DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 3, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kida et al (JP 2016147969).
With regards to claim 1, Kida teaches a photocuring composition (0002) that contains a urethane prepolymer having at least one (meth)acryloyl group (0003) that is a bifunctional or tri-functional acrylate (0029), a photoradical polymerization initiator (0006), and a moisture-setting urethane resin (reading on a polyurethane) (0049). Kida teaches the amount of the urethane prepolymer to be 20 parts and the amount of the urethane resin to be 50 parts (0084) reading on a ratio of 28:72.
With regards to claim 2, Kida teaches the amount of the urethane prepolymer to be from 40 to 100 parts by weight (0031) and the amount urethane resin to be from 30 to 75 parts by weight (0050) reading on a ratio of 40:70 to 99:1.
With regards to claim 3, Kida teaches the weight average molecular weight of the urethane to be 800 to 10,000 (0049).
With regards to claim 4, Kida teaches the polymerization initiator to include acylphosphine oxide compounds (0051) including Irgacure 819 (0052) reading on a bisacylphosphine oxide.
With regards to claim 5, Kida is silent on the hardness of the composition before and after curing. Hardness of a composition determines how well a material can maintain its shape or resist wear over time. The hardness depends on the material’s composition and treatment process. Kida teaches the composition to contain the same components and to be cured by radiation. Therefore, when the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01. Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant’s claimed composition in that the claimed components in the claimed amounts are used, the claimed physical properties relating to the hardness of the composition before and after curing are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763