Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the communication filed 11/14/2023.
Cancellation of claim 12, filed 11/14/2023, is acknowledged and accepted.
Amendments to the specification, to the drawings, and to claims 1-8, 10-11, 13-15, and 17, filed 11/14/2023, are acknowledged and accepted.
Newly submitted claims 18-21, filed 11/14/2023, are acknowledged and accepted.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 11/14/2023 and 7/25/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 100A (FIG. 13) and 100B (FIG. 14).
The drawings are further objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: S7, S8, and S9 (¶ 87).
The drawings are further objected to because there is a label S10 – which should correspond to the sensor-side surface of cover glass 194, per ¶s 49 and 87 – but appears to be erroneously pointing to first lens 111 in FIGs. 1, 2, 6, 7, and 9, instead of cover glass 194.
S10 (FIG. 2)
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words. See MPEP 608.01(b).
The abstract is further objected to because of the following informalities:
On lines 1-4, the first sentence uses the semicolon improperly and the list is ill-formed. Proper sentence structure would read “The camera module disclosed… includes a lens barrel…, a lens part disposed in…, and an image sensor” or similar.
On line 3, “optical axis are aligned” is improper subject-verb agreement and should read “optical axes are aligned” or “an optical axis is aligned” or similar
On lines 5-6, the second sentence of the abstract has an improper comma splice; correction may be made by replacing the comma with a semicolon, adding “and” after the comma, or splitting into two sentences.
On line 8, “first flange” should read “first flange portion” to be consistent with line 6 (“first to third flange portions”)
On line 11, “third flange” should read “third flange portion” to be consistent with line 6 (“first to third flange portions”)
On line 13, “four outer diameter” should read “fourth outer diameter”
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The disclosure is objected to because the specification is replete with informalities and terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112. Examples of some informalities and unclear, inexact, or verbose terms used in the specification are listed as follows:
In ¶ 8, line 8, “diameters of the second lens and the third lens is 10 mm or less” should read “diameters of the second lens and the third lens are 10 mm or less”
In ¶ 13, line 8, “a rage” should read “a range”
In ¶ 20, line 3, and ¶ 22, line 5, “the a” should read “a”
In ¶ 48, lines 18-19, “the lens surface… has a concave shape can do” is not clear
In ¶ 67, lines 11-16, it is not clear what distinction there is between D3 and D5, both being lengths of the first non-contact surface S22
In ¶ 77, lines 18-20, it is not clear what distinction there is between T3 and T5, both being lengths of the second non-contact surface S32
In ¶ 82, lines 2-7, the second sentence (“In an embodiment of the invention, … the thermal deformation F3 caused by the thermal deformation F3 is minimized.”) is unintelligible
In ¶ 84, line 3, “third flange portion 113A” should read “third flange portion 115A” since 113A corresponds to the second flange portion
In ¶ 84, line 7, “3115” is an invalid reference numeral and should read “115”
In ¶ 92, line 11, “…second and third lenses 113 and 115 is arranged” should read “…second and third lenses 113 and 115 are arranged”
In ¶ 93, “lower barrel portion 550” should read “lower barrel portion 510”
In ¶ 95, lines 12-13, “when describing at the radius along the optical axis Lz, the second radius Z1 may be greater than the first radius Z1 and smaller than the third radius Z3” is improper (“when describing at the radius”?), self-referencing/contradictory (Z1>Z1) and it is largely unclear what is being referred to here or with respect to the figures (reference labels Z1 and Z3 do not appear in any figures)
In ¶ 100, line 2 states “As shown in FIG. 9, based on a straight-line Lz3 perpendicular to the outer surface of the lower end 507”. From FIG. 9, however, Lz3 is apparently parallel to this outer surface
In ¶ 115, line 3, “third lens 111” should read “third lens 115”
In ¶ 117, line 1, “As previously explained.” is not a proper sentence
In ¶ 167, “D is the 2nd and 3rd lens diameters and It means a value obtained by rounding the product of B means a value obtained by rounding the product” has “It” improperly capitalized, poor subject-verb agreement (“diameters” should read “diameter” if they correspond to a single value, or “2nd and 3rd" should read “2nd or 3rd” if alternative to one another) and is repetitive to the point of being unintelligible
There are several improperly formatted equations– e.g. unclosed parentheses for formulas in ¶ 167, lines 2-3, 5-6; ¶ 169 lines 2-3, 5-6. Also, in ¶ 169, line 6 “10-6mm/°C” is improperly formatted
In ¶ 180, line 3, “there is.” is not a proper sentence
