Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant asserts that the office action fails to cite any passages in Jian to teach or suggest the carbon nanotube film is scatted in the housing that also includes… This argument is not persuasive. The new limitations of claim 1 were previously recited in claim 2. The examiner relied on additional art to treat these limitations. Pertaining to the term “scattered” see MPEP 2113. The method of manufacture is not necessarily attributed weight. There is no clear or distinct interpretation of the phrase that would necessitate a resulting structure different than that already discussed except with the benefit of narrow hindsight reconstruction of the claims. Paragraph 8 “In the technical solution, the carbon fiber material scattered in the housing is electrically connected by using the conductive layer disposed on the inner surface of the housing, so that the housing is integrally formed as a conductor, and the housing is further electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive layer.” There is nothing to suggest applicant was regarding orientation or displacement unique to the phrase scattered. Paragraph 90 “The housing 1 is mainly made of a carbon fiber material. To enable the housing 1 to form a part of an antenna, as shown in FIG. 1A and FIG. 1B, the housing 1 includes a conductive layer 13 disposed on the inner circumferential surface 11 i of the housing substrate 11, and the conductive layer 13 electrically connects the carbon fiber material scattered in the housing 1, to enhance conductivity of the entire housing 1.” Makes no such distinction. “In addition to a case in which the conductive layer 13 electrically connects the carbon fiber scattered in the housing 1 to form a conductor, there is a case in which the housing 1 can be electrically connected to the metal inner container 2 by using the conductive layer 13.” The question is one of conductivity and placement relative to this end. That feature is well address in the previous and current rejection(s). The ground of rejection are proper and have been maintained.
Applicant’s notes about Jiang, Doerr, Fratti, and Yanagisawa are noted. These arguments are not found to be persuasive. The principle of scattering or applying carbon fiber in the ways described is well known in the art and a common and routine modification. The particular details noted by applicant is nothing more than piecemeal analysis and does not speak to the requirement to consider the invention as a whole as well as the general state of the art. The issues raised are noted, but not found persuasive. The rejection is proper and thus has been maintained. Note the indication of allowable subject matter in claim 3. Wherein applicant achieve a non-obvious variant it is noted and indicated as allowable. The fiber orientation (scattered) and particular layer details fall well within the ordinary and routine purview of those skilled in the art. Likewise the conductive nature of the materials is well known in the art. The combination of references clearly sets forth using the conductive lines as a ground and providing variations thereof to achieve this result including surrounding elements. It should be noted that in electrical arts the ground can be and commonly is referred to as the conductive housing or those elements of the housing which are conductive. That is because connection to the literal ground/earth is not feasible in mobile/portable applications. The prior art addresses the consideration and issue well within the 103 requirement(s) to consider the invention as a whole. The examiner exercised care to indicator those claims which change this analysis.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2010/0317409) in view of Jung (US 20160255733), Doerr (US 2023/0287573) and Fratti (US 2016/0377228) and Yanagisawa (US 2018/0070468).
With regard to claims 1 & 2 Jiang discloses a wearable electronic device (paragraph 21; figure 2), wherein the wearable electronic device comprises a housing (10 figure 2) and a circuit board assembly (paragraph 22), the circuit board assembly is located inside the housing, and the circuit board assembly is fastened relative to the housing (paragraph 22), the housing comprises a carbon fiber material (abstract), the housing has an inner surface (figures 2, 3), the housing comprises a conductive layer disposed on the inner surface (paragraphs 37, 50 – connected to ground).
Jiang does not separately or explicitly detail the claimed:
the conductive layer electrically connects the carbon fiber material scattered in the housing, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive layer.
Jiang does teach – paragraph 37 - The flexible mobile phone 10 may further include a shielding layer 170 disposed on the bottom surface of the flexible touch panel 16. The material of the shielding layer 170 can be a conductive resin film, a carbon nanotube film, or another kind of flexible and conductive film. In one embodiment, the shielding layer 170 is a carbon nanotube film. The carbon nanotube film includes a plurality of carbon nanotubes, and the orientation of the carbon nanotubes therein can be arbitrarily determined. Understandably, the carbon nanotubes in the carbon nanotube film of the shielding layer 170 can be arranged along a same direction. The carbon nanotube film is connected to ground and acts as shielding, thus enabling the flexible touch panel 16 to operate without interference (e.g., electromagnetic interference).
