DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant’s Argument:
The applicant argues in substance that "Matsumara lacks any disclosure directed to transmission of a CSI report based on a CSI-ReportConfig IE, where the CSI report includes K CRIs or SSBRIs (and a measured L1-RSRP value for a resource associated with a non-serving cell indicated by K CRIs or SSBRIs), where K is a multiple number of beams for serving cells and is equal to a number of the reported CRIs or SSBRIs, as claimed."
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As initial matters, the Examiner notes the Examiner already responded to this amendment via Advisory Action mailed 07/02/2026 and directs the Applicant to that response in addition to below. Further the Applicant’s characterization of the claim appears to contain a typographical error, arguing that “K is a multiple number of beams for serving cells” (emphasis added), whereas amended claim 16 actually recites “wherein K is a number of beams of the one or more non-serving cells and is equal to a number of reported CRIs or SSBRIs.” The Examiner will address the claims as actually written.
Regarding the amended limitation “wherein K is a number of beams of the one or more non-serving cells and is equal to a number of reported CRIs or SSBRIs,” the Examiner submits that this limitation does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention over Matsumura. The relationship between K (the number of beams) and the number of reported CRIs or SSBRIs is inherent in the concept of beam reporting itself — when K beams are reported for non-serving cells, each beam is identified by a respective CRI or SSBRI, and therefore K beams necessarily corresponds to K reported CRIs or SSBRIs.
Matsumura explicitly teaches this concept. Specifically, Matsumura discloses at paragraph [0057] that a UE “may include, in a beam report, a plurality of resource IDs for beam measurement (for example, SSBRIs and CRIs) and a plurality of measurement results (for example, L1-RSRPs) corresponding to the resource IDs for each report configuration.” Further, Matsumura at paragraph [0160] teaches “[t]he number of beams to be reported for the … non-serving cell may be defined in a specification or may be configured by RRC/MAC CE/DCI or the like in advance.” Still further, at paragraph [0161], Matsumura teaches “when it is configured so that two beams are reported for … the non-serving cell … reporting of the last two beams (CRIs or CCBRIs) in the CSI reporting is reporting corresponding to the non-serving cell.” Thus, Matsumura explicitly teaches that when a number of beams (K) are configured to be reported for the non-serving cell(s), that same number of CRIs or SSBRIs are reported — i.e., K beams equals K reported CRIs/SSBRIs.
Regarding all other arguments presented by applicant, the arguments are substantially the same as those which have already been addressed above and in the interest of brevity; the examiner directs the applicant to those responses above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 18-27, 29-33, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumura et al. (US 2024/0154667 A1) (Matsumura hereafter).
Regarding Claim 16, Matsumura teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication comprising: at least one memory (Matsumura: the above-described ... user terminal 20 may each be formed as a computer apparatus that includes ... a memory 1002, see paragraph [0307]); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Matsumura: the above-described ... user terminal 20 may each be formed as a computer apparatus that includes a processor 1001 ... a bus 1007, see paragraph [0307]) and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a configuration of one channel measurement resource (CMR) set, wherein resources within the CMR set are associated with one or more non-serving cells for channel measurement that are associated with a CSI-ReportConfig information element (IE) with reportQuantity set to 'cri-RSRP' or 'ssb-Index-RSRP' (Matsumura: The UE may be notified of information related to CSI reporting ... by using an RRC information element “CSI-ReportConfig”, see paragraph [0045]; (CSI-ReportConfig) may include report quantity information (“report quantity” which may be expressed by an RRC parameter “reportQuantity”), which is information of a parameter to be reported ... one of parameters defined as the report quantity information (such as cri-RSRP and ssb-Index-RSRP) is configured, see paragraph [0056]; a CSI report configuration (CSI-ReportConfig) includes “resourcesForChannelMeasurement”, see paragraph [0101]; Separate channel state information (CSI) report configurations (CSI-ReportConfig) may be configured for an RS of the serving cell and an RS of the non-serving cell, see paragraph [0104]); and
transmit a channel state information (CSI) report configured by the CSI-ReportConfig IE and including K >=1 CSI-RS resource indicators (CRIs) or synchronization signal block resource indicators (SSBRIs) and a measured layer 1 reference signal resource power (L1-RSRP) value for a resource associated with a non-serving cell indicated by each of the K CRIs or SSBRIs, wherein K is a number of beams of the one or more non-serving cells and is equal to a number of reported CRIs or SSBRIs (Matsumura: The UE configured with the higher layer parameter (for example, an RRC parameter “groupBasedBeamReporting”) included in the CSI report configuration information being enabled may include, in a beam report, a plurality of resource IDs for beam measurement (for example, SSBRIs and CRIs) and a plurality of measurement results (for example, L1-RSRPs) corresponding to the resource IDs for each report configuration, see paragraph [0057]; The number of beams to be reported for the ... non-serving cell may be defined in a specification or may be configured by RRC/MAC CE/DCI or the like in advance, see paragraph [0160]).