Multiple instances of inconsistent terminology – e.g. “third support part 505” (¶ 94, line 14) vs. “third support portion 505” (¶ 95, line 5), “first support part 501” (¶ 94, line 12) vs “first support portion 501” (¶ 94, line 19)
Examiner notes that this list is not exhaustive, and reiterates that the specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a). Applicant’s specification should be provided in clear and proper idiomatic English and contain no new matter.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 and 13-21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 4, “an optical axis are aligned” should read “an optical axis is aligned”
In claim 1, line 22, “a four outer diameter” should read “a fourth outer diameter”
In claim 1, line 22’s “and” is improperly placed as it does not precede the final limitation of the list following the latest amendments; “and” should be placed after “optical axis,” on line 28
In claim 1, line 31, and claim 6, lines 18 and 28, “based on” is not a clear way to positional/structural relationships; “relative to” would be a more acceptable replacement
In claim 6, line 19’s “and” is improperly placed as it does not precede the final limitation of the list following the latest amendments; “and” should be placed after “optical axis,” on line 25
In claim 10, line 3, “a second inclined portion inclinedly extending” is redundant and “inclinedly” should be removed
Claims not specifically addressed in the objections above inherit the objections of claims from which they depend. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, lines 9-11 of claim 1 and lines 7-9 of claim 6 each recite “wherein each of the first lens, the second lens, and the third lens includes a first flange portion, a second flange portion, and a third flange portion”. This description is ambiguous and unclear, given that it directly reads as requiring each individual lens to possess three flange portions – which does not appear to be consistent with the disclosure (see, e.g., FIG. 1 with each of the first-third lenses (111,113,115) associated with a corresponding flange portion label (111,113,115)A. For examination purposes, the stated limitation shall be read as “wherein the first lens includes a first flange portion, the second lens includes a second flange portion, and the third lens includes a third flange portion”.
Further regarding claim 1, lines 15-22 there are four instances reciting limitations of the form “wherein an outer diameter of the lens barrel at a position where an upper portion of [X] and the lens barrel are in contact is a[n] [X] outer diameter”. However, it is geometrically unclear how such contact positions – which must occur within the lens barrel’s interior – are now associated with an “outer” feature. For examination purposes, each of the four instances of “a position” shall be read as “an axial position” to clarify that it is specifically the height or optical axis component of the contact positions which dictate outer diameter placements.
Further regarding claim 1, lines 21-22 recite “a position where an upper portion of the image sensor and the lens barrel are in contact”. However, it appears that this is inconsistent with the disclosure, and that the image sensor does not make any direct physical contact with the lens barrel itself (see, e.g., ¶ 52: “image sensor 192 outside the lens barrel 500”, ¶ 94: “192 may be disposed inside a lower end portion 507 [of lens barrel 500]”, and FIG. 1 showing that image sensor 192’s does not radially extend past the lower walls of lens barrel 500). For examination purposes, the quoted limitation shall be read as “an axial position of an upper portion of the image sensor” – following the interpretation of the previous 112(b) rejection.
Further regarding claim 6, lines 13-15 recite “wherein the first, second, and third support portions include sections in which an inner sidewall and an outer surface of the lens barrel are perpendicular to each other”. With respect to second and third support portions (503, 505), the limitation appears to be inconsistent with the disclosure – see, e.g., FIG. 9, where no portion of inner sidewall 511 that is perpendicular to outer surface 513 is shown in the vicinity of the stated support portions. For examination purposes, “perpendicular” in the quoted limitation shall instead read “parallel”, which is also consistent with lines 4-7 of ¶ 94.
Further regarding claim 6, lines 16-17 recite “an outer surface of the first support portion…, an outer surface of the second support portion…, an outer surface of the third support portion…”. However, lines 13-14 of the same claim already recited “the first, second, and third support portions include… an outer surface”. It is thus unclear whether the same claim element is being referred to, or whether new “outer surfaces” are being defined in the recited limitation. For examination purposes, each instance of “an outer surface of the [first/second/third] support portion” shall be read as “the outer surface of the [first/second/third] support portion”.