Jung teaches paragraph 50 - The signal line for the ground may be connected to at least some areas (for example, a driver integrated circuit (IC) relating to display panel operation) formed of a metallic material in the display 130. The signal line for the ground and at least a portion of the display 130 may electrically contact a main PCB (or printed circuit substrate) to serve as the ground of the main circuit substrate. Alternatively, the signal line for the ground and at least a portion of the display 130 may be connected to a ground terminal of a communication module disposed in a main PCB to serve as the ground of the communication module. One sides of the signal lines may be fixedly disposed at one side a bracket described below.
Paragraph 76: According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the display 130 may include a ground signal line 135 (for example, an FPCB type signal line). The ground signal line 135 may be connected to a metallic component (for example, a driver chip) included in the display 130. The ground signal line 135 may be connected to the ground terminal of the main PCB 157 or may be connected to the ground terminal of a communication module mounted on the main PCB 157. Alternatively, the ground signal line 135 may be electrically connected to a connectable module disposed at the bracket 160.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Jiang’s invention to comprise the conductive layer electrically connects the carbon fiber material scattered in the housing, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive layer, as implied by Jiang, and taught by Jung. The reason for doing so would have been to connect the ground elements of the respective electrical components so as to function properly as a ground as taught by Jung and Jiang. Jiang does not disclose the claimed:
wherein the wearable electronic device further comprises a metal inner container, the metal inner container is located inside the housing, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive layer and the metal inner container.In the discussion of the background of the invention Doerr teaches that it is well known and common to use carbon nanotubes to form a decorative layer over a metal frame. Paragraphs 2-6. While Doerr sets forth a different solution to the use of carbon fiber the principles set forth therein establish the state of the art. Moreover 35 USC 103 requires analysis as a whole, not piecemeal. Fratti illustrates the state of the art of using a metal liner over which is formed a structural layer of carbon fiber to achieve an excellent final product – abstract, paragraph 16. Fratti establishes it is well known to carbon reinforce metal liners. In terms of analogous art Fratti is fundamental to composite manufacturing and the principles involved therein in a general and universal way. However, to explicitly address the analogous art issue see Yanagisawa. Yanagisawa teaches in the importance of air and water tightness in a timepiece environment. Yanagisawa teaches pressurizing the internal components of a timepiece with inert gas – paragraph 32. Yanagisawa teaches that doing so would improve readability and prevent moisture issues. It should be apparent how fundamental a proper seal against environmental considerations are to the timepiece arts. Thus Yanagisawa serves as an explicit connection between Fratti to the art to which the invention pertains and the base reference in particular. One having ordinary skill in the art would have considered manufacturing principles and references like Fratti.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Jiang system to comprise: wherein the wearable electronic device further comprises a metal inner container, the metal inner container is located inside the housing, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive layer and the metal inner container, as taught by Jung, Fratti, Yanagisawa, and Doerr. The reason for doing so would have been to form a case with excellent electrical properties, appearance, strength, longevity, airtightness, and grounding as taught by Jung, Fratti, Yanagisawa, and Doerr.
With regard to claim 14 Jiang, Jung, Doerr, Fratti, and Yanagisawa teach the wearable electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the housing comprises a ring-shaped substrate, the ring-shaped substrate comprises the carbon fiber material, the inner surface is an inner circumferential surface of the ring-shaped substrate, and the conductive layer continuously extends on the inner circumferential surface in a circumferential direction of the ring-shaped substrate (Jiang figure 2; 170 figure 5; paragraphs 32-37).
With regard to claim 20 Jiang, Jung, Doerr, Fratti, and Yanagisawa teach the wearable electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the wearable electronic device further comprises a screen assembly (14 figures 1, 3), the screen assembly is fastened to the housing (figure 1), the screen assembly is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly (paragraph 22; figure 3), and the screen assembly comprises a display part exposed after the wearable electronic device is assembled (14 figures 1, 3).