Regarding Claim 18, Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 16, wherein multiple CMR sets, each of which includes resources associated with a different non-serving cell, are configured (Matsumura: the second group (CMR group) with a new ID/PCI may mean non-serving cell #i, and ... the third group (CMR group) with a new ID/PCI may mean non-serving cell #j, see paragraph [0114]), and
wherein the resource indicated by each of the K CRIs or SSBRIs is associated with any of the CMR sets (Matsumura: When a plurality of non-serving cells are involved, the UE may order RSs of the non-serving cells according to ... CMR group IDs, see paragraph [0156]).
Regarding Claim 19, Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 16, wherein multiple CMR sets, each of which includes resources associated with a different non- serving cell, are configured (Matsumura: the second group (CMR group) with a new ID/PCI may mean non-serving cell #i, and ... the third group (CMR group) with a new ID/PCI may mean non-serving cell #j, see paragraph [0114]), and
when a number of the one or more non-serving cells is smaller than K, K is configured as a multiple P of the number of non-serving cells, and the resources indicated by every P of the K CRIs or SSBRIs are associated with a different non-serving cell (Matsumura: when it is configured so that two beams are reported for ... the non-serving cell ... reporting of the last two beams (CRIs or CCBRIs) in the CSI reporting is reporting corresponding to the non-serving cell, see paragraph [0161]).
Regarding Claim 20, Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 16, wherein the CSI-ReportConfig IE further includes nrofReportedRS indicating the number N of beams associated with a serving cell, where N is 1 or more (Matsumura: A terminal ... receives one or more channel state information (CSI) report configurations including a configuration of a reference signal of a serving cell and a configuration of a reference signal of a non-serving cell, see paragraph [0010]; The UE configured with the number of report target RS resources being one or more by the higher layer parameter (for example, an RRC parameter “nrofReportedRS”) included in the CSI report configuration information, see paragraph [0058]), and
the CSI report further includes N CRIs or SSBRIs and the measured L1-RSRP value of the resource associated with the serving cell indicated by each of the N CRIs or SSBRIs (Matsumura: The UE configured with ... an RRC parameter “nrofReportedRS” ... may include, in a beam report, one or more resource IDs for beam measurement and one or more measurement results (for example, an L1-RSRP(s)) corresponding to the resource ID(s) for each report configuration, see paragraph [0058]; when it is configured so that two beams are reported for each of the serving cell and the non-serving cell, reporting of the first two beams (CRIs or CCBRIs) in CSI reporting is reporting corresponding to the serving cell, see paragraph [0161]).
