DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Applicant’s amendments filed June 8, 2026, amending claims 4, 7-9, 11, 18, and 20 is acknowledged. Claims 1-2, 4, 7-11 and 15-26 are pending.
Applicant’s election without traverse in the reply filed on June 8, 2026 of group 1, encompassing claims 1-2, 4, 7-11 and 15-16, and election of the Myo7A promoter as a species of promoter are also acknowledged. Claims 17-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-11 and 15-16 are under examination.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code on pages 35 and 37. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 11 depends from claim 10, which recites “a lentivirus expression vector comprising the nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1…”, which is interpreted as the vector requiring all of SEQ ID NO: 1 without any substitutions, deletions or internal additions. Claim 11 recites “wherein the nucleic acid which is at least 95% identical to SEQ ID NO: 1”. Thus, claim 11 appears to allow up to 5% substitutions or deletions from SEQ ID NO 1 in the nucleic acid. As such, claim 11 does not include all the limitations of claim 10, from which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 10-11 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claims 10-11 and 15-16 are drawn to a “cell”, “a stem cell” and “an induced pluripotent stem cell”. The specification does not provide a limiting definition of a cell, and does not expressly exclude cells within a human organism, especially because ex vivo cells, including induced pluripotent cells can be delivered back to humans. Thus, the term “cell”, “a stem cell” and “an induced pluripotent stem cell” could reasonably be interpreted as encompassing cells within a human organism, which is non-statutory subject matter. The rejection may be obviated by requiring that the cell be an ex vivo human cell, for example, as described in the Specification on page 63.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simons (US 20210330814 A1, effectively filed as early as July 12, 2019).
Regarding claim 1, Simons teaches pITR201, a viral vector comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding part of the STRC coding sequence operably linked to the CMV promoter (Fig 1). Simons also teaches that the STRC-expression nucleic acids can be comprised within a lentiviral vector ([0006]).
Simons does not teach in a single embodiment the STRC expression nucleic acids operably linked to the CMV promoter in a lentiviral vector.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have cloned the CMV-STRC expression construct into a lentiviral vector. It would have amounted to the simple combination of elements by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have predicted that the CMV-STRC construct could be incorporated into a lentiviral vector, and been motivated to have done so, because Simons suggests it.
Claims 2 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simons (US 20210330814 A1, effectively filed as early as July 12, 2019), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pan (Pan et al., Neural Regeneration Research (2013), 8: 1551-1559) and Davis (Choosing Between Lentivirus and Adeno-associated Virus For DNA Delivery (2017), https://www.genecopoeia.com/resource/aav-vs-lentivirus-choosing-for-dna-delivery, [retrieved June 16, 2026]).
The teachings of Simons are recited above and applied as for claim 1. Simons also teaches the cDNA sequence of STRC (SEQ ID NO 2, pages 91-93), which comprises a sequence that is 98% identical to SEQ ID NO 1, only missing the first 79 nucleotides of the 5’ UTR of the STRC cDNA (see OA Appendix, pages 1-5). Simons teaches the length of the STRC cDNA is 5433 nucleotides. Simons teaches the STRC cDNA split between two AAV vectors that are used to reconstitute an active stereocilin gene ([0244]). Simons teaches delivering the AAV-STRC vectors to cochlea where STRC was efficiently expressed in outer and inner ear cells ([0273]-[0274]).
Simons does not teach the entirety of the STRC cDNA in a single lentiviral vector. Simons does not teach third-generation self-inactivating lentiviral vectors.
Pan teaches lentiviral vectors can be used to deliver transgenes to the organ of Corti cells for gene expression in hair-like structures (Abstract). Pan teaches the lentiviral vectors are third generation self-inactivating (SIN) lentiviral vectors (page 1556, ¶5).
Davis teaches differences between AAV vectors and lentiviral vectors. Davis teaches benefits of lentiviral vectors is they can deliver larger DNA sequences – up to about 6 kb in length – and drive stable gene expression in organs and tissues in vivo (page 4), whereas AAV vectors have a transgene capacity of up to 4 kb (page 6).
Regarding claims 2 and 7, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the entirety of the STRC cDNA taught in Simons under the control of the CMV promoter into a 3rd generation SIN lentiviral vector. It would have amounted to the simple combination of elements by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have predicted that the entire promoter-STRC cDNA expression construct could be incorporated into a SIN lentiviral vector because the length of the construct is within the size capacity of lentiviral vectors. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to have done so because Pan teaches that lentiviral vectors are effective for gene delivery to the cochlea for transgene expression, which is the purpose of Simons’s AAV-STRC expression constructs.