With regard to claim 5 (depends from claim 2) Jiang discloses conductive resin film for layer 170 – paragraphs 37, 50. Since Jiang uses the term “or” instead of and or and/or it is debatable whether the reference fully addresses the limitations of claim 5 including the claimed:
wherein the wearable electronic device further comprises a conductive adhesive or a conductive fabric, the conductive adhesive or the conductive fabric is located between the housing and the metal inner container, and the housing is electrically connected to the metal inner container by using the conductive adhesive or the conductive fabric.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Jiang system to comprise: a conductive adhesive or a conductive fabric, the conductive adhesive or the conductive fabric is located between the housing and the metal inner container, and the housing is electrically connected to the metal inner container by using the conductive adhesive or the conductive fabric. The reason for doing so would have been to improve the conductive properties of the element and provide better shielding and grounding per the original design and according to the modification of the intervening claims. The use of conducting resin would have improved the electrical interface of the parts and achieved the clear purpose and results of the design. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious and within the scope of the Jiang references, as well as the general state of the art to perform the modification in question. The use of conductive resins and adhesives is well known in the art.
With regard to claim 6 (depends from claim 2) Jiang discloses portions 2203 2205 figure 8. Jiang does not teach what material these parts are and thus fails to teach the claimed: wherein a part of the metal inner container is exposed from the housing.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Jiang system such that 2203 and 2205 are made of metal such that a part of the metal inner container is exposed from the housing. The reason for doing so would have been to make the parts of a well known strong and robust material as known in the art. A reason for doing so would have been to provide excellent structural support to the connection portions by proving a unitary structure and support.
Claim(s) 7-10, 12, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2010/0317409) in view of Jung (US 20160255733), Doerr (US 2023/0287573), Fratti (US 2016/0377228), and Yanagisawa (US 2018/0070468) in further view of Tsuji (US 2011/0127278).
With regard to claim 7 (depends from claim 1) Jiang does not disclose the claimed:
wherein the wearable electronic device further comprises a plastic inner container, the plastic inner container is located inside the housing, a conductive part is disposed in the plastic inner container, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive part and the conductive layer.
Tsuji teaches:[0008] However, in a case that the inner frame is made of plastic to increase its close fit to the module member and to the case member and the case member is made of a hard material such as metal, when the inner frame is pressed-into the case member, the outer surface of the inner frame is scraped off by friction generated between the outer surface of the inner frame and the inside surface of the case member, thereby producing shavings.
[0045] The module member 4 is formed in a form of a disc, for example, by plastic. Its outer diameter is substantially equal to a diameter of an inner periphery of an opening portion 52 (FIG. 5) of the inner frame 5. Parts such as circuit boards on which various electronic parts are mounted are housed in an inner portion of the inner frame 5, and a liquid crystal panel 41 providing a display portion is arranged on a surface of a viewing side (front surface side) of the inner frame 5. A structure, a shape and etc. of the liquid crystal panel 41 are not specially limited.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Jiang system to comprise: comprises a plastic inner container, the plastic inner container is located inside the housing, a conductive part is disposed in the plastic inner container, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive part and the conductive layer, as taught by Tsuji. The reason for doing so would have been to provide excellent protection to the internal components of the system, provide an excellent fit between internal and external elements, and reduce wear and tear at joining surfaces, as taught by Tsuji.
With regard to claim 8 (depends from claim 7) Jiang does not disclose the claimed:
wherein the conductive part comprises a metal trace, and the metal trace is formed by using a laser direct structuring technology or through laser activating plating.
The method of manufacture is not part of the resulting structure. It is given weight only to the extent it defines a feature of the resulting invention.
Tsuji teaches a PCB inside a dielectric inner casing separate from the metal outer casing.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Jiang system to comprise: wherein the conductive part comprises a metal trace, and the metal trace is formed by using a laser direct structuring technology or through laser activating plating. The reason for doing so would have been to provide a conductive trace or pathway between the device ground and the PCB inside the dielectric inner case, as taught by Jiang, Tsuji, and Jung.
