CTNF 18/560,978 CTNF 81759 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/15/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Dehdashtian et al (6024729) . Regarding claim 1, discloses a valve gasket (30; Fig 5), comprising: an annular wall (50; see annotated Fig 5 below); a plurality of ligaments (see annotated Fig 5 below) attached to and extending radially inward from the annular wall, wherein each ligament of the plurality of ligaments includes a ligament slit (slit 54) in each ligament that divides the ligament into two ligament segments (see annotated Fig 5 below); and a membrane surrounded by the annular wall and attached to the plurality of ligaments and to the annular wall (see annotated Fig 5 below; membrane is attached to annular wall 50 and to the plurality of ligaments. Applicant is strongly advised to further structurally define the membrane to distinguish the claimed invention from the membrane in a ‘duckbill’ type as disclosed by Dehdashtian et al), wherein the membrane includes at least one membrane slit (see annotated Fig 5 below; where slit 54 extends through membrane) that divides the membrane into a plurality of flaps (see annotated Fig 5 below), wherein the plurality of ligaments are positioned with the plurality of ligament slits aligned with the at least one membrane slit (see annotated Fig 5 below; where slits 54 divide the ligaments into two ligament segments and divides the membrane into two flaps), such that each flap is bounded along a circumferential edge by the annular wall, along a first radial edge by a first ligament segment, and along a second radial edge by a second ligament segment (see annotated Fig 5 below; Applicant is strongly advised to structurally define the plurality of flaps, e.g. to preclude a rib being present on the flap between the bounded circumference edges as taught by Dehdashtian et al). PNG media_image1.png 240 623 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 244 654 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding claim 8, Dehdashtian et al discloses wherein the at least one membrane slit comprises a single membrane slit that divides the membrane into two symmetrical flaps (see annotated Fig 5 above; slit 54 divides the membrane into two symmetrical flaps). Regarding claim 10, Dehdashtian et al discloses wherein the ligament slit (54) of each ligament (see annotated Fig 5 above) forms an angle between 80 degrees and 90 degrees with the membrane (slit 54 is perpendicular, e.g 90 degrees, to the membrane; Figs 2, 5) . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chng et al (2021/0113824) . Regarding claim 1, Chng et al discloses a valve gasket (136; e.g. Figs 1-2; P287-P288), comprising: an annular wall (see annotated Fig 9a below); a plurality of ligaments (see annotated Fig 9a below) attached to and extending radially inward from the annular wall, wherein each ligament of the plurality of ligaments includes a ligament slit (slit 210) in each ligament that divides the ligament into two ligament segments (see annotated Fig 9a below); and a membrane surrounded by the annular wall and attached to the plurality of ligaments and to the annular wall (see annotated Fig 9a below; membrane 202a), wherein the membrane includes at least one membrane slit (see annotated Fig 9a below; where 210 extends through membrane) that divides the membrane into a plurality of flaps (see annotated Fig 9a below), wherein the plurality of ligaments are positioned with the plurality of ligament slits aligned with the at least one membrane slit (see annotated Fig 9a below; where slits 210 divide the ligaments into two ligament segments and divides the membrane into three flaps), such that each flap is bounded along a circumferential edge by the annular wall, along a first radial edge by a first ligament segment, and along a second radial edge by a second ligament segment (see annotated Fig 9a below; Applicant is strongly advised to further structurally define the plurality of flaps, e.g. to define the entire flap boundary to distinguish over from Chng et al. Presently, the claim is opened ended via “comprising” and can include more edges that a first radial edge and second radial edge such that the flap can also be bounded by the membrane at the slit 210. Presently, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is not limited to the flap boundary being formed only from the annular wall and 1 st /2 nd ligament segments). PNG media_image3.png 403 390 media_image3.png Greyscale PNG media_image4.png 403 390 media_image4.png Greyscale PNG media_image5.png 379 344 media_image5.png Greyscale Regarding claim 9, Chng et al discloses wherein the at least one membrane slit comprises three membrane slits (210; Fig 9a) that divide the membrane into three congruent flaps (see annotated Fig 9a above). Regarding claim 10, Chng et al discloses wherein the ligament slit (210) of each ligament (see annotated Fig 9a above) forms an angle between 80 degrees and 90 degrees with the membrane (slit 210 is perpendicular, e.g 90 degrees, to the membrane; Figs 9a) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-3 and 19-20 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehdashtian et al, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Catlin (20090012476). Regarding claims 2-3, Dehdashtian et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for expressly disclosing further comprising a central protrusion positioned on the membrane, wherein the plurality of ligaments connect to the central protrusion, and wherein the central protrusion comprises a guiding recess . Catlin teaches that it is known to have a valve gasket (100; Fig 1) having a central protrusion (190) positioned on a valve membrane (e.g. 170; Figs 2a-e; Fig 4b), having a plurality of ligaments connect to the central protrusion (200 on each side of the slit connects to 190; Figs 2a-b), and wherein the central protrusion (190) comprises a guiding recess (180; Fig 2b, 4b) for the purpose of providing a thickened portion for providing elastic restoring forces to assist with closing of the valve about the object being inserted (P32) and a conical hole for capturing the point of the object being inserted therethrough to facilitate insertion (P34). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve gasket as taught by Dehdashtian et al with the central protrusion having a guiding recess as taught by Catlin for the purpose of providing a thickened portion for providing elastic restoring forces to assist with closing of the valve about the object being inserted (P32) and a conical hole for capturing the point of the object being inserted therethrough to facilitate insertion (P34). The modified device of Dehdashtian et al would have the central protrusion and guiding recess added at the central intersection of ribs 56 with slit 54 and ligaments segments (see annotated Fig 5 above) such that the ligament segments would connect to the central protrusion. Regarding claim 19-20, the scope of claim 19 is substantially the same as claim 1 as taught by Dehdashtian et al as discussed above, incorporated herein by reference, except for the recitation of a central protrusion and the plurality of flaps being bounded on an inner circumferential edge by the central protrusion. Thus, regarding claims 19-20, Dehdashtian et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for expressly disclosing further comprising a central protrusion positioned on the membrane, wherein the plurality of ligaments connect to the central protrusion, the plurality of flaps being bounded on an inner circumferential edge by the central protrusion, and wherein the central protrusion comprises a guiding recess. Catlin teaches that it is known to have a valve gasket (100; Fig 1) having a central protrusion (190) positioned on a valve membrane (e.g. 170; Figs 2a-e; Fig 4b), having a plurality of ligaments connect to the central protrusion (200 on each side of the slit connects to 190; Figs 2a-b), and wherein the central protrusion (190) comprises a guiding recess (180; Fig 2b, 4b) for the purpose of providing a thickened portion for providing elastic restoring forces to assist with closing of the valve about the object being inserted (P32) and a conical hole for capturing the point of the object being inserted therethrough to facilitate insertion (P34). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve gasket as taught by Dehdashtian et al with the central protrusion having a guiding recess as taught by Catlin for the purpose of providing a thickened portion for providing elastic restoring forces to assist with closing of the valve about the object being inserted (P32) and a conical hole for capturing the point of the object being inserted therethrough to facilitate insertion (P34). The modified device of Dehdashtian et al would have the central protrusion and guiding recess added at the central intersection of ribs 56 with slit 54 and ligaments segments (see annotated Fig 5 above) such that the ligament segments would connect to the central protrusion and each flap would be bounded on an inner circumferential edge by the central protrusion . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehdashtian et al in view of Catlin, as applied to claim 19 above, in view of Guo et al (2002/0010425). Dehdashtian et al in view of Catlin discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for expressly disclosing further comprising a plurality of spaced-apart positioning protrusions extending axially from a first portion of the annular wall and a plurality of positioning recesses set into a circumferential surface of a second portion of the annular wall, wherein the plurality of positioning protrusions are alternately disposed with the plurality of positioning recesses around a circumference of the annular wall . Gou et al teaches that it is known to have a valve gasket (20) having a plurality of spaced-apart positioning protrusions (32) extending axially from a first portion of the annular wall (29) and a plurality of positioning recesses (34) set into a circumferential surface of a second portion of the annular wall (e.g. Fig 5), wherein the plurality of positioning protrusions are alternately disposed with the plurality of positioning recesses around a circumference of the annular wall (Fig 5) for the purpose of providing positions protrusions and slots on each valve gasket to allow proper alignment (P58). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve gasket as taught by Dehdashtian et al et al with the positioning protrusions and positioning recesses as taught by Gou et al for the purpose of providing positions protrusions and slots on each valve gasket to allow proper alignment (P58) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-3 and 19-20 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chng et al, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Catlin (20090012476). Regarding claims 2-3, Chng et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for expressly disclosing further comprising a central protrusion positioned on the membrane, wherein the plurality of ligaments connect to the central protrusion, and wherein the central protrusion comprises a guiding recess . Catlin teaches that it is known to have a valve gasket (100; Fig 1) having a central protrusion (190) positioned on a valve membrane (e.g. 170; Figs 2a-e; Fig 4b), having a plurality of ligaments connect to the central protrusion (200 on each side of the slit connects to 190; Figs 2a-b), and wherein the central protrusion (190) comprises a guiding recess (180; Fig 2b, 4b) for the purpose of providing a thickened portion for providing elastic restoring forces to assist with closing of the valve about the object being inserted (P32) and a conical hole for capturing the point of the object being inserted therethrough to facilitate insertion (P34). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve gasket as taught by Chng et al with the central protrusion having a guiding recess as taught by Catlin for the purpose of providing a thickened portion for providing elastic restoring forces to assist with closing of the valve about the object being inserted (P32) and a conical hole for capturing the point of the object being inserted therethrough to facilitate insertion (P34). The modified device of Chng et al would have the central protrusion and guiding recess added at the central intersection of slits 210 and ligaments segments of 208 (see annotated Fig 9a above) such that the ligament segments would connect to the central protrusion. Regarding claim 19-20, the scope of claim 19 is substantially the same as claim 1 as taught by Chng et al as discussed above, incorporated herein by reference, except for the recitation of a central protrusion and the plurality of flaps being bounded on an inner circumferential edge by the central protrusion. Thus, regarding claims 19-20, Chng et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for expressly disclosing further comprising a central protrusion positioned on the membrane, wherein the plurality of ligaments connect to the central protrusion, the plurality of flaps being bounded on an inner circumferential edge by the central protrusion, and wherein the central protrusion comprises a guiding recess. Catlin teaches that it is known to have a valve gasket (100; Fig 1) having a central protrusion (190) positioned on a valve membrane (e.g. 170; Figs 2a-e; Fig 4b), having a plurality of ligaments connect to the central protrusion (200 on each side of the slit connects to 190; Figs 2a-b), and wherein the central protrusion (190) comprises a guiding recess (180; Fig 2b, 4b) for the purpose of providing a thickened portion for providing elastic restoring forces to assist with closing of the valve about the object being inserted (P32) and a conical hole for capturing the point of the object being inserted therethrough to facilitate insertion (P34). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve gasket as taught by Chng et al with the central protrusion having a guiding recess as taught by Catlin for the purpose of providing a thickened portion for providing elastic restoring forces to assist with closing of the valve about the object being inserted (P32) and a conical hole for capturing the point of the object being inserted therethrough to facilitate insertion (P34). The modified device of Chng et al would have the central protrusion and guiding recess added at the central intersection of the slits 210 and ends of ligaments segments of 208 (see annotated Fig 9a above) such that the ligament segments would connect to the central protrusion and each flap would be bounded on an inner circumferential edge by the central protrusion . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chng et al in view of Catlin, as applied to claim 19 above, in view of Guo et al (2002/0010425). Chng et al in view of Catlin discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for expressly disclosing further comprising a plurality of spaced-apart positioning protrusions extending axially from a first portion of the annular wall and a plurality of positioning recesses set into a circumferential surface of a second portion of the annular wall, wherein the plurality of positioning protrusions are alternately disposed with the plurality of positioning recesses around a circumference of the annular wall . Gou et al teaches that it is known to have a valve gasket (20) having a plurality of spaced-apart positioning protrusions (32) extending axially from a first portion of the annular wall (29) and a plurality of positioning recesses (34) set into a circumferential surface of a second portion of the annular wall (e.g. Fig 5), wherein the plurality of positioning protrusions are alternately disposed with the plurality of positioning recesses around a circumference of the annular wall (Fig 5) for the purpose of providing positions protrusions and slots on each valve gasket to allow proper alignment (P58). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve gasket as taught by Chng et al with the positioning protrusions and positioning recesses as taught by Gou et al for the purpose of providing positions protrusions and slots on each valve gasket to allow proper alignment (P58) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehdashtian et al, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Guo et al (2002/0010425). Regarding claim 4, Dehdashtian et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for expressly disclosing wherein the annular wall comprises: a cylindrical portion; a beveled portion; a plurality of positioning protrusions extending axially from an exit surface of the cylindrical portion; and a plurality of positioning recesses set radially into a circumferential surface of the beveled portion . Gou et al teaches that it is known to have a valve gasket (20) wherein the annular wall comprises: a cylindrical portion (29); a beveled portion (28); a plurality of positioning protrusions (32) extending axially from an exit surface of the cylindrical portion; and a plurality of positioning recesses set (34) radially into a circumferential surface of the beveled portion for the purpose of providing positions protrusions and slots on each valve gasket to allow proper alignment (P58). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the annular wall of the valve gasket as taught by Dehdashtian et al with the cylindrical portion, beveled portion, plurality of positioning protrusions and recesses as taught by Gou et al for the purpose of providing positions protrusions and slots on each valve gasket to allow proper alignment (P58). Regarding claim 5, in the modified device of Dehdashtian et al in view of Gou et al, Gou et al further teaches the plurality of positioning recesses (34) are complementary to the plurality of positioning protrusions (32; Figs 2-3; P58). Regarding claim 6, in the modified device of Dehdashtian et al in view of Gou et al, Gou et al further teaches wherein the plurality of positioning recesses (34) are aligned with the at least one membrane slit (26; e.g. Fig 5; Here, the recesses are in perpendicular alignment with the slit. Applicant is strongly advised to further device the scope of aligned to clarify the claimed invention). Regarding claim 7, in the modified device of Dehdashtian et al in view of Gou et al, Gou et al further teaches wherein the plurality of positioning protrusions (32) are alternately disposed with the plurality of positioning recesses (34) around a circumference of the annular wall (e.g. Fig 5) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4-7, 11, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chng et al et al, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Guo et al (2002/0010425) . Regarding claim 4, Chng et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for expressly disclosing wherein the annular wall comprises: a cylindrical portion; a beveled portion; a plurality of positioning protrusions extending axially from an exit surface of the cylindrical portion; and a plurality of positioning recesses set radially into a circumferential surface of the beveled portion. Gou et al teaches that it is known to have a valve gasket (20) wherein the annular wall comprises: a cylindrical portion (29); a beveled portion (28); a plurality of positioning protrusions (32) extending axially from an exit surface of the cylindrical portion; and a plurality of positioning recesses set (34) radially into a circumferential surface of the beveled portion for the purpose of providing positions protrusions and slots on each valve gasket to allow proper alignment (P58). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the annular wall of the valve gasket as taught by Chng et al with the cylindrical portion, beveled portion, plurality of positioning protrusions and recesses as taught by Gou et al for the purpose of providing positions protrusions and slots on each valve gasket to allow proper alignment (P58). Regarding claim 5, in the modified device of Chng et al in view of Gou et al, Gou et al further teaches the plurality of positioning recesses (34) are complementary to the plurality of positioning protrusions (32; Figs 2-3; P58). Regarding claim 6, in the modified device of Chng et al in view of Gou et al, Gou et al further teaches wherein the plurality of positioning recesses (34) are aligned with the at least one membrane slit (26; e.g. Fig 5; Here, the recesses are in perpendicular alignment with the slit. Applicant is strongly advised to further device the scope of aligned to clarify the claimed invention). Regarding claim 7, in the modified device of Chng et al in view of Gou et al, Gou et al further teaches wherein the plurality of positioning protrusions (32) are alternately disposed with the plurality of positioning recesses (34) around a circumference of the annular wall (e.g. Fig 5). Regarding claim 11, Chng et al discloses a first valve gasket as set forth above in claim 1 incorporated herein by reference, except for expressly discloses a second valve gasket having the same structure as the first valve gasket as recited in claim 1 and 11, and wherein a rear surface of the first valve gasket is placed against a rear surface of the second valve gasket with the membrane of the first valve gasket pressed against the membrane of the second valve gasket. Gou et al teaches a hemostasis valve (e.g. Fig 1-2) having a first valve gasket (20) and second valve gasket (40) having the same shape and structure (P59), and wherein a rear surface of the first valve gasket (20) is placed against a rear surface of the second valve gasket (40) with the membrane 23 of the first valve gasket pressed against the membrane 41 of the second valve gasket (Figs 1-3, 5, 7) for the purpose of providing a hemostasis valve that provides improved sealing for small guidewires and instruments (e.g. P65) while providing manufacturing benefits that reduces the overall cost by, e.g. being able to use the same mold to make both gaskets (P59, P65). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve as taught by Chng et al to have an identical complementary second valve gasket as the first valve gasket as taught by Gou et al for the purpose of providing a hemostasis valve that provides improved sealing for small guidewires and instruments (e.g. P65) while providing manufacturing benefits that reduces the overall cost by, e.g. being able to use the same mold to make both gaskets (P59, P65). Regarding claim 14, Chng et al as modified by Gou et al as applied to claim 11 above, Chng et al does not expressly the first and second valve gaskets have the annular wall comprises: a cylindrical portion; a beveled portion; a plurality of positioning protrusions extending axially from an exit surface of the cylindrical portion; and a plurality of positioning recesses set radially into a circumferential surface of the beveled portion. Gou et al teaches that it is known to have a valve gasket (20) wherein the annular wall comprises: a cylindrical portion (29); a beveled portion (28); a plurality of positioning protrusions (32) extending axially from an exit surface of the cylindrical portion; and a plurality of positioning recesses set (34) radially into a circumferential surface of the beveled portion; and a second identical valve gasket (40; P59; Fig 6-7) having a cylindrical portion (49); a beveled portion (48); a plurality of positioning protrusions (52) extending axially from an exit surface of the cylindrical portion; and a plurality of positioning recesses set (54) radially into a circumferential surface of the beveled portion for the purpose of providing protrusions and slots on each valve gasket to allow proper alignment (P58). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the annular wall of the first and second valve gasket as taught by Chng et al as modified by Gou et al as applied to claim 11, with the cylindrical portion, beveled portion, plurality of positioning protrusions and recesses for each valve gasket as taught by Gou et al for the purpose of providing positions protrusions and slots on each valve gasket to allow proper alignment (P58). Regarding claim 15, Chng et al as modified by Gou et al as applied to claim 14 above, in the modified device, Gou et al discloses the positioning protrusions of the first valve gasket are complementary with positioning recesses of the second valve gasket and visa versa (e.g. see Fig 3). Regarding claim 16, Chng et al as modified by Gou et al as applied to claim 14 above, in the modified device, because the first and second gaskets are identical, the slits are aligned with the positioning recesses (e.g. slit 26 of 20 in Gou et al is perpendicularly aligned with recesses 34 and similarly slit 46 is perpendicularly aligned with recesses 54), such that due to the offset of the recesses and protrusions between each gasket, when connected, e.g. see Fig 3, each slit 26 and 46 will be rotationally offset from another. Regarding claim 17, Chng et al as modified by Gou et al as applied to claim 11 above, Chng et al further discloses a rigid valve housing (e.g. 5; Fig 1a) and the first/second valve gaskets would be placed therein. Regarding claim 18, Chng et al as modified by Gou et al as applied to claim 11 above, Chng et al as modified by Gou et al would have the first valve gasket identical to the second valve gasket as discussed above in claim 11 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chng et al et al in view of Guo et al (2002/0010425), as applied to claim 11 above, in further view of in view of Catlin (20090012476). Regarding claims 12-13, Chng et al in view of Gou et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for expressly disclosing the first and second valve gaskets further comprise a central protrusion positioned on the membrane, wherein the plurality of ligaments connect to the central protrusion, and wherein the central protrusion comprises a guiding recess . Catlin teaches that it is known to have a valve gasket (100; Fig 1) having a central protrusion (190) positioned on a valve membrane (e.g. 170; Figs 2a-e; Fig 4b), having a plurality of ligaments connect to the central protrusion (200 on each side of the slit connects to 190; Figs 2a-b), and wherein the central protrusion (190) comprises a guiding recess (180; Fig 2b, 4b) for the purpose of providing a thickened portion for providing elastic restoring forces to assist with closing of the valve about the object being inserted (P32) and a conical hole for capturing the point of the object being inserted therethrough to facilitate insertion (P34). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second valve gaskets as taught by Chng et al in view of Gou et al with the central protrusion having a guiding recess as taught by Catlin for the purpose of providing a thickened portion for providing elastic restoring forces to assist with closing of the valve about the object being inserted (P32) and a conical hole for capturing the point of the object being inserted therethrough to facilitate insertion (P34). The modified device of Chng et al in view of Gou et al would have each valve gasket having the central protrusion and guiding recess added at the central intersection of slits 210 and ligaments segments of 208 (see annotated Fig 9a above) such that the ligament segments would connect to the central protrusion . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892 Form. Specifically: Valve slits with ribs: CN 112717269 A; 5269763, 5968068, 20110282286, 20140074035, 20140276434, 20150190570, 20150306349, 9545632, 20190351210, 20200188634, Complimentary Protrusions/Recesses: 6551283 Protrusion and Guiding Recess: 5456284, 20010053895 To expedite prosecution in the event the applicant has any questions or proposed claim amendments to discuss the applicant is invited to contact the examiner at the telephone number listed below. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Andrew M. Gilbert whose telephone number is (571)272-7216. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 am - 5:30 pm (EST), Monday - Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas Barrett can be reached at 571-272-4726. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANDREW M GILBERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3700