DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 09/22/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-21 are pending in this application.
Claims 1, 6, and 12 have been amended. Claim 11 is cancelled. Claims 19- 21 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6, and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omri Amarilio (US 10284823 B1) (hereinafter Amarilio) in view of Shin-jun Lee (US 20150233724 A1) (hereinafter Lee):
Regarding Claim 1, Amarilio teaches an electronic device (a portable computing device may include a lid and a base [Col 1: Lines 17- 18]), comprising:
a processor (a processor inside the base [Col 1: Lines 20- 21]) to:
the registration process including:
determining a first angle of a lid of the electronic device(The hinge 202 may include a sensor that detects the rotation of the lid 102 toward the base 104, and sends a signal to the processor indicating the angle Θ [Col 8: Lines 13-15]);
capturing a plurality of images using a camera (instructing the camera 108 to capture at least a first photograph and a second photograph [Col 11: Lines 65- 67]);
combining the plurality of images captured by the camera to create the first composite image (generate a single image based on the first photograph and the second photograph [Col 1:Lines 62- 63]);
determine a second angle of the lid of the electronic device ( sends a signal to the processor indicating the angle Θ and/or the rate and direction of change of the angle Θ. [Col 5: Lines 15-16]);
compare the first and second angles of the lid ( sends a signal to the processor indicating the angle Θ and/or the rate and direction of change of the angle Θ. [Col 5: Lines 15-16]; The processor may be configured to determine that the front side of the lid is rotating [Col 1 : Lines 22- 23);
Amarilio does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Lee teaches initiate a registration process for a first location for the electronic device based on a first composite image (determining a first location corresponding to a first image stored at the electronic device [0012]),
detect a movement of the electronic device based on sensor data generated by a sensor (determining moving information from the first location to a second location of the electronic device [0192]; movement information (e.g., a travel distance, a rotation angle, or a movement direction) acquired using a movement sensor, such as an acceleration sensor, a gyro sensor, or a magnetic sensor. [0063]) ;
determine a threshold condition is satisfied based on the detected movement of the electronic device (when the moving information belongs to a specified range. [0012]);
upon determining the second angle is different than the first angle, instruct a user to position the lid at the first angle (when a slope (e.g., 20.degree. from the ground) of the electronic device does not belong to a specified angle range, the image acquisition module 250 may provide guide information requesting a slope change (e.g., `Pleas tilt the electronic device to the opposite side`) to correspond to a specified angle range.[0071]);
capture a second image responsive to a determination that the movement of the electronic device satisfies the threshold condition (when a present location is within a predefined range of the second location, automatically capture the second image with the image acquisition module. [0010]); and
register a second location based on the second captured image (the electronic device may detect a location corresponding to the second image and store the location in relation to the second image [0012]) when the movement satisfies a registration condition (when a present location is within a predefined range of the second location, automatically capture the second image with the image acquisition module. [0010]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio to add the teachings of Lee as above, in order to perform automatic location registration and image capture to minimizing unnecessary and incorrect user inputs (Lee, [0007]).
Regarding claim 2,Amarilio in view of Lee teach the electronic device of claim 1. Lee further teaches the registration condition comprises a distance threshold ( the electronic device may acquire a second image when the movement information and/or a movement range (615) indicate the target distance or location has been reached [0111]; the electronic device may automatically acquire an image when reaching a predetermined time interval or when detecting the electronic device has been moved a target distance. [0134]; operation of determining moving information (e.g., move a distance of 1 m forward) from the first location to a second location (present location) of the electronic device, and operation of automatically acquiring a second image (e.g., a present image) corresponding to the second location when the moving information belongs to a specified range (e.g., 0.8 m to 1.2 m forward). [0151]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio to add the teachings of Lee as above, in order to perform automatic location registration and image capture to minimizing unnecessary and incorrect user inputs (Lee, [0007]).