Regarding claim 8, Simons teaches the entire coding sequence of STRC encodes a protein with amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO 1 (pages 86-91). Simons’s SEQ ID NO 1 comprises an amino acid sequence having 98% identity with SEQ ID NO 2 of the examined application (see OA Appendix, pages 6-7).
Claims 4, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simons (US 20210330814 A1, effectively filed as early as July 12, 2019), Davis (Choosing Between Lentivirus and Adeno-associated Virus For DNA Delivery (2017), https://www.genecopoeia.com/resource/aav-vs-lentivirus-choosing-for-dna-delivery, [retrieved June 16, 2026]) and Pan (Pan et al., Neural Regeneration Research (2013), 8: 1551-1559), as applied to claims 1-2 and 7-8 above, and further in view of Genbank1 (NG_009086.2, Homo sapiens myosin VIIA (MYO7A), RefSeqGene on chromosome 11, version available May 13, 2020).
For the purpose of examination, claim 11 is interpreted as only requiring a STRC-coding sequence that is at least 95% identity to SEQ ID NO 1.
The teachings of Simons, Davis and Pan are recited above and applied as for claims 1-2 and 7-8. Simons also teaches cochlea-specific promoters can be used to drive expression of the STRC transgene, including the MYO7A promoter ([0131]). Simons teaches Myo7A is expressed in both outer and inner hair cells ([0274]). Simons teaches the compositions comprising STRC-encoded viral vectors in pharmaceutical compositions ([0183]-[0189]).
Simons, Davis and Pan do not teach the sequence of the MYO7A promoter.
Genbank1 teaches the gene sequence of the human MYO7A gene. Genbank1 teaches the upstream sequence of the MYO7A transcript (i.e., the promoter sequence), which comprises a sequence with 100% identity to SEQ ID NO 4.
Regarding claims 4, 9 and 11, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the MYO7A promoter sequence provided in Genbank1 in place of the CMV promoter in the lentiviral vector rendered obvious above for claims 7-8. It would have amounted to the simple combination of elements by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have predicted that the MYO7A sequence could have been used and been motivated to have used it because Simons suggests using the MYO7A promoter with a different STRC viral vector. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to specifically use SEQ ID NO 4 as the MYO7A promoter because Genbank1 teaches that is the upstream sequence for the MYO7A gene which is the region for eukaryotic gene promoters.
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simons (US 20210330814 A1, effectively filed as early as July 12, 2019), Davis (Choosing Between Lentivirus and Adeno-associated Virus For DNA Delivery (2017), https://www.genecopoeia.com/resource/aav-vs-lentivirus-choosing-for-dna-delivery, [retrieved June 16, 2026]) and Pan (Pan et al., Neural Regeneration Research (2013), 8: 1551-1559), as applied to claims 1-2 and 7-8 above, and further in view of Genbank2 (NM_153700.2, Homo sapiens stereocilin (STRC), mRNA, version published July 1, 2020).
The teachings of Simons, Davis and Pan are recited above and applied as for claims 1-2 and 7-8. Simons also teaches including a 5’ UTR sequence and 3’ UTR sequence upstream and downstream, respectively, of the STRC cDNA sequence in the viral vectors (Figs 1 and 4). Simons also teaches delivering the STRC-encoding viral vectors to cochlear cells ([0273]-[0274]). Pan teaches delivering lentiviral vectors to cochlear cells (Abstract).
Simons, Davis and Pan do not teach a viral vector comprising SEQ ID NO 1, which is interpreted as requiring all the sequence of SEQ ID NO 1 without any substitutions, deletions or internal additions.
Genbank2 teaches the sequence of the stereocilin mRNA, which is 100% identical to the SEQ ID NO 1. Genbank2 teaches the 5’ UTR is the first 78 nucleotides of the mRNA. Genbank2 teaches nucleotides 5410 to the end is the 3’ UTR of the stereocilin mRNA (page 3, see cds coordinates).
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the entirety of the STRC mRNA as taught in Genbank2 under the control of the CMV promoter in the lentiviral vector rendered obvious above for claim 7 for delivery to cells. It would have amounted to the simple combination of elements by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have predicted that the Genbank2’s mRNA sequence could be included in a lentiviral vector because 1) Simons teaches including 5’ and 3’ UTRs in viral vectors for delivery and 2) the length of the mRNA including the 5’ and 3’ UTRs is within the size capacity of lentiviral vectors. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to have used Genbank2’s sequence because it is the art-accepted reference sequence for stereocilin.
