DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a treatment module comprising at least one coring element” in claim 1. The limitation describing the treatment module and the at least one coring element (“configured to remove a portion of skin tissue when the coring element is inserted into and withdrawn from the skin tissue”, functional language) fails to include sufficient structure to perform the recited function of "removing". The specification describes the treatment module and the at least one coring element as a needle hub comprising one or more hollow needles (para. 041, 127). Therefore, “a treatment module comprising at least one coring element” is interpreted as a needle hub comprising one or more hollow needles or any structural equivalent thereof that removes a portion of skin tissue when it is inserted into and withdrawn from the skin tissue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 58-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the coring element" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is also unclear to the examiner if “the coring element” is meant to further define the at least one coring element. For examination purposes, “the coring element” is interpreted as “the at least one coring element”.
Claim 59 (line 1) and claim 60 (line 1) recites the limitation "the increase in collagen content ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "the increase in collagen content” is interpreted as “the increase in collagen production".
Claim 60 recites the limitation "the performance " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the performance” is interpreted as “a performance”.
Claim 63 recites the limitation "the area " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the area” is interpreted as “an area”.
Claim 73 recites the limitation "one or more system parameters" in line 2. It is unclear to the examiner if “one or more system parameters” is meant to further define the one or more system parameters introduced in line 1 of claim 73 or new, additional, parameters. For examination purposes, “one or more system parameters” is interpreted as “the one or more system parameters”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 58-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Levinson et al. (US 20190099199) [hereinafter Levinson].
Regarding claim 1, Levinson discloses a system 10, 151 for producing a cosmetic effect in skin tissue of a patient (Figs. 1A-F, 16G-N, para. 0006, 0134), the system comprising:
a treatment module 10 comprising at least one coring element 14 configured to remove a portion of skin tissue when the coring element 14 is inserted into and withdrawn from the skin tissue (Figs. 1A, 2, 9, para. 0110, 0127, 0134); and
an actuation assembly 151 operably attached to the treatment module 10 (Figs. 16G-N, para. 0134, and configured to translate and/or actuate the treatment module 10 in one or more directions relative to a surface of the skin tissue (para. 0143, 0163),
wherein the system 10, 151 is configured to perform a microcoring procedure that provides a therapeutic outcome and wherein the therapeutic outcome comprises an increase in collagen production (Figs. 1A-F, 9, para. 0106, 0142-0143, 0208; see note below).
Note: The limitation “wherein the system is configured to perform a microcoring procedure that provides a therapeutic outcome and wherein the therapeutic outcome comprises an increase in collagen production” is interpreted as functional language that describes the functionality and the intended use of the claimed invention. Therefore, “a microcoring procedure”, “a therapeutic outcome”, and “an increase in collage production” are not positively claimed and are interpreted as functional components that the system is capable of performing and providing. For example, “a therapeutic outcome” cannot be claimed as a structural component of the system, but is considered functional language that the system is capable of providing. The system of Levinson comprises all of the structure required for the functional language in the limitation (“a treatment module”, “at least one coring element”, and “an actuation assembly”) and is used for the same intended purpose of performing a microcoring procedure in the skin of a patient that provides a therapeutic outcome (see para. 0106, 0142-0143, 0208 of Levinson). Therefore, the system of Levinson is capable of performing a microcoring procedure that provides a therapeutic outcome and wherein the therapeutic outcome comprises an increase in collagen production A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (see MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 58, Levinson discloses wherein the therapeutic outcome further comprises an increase in skin thickness (The examiner notes that “the therapeutic outcome” is not positively claimed, see note above for the rejection of claim 1. Since Levinson discloses all of the structural components needed to necessitate the functional language of the claim, the claim is met).
Regarding claim 59, Levinson discloses wherein the increase in collagen content (interpreted as “the increase in collagen production”, see 112b rejection above) comprising an increase of at least 30%, at least 50%, and/or at least 70% (The examiner notes that “the increase in collagen content” is not positively claimed, see note above for the rejection of claim 1. Since Levinson discloses all of the structural components needed to necessitate the functional language of the claim, the claim is met).
Regarding claim 60, Levinson discloses wherein the increase in collagen content (interpreted as “the increase in collagen production”, see 112b rejection above) is present three months after the performance of the microcoring procedure (The examiner notes that “the increase in collagen content” is not positively claimed, see note above for the rejection of claim 1. Since Levinson discloses all of the structural components needed to necessitate the functional language of the claim, the claim is met).
Regarding claim 61, Levinson discloses wherein the system is configured to perform the microcoring procedure that provides the therapeutic outcome and achieves minimal or no scarring (The examiner notes that the limitation is functional, see note above for the rejection of claim 1 in regards to functional language. Since Levinson discloses all of the structural components needed to necessitate the functional language of the claim, the claim is met).