Claims not specifically addressed in the rejections above inherit the indefiniteness of the claim from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, 6, 10-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou (US 20210141128) in view of Kawasaki (US 20080180814).
Regarding claim 1, Chou discloses (see FIG. 1B, annotated below, and ¶s ) a camera module (imaging lens assembly 100) comprising:
a lens barrel (dual molded optical element 110) having a through hole therein;
a lens part disposed in the through hole of the lens barrel (dual molded optical element 110) and having a first lens (first imaging lens element 121), a second lens (second imaging lens element 122), and a third lens (third imaging lens element 123) in which an optical axis (X) are aligned from an object side toward a sensor side; and
an image sensor (image surface 140; note ¶ 69: “the image sensor is disposed on an image surface of the imaging lens assembly”),
wherein each of the first lens (first imaging lens element 121), the second lens (second imaging lens element 122), and the third lens (third imaging lens element 123) includes a first flange portion, a second flange portion, and a third flange portion extending from the optical axis (X) toward an inner sidewall of the lens barrel (dual molded optical element 110),
wherein the lens barrel (dual molded optical element 110) includes a first support portion disposed outside the first flange portion, a second support portion disposed outside the second flange portion, and a third support portion disposed outside the third flange portion,
wherein an outer diameter of the lens barrel (dual molded optical element 110) at a position where an upper portion of the first flange portion and the lens barrel (dual molded optical element 110) are in contact is a first outer diameter,
wherein an outer diameter of the lens barrel (dual molded optical element 110) at a position where an upper portion of the second flange portion and the lens barrel (dual molded optical element 110) are in contact is a second outer diameter,
wherein an outer diameter of the lens barrel (dual molded optical element 110) at a position where an upper portion of the third flange portion and the lens barrel (dual molded optical element 110) are in contact is a third outer diameter,
wherein the third outer diameter is smaller than the fourth radius-outer diameter and greater than the second outer diameter,
wherein the first lens (first imaging lens element 121) on the optical axis (X) comprises an object-side first surface and a sensor-side second surface,
wherein an object-side third surface and a sensor-side fourth surface of the second lens (second imaging lens element 122) have different radii of curvature on the optical axis (X),
wherein a center of a first contact surface of the second lens (second imaging lens element 122) in which the second flange portion contacts an inner surface of the second support portion is located closer to a side having a greater radius of curvature (i.e. “third surface” side in annotated FIG. 1B) among the third surface and the fourth surface based on a center of a thickness of the second flange portion.
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 1B of Chou is annotated to highlight various features. Note that groups of numbered annotations (“1st – 3rd”, etc.) are generally ordered with incrementing numerals arranged from left to right.)]
Chou does not disclose:
wherein a material of the second lens and a material of the first lens are different,
wherein a refractive index of the second lens is lower than a refractive index of the first lens.
Chou and Kawasaki are commonly related to camera modules.
Kawasaki discloses (see ¶s 108-111, Table 5, and FIG. 9 regarding Example 3):
wherein a material (“polycarbonate-based plastic material”) of the second lens (L2) and a material (i.e. glass) of the first lens (L1) are different,
wherein a refractive index (Nd(3) = 1.583) of the second lens (L2) is lower than a refractive index (Nd(1) = 1.58913) of the first lens (L1)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chou with Kawasaki by combining different lens materials, in order to control/balance aberration effects (e.g. glass/lens combination with differing Abbe numbers satisfying Kawasaki’s eqn (5), see also ¶ 54 and again Table 5)
Regarding claim 2, modified Chou discloses the camera module of claim 1.
Chou further discloses (see annotated FIG. 1B above) wherein the first outer diameter is smaller than the third outer diameter.
Kawasaki further discloses (see ¶s 109-110):
wherein the first lens (L1) is made of glass,
wherein the second lens (L2) is made of plastic.
Regarding claim 3, modified Chou discloses the camera module of claim 1.
Kawasaki further discloses (see FIG. 9 and ¶s 109-110 regarding Example 3; see also FIG. 2 and ¶s 67-79 for more on structure – beyond/including those of Example 3 cited above):
comprising an optical filter (F) disposed inside a lower end of the lens barrel (casing 53) and disposed between the third lens (L3) and the image sensor (CMOS type image pickup element 51),
wherein the first lens (L1) is made of glass,
wherein the third lens (L3) is made of plastic.