Regarding claim 15, Pan teaches that lentiviral vectors can infect dividing cells like stem cells.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simons (US 20210330814 A1, effectively filed as early as July 12, 2019), Davis (Choosing Between Lentivirus and Adeno-associated Virus For DNA Delivery (2017), https://www.genecopoeia.com/resource/aav-vs-lentivirus-choosing-for-dna-delivery, [retrieved June 16, 2026]), Pan (Pan et al., Neural Regeneration Research (2013), 8: 1551-1559) and Genbank2 (NM_153700.2, Homo sapiens stereocilin (STRC), mRNA, version published July 1, 2020), as applied to claims 1-2, 7-8, 10 and 15 above, and further in view of Zine (Zine et al., Stem Cells (2021), 39: 697-706).
The teachings of Simons, Davis, Pan and Genbank2 are recited above and applied as for claims 1, 7-8, 10 and 15.
Simons, Davis, Pan and Genbank2 do not teach delivering lentiviral vectors to induced pluripotent stem cells (iPSCs).
Zine teaches sensorineural hearing loss is caused by damage or loss to the mechanosensory hair cells and/or ganglion neurons (page 697, ¶1). Zine teaches the generation of inner ear sensory cells from in vitro differentiation of iPSCs is an obvious cell-based cell therapy to treating hearing loss caused by loss/damage to hair cells (page 698, ¶1). Zine teaches iPSCs allow derivation of patient-specific stem cells (Significance Statement).
Regarding claim 16, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to delivered the lentivirus comprising the STRC mRNA coding sequence rendered obvious above for claim 10 to iPSCs. It would have amounted to the simple combination of elements by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have predicted that the Genbank2’s mRNA sequence in a lentiviral vector could be delivered to iPSCs since they are dividing cell type and Pan teaches lentiviral vectors can be used in dividing cell types. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to have delivered the LV-STRC vector to iPSCs for the purpose of providing a functional copy of STRC to patient-derived iPSCs and then used for cell-based therapy for treating hearing loss as described in Zine.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 ,4, 7-11 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-6, 8-9 and 11-14 of copending Application No. 18254669. Claims 4, 7-11 and 15 are rejected in view of Simons (US 20210330814 A1, effectively filed as early as July 12, 2019), Genbank2 (NM_153700.2, Homo sapiens stereocilin (STRC), mRNA, version published July 1, 2020) and Genbank1 (NG_009086.2, Homo sapiens myosin VIIA (MYO7A), RefSeqGene on chromosome 11, version available May 13, 2020).
Copending claim1 recites “delivering a cargo nucleic acid to a cell of the inner ear… a composition comprising a 3rd generation lentiviral vector…, wherein the lentiviral vector comprises a cargo nucleic acid selected from the group consisting of a protein-coding gene…, and wherein the lentiviral vector comprises a) a 5' LTR with a deleted (SIN) U3 region…, c) an internal enhancer/promoter region operably linked to a cargo sequence…, and a 3' LTR with a deleted U3 (SIN) region” (i.e., a 3rd generation SIN lentiviral vector). Copending claim 8 recites “wherein the cargo sequence is a gene selection from the group consisting of STRC”. Therefore, copending claim 8 anticipates examined claims 1-2.
The copending claims do not recite a nucleotide sequence for STRC or specific promoter sequences.
Simons teaches viral vectors comprising nucleic acid sequences encoding STRC operably linked to a promoter (Fig 1). Simons teaches that the STRC-expression nucleic acids can be comprised within a lentiviral vector ([0006]). Simons teaches cochlea-specific promoters can be used to drive expression of the STRC transgene, including the MYO7A promoter ([0131]). Simons teaches Myo7A is expressed in both outer and inner hair cells ([0274]).
Genbank2 teaches the sequence of the stereocilin mRNA, which is 100% identical to the SEQ ID NO 1. Genbank2 teaches the 5’ UTR is the first 78 nucleotides of the mRNA. Genbank2 teaches nucleotides 5410 to the end is the 3’ UTR of the stereocilin mRNA (page 3, see cds coordinates).
Genbank1 teaches the gene sequence of the human MYO7A gene. Genbank1 teaches the upstream sequence of the MYO7A transcript (i.e., the promoter sequence), which comprises a sequence with 100% identity to SEQ ID NO 4.
Regarding claims 4, 7-11 and 15, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 1) used the MYO7A promoter sequence provided in Genbank1 for the generic promoter, and 2) included the entirety of the STRC mRNA as taught in Genbank2 for the unspecific STRC cargo sequence in the 3rd generation SIN lentiviral vector recited in the copending claims. It would have amounted to the simple combination of elements by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have predicted that the MYO7A promoter sequence provided by Genbank1 and STRC mRNA sequence provided by Genbank2 could be used in the copending lentiviral vector, and been motivated to include them because 1) Simons suggests using the MYO7A promoter with a different STRC viral vector, 2) Simons teaches including 5’ and 3’ UTRs in viral vectors for delivery and 3) the Genbank sequences are the accepted reference sequence for stereocilin and the MYO7A promoter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/CATHERINE KONOPKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1635