DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (US 2015/0172423; hereinafter “Wu”).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a communication adapter for use with an implantable medical device, in particular a pacemaker, a defibrillator and/or a neuro-stimulator, for transferring data between the implantable medical device and a mobile device, in particular a smartphone or tablet (e.g. ¶¶ 26), comprising: a MICS telemetry interface for data transfer between the communication adapter and the implantable medical device (e.g. ¶¶ 12); and a mobile device wireless transmission interface, in particular a Bluetooth LE interface, for data transfer between the communication adapter and the mobile device (e.g. ¶¶ 16), wherein the communication adapter is configured to be powered by an energy source, in particular a battery or an inductive energy source (e.g. ¶¶ 2, 67 – “conserve battery power”), and wherein the communication adapter is configured to transfer data sent via the MICS telemetry interface by the implantable medical device to the mobile device via the mobile device wireless transmission interface and to transfer data sent via the mobile device wireless transmission interface by the mobile device to the implantable medical device via the MICS telemetry interface (e.g. ¶¶ 27-31, 38, etc.).
Regarding claim 13, Wu discloses a computer implemented method for transferring data between an implantable medical device, in particular a pacemaker, a defibrillator and/or a neuro-stimulator, and a mobile device, in particular a smartphone or tablet computer, by means of a communication adapter (e.g. ¶¶ 26), comprising the steps of: providing a MICS telemetry interface for data transfer between the communication adapter and the implantable medical device (e.g. ¶¶ 12); providing a mobile device wireless transmission interface (24,124), in particular a Bluetooth LE interface for data transfer between the communication adapter and the mobile device (e.g. ¶¶ 16); and providing an energy source, in particular a battery or an inductive energy source, configured to power the communication adapter (e.g. ¶¶ 2, 67 – “conserve battery power”), wherein the communication adapter transfers data sent via the MICS telemetry interface by the implantable medical device to the mobile device via the mobile device wireless transmission interface and transfers data sent via the mobile device wireless transmission interface by the mobile device to the implantable medical device via the MICS telemetry interface (e.g. ¶¶ 27-31, 38, etc.).
Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses the communication adapter is configured to use a first encryption and/or authentication method for MICS band communication and a second encryption and/or authentication method for mobile device wireless communication (e.g. ¶¶ 43).
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses the MICS telemetry interface comprises a MICS-band-radio module comprising an encryption unit, in particular a hardware- and/or software-based encryption unit, configured to encrypt a communication between the MICS telemetry interface and the implantable medical device (e.g. ¶¶ 43 – “encryption circuit 406”).
Regarding claim 4, Wu discloses the communication adapter comprises an authentication unit, in particular a hardware- and/or software-based authentication unit, configured to authenticate a user of the mobile device in order to access patient- related data stored in a data storage unit of the communication adapter and/or the implantable medical device (e.g. ¶¶ 43 – “encryption circuit 406 uses a predetermined encryption code, such as a 128 bit Advanced Encryption Standard, that is designated by the user and/or received by the external device”).
Regarding claim 5, Wu discloses the communication adapter comprises or is connected to at least a first MICS- band antenna, a second MICS-band antenna and a Bluetooth-band antenna (e.g. ¶¶ 4, 31-34, 75, etc.).
Regarding claim 6, Wu discloses the communication adapter is integratable into a protective case of the mobile device (e.g. ¶¶ 18, 38, 47-48, etc.).
Regarding claim 7, Wu discloses the communication adapter is configured to be supplied with power by means of a reverse wireless charging function of the mobile device, in particular in accordance to the Qi standard (e.g. ¶¶ 34).
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses the communication adapter comprises a non-volatile buffer configured to at least temporarily store information and transfer it to the implantable medical device and/or the mobile device at a later time (e.g. ¶¶ 41-44 – “memory buffer for compilation into a MICS data packet”).
Regarding claim 9, Wu discloses the communication adapter is adapted such that the energy source is replaceable or rechargeable (e.g. ¶¶ 2).
Regarding claim 10, Wu discloses the communication adapter is configured to support multi-channel ECG data transmission having a latency of less than 1 second, in particular less then than 0.1 seconds, to the mobile device, and wherein a maximum data rate for MICS communication is at least 190kbit/s (e.g. ¶¶ 28 – “Data is transmitted into data packets at a basic rate of 1 Mbps or an enhanced data rate of 2 or 3 Mbps”).
Regarding claim 11, Wu discloses an adhesive film attachable to the mobile device and the communication adapter of any one of second MICS-band antenna and the Bluetooth-band antenna, wherein the first MICS-band antenna, the second MICS-band antenna and the Bluetooth- band antenna are arranged on a surface of the adhesive film (e.g. ¶¶ 3-8, 75, etc.).
Regarding claim 12, Wu discloses a Protective Qi-compatible battery case, for a mobile device comprising a frame mountable around an edge of the mobile device, in particular a smartphone or tablet computer; and the communication adapter (e.g. ¶¶ 3-8, 26, etc.).
Regarding claims 14-15, Wu discloses the program is executed on a computer, and/or data carrier containing program code of a computer program for performing the method when the computer program is executed on the computer (e.g. ¶¶ 70 – “method 500 may be implemented as a software algorithm, package, or system that directs one or more hardware circuits or circuitry to perform the actions described herein”).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796