DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed September 4, 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. The non-patent literature publication which was not supplied was not considered by the examiner, as indicated by a strike-through. All other cited art was considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6, 10, 11 and 13 in the reply filed on April 21, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 10, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: The parentheses in claim 1 around the number of carbon atoms per alkyl group (for example “C1-C5”) render the claim indefinite and must be removed. It is unclear if the text within the parentheses is included in the claim and further limits the subject matter of the claim, or whether it is an aside to the claim and is not further limiting. For the purpose of further examination, it is taken that the text within the parentheses further limits the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 3: The parentheses in claim 3 around the number of carbon atoms per alkyl group (for example “C2-C5”) render the claim indefinite and must be removed. It is unclear if the text within the parentheses is included in the claim and further limits the subject matter of the claim, or whether it is an aside to the claim and is not further limiting. For the purpose of further examination, it is taken that the text within the parentheses further limits the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 4: The parentheses in claim 4 around the number of carbon atoms per alkyl group (for example “C4-C20”) and the second part of the copolymer (for example “unsaturated carboxylic ester”, render the claim indefinite and must be removed. It is unclear if the text within the parentheses is included in the claim and further limits the subject matter of the claim, or whether it is an aside to the claim and is not further limiting. For the purpose of further examination, it is taken that the text within the parentheses further limits the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 11: Claim 11 is dependent on a withdrawn claim. Since the crosslinked polyolefin product of claim 9 appears to be the polyolefin formulation of claim 1 that has been crosslinked, it is taken to mean that claim 11 has the scope of a coated conductor comprising a conductive core and an insulation layer at least partially covering the conductive core, wherein the insulation layer comprises the polyolefin formulation of claim 1 that has been crosslinked.
Regarding claim 13: The parentheses in claim 13 around “increase” render the claim indefinite and must be removed. It is unclear if the text within the parentheses is included in the claim and further limits the subject matter of the claim, or whether it is an aside to the claim and is not further limiting. For the purpose of further examination, it is taken that the text within the parentheses further limits the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Further, in claim 13, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims, and claim limitations cannot refer back to the specification since it is unclear to a person having ordinary skill in the art how much of the specification and which specific sections change the scope of the claims. Appropriate correction is required. It is suggested to delete the phrase “described in the description” since both the Electrical Breakdown Strength Test Method and Weibull Statistics Method are art recognized standards that a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Si et al. (CN 111378287) using the English language machine translation supplied by the examiner with this action.
Regarding claims 1-4: Si et al. teaches a polyolefin formulation comprising a polyolefin polymer/EPDM rubber (para. 12), which is an ethylene/propylene/diene monomer terpolymer and a crotophenone compound/1-phenyl-2-buten-1-one (para. 13), which is the claimed formula where Ar is phenyl, and R is methyl.
Regarding claims 10 and 11: Si et al. teaches a conductor and an insulation layer (para. 4) and a cable sheath material made of the formulation (para. 11) which is crosslinked (para. 25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Si et al. (CN 111378287) using the English language machine translation supplied by the examiner with this action as applied to claim 1 set forth above.
Regarding claim 13: Si et al. teaches the basic claimed invention as set forth above. While the reference does not specifically disclose the improvement in electrical breakdown strength, mere recognition of latent properties or additional advantages in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention (MPEP 2145 II). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to improve the electrical breakdown strength of the polyolefin formulation with a crotophenone compound as in Si et al. and would have been motivated to do so since Si et al. teaches the compound acts as a heat resistant additive, and therefore would be beneficial to add to the formulation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Si et al. is the closest prior art, but does not teach an overlapping amount of the components as in claims 5 and 6.
Contact Information
/MEGAN MCCULLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767