DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing dated November 15, 2023.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 are currently pending and are the subject of this office action.
Claims 1-11 are presently under examination.
Priority
The present application is a 371 of PCT/KR2022/007479 filed on 05/26/2022 and claims priority to foreign application KOREA KR10-2021-0067636 filed on 05/26/2021 and claims priority to foreign application KOREA KR10-2022-0064451 filed on 05/26/2022.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung et. al. (US 2022/0387476).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
For claims 1 and 4, Jung teaches a formulation for injection (claim 12) comprising the following Chemical Formula 1:
a cyclodextrin (see claim 1) and mannitol (an isotonizing agent, see claim 7), wherein the pH is 4.0 to 6.0 (see claim 15)
For claim 2, Jung teaches that the cyclodextrin can be 2-hydroxypropyl-beta-cyclodextrin (see claim 3).
For claim 3, Jung teaches that the cyclodextrin/compound 1 ratio is 4.5 to 15.0 parts by weight (see claim 5).
For claim 5, the prior art does not teach that the formulation has an osmolarity of 100 to 700 mOsmol/L.
However, the osmolality seems to be a property of the above formulation anticipated by Jung. “An osmolarity that ranges between 100 to 700 mOsmol/L” will inevitably flow from the teachings of Jung (see above rejection) since both have the same structural components (an injectable formulation comprising the Chemical Formula 1, a cyclodextrin and the isotonizing agent mannitol, wherein the pH is 4.0 to 6.0).
Apparently, Applicant has discovered a new property ("An osmolarity that ranges between 100 to 700 mOsmol/L”) of the composition anticipated by the prior art (an injectable formulation comprising the Chemical Formula 1, a cyclodextrin and the isotonizing agent mannitol, wherein the pH is 4.0 to 6.0).
MPEP 2112 I states: “The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).”
MPEP 2112.01 further states: "When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions (in the instant case: the viscosity range of the nasal formulation) are presumed to be inherent”. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).”
The office does not have the facilities and resources to provide the factual evidence needed in order to establish that the formulation disclosed by Jung does not possess the same material, structural and functional characteristics of the formulation claimed in the instant application. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is on the applicant to prove that the instant formulation is different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See In re Best 562F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and Ex parte Gray 10 USPQ 2d 1922 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1989).
For claim 8, Jung teaches the presence of freeze-drying agents like: mannitol, sucrose, sorbitol or trehalose (see claim 7).
For claim 9, Jung teaches that the freeze-drying aid is contained in an amount of 3.0 to 25.0 parts by weight with respect to 1 part by weight of the compound of Chemical Formula 1 (see claim 8).
For claim 10, Jung teaches that the solvent of the formulation for injection is distilled water, water for injection, acetate buffer or physiological saline (see claim 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jung et. al. (US 2022/0387476).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Jung teaches all the structural limitations of claim 6, except for the pH being 5.0 to 6.0. However, Jung teaches that the pH can be 4.0 to 6.0 (see claim 15), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range (5.0 to 6.0).
MPEP 2144.05 states: In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575,
16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
"A prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower
claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re
Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). >See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
All this will result in the practice of claim 6 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 7¸ before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to formulate the composition without a pH adjusting agent, thus resulting in the practice of claim 7 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 11, Jung teaches that the Chemical Formula 1 is contained in an amount of 5 to 25 mg/ml (see claim 17), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range (1 to 8 mg/ml).
MPEP 2144.05 states: In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575,
16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
"A prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower
claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re
Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). >See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
All this will result in the practice of claim 11 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et. al. (US10,100,010) and (Kim et. al. (WO 2017/164575, September 28, 2017, cited by Applicant), in view of Mehmood et. al. (Open Science (2015) 3:19-27, cited by Applicant) and in view of Loftsson et. al. (Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences (1996) 85:1017-1025, cited by Applicant).
For claims 1, 6 and 10, Lee teaches compounds of Formula I:
and in particular compound of example 8 (see column 17):
which is identical to the instant compound of Formula 1).