With regard to claim 9 (depends from claim 7) Jiang does not disclose the claimed:
wherein a through hole is formed in the plastic inner container, the through hole penetrates through the plastic inner container from a side on which the housing is located to a side on which the circuit board assembly is located, and the conductive part extends through the through hole.
The use of through holes is notoriously well known in the field of horology and wristwatch design, as well as the electrical arts and circuitry. A PCB is in essence a series of holes on which electrical components are mounted with traces running on either sides of the board to form electrical connections. See Tsuji through holes 14 by which the push buttons 13 extend through the case.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Jiang system to comprise: wherein a through hole is formed in the plastic inner container, the through hole penetrates through the plastic inner container from a side on which the housing is located to a side on which the circuit board assembly is located, and the conductive part extends through the through hole, as taught by the concept of a PCB and as taught by Tsuji’s through holes 14. The reason for doing so would have been to form an aperture for the electrical connection to be formed between the device’s ground and the PCB, as taught by Jiang, Tsuji, and Jung.
With regard to claim 10 (depends from claim 7) Jiang does not disclose the claimed:
Wherein the wearable electronic device further comprises a conductive adhesive, the conductive adhesive is located between the plastic inner container and the circuit board assembly, and the conductive part is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive adhesive;
the wearable electronic device further comprises a conductive fabric, the conductive fabric is located between the plastic inner container and the circuit board assembly, and the conductive part is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive fabric: or the wearable electronic device further comprises an elastic component, the elastic component is located between the plastic inner container and the circuit board assembly, and the conductive part is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the elastic component.
Jung teaches paragraph 50 - The signal line for the ground may be connected to at least some areas (for example, a driver integrated circuit (IC) relating to display panel operation) formed of a metallic material in the display 130. The signal line for the ground and at least a portion of the display 130 may electrically contact a main PCB (or printed circuit substrate) to serve as the ground of the main circuit substrate. Alternatively, the signal line for the ground and at least a portion of the display 130 may be connected to a ground terminal of a communication module disposed in a main PCB to serve as the ground of the communication module. One sides of the signal lines may be fixedly disposed at one side a bracket described below.
Paragraph 76: According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the display 130 may include a ground signal line 135 (for example, an FPCB type signal line). The ground signal line 135 may be connected to a metallic component (for example, a driver chip) included in the display 130. The ground signal line 135 may be connected to the ground terminal of the main PCB 157 or may be connected to the ground terminal of a communication module mounted on the main PCB 157. Alternatively, the ground signal line 135 may be electrically connected to a connectable module disposed at the bracket 160.
Jiang discloses conductive resin film for layer 170 – paragraphs 37, 50. Since Jiang uses the term “or” instead of “and”.
Tsuji paragraph 48 teaches: The inner frame 5 is made of a material having somewhat elasticity such as plastic and the like, but the material is not limited specifically.
Paragraph 65: An elastic arm 58 a independent of the spread portions 58 is formed on the periphery of the bottom portion 51 of the inner frame 5 in one of the cut-out portions 55 to erect like the side wall portion 54 of the inner frame 5 from the bottom portion 51. An end of the elastic arm 58 a directs upward in the wrist watch 100 when the inner frame 5 is assembled in the body case 1, and a hook portion 57 for engaging with the module member 4 is provided at the upper end of the elastic arm 58 a. When the module member 4 is press-fitted in the inner frame 5, the hook portion 57 engages with the back surface side of the module member 4 to prevent the module member 4 from leaving off from the inner frame 5. The shape, provided position and the number of the hook portion 57 are not limited to those of the illustrated one. An engaging groove for receiving the hook portion 57 may be formed in the back surface side of the molding member 4.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Jiang system to comprise: wherein the wearable electronic device further comprises a conductive adhesive, the conductive adhesive is located between the plastic inner container and the circuit board assembly, and the conductive part is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive adhesive; the wearable electronic device further comprises a conductive fabric, the conductive fabric is located between the plastic inner container and the circuit board assembly, and the conductive part is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive fabric: or the wearable electronic device further comprises an elastic component, the elastic component is located between the plastic inner container and the circuit board assembly, and the conductive part is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the elastic component, as taught by Jiang, Jung, and Tsuji. The reason for doing so would have been to connect the ground elements of the respective electrical components so as to function properly as a ground as taught by Jung and Jiang. The reason for doing so would have been to improve the conductive properties of the element and provide better shielding and grounding per the original design and according to the modification of the intervening claims. The use of conducting resin would have improved the electrical interface of the parts and achieved the clear purpose and results of the design. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious and within the scope of the Jiang references, as well as the general state of the art to perform the modification in question. The use of conductive resins and adhesives is well known in the art. A reason for doing so would have been to protect the electrical internal component against shock or environmental damage and to support the structures against acceleration and damage.