Regarding claim 6, Chou discloses (see annotated FIG. 1B, accompanying claim 1 above, and ¶s ) a camera module comprising:
a lens barrel (dual molded optical element 110) having a through hole therein; and
a first lens (first imaging lens element 121), a second lens (second imaging lens element 122), and a third lens (third imaging lens element 123) disposed in the through hole of the lens barrel (dual molded optical element 110) and aligned with an optical axis (X) from an object side toward a sensor side,
wherein each of the first lens (first imaging lens element 121), the second lens (second imaging lens element 122), and the third lens (third imaging lens element 123) includes a first flange portion, a second flange portion, and a third flange portion extending from the optical axis (X) toward an inner surface of the lens barrel (dual molded optical element 110),
wherein the lens barrel (dual molded optical element 110) includes a first support portion disposed outside the first flange portion, a second support portion disposed outside the second flange portion, and a third support portion disposed outside the third flange portion,
wherein the first, second, and third support portions include sections in which an inner sidewall and an outer surface of the lens barrel (dual molded optical element 110) are parallel (rather than perpendicular, see Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112) to each other from outside of each of the first, second, and third lenses (first, second, and third imaging lens elements 121, 122, and 123),
(Regarding items F-G below, see also the newly annotated FIG. 1B below)
wherein an outer surface of the first support portion has a first depth, an outer surface of the second support portion has a second depth, and an outer surface of the third support portion has a third depth, based on an imaginary straight-line parallel to the optical axis on the outer surface of a lower end of the lens barrel (dual molded optical element 110), and
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 1B of Chou is newly annotated, now to highlight depths. Note again that groups of numbered annotations (“1st – 3rd”, etc.) are generally ordered with incrementing numerals arranged from left to right.)]
wherein the second depth is smaller than the first depth and greater than the third depth,
(Regarding items H-J below, refer back to the annotated FIG. 1B accompanying claim 1 above)
wherein the first lens (first imaging lens element 121) on the optical axis (X) comprises an object-side first surface and sensor-side second surface,
wherein an object-side third surface and a sensor-side fourth surface of the second lens (second imaging lens element 122) have different radii of curvature on the optical axis (X),
wherein a center of a first contact surface of the second lens (second imaging lens element 122) in which the second flange portion contacts an inner surface of the second support portion is located closer to a side having a greater radius of curvature (i.e. “third surface” side in annotated FIG. 1B) among the third surface and the fourth surface based on a center of a thickness of the second flange portion.
Chou does not disclose:
wherein a material of the second lens and a material of the first lens are different,
wherein a refractive index of the second lens is lower than a refractive index of the first lens.
Chou and Kawasaki are commonly related to camera modules.
Kawasaki discloses (see ¶s 108-111, Table 5, and FIG. 9 regarding Example 3):
wherein a material (“polycarbonate-based plastic material”) of the second lens (L2) and a material (i.e. glass) of the first lens (L1) are different,
wherein a refractive index (Nd(3) = 1.583) of the second lens (L2) is lower than a refractive index (Nd(1) = 1.58913) of the first lens (L1).
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chou with Kawasaki by combining different lens materials, in order to control/balance aberration effects (e.g. glass/lens combination with differing Abbe numbers satisfying Kawasaki’s eqn. (5), see also ¶ 54 and again Table 5.)
Regarding claim 10, modified Chou discloses the camera module of claim 6.
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 1B is again annotated to highlight support portions and inclined portions. Note again that groups of numbered annotations (“1st – 3rd”, etc.) are generally ordered with incrementing numerals arranged from left to right.)]Chou also discloses the further comprising: a first inclined portion extending obliquely from the first support portion toward the second support portion; and a second inclined portion inclinedly extending from the second support portion toward the third support portion. (See newly annotated FIG. 1B below)
Regarding claims 11 and 18, modified Chou discloses the camera module of claim 6 and the camera module of claim 1.
