Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and addressing all the objections stated above.
Regarding claims 6 & 16, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “wherein the request to change a rate of FCRS transmissions is further based on a condition that a periodicity of the FCRS transmissions are equal to or below a maximum periodicity.” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claims 7 & 17, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “wherein the request to change a rate of FCRS transmissions comprises a configuration identification of a selected FCRS configuration from a set of FCRS configurations” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claims 9 & 19, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “receiving an acknowledgement (ACK) from the network node in response to sending the request to change a rate of FCRS transmissions, wherein the ACK comprises a new FCRS schedule configuration; and receiving periodic FCRSs from the network node based on the new FCRS schedule configuration” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Claims 8 & 18 are allowable because of their dependency on claims 7 & 17 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2018/0227848, hereinafter Lee) in view of Namboodiri et al. (US 2020/287672, hereinafter Namboodiri).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a method implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (610/620 of fig. 6) using a narrowband companion air interface (NB-CAI) that supports a wideband air interface (WB-AI) (para 0076; 0092-0093; transmitting wideband signals - the base station may allocate the second portion of bandwidth for transmission of TRSs. The base station may transmit a TRS over every subcarrier within the second portion of bandwidth. A UE may receive TRS transmission and may perform fine frequency or time tracking based on the received TRSs. In some cases, a narrowband carrier may utilize a full TRS implementation), wherein the NB- CAI and WB-AI operate over a same channel (para 0076 and 0093; 0095 – narrowband and wideband operate on the same channel- second portion of the same bandwidth for narrowband carrier), the method comprising: sending, via the NB-CAI to a network node (Para 0072; 0093; 0170; 0186; a set of resources for a TRS periodically transmitted by the base station in a data region of a first TTI, the TRS comprising a plurality of sub-patterns for a set of sub-carriers of a carrier for the UE for a set of symbol periods in the first TTI; the base station communications manager may coordinate scheduling for transmissions to UEs for various interference mitigation techniques such as beamforming or joint transmission. In some examples, base station communications manager may provide an X2 interface within an LTE/LTE-A – narrowband signaling for control/resource request), a scheduling request for a frequency convergence reference signal (FCRS) over the WB-AI (According to applicant’s specs 0167 – other reference signals can be used as FCRS e.g. tracking signals; para 0007; 0029; 0080 – a UE may wake up from an idle state and enter a connected state with base station within a network. Base station may transmit periodic synchronization signals for initial UE configuration - network may configure the bandwidth, TRS density (i.e., the proportion of subcarriers carrying TRS to the total number of subcarriers within the second portion of bandwidth), the puncturing pattern, or the periodicity of TRS transmissions. para 0071; 0084; 0089; 0090 - UE requests/triggers DL SR via RRC);
receiving, via the NB-CAI, a scheduling response from the network node (para 0080; 0082; and 0115; base station may perform radio configuration and scheduling for communication with UEs - base station may transmit the synchronization signals in a synchronization block or synchronization signal (SS) block. The synchronization block may include one or more PBCHs, a PSS, and an SSS. The synchronization block may span a set of symbol periods in the time domain, and a portion of a bandwidth in the frequency domain. For example, the synchronization block may span four symbol periods in the time domain, and a bandwidth spanning six resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain. UE upon connecting with base station, may receive the synchronization block and may perform configuration processes based on information contained within the synchronization block. In some cases, UE may perform time or frequency tracking based on a synchronization signal within the received synchronization block); receiving, via the WB-AI, periodic FCRSs from the network node based on the received scheduling response (para 0007; 0028; 0053; periodic transmission of TRS on the determined set of resources).
Lee does not explicitly disclose sending, via the NB-CAI, a request to the network node to change a rate of FCRS transmissions, wherein the request to change a rate of FCRS transmissions is based on a convergence indication.
In an analogous art, Namboodiri discloses sending, via the NB-CAI, a request to the network node to change a rate of FCRS transmissions (para 0007; corrections on results of a received and initial automatic gain control corrected signal), wherein the request to change a rate of FCRS transmissions is based on a convergence indication (Para 0131; after the coarse frequency correction, the residual frequency error is much less than this).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s method/system by having Namboodiri’s disclosure in order to improve resource allocation by dynamically addressing the system requirements.
