach that the at least one abnormality is detected by using a trained model. Fujimoto discloses determining performance degradation of an air conditioning apparatus on the basis of an index indicating an operating state of the air conditioning apparatus [column 20, lines 6-32]. A determining unit determines not only whether there is a performance degradation, but also a cause of the performance degradation [column 21, lines 20-23]. The determining unit inputs various indices indicating an operation state of the air conditioning apparatus to a trained model trained by a training unit by using a method of machine learning [column 21, lines 37-55]. This would provide more accurate detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to detect abnormalities from operation data using a trained model, as taught by Fujimoto. This would provide more accurate detection.
9-2. Regarding claim 2, Sato-Fujimoto teach all the limitations of claim 1, wherein the group of databases includes a first database in which each of the at least one abnormality cause is associated with information about a first specific component required to eliminate the abnormality cause as the specific information, by disclosing that as shown in [Sato, figure 3], the cause of an abnormality is associated with a solution about a specific component, such as a sensor error abnormality associated with “sensor disconnected” as the cause and “wiring repair” as the solution, and also associated with “sensor failure” as the cause and “sensor replacement required” as the solution. Additionally, the table shown in [Sato, figure 3] also provides a pressure abnormality associated with “compressor failure” as the cause and “compressor replacement” as the solution.
Sato-Fujimoto teach the maintenance assistance device transmits the information about the first specific component to the maintenance management device as the maintenance information, by disclosing that data holding device 10 is connected to the information terminal 80 and air conditioning management device 30, which acquires information on maintenance from the database 20 [Sato, paragraph 14; figure 1]. A search processing unit 18 of the data holding device 10 acquires information about the abnormality [Sato, paragraph 43] and a communication management unit 16 of the data holding device 10 transmits the information to the information processing device 50 via the air conditioning management device 30, or the information terminal 80 [Sato, paragraphs 27, 40, 44].
9-3. Regarding claim 4, Sato-Fujimoto teach all the limitations of claim 2, wherein the maintenance assistance device receives, from a terminal device of a worker having performed a maintenance task for the at least one air conditioning system, information about a second specific component used to eliminate a specific abnormality cause subjected to the maintenance task, and associates the second specific component with the specific abnormality cause in the first database when the second specific component is different from the first specific component, by disclosing that the operator can edit the abnormal data file and the service data file via any of the information terminal 80, the air conditioning management device 30, and the information processing device 50 [Sato, paragraphs 38, 45].
10. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (WO 2018/127974), in view of Fujimoto et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,898,783), and further in view of Haga et al (Pub. No. US 2004/0176868).
10-1. Regarding claim 3, Sato-Fujimoto teach all the limitations of claim 2. Sato-Fujimoto do not expressly teach wherein the group of databases includes a second database in which each of at least one component included in the at least one air conditioning system is associated with a quantity of stock of the component in the second location, and when a quantity of stock associated with the first specific component is smaller than a required quantity of the first specific component required to eliminate the abnormality cause detected by the abnormality detection device in the second database, the maintenance assistance device determines to ship the first specific component to the second location. Haga discloses a server that receives status information provided by a factory-side client and determines whether or not an abnormality has occurred [paragraph 45]. At a database unit 230, maintenance information such as factors that cause abnormalities and the corresponding corrective measures with regard to individual types of apparatuses, part inventory information, and maintenance personnel schedules is stored in memory [paragraph 45]. If it is judged that an abnormality has occurred, a probable cause of the abnormality is inferred [paragraph 57]. If there is any cause that has been inferred, a search is conducted for the proper corrective measures to be taken against the inferred cause and any part required to take the corrective measures, any jigs required when taking the measures, the schedules of the maintenance personnel and the like [paragraph 63, lines 1-8]. Based upon the results of the search, information indicating the cause of the abnormality, the corrective measures, any required parts, the minimum wait period before the abnormality can be corrected is transmitted to the factory side [paragraph 63, lines 8-17]. If it is judged that a part needs to be replaced as the corrective measures, the part inventory information is referenced in the database [paragraph 54, lines 4-7]. If spare units of the part are in stock and a replacement part needs to be shipped to the factory, a message notifying that a replacement part is to be shipped is sent to the factory and a replacement part shipment instruction is sent to the related department at the vendor [paragraph 65, lines 7-11]. If the referenced part inventory information indicates that the number of units of the part in stock is smaller than a predetermined inventory quantity, automatic order processing to automatically place an order for the part is executed [paragraph 65, lines 11-16]. This would allow faster resolution of the abnormality by ensuring all necessary parts will be available. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the data holding device of Sato-Fujimoto, part inventory information that is used to resolve an abnormality, and when a part is required as a corrective measure for the abnormality, determining whether a part is needed at the site of the abnormality and if so, shipping the needed part, as taught by Haga. This would allow faster resolution of the abnormality by ensuring all necessary parts will be available.
11. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (WO 2018/127974), in view of Fujimoto et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,898,783), and further in view of Miyaoka et al (JP 2005100248).
11-1. Regarding claim 5, Sato-Fujimoto teach all the limitations of claim 1. Sato-Fujimoto do not expressly teach wherein the group of databases includes a third database in which the identification information about each of the at least one air conditioning system is associated with a placement location of the air conditioning system as the specific information, and the maintenance assistance device optimizes a route for going around a plurality of placement locations, and transmits the optimized route to the maintenance management device as the maintenance information, the plurality of placement locations being associated, respectively, with identifiers of a plurality of air conditioning systems corresponding, respectively, to the at least one abnormality cause in the third database. Miyaoka discloses a terminal device maintenance information database that stores information of terminal devices to be maintained including a terminal ID and position information [paragraphs 42-43]. A patrol plan formulation unit performs a process of searching for an optimal route and a schedule when circulating for maintenance, from the respective positions of the plurality of terminal devices 20 that are targets of the maintenance work [paragraphs 39; 68]. The administrator of each terminal device is then notified of a scheduled visit data and time for maintenance work to be performed on the terminal device [paragraph 69]. This would allow maintenance to be more efficiently performed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store, for the air conditioners of Sato-Fujimoto, position information such that the position information is used to optimize a route and schedule for maintenance of devices that will be transmitted to an administrator of each device requiring maintenance, as taught by Miyaoka. This would allow maintenance to be more efficiently performed.
12. Claims 7-8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (WO 2018/127974), in view of Fujimoto et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,898,783), and further in view of Suzuki et al (JP 2009214962).
12-1. Regarding claims 7 and 17, Sato-Fujimoto teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 15 respectively. Sato-Fujimoto do not expressly teach wherein the group of databases includes: a fifth database in which each of the at least one abnormality cause is associated with an ability level of a worker that can perform a maintenance task required to eliminate the abnormality cause as the specific information; and a sixth database in which identification information about each of at least one worker is associated with an ability level of the worker, and the maintenance assistance device identifies an ability level associated with a specific maintenance task required to eliminate the abnormality cause detected by the abnormality detection device in the fifth database, identifies a specific worker associated with an ability level equal to or higher than the ability level associated with the specific maintenance task in the sixth database. Suzuki discloses an importance level table that associates three types of importance levels to corresponding signals indicating types of abnormalities [paragraphs 29-30]. For example, level “L3” is a highest level of importance and is associated with a confinement signal, a non-activation signal, and a power failure signal [paragraph 31], level “L2” has a high degree of importance and is associated with a ventilation fan abnormality signal, an earthquake control operation signal, a door repetition signal, a terminal system abnormality signal, and a rope elongation detection signal [paragraph 33], and level “L1” has the lowest degree of importance and is associated with an activation return signal, a power failure return signal, and an earthquake control operation completion signal [paragraph 35]. The importance table also sets the importance levels to skill level information, which indicates a skill related to maintenance and inspection work of a maintenance person [paragraph 37]. Skill level “A” is the highest skill level and corresponds to abnormalities found in importance level “L3” [paragraph 38], skill level “B” is a high skill level and corresponds to abnormalities found in importance level “L2” [paragraph 39], and skill level “C” is the lowest skill level and corresponds to abnormalities found