Chou further discloses (see annotated FIG. 1B, accompanying claim 1 above):
wherein an inner surface of the second support portion is in contact with an outer surface of the second flange portion, and
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 1B is scaled up and again annotated to show relative proportions of the first contact surface and second flange portion)]
wherein a length of the first contact surface in which the second flange portion of the second lens (second imaging lens element 122) contacts an inner surface of the second support portion is 20% to 50% of a thickness of the second flange portion. (See also the newly annotated FIG. 1B below; by visual inspection, one can determine that the first contact surface spans a length that falls just below 50% of the second flange portion thickness (roughly 40% or so, well within the claimed range))
Regarding claims 13 and 19, modified Chou discloses the camera module of claim 11 and the camera module of claim 18.
Chou further discloses wherein the center of the first contact surface is located closer to the object side than the center of the thickness of the second flange portion of the second lens. (Recalling from claims 11+18 and accompanying FIG. 1B that the first contact surface largely spans a half (the left/object half) of the second flange portion, it follows that the first contact surface center is closer to the object side than the second flange portion center is.)
Regarding claim 14, modified Chou discloses the camera module of claim 11.
Kawasaki further discloses wherein a difference in radius of curvature between the third surface and the fourth surface is 1mm or more. (See Table 5; R(3) – R(4) = 6.860 – 1.876 = 4.984mm).
Regarding claim 15, modified Chou discloses the camera module of claim 14.
Chou further discloses wherein the center of the first contact surface is located closer to the object side than the center of the thickness of the second flange portion of the second lens (second imaging lens element 122). (Recalling from claim 11 and accompanying FIG. 1B that the first contact surface largely spans a half (the left/object half) of the second flange portion, it follows that the first contact surface center is closer to the object side than the second flange portion center is.)
Kawasaki further discloses (see Table 5) wherein the radius of curvature of the third surface (R(3) = 6.860) is greater than the radius of curvature of the fourth surface (R(4) = 1.876).
Regarding claim 16, modified Chou discloses the camera module of claim 15.
Chou further discloses (see FIG. 1B) wherein a diameter of the first lens (first imaging lens element 121) is smaller than a diameter of the second lens (second imaging lens element 122).
Regarding claim 20, modified Chou discloses the camera module of claim 18.
Chou further discloses wherein the center of the first contact surface is located closer to the object side than the center of the thickness of the second flange portion of the second lens (second imaging lens element 122). (Recalling from claim 11 and accompanying FIG. 1B that the first contact surface largely spans a half (the left/object half) of the second flange portion, it follows that the first contact surface center is closer to the object side than the second flange portion center is.)
Kawasaki further discloses (see Table 5):
wherein a difference in radius of curvature between the third surface and the fourth surface is 1mm or more. (R(3) – R(4) = 6.860 – 1.876 = 4.984mm),
wherein the radius of curvature of the third surface (R(3) = 6.860) is greater than the radius of curvature of the fourth surface (R(4) = 1.876).
Claims 4-5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Kawasaki, as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and in further view of Nomura et al (US 20110043932 A1, hereinafter “Nomura”).
Regarding claims 4 and 8, Modified Chou discloses the camera module of claim 1 and the camera module of claim 6.
Modified Chou does not explicitly disclose wherein a thickness of the first support portion is a minimum distance between an inner surface and an outer surface of the first support portion, and is equal to a thickness of the second support portion.
Chou and Nomura are commonly related to camera modules.
Nomura discloses wherein a thickness of the first support portion (first barrel section 12a) is a minimum distance between an inner surface and an outer surface of the first support portion (first barrel section 12a), and is equal to a thickness of the second support portion (second barrel section 12b). (See ¶ 16-17 and FIG. 1; lens barrel 12 includes three barrel portions 12(a-c), each depicted as having fairly uniform/minimum widths that are all equal to one another.)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Chou with design aspects of Nomura by equalizing barrel/support section widths to better support higher-lying lenses or otherwise provide more longitudinally uniform distribution of materials for improved stress tolerance.
Regarding claims 5 and 9, Modified Chou discloses the camera module of claim 4 and the camera module of claim 8.
Nomura further discloses wherein the thickness of the second support portion (second barrel section 12b) is a minimum distance between an inner surface and an outer surface of the second support portion (second barrel section 12b), and is equal to a thickness of the third support portion (third barrel section 12c). (See ¶ 16-17 and FIG. 1; lens barrel 12 includes three barrel portions 12(a-c), each depicted as having fairly uniform/minimum widths that are all equal to one another.)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Kawasaki, as applied to claim 6 above, and in further view of Shih and Chen (US 20160282585 A1, hereinafter “Shih”).