Regarding Claim 21, Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 20, wherein, when the one CMR set includes two subsets, a first subset of the two subsets includes resources associated with the serving cell and a second subset of the two subsets includes resources associated with the one or more non-serving cells (Matsumura: For example, X CMRs from the first CMR (first X CMRs) ... may mean the serving cell, the next Y (second Y) CMRs ... may mean non-serving cell #i, see paragraph [0114]), and
wherein the resource indicated by each of the K CRIs or SSBRIs is associated with any of the non-serving cells (Matsumura: when it is configured so that two beams are reported for each of the serving cell and the non-serving cell, reporting of the first two beams (CRIs or CCBRIs) in CSI reporting is reporting corresponding to the serving cell, and reporting of the last two beams (CRIs or CCBRIs) in the CSI reporting is reporting corresponding to the non-serving cell, see paragraph [0161]).
Regarding Claim 22, Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 20, wherein, when the one CMR set includes two subsets, a first subset of the two subsets includes resources associated with the serving cell and a second subset of the two subsets includes resources associated with the one or more non-serving cells (Matsumura: For example, X CMRs from the first CMR (first X CMRs) ... may mean the serving cell, the next Y (second Y) CMRs ... may mean non-serving cell #i, see paragraph [0114]), and
when a number of the non-serving cells is smaller than K, K is configured as a multiple P of the number of non-serving cells, and the resources indicated by every P of the K CRIs or SSBRIs are associated with a different non-serving cell (Matsumura: when it is configured so that two beams are reported for ... the non-serving cell ... reporting of the last two beams (CRIs or CCBRIs) in the CSI reporting is reporting corresponding to the non-serving cell, see paragraph [0161]).
Regarding Claim 23, Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 20, wherein, when two CMR sets are configured, a first CMR set of the two CMR sets includes resources associated with the serving cell, and a second CMR set of the two CMR sets includes resources associated with the non-serving cells (Matsumura: The first CMR group in csi-SSB-ResourceList means the serving cell, while the remaining CMRs may mean the non-serving cell(s). For example, ... the first group (CMR group) with a new ID/PCI may mean the serving cell, ... the second group (CMR group) with a new ID/PCI may mean non-serving cell #i, see paragraph [0114]), and
wherein the resource indicated by each of the K CRIs or SSBRIs is associated with any of the one or more non-serving cells (Matsumura: when it is configured so that two beams are reported for each of the serving cell and the non-serving cell, reporting of the first two beams (CRIs or CCBRIs) in CSI reporting is reporting corresponding to the serving cell, and reporting of the last two beams (CRIs or CCBRIs) in the CSI reporting is reporting corresponding to the non-serving cell, see paragraph [0161]).
Regarding Claim 24, Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 20, wherein, when two CMR sets are configured, a first CMR set of the two CMR sets includes resources associated with the serving cell, and a second CMR set of the two CMR sets includes resources associated with the non-serving cells (Matsumura: The first CMR group in csi-SSB-ResourceList means the serving cell, while the remaining CMRs may mean the non-serving cell(s). For example, ... the first group (CMR group) with a new ID/PCI may mean the serving cell, ... the second group (CMR group) with a new ID/PCI may mean non-serving cell #i, see paragraph [0114]), and
when a number of the non-serving cells is smaller than K, K is configured as a multiple P of the number of non-serving cells, and the resources indicated by every P of the K CRIs or SSBRIs are associated with a different non-serving cell (Matsumura: when it is configured so that two beams are reported for ... the non-serving cell ... reporting of the last two beams (CRIs or CCBRIs) in the CSI reporting is reporting corresponding to the non-serving cell, see paragraph [0161]).
Regarding Claim 25, Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 16, wherein the resources associated with a different non-serving cell are associated with a different physical cell ID (PCID), and the resources associated with a same non-serving cell are associated with a same PCID (Matsumura: When the UE receives the ... CSI report configuration/CSI resource configuration ... the UE may control transmission (reporting) of a CSI report including information (for example, an indicator) indicating the serving cell/non-serving cell in addition to known report contents ... As information indicating the serving cell/non-serving cell, a new ID ... or a PCI (PCI to be used directly) may be applied. This new ID may depend on RS configuration signaling (CSI report configuration/CSI resource configuration). This new ID may be such that “0” indicates the serving cell, “1” indicates non-serving cell #1, and “2” indicates non-serving cell #2, for example, see paragraphs [0130]-[0132]).