Regarding claim 4,Amarilio in view of Lee teach the electronic device of claim 1. Lee further teaches the movement is detected without using the camera ( the previous location may be location information detected through navigation or movement information (e.g., a travel distance, a rotation angle, or a movement direction) acquired using a movement sensor, such as an acceleration sensor, a gyro sensor, or a magnetic sensor…. The navigation module 230 may acquire the movement information of the electronic device through a sensor (e.g., an acceleration sensor, a gyro sensor, or a terrestrial magnetic sensor) [0063]; the navigation module 230 may detect the number of steps (e.g., 3 steps) or a distance (e.g., 1 m) between the previous location and a present location through an acceleration sensor included in the electronic device. [0064]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio to add the teachings of Lee as above, in order to perform automatic location registration and image capture to minimizing unnecessary and incorrect user inputs (Lee, [0007]).
Regarding Claim 6, Amarilio teaches a computing device (a portable computing device [Col 1: Line 17]), comprising:
a lid (a portable computing device may include a lid and a base [Col 1: Lines 17- 18]),
a processor (a processor inside the base [Col 1: Lines 20- 21]) to:
determine an angle of the lid (The hinge 202 may include a sensor that detects the rotation of the lid 102 toward the base 104, and sends a signal to the processor indicating the angle Θ [Col 8: Lines 13-15]);
compare the angle of the lid to a start angle, the start angle corresponding to the lid's position prior to the detected movement (The hinge 202 may include a sensor that detects the rotation of the lid 102 toward the base 104, and sends a signal to the processor indicating the angle Θ [Col 8: Lines 13-15]; sends a signal to the processor indicating the angle Θ and/or the rate and direction of change of the angle Θ. [Col 5: Lines 15-16]);
Amarilio does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Lee teaches detect movement based on sensor data (determining moving information from the first location to a second location of the electronic device [0192]; movement information (e.g., a travel distance, a rotation angle, or a movement direction) acquired using a movement sensor, such as an acceleration sensor, a gyro sensor, or a magnetic sensor. [0063]);
determine a move distance based on the sensor data (The movement information may include, for example, information of at least one of a movement distance (such as a number of steps of a user) [0063]; the navigation module 230 may detect the number of steps (e.g., 3 steps) or a distance (e.g., 1 m) between the previous location and a present location through an acceleration sensor included in the electronic device. [0064]; a navigation module (e.g., the navigation module 230) for determining moving information (e.g., move a distance of 1 m forward) from the first location to a second location (e.g., a present location) of the electronic device [0077]);
determine whether the move distance for the computing device exceeds a threshold, wherein exceeding the threshold is characterized as a new location of the computing device ( a moving information module that determines moving information from the first location to a second location of the electronic device; and an image acquisition module that automatically acquires a second image corresponding to the second location, when the moving information belongs to a specified range.. [0013]);
upon determining the angle of the lid is different than the start angle, instruct a user to position the lid at the start angle (when a slope (e.g., 20. degree. from the ground) of the electronic device does not belong to a specified angle range, the image acquisition module 250 may provide guide information requesting a slope change (e.g., `Pleas tilt the electronic device to the opposite side`) to correspond to a specified angle range. [0071]); and
register the new location as a location (the electronic device may detect a location corresponding to the second image and store the location in relation to the second image [0012]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio to add the teachings of Lee as above, in order to perform automatic location registration and image capture to minimizing unnecessary and incorrect user inputs (Lee, [0007]).
Regarding claim 8,Amarilio in view of Lee teach the electronic device of claim 6. Lee further teaches determining the move distance comprises comparing the sensor data with previous sensor data associated with the computing device (the navigation module may acquire information of at least one of a distance or an angle between the first location and the second location or a direction from the first location to the second location as the moving information. [0079]; the previous location may be location information detected through navigation or movement information (e.g., a travel distance, a rotation angle, or a movement direction) acquired using a movement sensor, such as an acceleration sensor, a gyro sensor, or a magnetic sensor…. The navigation module 230 may acquire the movement information of the electronic device through a sensor (e.g., an acceleration sensor, a gyro sensor, or a terrestrial magnetic sensor) [0063]; the navigation module 230 may detect the number of steps (e.g., 3 steps) or a distance (e.g., 1 m) between the previous location and a present location through an acceleration sensor included in the electronic device. [0064]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio to add the teachings of Lee as above, in order to perform automatic location registration and image capture to minimizing unnecessary and incorrect user inputs (Lee, [0007]).