With regard to claim 12 (depends from claim 1) Jiang does not disclose the claimed:
wherein the wearable electronic device further comprises a plastic inner container, the plastic inner container is located inside the housing, the housing comprises a protruding part, the protruding part passes through the plastic inner container and extends to the circuit board assembly, the conductive layer is further disposed on the protruding part, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive layer on the protruding part.
Jung teaches paragraph 50 - The signal line for the ground may be connected to at least some areas (for example, a driver integrated circuit (IC) relating to display panel operation) formed of a metallic material in the display 130. The signal line for the ground and at least a portion of the display 130 may electrically contact a main PCB (or printed circuit substrate) to serve as the ground of the main circuit substrate. Alternatively, the signal line for the ground and at least a portion of the display 130 may be connected to a ground terminal of a communication module disposed in a main PCB to serve as the ground of the communication module. One sides of the signal lines may be fixedly disposed at one side a bracket described below.
Paragraph 76: According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the display 130 may include a ground signal line 135 (for example, an FPCB type signal line). The ground signal line 135 may be connected to a metallic component (for example, a driver chip) included in the display 130. The ground signal line 135 may be connected to the ground terminal of the main PCB 157 or may be connected to the ground terminal of a communication module mounted on the main PCB 157. Alternatively, the ground signal line 135 may be electrically connected to a connectable module disposed at the bracket 160.
Jiang discloses conductive resin film for layer 170 – paragraphs 37, 50. Since Jiang uses the term “or” instead of “and”.
Tsuji paragraph 48 teaches: The inner frame 5 is made of a material having somewhat elasticity such as plastic and the like, but the material is not limited specifically.
Paragraph 65: An elastic arm 58 a independent of the spread portions 58 is formed on the periphery of the bottom portion 51 of the inner frame 5 in one of the cut-out portions 55 to erect like the side wall portion 54 of the inner frame 5 from the bottom portion 51. An end of the elastic arm 58 a directs upward in the wrist watch 100 when the inner frame 5 is assembled in the body case 1, and a hook portion 57 for engaging with the module member 4 is provided at the upper end of the elastic arm 58 a. When the module member 4 is press-fitted in the inner frame 5, the hook portion 57 engages with the back surface side of the module member 4 to prevent the module member 4 from leaving off from the inner frame 5. The shape, provided position and the number of the hook portion 57 are not limited to those of the illustrated one. An engaging groove for receiving the hook portion 57 may be formed in the back surface side of the molding member 4.
The use of through holes is notoriously well known in the field of horology and wristwatch design, as well as the electrical arts and circuitry. A PCB is in essence a series of holes on which electrical components are mounted with traces running on either sides of the board to form electrical connections. See Tsuji through holes 14 by which the push buttons 13 extend through the case. See also the general state of the art set forth by Tsuji regarding protruding parts and contacting elements.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Jiang system to comprise: wherein the wearable electronic device further comprises a plastic inner container, the plastic inner container is located inside the housing, the housing comprises a protruding part, the protruding part passes through the plastic inner container and extends to the circuit board assembly, the conductive layer is further disposed on the protruding part, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive layer on the protruding part. The reason for doing so would have been to connect the ground elements of the respective electrical components so as to function properly as a ground as taught by Jung and Jiang. The reason for doing so would have been to improve the conductive properties of the element and provide better shielding and grounding per the original design and according to the modification of the intervening claims. The use of conducting resin would have improved the electrical interface of the parts and achieved the clear purpose and results of the design. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious and within the scope of the Jiang references, as well as the general state of the art to perform the modification in question. The use of conductive resins and adhesives is well known in the art. A reason for doing so would have been to protect the electrical internal component against shock or environmental damage and to support the structures against acceleration and damage.