Regarding claim 7, modified Chou discloses the camera module of claim 6.
Kawasaki further discloses (see FIG. 9 and ¶s 109-110 regarding Example 3; see also FIG. 2 and ¶s 67-79 for more on structure – beyond/including those of Example 3 cited above):
comprising an optical filter (F) disposed inside a lower end of the lens barrel (casing 53) and disposed between the third lens (L3) and the image sensor (CMOS type image pickup element 51)
wherein an object-side fifth surface and a sensor-side sixth surface (“Surface No. 6”) of the third lens (L3) are aspherical (see Table 6 regarding Example 3).
Modified Chou does not explicitly disclose wherein the first and second surfaces of the first lens are spherical.
Chou and Shih are commonly related to lens systems.
Shih discloses wherein the first and second surfaces of the first lens (L11) are spherical. (See FIG. 1, ¶ 98: “A spherical lens is easier for manufacture than an aspheric lens so selecting a spherical lens as the first lens L11 is advantageous to cost reduction. Another reason for selecting a spherical lens as the first lens L11 is that the influence on the resolution of the lens assembly 1 will be smaller.”)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Chou with design aspects of Shih by using a spherical first lens, in order to simplify manufacturing and reduce costs (Shih ¶ 87).
Claims 17 and 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Kawasaki, as applied to claims 6 and 18 above.
Regarding claim 17, modified Chou discloses the camera module of claim 6.
Kawasaki further discloses (see ¶s 109-110 and Table 5 regarding Example 3):
wherein the first lens (L1) is made of glass,
wherein the second lens (L2) is made of plastic,
wherein a refractive index (Nd(5) = 1.53180) of the third lens (L3) is lower than the refractive index (Nd(1) = 1.58913) of the first lens (L1),
Chou further discloses wherein the third flange portion of the third lens (third imaging lens element 123) includes a second contact surface in contact with an inner surface of the third support portion of the lens barrel (dual molded optical element 110) (see annotated FIG. 1B accompanying claim 1 above).
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 1B is again scaled up and annotated to show relative proportions of the second contact surface and third flange portion)]
Modified Chou thus discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a length of the second contact surface is 20% to 50% of a thickness of the third flange portion. Note, however, that Chou discloses a length of the second contact surface which apparently comes close to the claimed range, without directly overlapping with it. (See newly annotated FIG. 1B below; by visual inspection, one can determine that the first contact surface spans a length that is approximately equal to 50% of the second flange portion thickness. Absent any further specific information, however, Examiner shall consider these details in a more conservative light, finding FIG. 1B to suggest a value that comes close to the claimed range, rather than explicitly overlapping with it.)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Chou by reducing the second contact portion length relative to the third flange portion thickness, in order to reduce friction between them and prevent deformation, e.g. in instances with thermal expansion/contraction – since it has been held that, absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 21, modified Chou discloses the camera module of claim 18.
Kawasaki further discloses (see ¶s 108-111 and Table 5 regarding Example 3):
wherein a material (“polyolefin-based plastic material”) of the third lens (L3) and the material (i.e. glass) of the first lens (L1) are different,
wherein a refractive index (Nd(5) = 1.53180) of the third lens (L3) is lower than the refractive index (Nd(1) = 1.58913) of the first lens (L1).
Chou further discloses wherein the third flange portion of the third lens (third imaging lens element 123) includes a second contact surface in contact with an inner surface of the third support portion of the lens barrel (dual molded optical element 110) (see annotated FIG. 1B accompanying claim 1 above).
Modified Chou thus discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a length of the second contact surface is 20% to 50% of a thickness of the third flange portion. Note, however, that Chou does disclose a length of the second contact surface which apparently comes close to the claimed range, without directly overlapping with it. (See newly annotated FIG. 1B accompanying claim 17 above; by visual inspection, one can determine that the first contact surface spans a length that is approximately equal to 50% of the second flange portion thickness. Absent any further specific information, however, Examiner shall consider these details in a more conservative light, finding FIG. 1B to suggest a value that comes close to the claimed range, rather than explicitly overlapping with it.)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Chou by reducing the second contact portion length relative to the third flange portion thickness, in order to reduce friction between them and prevent deformation, e.g. in instances with thermal expansion/contraction – since it has been held that, absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
/W.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872