Lee further teaches pharmaceutical compositions of the above compounds, wherein the compositions are suitable for parenteral administration such as injection. The pH of the formulations should be suitable adjusted. The composition may be in the form of an aqueous solution containing pharmaceutically acceptable carriers. For intravenous administration, the total concentration of solutes should be controlled in order to render the preparation isotonic (see column 13, line 4-45).
Kim also teaches the above compound and shows that the free base has very low solubility in water (see Table 4 on page 16).
Neither Lee nor Kim teaches the presence of cyclodextrin or a pH of 4.0 to 6.0 (Claim 1) or 5.0 to 6.0 (claim 6). However, Mehmood teaches that pharmaceutical excipients like isotonic agents (see section 3.1 on page 21) and cyclodextrins (see section 3.4 on page 21) are commonly used in injectable formulations. Further, Mehmood teaches that for parenteral preparations, it is desirable that the product pH be close to physiologic pH (see page 22, bottom of the page). Ph between 7.3 and 7.5 is considered a physiological pH.
Finally, Loftsson teaches that cyclodextrins help the solubilization of low water-soluble drugs and their stabilization (see entire document).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to formulate the above compound of Formula 1 as an injectable formulation (as disclosed by Lee and by Kim) with isotonic agents (as disclosed by Lee and by Mehmood) and with cyclodextrin (as disclosed by Mehmood and Loftsson) in order to improve the poor water solubility of the above compound (as disclosed by Kim).
Finally, knowing that the pH of injectable solutions should be close to physiological pH (7.3-7.5), the skilled in the art should be able to optimize the pH of the solution in order to achieve better solubility and stability as taught by Mehmood. Further the pH of 4.0 to 6.0 (Claim 1) or 5.0 to 6.0 (Claim 6) claimed is very close to the physiological pH (7.3-7.5).
MPEP 2144.05 states: “A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.).”
All this will result in the practice of claims 1, 6 and 10 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 2, Loftsson teaches that the cyclodextrin could be (2-hydroxypropyl)-beta-cyclodextrin (see page 1018, left column8, lines before the bottom), thus resulting in the practice of claim 2 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 3, Loftsson teaches the solubility enhancement of different cyclodextrin for different drugs at different cyclodextrin concentrations (see table 5 on page 1021 and under Drug Solubilization on page 1020), and since dose formulation is routine practice in the pharmaceutical art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to achieve the optimal cyclodextrin/drug ratio in order to obtain an injectable formulation with the best solubility and stability, thus resulting in the practice of claim 3 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 4, Mehmood teaches glycerin and mannitol among the isotonic agents that can be present in injectable formulations (see section 3.1 on page 21), thus resulting in the practice of claim 4 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 5, Lee teaches that for intravenous administration, the total concentration of solutes should be controlled in order to render the preparation isotonic (see column 13, line 4-45). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to control the osmolarity of the injectable formulation in order to render the preparation isotonic as required by Lee, thus resulting in the practice of claim 5 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 7, none of the references requires the absolute presence of pH adjusting agents, thus resulting in the practice of claim 7 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 8, Mehmood teaches that mannitol is an important agent for lyophilization of formulations (see section 2.1 on page 20), thus resulting in the practice of claim 8 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 9, the prior art does not teach the exact freeze-drying aid to chemical formula 1 ratio. However, optimizing the amount of each excipient to obtain the best possible formulation is no more than routine experimentation, thus resulting in the practice of claim 9 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 11, the prior art does not teach the exact concentration of the chemical formula 1. However, optimizing the amount of drug present in a formulation to obtain the best possible formulation is no more than routine experimentation, thus resulting in the practice of claim 11 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
1) Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 17/774,888 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both, the instant application and the co-pending application claim similar or identical formulations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
2) Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/560,955 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both, the instant application and the co-pending application claim similar or identical formulations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/MARCOS L SZNAIDMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628
February17, 2026.