Regarding claim 10,Amarilio in view of Lee teach the electronic device of claim 6. Lee further teaches the processor is to store the sensor data in memory with the registration of the first location (capturing a first image, and detecting a first location where the first image is captured, detecting, by a processor [0009]; The electronic device may store a first image, including the detected location (607) [0107]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio to add the teachings of Lee as above, in order to perform automatic location registration and image capture to minimizing unnecessary and incorrect user inputs (Lee, [0007]).
Regarding Claim 12, Amarilio teaches A computing device (a portable computing device [Col 1: Line 17]), comprising:
a processor (a processor inside the base [Col 1: Lines 20- 21]) to:
capture a first plurality of images using a camera (instructing the camera 108 to capture at least a first photograph and a second photograph [Col 11: Lines 65- 67]);
combine the first plurality of images to create a first composite image (generate a single image based on the first photograph and the second photograph [Col 1: Lines 62- 63]);
and combining a second plurality of images to create a second composite image (generate a single image based on the first photograph and the second photograph [Col 1: Lines 62- 63]).
Amarilio does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Lee teaches a first sensor (movement sensor [0063]);
register a first location based on the first composite image (determining a first location corresponding to a first image stored at the electronic device [0012]);
track motion of the computing device using the first sensor (the navigation module 230 may acquire the movement information based on movement of the electronic device. The navigation module 230 may acquire the movement information of the electronic device through a sensor (e.g., an acceleration sensor, a gyro sensor, or a terrestrial magnetic sensor) [0063]);
detect, using the first sensor, a stop in the motion of the computing device at a position (conditions may be dictated for the automatic capture of the second image, including the electronic device being disposed at the desired location for a specified time (e.g., for 10 seconds), a shaking level of the electronic device (e.g. an instability level) being at, below or greater than a predefined level, and a slope (or inclination angle) of the electronic device being within a specified angle range (e.g., within 10° of horizontal from or parallel to the ground). [0124]);
determine a move distance for the computing device based on the difference between the first location and the position (the navigation module may acquire information of at least one of a distance or an angle between the first location and the second location or a direction from the first location to the second location as the moving information. [0079]; the previous location may be location information detected through navigation or movement information (e.g., a travel distance, a rotation angle, or a movement direction) acquired using a movement sensor, such as an acceleration sensor, a gyro sensor, or a magnetic sensor…. The navigation module 230 may acquire the movement information of the electronic device through a sensor (e.g., an acceleration sensor, a gyro sensor, or a terrestrial magnetic sensor) [0063]; the navigation module 230 may detect the number of steps (e.g., 3 steps) or a distance (e.g., 1 m) between the previous location and a present location through an acceleration sensor included in the electronic device. [0064]);
determine whether the determined move distance for the computing device is greater than a threshold, wherein the threshold establishes a registration condition (automatically acquiring a second image corresponding to the second location, when the moving information belongs to a specified range [0012]); and
when the move distance is greater than the threshold, register a new location by capturing images at second location (detect a second location where a second image is to be captured and generating guidance information for travel to the second location, and when a present location is within a predefined range of the second location, automatically capture the second image with the image acquisition module. [0010])
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio to add the teachings of Lee as above, in order to perform automatic location registration and image capture to minimizing unnecessary and incorrect user inputs (Lee, [0007]).
Regarding claim 14,Amarilio in view of Lee teach the computing device of claim 12. Lee further teaches the first sensor comprises a built-in sensor (an acceleration sensor included in the electronic device [0064]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio to add the teachings of Lee as above, in order to perform automatic location registration and image capture to minimizing unnecessary and incorrect user inputs (Lee, [0007]).