With regard to claim 17 (depends from claim 7) Jiang does not disclose the claimed:
wherein the conductive layer is a non-transparent film formed through electroplating, and the conductive layer comprises at least one of copper, nickel, chromium, zinc, iron, gold, or silver; the conductive layer has a multi-layer structure, and the multi-layer structure comprises a copper layer and a gold layer, the multi-layer structure comprises a titanium layer and an aluminum layer, or the multi-layer structure comprises a nickel layer and a chromium layer; the conductive layer is a transparent film formed through electroplating, and the conductive layer comprises indium tin oxide; or the conductive layer is a ceramic conductive film, and the conductive layer comprises at least one of titanium carbide, titanium nitride, or titanium boride.
Tsuji teaches [0034]
Although a material forming the body case 1 is not specially limited, it is formed of a relatively hard material such as metal of, for example stainless steel, titanium or etc.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Jiang system to comprise a conductive layer made out of a normal and ordinary material like iron, steel, stainless steel or wherein the conductive layer is a non-transparent film formed through electroplating, and the conductive layer comprises at least one of copper, nickel, chromium, zinc, iron, gold, or silver; the conductive layer has a multi-layer structure, and the multi-layer structure comprises a copper layer and a gold layer, the multi-layer structure comprises a titanium layer and an aluminum layer, or the multi-layer structure comprises a nickel layer and a chromium layer; the conductive layer is a transparent film formed through electroplating, and the conductive layer comprises indium tin oxide; or the conductive layer is a ceramic conductive film, and the conductive layer comprises at least one of titanium carbide, titanium nitride, or titanium boride, as taught by Tsuji.
The reason for doing so would have been to form the structure in known and common ways using known and common materials, as taught by Tsuji. Metals based on iron are the most common and ordinary in not just the field of horology but many fields. Steel is notoriously well known for its strength. Stainless steel is well known for its corrosion resistance. Copper and gold are well known for being very conductive and increase market value by being special material selections.
With regard to claim 18 (depends from claim 1) Jiang does not disclose the claimed:
Wherein the wearable electronic device further comprises a conductive adhesive, the conductive adhesive is located between the housing and the circuit board assembly, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive adhesive and the conductive layer;
the wearable electronic device further comprises a conductive fabric, the conductive fabric is located between the housing and the circuit board assembly, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive fabric and the conductive layer;
the wearable electronic device further comprises an elastic component, the elastic component is located between the housing and the circuit board assembly, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the elastic component and the conductive layer: or
the housing comprises a protruding part extending out to the circuit board assembly, the conductive layer is further disposed on the protruding part, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive layer on the protruding part.
Jung teaches paragraph 50 - The signal line for the ground may be connected to at least some areas (for example, a driver integrated circuit (IC) relating to display panel operation) formed of a metallic material in the display 130. The signal line for the ground and at least a portion of the display 130 may electrically contact a main PCB (or printed circuit substrate) to serve as the ground of the main circuit substrate. Alternatively, the signal line for the ground and at least a portion of the display 130 may be connected to a ground terminal of a communication module disposed in a main PCB to serve as the ground of the communication module. One sides of the signal lines may be fixedly disposed at one side a bracket described below.
Paragraph 76: According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the display 130 may include a ground signal line 135 (for example, an FPCB type signal line). The ground signal line 135 may be connected to a metallic component (for example, a driver chip) included in the display 130. The ground signal line 135 may be connected to the ground terminal of the main PCB 157 or may be connected to the ground terminal of a communication module mounted on the main PCB 157. Alternatively, the ground signal line 135 may be electrically connected to a connectable module disposed at the bracket 160.
