DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing dated June 18, 2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 are currently pending and are the subject of this office action.
Claims 1-11 are presently under examination.
Priority
The present application is a 371 of PCT/KR2022/007479 filed on 05/26/2022 and claims priority to foreign application KOREA KR10-2021-0067636 filed on 05/26/2021 and claims priority to foreign application KOREA KR10-2022-0064451 filed on 05/26/2022.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Rejections and/or Objections and Response to Arguments
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated (Maintained Rejections and/or Objections) or newly applied (New Rejections and/or Objections, Necessitated by Amendment or New Rejections and/or Objections not Necessitated by Amendment). They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Responses to Applicant’s arguments have been addressed immediately after the corresponding rejections, or in the section: Withdrawn Rejections and/or Objections, if the rejection was withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (Maintained Rejection).
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et. al. (US10,100,010) and (Kim et. al. (WO 2017/164575, September 28, 2017, cited by Applicant), in view of Mehmood et. al. (Open Science (2015) 3:19-27, cited by Applicant) and in view of Loftsson et. al. (Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences (1996) 85:1017-1025, cited by Applicant).
For claims 1, 6 and 10, Lee teaches compounds of Formula I:
and in particular compound of example 8 (see column 17):
which is identical to the instant compound of Formula 1).
Lee further teaches pharmaceutical compositions of the above compounds, wherein the compositions are suitable for parenteral administration such as injection. The pH of the formulations should be suitable adjusted. The composition may be in the form of an aqueous solution containing pharmaceutically acceptable carriers. For intravenous administration, the total concentration of solutes should be controlled in order to render the preparation isotonic (see column 13, line 4-45).
Kim also teaches the above compound and shows that the free base has very low solubility in water (see Table 4 on page 16).
Neither Lee nor Kim teaches the presence of cyclodextrin or a pH of 4.0 to 6.0 (Claim 1) or 5.0 to 6.0 (claim 6). However, Mehmood teaches that pharmaceutical excipients like isotonic agents (see section 3.1 on page 21) and cyclodextrins (see section 3.4 on page 21) are commonly used in injectable formulations. Further, Mehmood teaches that for parenteral preparations, it is desirable that the product pH be close to physiologic pH (see page 22, bottom of the page). Ph between 7.3 and 7.5 is considered a physiological pH.
Finally, Loftsson teaches that cyclodextrins help the solubilization of low water-soluble drugs and their stabilization (see entire document).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to formulate the above compound of Formula 1 as an injectable formulation (as disclosed by Lee and by Kim) with isotonic agents (as disclosed by Lee and by Mehmood) and with cyclodextrin (as disclosed by Mehmood and Loftsson) in order to improve the poor water solubility of the above compound (as disclosed by Kim).
Finally, knowing that the pH of injectable solutions should be close to physiological pH (7.3-7.5), the skilled in the art should be able to optimize the pH of the solution in order to achieve better solubility and stability as taught by Mehmood. Further the pH of 4.0 to 6.0 (Claim 1) or 5.0 to 6.0 (Claim 6) claimed is very close to the physiological pH (7.3-7.5).
MPEP 2144.05 states: “A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.).”
All this will result in the practice of claims 1, 6 and 10 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 2, Loftsson teaches that the cyclodextrin could be (2-hydroxypropyl)-beta-cyclodextrin (see page 1018, left column8, lines before the bottom), thus resulting in the practice of claim 2 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 3, Loftsson teaches the solubility enhancement of different cyclodextrin for different drugs at different cyclodextrin concentrations (see table 5 on page 1021 and under Drug Solubilization on page 1020), and since dose formulation is routine practice in the pharmaceutical art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to achieve the optimal cyclodextrin/drug ratio in order to obtain an injectable formulation with the best solubility and stability, thus resulting in the practice of claim 3 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 4, Mehmood teaches glycerin and mannitol among the isotonic agents that can be present in injectable formulations (see section 3.1 on page 21), thus resulting in the practice of claim 4 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 5, Lee teaches that for intravenous administration, the total concentration of solutes should be controlled in order to render the preparation isotonic (see column 13, line 4-45). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to control the osmolarity of the injectable formulation in order to render the preparation isotonic as required by Lee, thus resulting in the practice of claim 5 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 7, none of the references requires the absolute presence of pH adjusting agents, thus resulting in the practice of claim 7 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 8, Mehmood teaches that mannitol is an important agent for lyophilization of formulations (see section 2.1 on page 20), thus resulting in the practice of claim 8 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 9, the prior art does not teach the exact freeze-drying aid to chemical formula 1 ratio. However, optimizing the amount of each excipient to obtain the best possible formulation is no more than routine experimentation, thus resulting in the practice of claim 9 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 11, the prior art does not teach the exact concentration of the chemical formula 1. However, optimizing the amount of drug present in a formulation to obtain the best possible formulation is no more than routine experimentation, thus resulting in the practice of claim 11 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Applicant’s arguments related to the above rejection
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Examiner’s response:
First: Mehmood and Loftsson teach what is routine practice in the pharmaceutical art: that cyclodextrins are commonly used in the pharmaceutical industry to formulate drugs with poor solubility, like the instantly claimed compound. Both references are reviews of commonly used excipients in pharmaceutical formulations. The fact that none of them mentions the instantly claimed compound is irrelevant, since both references can be applied to a multitude of drugs, including the instant one. The skilled in the art knowing the low solubility of the instantly claimed compound will be motivated by the teachings of Mehmood and Loftsson to increase its solubility by formulating it with cyclodextrin and with isotonic agents which are commonly used in injectable formulations.
Second, the fact that some drugs make better complexes with cyclodextrin than others (Loftsson) will not deter the skilled in the art to try the different cyclodextrins available to optimize the solubility of the instantly claimed compound. Further, the fact that some drugs behave better than others does not mean that Loftsson teaches against the fact that cyclodextrin can still make a good complex with the instantly claimed compound. In fact, Loftsson teaches how to enhance complexation with cyclodextrins (see page 1021, left column, second paragraph).
Double Patenting (Maintained Rejections)
1) Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 17/774,888 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both, the instant application and the co-pending application claim similar or identical formulations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Applicant’s arguments related to the above rejection
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Examiner’s response:
Due to the use of the word comprising, the instant claims do not exclude a “bulking agent for freeze drying”. So, the 17/774,888 application still teaches a formulation “comprising” the instant compound, cyclodextrin, mannitol and similar pH.
2) Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/560,955 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both, the instant application and the co-pending application claim similar or identical formulations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Applicant’s arguments related to the above rejection
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Examiner’s response:
First, the instant claims, due to the use of the word comprising, do not exclude containers.
Second, even if the instant claims would have excluded a container, the formulation of Application 18/560,955 still comprises a very similar formulation: same compound, same isotonizing agents, cyclodextrin, same pH, etc., as such, the instantly claimed formulations will be more than obvious over the formulation of application 18/560,955.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/MARCOS L SZNAIDMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628
July 21, 2026.