Regarding claim 62, Levinson discloses wherein the minimal or no scarring comprises scarring with a Manchester Scar Scale value of less than 10 (The examiner notes that “the minimal or no scarring” is not positively claimed, see note above for the rejection of claims 1 and 61. Since Levinson discloses all of the structural components needed to necessitate the functional language of the claim, the claim is met).
Regarding claim 63, Levinson discloses wherein the therapeutic outcome further comprises a skin surface area reduction of at least 3%, 5%, and/or 7% of the area treated (The examiner notes that “the therapeutic outcome” is not positively claimed, see note above for the rejection of claim 1. Since Levinson discloses all of the structural components needed to necessitate the functional language of the claim, the claim is met).
Regarding claim 64, Levinson discloses wherein the system is configured to perform the microcoring procedure that provides the therapeutic outcome and achieves a GAIS score of at least 1 and/or 2 at 90 days after the performance of the microcoring procedure (The examiner notes that the limitation is functional, see note above for the rejection of claim 1 in regards to functional language. Since Levinson discloses all of the structural components needed to necessitate the functional language of the claim, the claim is met).
Regarding claim 65, Levinson discloses wherein the therapeutic outcome further comprises replenishing essential nutrients of the skin and/or replenishing constituents of the skin (The examiner notes that “the therapeutic outcome” is not positively claimed, see note above for the rejection of claim 1. Since Levinson discloses all of the structural components needed to necessitate the functional language of the claim, the claim is met).
Regarding claim 66, Levinson discloses wherein the therapeutic outcome further comprises at least a 50%, 75%, and/or 85% likelihood of achieving an LWSS improvement of at least 0.1, 0.2, 0.3, and/or 0.5 (The examiner notes that “the therapeutic outcome” is not positively claimed, see note above for the rejection of claim 1. Since Levinson discloses all of the structural components needed to necessitate the functional language of the claim, the claim is met).
Regarding claim 67, Levinson discloses wherein the therapeutic outcome further comprises at least a 50%, 75%, and/or 85% likelihood of achieving a GAIS improvement of at least 1.0 (The examiner notes that “the therapeutic outcome” is not positively claimed, see note above for the rejection of claim 1. Since Levinson discloses all of the structural components needed to necessitate the functional language of the claim, the claim is met).
Regarding claim 68, Levinson discloses wherein the therapeutic outcome further comprises at least a 50%, 75%, and/or 85% likelihood of achieving a significant level of patient satisfaction (The examiner notes that “the therapeutic outcome” is not positively claimed, see note above for the rejection of claim 1. Since Levinson discloses all of the structural components needed to necessitate the functional language of the claim, the claim is met).
Regarding claim 69, Levinson discloses wherein the therapeutic outcome further comprises at least a 50%, 75%, and/or 85% likelihood of achieving no more than mild bleeding post-procedure (The examiner notes that “the therapeutic outcome” is not positively claimed, see note above for the rejection of claim 1. Since Levinson discloses all of the structural components needed to necessitate the functional language of the claim, the claim is met).
Regarding claim 70, Levinson discloses wherein the therapeutic outcome further comprises at least a 50%, 75%, and/or 85% likelihood of avoiding a significant response related to ecchymosis, edema, erythema, hyperpigmentation, itching, pain and/or discomfort, redness, tenderness, and/or tightness (The examiner notes that “the therapeutic outcome” is not positively claimed, see note above for the rejection of claim 1. Since Levinson discloses all of the structural components needed to necessitate the functional language of the claim, the claim is met).
Regarding claim 71, Levinson discloses wherein the therapeutic outcome further comprises a pain score of no more than 3.5 and/or no more than 3.0 (The examiner notes that “the therapeutic outcome” is not positively claimed, see note above for the rejection of claim 1. Since Levinson discloses all of the structural components needed to necessitate the functional language of the claim, the claim is met).
Regarding claim 72, Levinson discloses wherein the therapeutic outcome further comprises removal of skin cores without formation of scars (The examiner notes that “the therapeutic outcome” is not positively claimed, see note above for the rejection of claim 1. Since Levinson discloses all of the structural components needed to necessitate the functional language of the claim, the claim is met).
Regarding claim 73, Levinson discloses further comprising an algorithm (interpreted as a computer component of a base unit of the system, para. 0134, 0164) and one or more system parameters (para. 0186-0187, 0189), wherein the algorithm is configured to adjust one or more system parameters in order to achieve the therapeutic outcome (para. 0164, 0185-0187, 0189).
Regarding claim 74, Levinson discloses wherein the algorithm is configured to automatically adjust the one or more system parameters (para. 0164, 0175, 0185-0187).
Regarding claim 75, Levinson discloses wherein the algorithm is configured to adjust the one or more system parameters based on one or more patient parameters (para. 0164, 0175, 0185-0187, 0214).
Regarding claim 76, Levinson discloses further comprising one, two, or more sensors (para. 0175, 0214), wherein the one or more patient parameters are recorded by the one, two, or more sensors (para. 0175, 0186, 0189, 0214).
Conclusion
/LAUREN DUBOSE/Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/ELIZABETH HOUSTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771