in importance level “L1” [paragraph 40] A maintenance worker database stores information on each maintenance person, particularly identification number, name, and skill level information [paragraph 45-46]. A maintenance person is permitted to work on tasks requiring their skill level as well as tasks having any skill level below theirs [paragraph 41]. When an abnormality signal is received, the importance level table is searched to determine the skill level that can correspond to the importance level of the abnormality signal, and then the maintenance person having the skill level is retrieved from the maintenance person database [paragraphs 66-67]. This would provide more efficient resolution of abnormalities since properly skilled workers would be assigned to appropriate tasks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the data holding device of Sato-Fujimoto, information that associates an abnormality with a skill level of a worker, a database that associates workers with a skill level for the worker, and use of such associations to assign a worker with an appropriate skill level to resolve the abnormality, as taught by Suzuki. This would provide more efficient resolution of abnormalities.
Sato-Fujimoto-Suzuki teach transmits information about the specific worker to the maintenance management assistance device as the maintenance information, by disclosing that data holding device 10 is connected to the information terminal 80 and air conditioning management device 30, which acquires information on maintenance from the database 20 [Sato, paragraph 14; figure 1]. A search processing unit 18 of the data holding device 10 acquires information about the abnormality [Sato, paragraph 43] and a communication management unit 16 of the data holding device 10 transmits the information to the information processing device 50 via the air conditioning management device 30, or the information terminal 80 [Sato, paragraphs 27, 40, 44]. As discussed above, the information about the abnormality includes an appropriately skilled worker to resolve the abnormality [Suzuki, paragraphs 66-67].
12-2. Regarding claim 8, Sato-Fujimoto-Suzuki teach all the limitations of claim 7, wherein the maintenance assistance device transmits information about the specific maintenance task to a terminal device of the specific worker, by disclosing that a communication management unit 16 of the data holding device 10 transmits the information of the abnormality to the information processing device 50 via the air conditioning management device 30, or the information terminal 80 [Sato, paragraphs 27, 40, 44].
13. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (WO 2018/127974), in view of Fujimoto et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,898,783), in view of Suzuki et al (JP 2009214962), and further in view of Sagara et al (Pub. No. US 2015/0107088).
13-1. Regarding claim 9, Sato-Fujimoto-Suzuki teach all the limitations of claim 7. Sato-Fujimoto-Suzuki do not expressly teach wherein the maintenance assistance device performs an evaluation on the maintenance task performed by each of the at least one worker, and updates an ability level associated with the worker in the sixth database in accordance with a result of the evaluation. Sagara discloses that jobs differ in difficulty from one job to another, and workers carrying out the jobs are required to have skill required for job items respectively [paragraph 29, lines 1-3]. Worker data is stored in advance for workers who may be in charge of those jobs, and such data comprise a worker ID for identifying each worker and an associated skill level with which the worker can execute each of the aforementioned jobs [paragraph 29, lines 3-9; paragraphs 37, 40; figure 5]. When jobs are assigned to the workers, each job is assigned to each worker in accordance with the skill level of the worker with reference to the worker data [paragraph 29, lines 9-11]. The skill level of each worker may be updated based on job history data [paragraph 41]. This would allow the skill levels assigned to workers to be more accurately reflected, thus allowing more accurate assignment of workers to jobs which would increase the rate of successful completion of a job. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to update the skill levels associated with workers, as taught by Sagara. This would increase the rate of successful completion of a job.
Allowable Subject Matter
14. Claims 6 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALVIN H TAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118