Jiang discloses conductive resin film for layer 170 – paragraphs 37, 50. Since Jiang uses the term “or” instead of “and”.
Tsuji paragraph 48 teaches: The inner frame 5 is made of a material having somewhat elasticity such as plastic and the like, but the material is not limited specifically.
Paragraph 65: An elastic arm 58 a independent of the spread portions 58 is formed on the periphery of the bottom portion 51 of the inner frame 5 in one of the cut-out portions 55 to erect like the side wall portion 54 of the inner frame 5 from the bottom portion 51. An end of the elastic arm 58 a directs upward in the wrist watch 100 when the inner frame 5 is assembled in the body case 1, and a hook portion 57 for engaging with the module member 4 is provided at the upper end of the elastic arm 58 a. When the module member 4 is press-fitted in the inner frame 5, the hook portion 57 engages with the back surface side of the module member 4 to prevent the module member 4 from leaving off from the inner frame 5. The shape, provided position and the number of the hook portion 57 are not limited to those of the illustrated one. An engaging groove for receiving the hook portion 57 may be formed in the back surface side of the molding member 4.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Jiang system to comprise: Wherein the wearable electronic device further comprises a conductive adhesive, the conductive adhesive is located between the housing and the circuit board assembly, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive adhesive and the conductive layer;
the wearable electronic device further comprises a conductive fabric, the conductive fabric is located between the housing and the circuit board assembly, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive fabric and the conductive layer;
the wearable electronic device further comprises an elastic component, the elastic component is located between the housing and the circuit board assembly, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the elastic component and the conductive layer: or
the housing comprises a protruding part extending out to the circuit board assembly, the conductive layer is further disposed on the protruding part, and the housing is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly by using the conductive layer on the protruding part, as taught by Jiang, Jung, and Tsuji. The reason for doing so would have been to connect the ground elements of the respective electrical components so as to function properly as a ground as taught by Jung and Jiang. The reason for doing so would have been to improve the conductive properties of the element and provide better shielding and grounding per the original design and according to the modification of the intervening claims. The use of conducting resin would have improved the electrical interface of the parts and achieved the clear purpose and results of the design. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious and within the scope of the Jiang references, as well as the general state of the art to perform the modification in question. The use of conductive resins and adhesives is well known in the art. A reason for doing so would have been to protect the electrical internal component against shock or environmental damage and to support the structures against acceleration and damage.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2010/0317409) in view of Jung (US 20160255733) in further view of Doerr (US 2023/0287573) and Fratti (US 2016/0377228) and Yanagisawa (US 2018/0070468) in further view of Tsuji (US 2011/0127278).
With regard to claim 13 (depends from claim 2) Jiang does not disclose the claimed:
wherein the housing and the metal inner container are separately made, and the housing and the metal inner container are fastened to each other; or the metal inner container and the housing are integrally formed.
Tsuji teaches:[0008] However, in a case that the inner frame is made of plastic to increase its close fit to the module member and to the case member and the case member is made of a hard material such as metal, when the inner frame is pressed-into the case member, the outer surface of the inner frame is scraped off by friction generated between the outer surface of the inner frame and the inside surface of the case member, thereby producing shavings.
[0045] The module member 4 is formed in a form of a disc, for example, by plastic. Its outer diameter is substantially equal to a diameter of an inner periphery of an opening portion 52 (FIG. 5) of the inner frame 5. Parts such as circuit boards on which various electronic parts are mounted are housed in an inner portion of the inner frame 5, and a liquid crystal panel 41 providing a display portion is arranged on a surface of a viewing side (front surface side) of the inner frame 5. A structure, a shape and etc. of the liquid crystal panel 41 are not specially limited.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Jiang system to comprise: wherein the housing and the metal inner container are separately made, and the housing and the metal inner container are fastened to each other; or the metal inner container and the housing are integrally formed, as taught by Tsuji. The reason for doing so would have been to provide excellent protection to the internal components of the system, provide an excellent fit between internal and external elements, and reduce wear and tear at joining surfaces, as taught by Tsuji.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 11, 15, 16, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN KAYES/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2844