Regarding claim 15,Amarilio in view of Lee teach the computing device of claim 12. Lee further teaches comprising a second sensor, and wherein the processor is to store first sensor data and second sensor data acquired at the position (the navigation module 230 may detect the number of steps (e.g., 3 steps) or a distance (e.g., 1 m) between the previous location and a present location through an acceleration sensor included in the electronic device. Further, the navigation module 230 may acquire a rotation angle (e.g., 30°) of the electronic device from a previous location through a gyro sensor included in the electronic device. Further, the navigation module 230 may acquire a direction (e.g., East-South 120°) from a previous location to a present location through a terrestrial magnetic sensor included in the electronic device. [0064]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio to add the teachings of Lee as above, in order to perform automatic location registration and image capture to minimizing unnecessary and incorrect user inputs (Lee, [0007]).
Claims 3, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omri Amarilio (US 10284823 B1) (hereinafter Amarilio) in view of Shin-jun Lee (US 20150233724 A1) (hereinafter Lee) further in view of Song Yuan (US 20210304367 A1) (hereinafter (Yuan):
Regarding claim 3,Amarilio in view of Lee teach the electronic device of claim 1; however, do not explicitly teach the registration condition comprises an illumination threshold.
However, in an analogous art, Yuan teaches the registration condition comprises an illumination threshold (the capture condition is determined by a light level determined by a light sensor or by image analysis, wherein the predetermined capture condition requirement is a light level lower than a predetermined level. [0052]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio in view of Lee to add the teachings of Yuan as above, in order to improve image quality and reduce image noise (Yuan [0004] and [0136]).
Regarding claim 7,Amarilio in view of Lee teach the electronic device of claim 6; however, do not explicitly teach the sensor data comprises a light measurement.
However, in an analogous art, Yuan teaches the sensor data comprises a light measurement(the capture condition is determined by a light level determined by a light sensor or by image analysis, wherein the predetermined capture condition requirement is a light level lower than a predetermined level. [0052]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio in view of Lee to add the teachings of Yuan as above, in order to improve image quality and reduce image noise (Yuan [0004] and [0136]).
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omri Amarilio (US 10284823 B1) (hereinafter Amarilio) in view of Shin-jun Lee (US 20150233724 A1) (hereinafter Lee) further in view of Shohei Takai (US 20190387086 A1) (hereinafter (Takai):
Regarding claim 5,Amarilio in view of Lee teach the electronic device of claim 1; however, do not explicitly teach the processor is to stop the camera from taking images when an approaching person is detected.
However, in an analogous art, Takai teaches the processor is to stop the camera from taking images when an approaching person is detected (The information acquiring section 12 may also turn off the camera 30 in a case where the person detecting section 13 has detected a person [0036]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio in view of Lee to add the teachings of Takai as above, in order to improve the power consumption of the electronic device (Takai [0036]).
Claims 9, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omri Amarilio (US 10284823 B1) (hereinafter Amarilio) in view of Shin-jun Lee (US 20150233724 A1) (hereinafter Lee) further in view of Sai Pradeep Venkatraman (US 20120072110 A1) (hereinafter Venkatraman):
Regarding claim 9,Amarilio in view of Lee teach the electronic device of claim 1; however, do not explicitly teach the sensor data comprises a pressure measurement
However, in an analogous art, Venkatraman teaches the sensor data comprises a pressure measurement (The pressure sensor 104 may obtain a pressure measurement at the user navigation device 102 every predetermined interval of time and may communicate the pressure measurement to the location calculation unit 106 [0049]; Examiner notes: the sensors data includes pressure measurement).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio in view of Lee to add the teachings of Venkatraman as above, in order to improve accuracy in determining the position of the user’s device (Venkatraman [0028]).
Regarding claim 21,Amarilio in view of Lee and Venkatraman teach the computing device of claim 9. Venkatraman further teaches determine a door opening or closing based on the pressure measurement, wherein the new location is further characterized based on the door opening or closing (The pressure sensor can also enable detection of illegal entry to sealed doors, broken car windows, cargo container breach, property theft, intruder detection, etc. by detecting a sudden spike or dip in the pressure... A GPS receiver or other positioning system if collocated with the pressure sensor can provide location information with the alert. [0068]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio in view of Lee to add the teachings of Venkatraman as above, in order to improve accuracy in determining the environment of the user’s device (Venkatraman [0028]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omri Amarilio (US 10284823 B1) (hereinafter Amarilio) in view of Shin-jun Lee (US 20150233724 A1) (hereinafter Lee) further in view of Curtis Ling (US 20130141565 A1) (Hereinafter Ling):
Regarding claim 13,Amarilio in view of Lee teach the computing device of claim 12; however, do not explicitly teach tracking comprises continuously tracking.