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (610/620 of fig. 6) configured to use a narrowband companion air interface (NB-CAI) that supports a wideband air interface (WB-AI) (para 0076; 0092-0093; transmitting wideband signals - the base station may allocate the second portion of bandwidth for transmission of TRSs. The base station may transmit a TRS over every subcarrier within the second portion of bandwidth. A UE may receive TRS transmission and may perform fine frequency or time tracking based on the received TRSs. In some cases, a narrowband carrier may utilize a full TRS implementation), wherein the NB- CAI and WB-AI operate over a same channel (para 0076 and 0093; 0095 – narrowband and wideband operate on the same channel- second portion of the same bandwidth for narrowband carrier), the WTRU comprising:
a transceiver (610/620 of fig. 6) configured to send, via the NB-CAI to a network node (Para 0072; 0093; 0170; 0186; a set of resources for a TRS periodically transmitted by the base station in a data region of a first TTI, the TRS comprising a plurality of sub-patterns for a set of sub-carriers of a carrier for the UE for a set of symbol periods in the first TTI; the base station communications manager may coordinate scheduling for transmissions to UEs for various interference mitigation techniques such as beamforming or joint transmission. In some examples, base station communications manager may provide an X2 interface within an LTE/LTE-A – narrowband signaling for control/resource request), a scheduling request for a frequency convergence reference signal (FCRS) over the WB-AI (According to applicant’s specs 0167 – other reference signals can be used as FCRS e.g. tracking signals; para 0007; 0029; 0080 – a UE may wake up from an idle state and enter a connected state with base station within a network. Base station may transmit periodic synchronization signals for initial UE configuration - network may configure the bandwidth, TRS density (i.e., the proportion of subcarriers carrying TRS to the total number of subcarriers within the second portion of bandwidth), the puncturing pattern, or the periodicity of TRS transmissions. para 0071; 0084; 0089; 0090 - UE requests/triggers DL SR via RRC);
the transceiver is further configured to receive, via the NB-CAI, a scheduling response from the network node (para 0080; 0082; and 0115; base station may perform radio configuration and scheduling for communication with UEs - base station may transmit the synchronization signals in a synchronization block or synchronization signal (SS) block. The synchronization block may include one or more PBCHs, a PSS, and an SSS. The synchronization block may span a set of symbol periods in the time domain, and a portion of a bandwidth in the frequency domain. For example, the synchronization block may span four symbol periods in the time domain, and a bandwidth spanning six resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain. UE upon connecting with base station, may receive the synchronization block and may perform configuration processes based on information contained within the synchronization block. In some cases, UE may perform time or frequency tracking based on a synchronization signal within the received synchronization block); the transceiver is further configured to receive, via the WB-AI, periodic FCRSs from the network node based on the received scheduling response (para 0007; 0028; 0053; periodic transmission of TRS on the determined set of resources).
Lee does not explicitly disclose that the transceiver is further configured to send, via the NB-CAI, a request to the network node to change a rate of FCRS transmissions, wherein the request to change a rate of FCRS transmissions is based on a convergence indication.
In an analogous art, Namboodiri discloses that the transceiver is further configured to send, via the NB-CAI, a request to the network node to change a rate of FCRS transmissions (para 0007; corrections on results of a received and initial automatic gain control corrected signal), wherein the request to change a rate of FCRS transmissions is based on a convergence indication (Para 0131; after the coarse frequency correction, the residual frequency error is much less than this).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s method/system by having Namboodiri’s disclosure in order to improve resource allocation by dynamically addressing the system requirements.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Lee discloses wherein the FCRS scheduling response comprises at least one of: FCRS sequence information, a periodicity, an initial time offset, frequency domain allocation information, and or beam information (para 0068; beamforming; 0080; frequency domain allocation; 0084 – periodicity).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Lee discloses wherein the FCRS scheduling request comprises range information (para 0067; 0073; range).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein an initial frequency offset is based on an estimated frequency offset error measured at the NB-CAI.
In an analogous art, Namboodiri discloses wherein an initial frequency offset is based on an estimated frequency offset error measured at the NB-CAI (para 0046; 0051; 0107; 0125; offset error estimation). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s method/system by having Namboodiri’s disclosure in order to improve resource allocation by dynamically addressing the system requirements.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Lee discloses performing measurements on the received periodic FCRSs (para 0053; 0060; the UE may rely on continuous or periodic transmission of reference signals to obtain fine time and frequency tracking measurements).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee/Namboodiri in view fo Maamari et al. (US 2019/0356364, hereinafter Maamari).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Lee/Namboodiri does not explicitly disclose
wherein the convergence indication is based on a convergence threshold.
In an analogous art, Maamari discloses wherein the convergence indication is based on a convergence threshold (para 0077 and 0098). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee/Namboodiri’s method/system by having Maamari’s disclosure in order to reduce communications overhead to improve the utilization of system resources.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAMINA F CHOUDHRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462