Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the only grounds of rejection pertains to a new claim not previously rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear from the presentation of the claim limitations which portions are required and which are alternative, i.e. where do the “or” statement portions start and stop. In example is the elastic component has a body and a spring plate a necessary or optional feature? There are three elements listed with semicolons at the end, then an “or” occurs. It is unclear if all three limitations are required, alternatives, or if only the last of the three elements is an alternative. It is unclear what is necessary and what is optional within the scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2010/0317409) in view of Jung (US 20160255733), Doerr (US 2023/0287573) and Fratti (US 2016/0377228) and Yanagisawa (US 2018/0070468), and Tsuji (US 2011/0127278).
With regard to claims 1 & 2 Jiang discloses a wearable electronic device (paragraph 21; figure 2), wherein the wearable electronic device comprises a housing (10 figure 2) and a circuit board assembly (paragraph 22), the circuit board assembly is located inside the housing, and the circuit board assembly is fastened relative to the housing (paragraph 22), the housing comprises a carbon fiber material (abstract), the housing has an inner surface (figures 2, 3), the housing comprises a conductive layer disposed on the inner surface (paragraphs 37, 50 – connected to ground).
Jiang does not separately or explicitly detail the claimed:
the conductive layer electrically connects the carbon fiber material scattered in the housing, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive layer.
Jiang does teach – paragraph 37 - The flexible mobile phone 10 may further include a shielding layer 170 disposed on the bottom surface of the flexible touch panel 16. The material of the shielding layer 170 can be a conductive resin film, a carbon nanotube film, or another kind of flexible and conductive film. In one embodiment, the shielding layer 170 is a carbon nanotube film. The carbon nanotube film includes a plurality of carbon nanotubes, and the orientation of the carbon nanotubes therein can be arbitrarily determined. Understandably, the carbon nanotubes in the carbon nanotube film of the shielding layer 170 can be arranged along a same direction. The carbon nanotube film is connected to ground and acts as shielding, thus enabling the flexible touch panel 16 to operate without interference (e.g., electromagnetic interference).
Jung teaches paragraph 50 - The signal line for the ground may be connected to at least some areas (for example, a driver integrated circuit (IC) relating to display panel operation) formed of a metallic material in the display 130. The signal line for the ground and at least a portion of the display 130 may electrically contact a main PCB (or printed circuit substrate) to serve as the ground of the main circuit substrate. Alternatively, the signal line for the ground and at least a portion of the display 130 may be connected to a ground terminal of a communication module disposed in a main PCB to serve as the ground of the communication module. One side of the signal lines may be fixedly disposed at one side a bracket described below.
Paragraph 76: According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the display 130 may include a ground signal line 135 (for example, an FPCB type signal line). The ground signal line 135 may be connected to a metallic component (for example, a driver chip) included in the display 130. The ground signal line 135 may be connected to the ground terminal of the main PCB 157 or may be connected to the ground terminal of a communication module mounted on the main PCB 157. Alternatively, the ground signal line 135 may be electrically connected to a connectable module disposed at the bracket 160.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Jiang’s invention to comprise the conductive layer electrically connects the carbon fiber material scattered in the housing, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive layer, as implied by Jiang, and taught by Jung. The reason for doing so would have been to connect the ground elements of the respective electrical components so as to function properly as a ground as taught by Jung and Jiang. Jiang does not disclose the claimed:
wherein the wearable electronic device further comprises a metal inner container, the metal inner container is located inside the housing, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive layer and the metal inner container.In the discussion of the background of the invention Doerr teaches that it is well known and common to use carbon nanotubes to form a decorative layer over a metal frame. Paragraphs 2-6. While Doerr sets forth a different solution to the use of carbon fiber the principles set forth therein establish the state of the art. Moreover 35 USC 103 requires analysis as a whole, not piecemeal. Fratti illustrates the state of the art of using a metal liner over which is formed a structural layer of carbon fiber to achieve an excellent final product – abstract, paragraph 16. Fratti establishes it is well known to carbon reinforce metal liners. In terms of analogous art Fratti is fundamental to composite manufacturing and the principles involved therein in a general and universal way. However, to explicitly address the analogous art issue see Yanagisawa. Yanagisawa teaches the importance of air and water tightness in a timepiece environment. Yanagisawa teaches pressurizing the internal components of a timepiece with inert gas – paragraph 32. Yanagisawa teaches that doing so would improve readability and prevent moisture issues. It should be apparent how fundamental a proper seal against environmental considerations are to the timepiece arts. Thus Yanagisawa serves as an explicit connection between Fratti to the art to which the invention pertains and the base reference in particular. One having ordinary skill in the art would have considered manufacturing principles and references like Fratti.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Jiang’s system to comprise: wherein the wearable electronic device further comprises a metal inner container, the metal inner container is located inside the housing, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive layer and the metal inner container, as taught by Jung, Fratti, Yanagisawa, and Doerr. The reason for doing so would have been to form a case with excellent electrical properties, appearance, strength, longevity, airtightness, and grounding as taught by Jung, Fratti, Yanagisawa, and Doerr.Jiang does not disclose the claimed:
Wherein the wearable electronic device further comprises a conductive adhesive, the conductive adhesive is located between the housing and the circuit board assembly, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive adhesive and the conductive layer;
the wearable electronic device further comprises a conductive fabric, the conductive fabric is located between the housing and the circuit board assembly, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive fabric and the conductive layer;
the wearable electronic device further comprises an elastic component, the elastic component is located between the housing and the circuit board assembly, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the elastic component and the conductive layer: or
the housing comprises a protruding part extending out to the circuit board assembly, the conductive layer is further disposed on the protruding part, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive layer on the protruding part.