However, in an analogous art, Ling teaches tracking comprises continuously tracking (continue to track position via a pedometer, compass, and/or an altimeter [0053]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio in view of Lee to add the teachings of Venkatraman as above, in order to improve the accuracy of the location detection in an image (Ling [0019]).
Claims 16- 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omri Amarilio (US 10284823 B1) (hereinafter Amarilio) in view of Shin-jun Lee (US 20150233724 A1) (hereinafter Lee) further in view of Enrico Rosario Alessi (US 20230023062 A1) (hereinafter Alessi):
Regarding claim 16,Amarilio in view of Lee teach the computing device of claim 12; however, do not explicitly teach the sensor data comprises time of flight sensor data/
However, in an analogous art, Alessi teaches the sensor data comprises time of flight sensor data (measuring a time of flight [0022]; the sensor module 12 detects, through the optical sensor 20, the times of flight (indicative of the distance, at respective time instants, of bodies, such as inanimate objects or the user, from the optical sensor 20) and generates a corresponding time-of-flight signal S.sub.ToF (in detail, a digital electrical signal) at output. [0029]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio in view of Lee to add the teachings of Alessi as above, in order to improve the detection accuracy (Alessi [0053]).
Regarding claim 17,Amarilio in view of Lee teach the computing device of claim 12; however, do not explicitly teach the sensor data comprises electrostatic charge variation data
However, in an analogous art, Alessi teaches the sensor data comprises electrostatic charge variation data (one or more electric and/or electrostatic charge variation sensors [0021]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio in view of Lee to add the teachings of Alessi as above, in order to improve the detection accuracy (Alessi [0053]).
Regarding claim 18,Amarilio in view of Lee teach the computing device of claim 12; however, do not explicitly teach the sensor data comprises radar data
However, in an analogous art, Alessi teaches the sensor data comprises radar data (proximity sensor (e.g., optical sensor, temperature sensor, acoustic sensor, ultrasonic sensor or microwave radar) [0061]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio in view of Lee to add the teachings of Alessi as above, in order to improve the detection accuracy (Alessi [0053]).
Claims 19- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omri Amarilio (US 10284823 B1) (hereinafter Amarilio) in view of Shin-jun Lee (US 20150233724 A1) (hereinafter Lee) further in view of Alexander Wayne Clark (EP 3449649 A1) (hereinafter Clark):
Regarding claim 19,Amarilio in view of Lee teach the electronic device of claim; however, do not explicitly teach upon registering the second location, automatically adjust an audio setting, a power setting, a privacy setting, a security setting, or a combination thereof of the electronic device.
However, in an analogous art, Clark teaches upon registering the second location, automatically adjust an audio setting, a power setting, a privacy setting, a security setting, or a combination thereof of the electronic device (once the images captured by first sensor 102 are used to detect objects and determine a location that the computing device 100 is likely being used in by a user, the computing device 100 could automatically adjust settings with regards to lock policies, privacy screen, audio settings, display brightness, and Bluetooth device settings, among others [0014]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio in view of Lee to add the teachings of Clark as above, in order to improve the privacy of what is being displayed (Clark [0005]).
Regarding claim 20, Amarilio in view of Lee teach the computing device of claim 6; however, do not explicitly teach upon registering the new location, automatically adjust a plurality of settings of the computing device.
However, in an analogous art, Clark teaches upon registering the new location, automatically adjust a plurality of settings of the computing device (once the images captured by first sensor 102 are used to detect objects and determine a location that the computing device 100 is likely being used in by a user, the computing device 100 could automatically adjust settings with regards to lock policies, privacy screen, audio settings, display brightness, and Bluetooth device settings, among others [0014]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Amarilio in view of Lee to add the teachings of Clark as above, in order to improve the privacy of what is being displayed (Clark [0005]).
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD KAMAL ABOUZAHRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2486
/TAT C CHIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486