Regarding Claim 26, Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 20, wherein, when two CMR sets are configured, a first CMR set of the two CMR sets includes resources associated with the serving cell, and a second CMR set of the two CMR sets includes resources associated with the non-serving cells (Matsumura: The first CMR group in csi-SSB-ResourceList means the serving cell, while the remaining CMRs may mean the non-serving cell(s). For example, ... the first group (CMR group) with a new ID/PCI may mean the serving cell, ... the second group (CMR group) with a new ID/PCI may mean non-serving cell #i, see paragraph [0114]),
wherein a largest measured L1-RSRP value of the resources associated with the first CMR set is quantized to a 7-bit value in the range [-140, -44] dBm with step size of 1dB (Matsumura: when one CSI report configuration includes different CMR groups, an RS of the serving cell is mapped first ... in a report of each of the CMR groups (beam pairs) in the CSI report. In this case, the UE may report a 7-bit RSRP/SINR value (largest value) for each beam, see paragraph [0181]; the highest measurement value of the L1-RSRP is quantized to a 7-bit value in the range of [−140, −44] dBm (with a step size of 1 dB), see paragraph [0143]),
wherein each of the other measured L1-RSRP values of the resources associated with the first CMR set is represented by a differential L1-RSRP value, which is quantized to a 4-bit value with step size of 2dB, relative to a largest measured L1-RSRP value of the resources associated with the first CMR set (Matsumura: When a differential L1-RSRP is used, the highest measurement value of the L1-RSRP is quantized to a 7-bit value in the range of [−140, −44] dBm (with a step size of 1 dB), and a four-bit value is quantized as the differential L1-RSRP. The differential L1-RSRP is the difference between a measurement value of the L1-RSRP and the highest value (strongest RSRP) of the L1-RSRP, see paragraph [0143]; best (strongest) L1-RSRPs in both the serving cell and the non-serving cell may be reported by using 7 bits, and the differential L1-RSRP of each beam in both the serving cell and the non-serving cell may be reported by using 4 bits, see paragraph [0146]),
wherein a largest measured L1-RSRP value of the resources associated with the second CMR set is quantized to a 7-bit value in the range [-140, -44] dBm with step size of 1dB (Matsumura: when one CSI report configuration includes different CMR groups ... subsequently an RS of the non-serving cell is mapped, in a report of each of the CMR groups (beam pairs) in the CSI report. In this case, the UE may report a 7-bit RSRP/SINR value (largest value) for each beam, see paragraph [0181]), and
wherein each of the other measured L1-RSRP values of the resources associated with the second CMR set is represented by a differential L1-RSRP value, which is quantized to a 4-bit value with step size of 2dB relative to the largest measured L1-RSRP value of the resources associated with the second CMR set (Matsumura: When a differential L1-RSRP is used, the highest measurement value of the L1-RSRP is quantized to a 7-bit value in the range of [−140, −44] dBm (with a step size of 1 dB), and a four-bit value is quantized as the differential L1-RSRP. The differential L1-RSRP is the difference between a measurement value of the L1-RSRP and the highest value (strongest RSRP) of the L1-RSRP, see paragraph [0143]; best (strongest) L1-RSRPs in both the serving cell and the non-serving cell may be reported by using 7 bits, and the differential L1-RSRP of each beam in both the serving cell and the non-serving cell may be reported by using 4 bits, see paragraph [0146]).