Jung teaches paragraph 50 - The signal line for the ground may be connected to at least some areas (for example, a driver integrated circuit (IC) relating to display panel operation) formed of a metallic material in the display 130. The signal line for the ground and at least a portion of the display 130 may electrically contact a main PCB (or printed circuit substrate) to serve as the ground of the main circuit substrate. Alternatively, the signal line for the ground and at least a portion of the display 130 may be connected to a ground terminal of a communication module disposed in a main PCB to serve as the ground of the communication module. One sides of the signal lines may be fixedly disposed at one side a bracket described below.
Paragraph 76: According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the display 130 may include a ground signal line 135 (for example, an FPCB type signal line). The ground signal line 135 may be connected to a metallic component (for example, a driver chip) included in the display 130. The ground signal line 135 may be connected to the ground terminal of the main PCB 157 or may be connected to the ground terminal of a communication module mounted on the main PCB 157. Alternatively, the ground signal line 135 may be electrically connected to a connectable module disposed at the bracket 160.
Jiang discloses conductive resin film for layer 170 – paragraphs 37, 50. Since Jiang uses the term “or” instead of “and”.
Tsuji paragraph 48 teaches: The inner frame 5 is made of a material having some elasticity such as plastic and the like, but the material is not limited specifically.
Paragraph 65: An elastic arm 58 a independent of the spread portions 58 is formed on the periphery of the bottom portion 51 of the inner frame 5 in one of the cut-out portions 55 to erect like the side wall portion 54 of the inner frame 5 from the bottom portion 51. An end of the elastic arm 58 a directs upward in the wrist watch 100 when the inner frame 5 is assembled in the body case 1, and a hook portion 57 for engaging with the module member 4 is provided at the upper end of the elastic arm 58 a. When the module member 4 is press-fitted in the inner frame 5, the hook portion 57 engages with the back surface side of the module member 4 to prevent the module member 4 from leaving off from the inner frame 5. The shape, provided position and the number of the hook portion 57 are not limited to those of the illustrated one. An engaging groove for receiving the hook portion 57 may be formed in the back surface side of the molding member 4.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Jiang system to comprise: Wherein the wearable electronic device further comprises a conductive adhesive, the conductive adhesive is located between the housing and the circuit board assembly, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive adhesive and the conductive layer;
the wearable electronic device further comprises a conductive fabric, the conductive fabric is located between the housing and the circuit board assembly, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive fabric and the conductive layer;
the wearable electronic device further comprises an elastic component, the elastic component is located between the housing and the circuit board assembly, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the elastic component and the conductive layer: or
the housing comprises a protruding part extending out to the circuit board assembly, the conductive layer is further disposed on the protruding part, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive layer on the protruding part, as taught by Jiang, Jung, and Tsuji. The reason for doing so would have been to connect the ground elements of the respective electrical components so as to function properly as a ground as taught by Jung and Jiang. The reason for doing so would have been to improve the conductive properties of the element and provide better shielding and grounding per the original design and according to the modification of the intervening claims. The use of conductive resin would have improved the electrical interface of the parts and achieved the clear purpose and results of the design. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious and within the scope of the Jiang references, as well as the general state of the art to perform the modification in question. The use of conductive resins and adhesives is well known in the art. A reason for doing so would have been to protect the electrical internal component against shock or environmental damage and to support the structures against acceleration and damage.
Jiang does not disclose the claimed: or the housing comprises a protruding part extending out to the circuit board assembly, the conductive layer is further disposed on the protruding part, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive layer on the protruding part; and wherein the elastic component has a body and a spring plate, the body is fastened to one of the housing and the circuit board assembly, one end of the spring plate is connected to the body, and the other end of the spring plate is tilted relative to the body, to press against the other one of the housing and the circuit board assembly. However, claim 24 is drafted in the alternative and does not clearly require the spring-plate limitation in every embodiment. To the extent the spring-plate limitation applies only to the elastic-component alternative, the remaining alternatives do not require that feature. Accordingly, the claim remains unpatentable for at least those alternative embodiments.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4, 6-20, 22, and 23 are allowed.
Conclusion
/SEAN KAYES/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831