Regarding Claim 27, Matsumura teaches a base unit for wireless communication comprising: at least one memory (Matsumura: the above-described base station 10 ... may each be formed as a computer apparatus that includes ... a memory 1002, see paragraph [0307]); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Matsumura: the above-described base station 10 ... may each be formed as a computer apparatus that includes a processor 1001 ... a bus 1007, see paragraph [0307]) and configured to cause the base unit to:
transmit a configuration of one channel measurement resource (CMR) set, wherein resources within the CMR set are associated with one or more non-serving cells for channel measurement that are associated with a CSI-ReportConfig information element (IE) with reportQuantity set to 'cri-RSRP' or 'ssb-Index-RSRP' (Matsumura: The UE may be notified of information related to CSI reporting ... by using an RRC information element “CSI-ReportConfig”, see paragraph [0045]; (CSI-ReportConfig) may include report quantity information (“report quantity” which may be expressed by an RRC parameter “reportQuantity”), which is information of a parameter to be reported ... one of parameters defined as the report quantity information (such as cri-RSRP and ssb-Index-RSRP) is configured, see paragraph [0056]; a CSI report configuration (CSI-ReportConfig) includes “resourcesForChannelMeasurement”, see paragraph [0101]; Separate channel state information (CSI) report configurations (CSI-ReportConfig) may be configured for an RS of the serving cell and an RS of the non-serving cell, see paragraph [0104]); and
receive a channel state information (CSI) report configured by the CSI-ReportConfig IE and including K >=1 CSI-RS resource indicators (CRIs) or synchronization signal block resource indicators (SSBRIs) and a measured layer 1 reference signal resource power (L1-RSRP) value for a resource associated with a non-serving cell indicated by each of the K CRIs or SSBRIs, wherein K is a number of beams of the one or more non-serving cells and is equal to a number of reported CRIs or SSBRIs (Matsumura: a UE measures a channel state by using a certain reference signal (or a resource for the reference signal) and feeds back (reports) channel state information (CSI) to a base station, see paragraph [0039]; The UE configured with the higher layer parameter (for example, an RRC parameter “groupBasedBeamReporting”) included in the CSI report configuration information being enabled may include, in a beam report, a plurality of resource IDs for beam measurement (for example, SSBRIs and CRIs) and a plurality of measurement results (for example, L1-RSRPs) corresponding to the resource IDs for each report configuration, see paragraph [0057]; The number of beams to be reported for the ... non-serving cell may be defined in a specification or may be configured by RRC/MAC CE/DCI or the like in advance, see paragraph [0160]).
Regarding Claims 29-31 and 32, the limitations of the claims are substantially the same as the limitations of claims 18-20 and 25, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claims 33 and 35, the limitations of the claims are substantially the same as the limitations of claim 16, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 28, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Zhu et al. (US 2022/0216904 A1, hereinafter “Zhu”).
Regarding Claim 17, Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 16, wherein, when a number of the one or more non-serving cells is smaller than K, K is configured as a multiple P of the number of non-serving cells, and the resources indicated by every P of the K CRIs or SSBRIs are associated with a different non-serving cell (Matsumura: For example, when it is configured so that two beams are reported for ... the non-serving cell ... reporting of the last two beams (CRIs or CCBRIs) in the CSI reporting is reporting corresponding to the non-serving cell, see paragraph [0161]).
Matsumura does not explicitly teach, when a number of the one or more non-serving cells is equal to or larger than K, the resource indicated by each of the K CRIs or SSBRIs is associated with a different non-serving cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhu teaches when a number of the one or more non-serving cells is equal to or larger than K, the resource indicated by each of the K CRIs or SSBRIs is associated with a different non-serving cell (Zhu: the k-th entry (i.e., L_nsc[k]) in the set of M_nsc values/quantities indicating the L_nsc BM-RI pairs/beam qualities to be reported in the same CSI reporting instance/CSI report for the M_nsc non-serving cell(s) is associated with/linked to the k-th non-serving cell PCI among the M_nsc non-serving cell PCIs, where k=1, 2, . . . , M_nsc, see paragraph [0335]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Matsumura to include the features as taught by Zhu above in order to enhance beam reporting for inter-cell mobility (Zhu: see paragraph [0147]).
Regarding Claims 28 and 34, the limitations of the claims are substantially the same as the limitations of claim 17, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
NOEL R. BEHARRY
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416