Election/Restrictions
The restriction requirement as set forth in the Office action mailed on 5-19-26 has been reconsidered and is hereby withdrawn. All claims have been considered on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claim 22 which recites the term "type" is unclear. The addition of the word "type" to an otherwise definite expression (e.g., Friedel-Crafts catalyst) extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite. Ex parte Copenhaver, 109 USPQ 118 (Bd. App. 1955). Likewise, the phrase "ZSM-5-type aluminosilicate zeolites" was held to be indefinite because it was unclear what "type" was intended to convey. The interpretation was made more difficult by the fact that the zeolites defined in the dependent claims were not within the genus of the type of zeolites defined in the independent claim. Ex parte Attig, 7 USPQ2d 1092 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986). Note that claims 23-30 are dependent thereon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN108129644A in view of USPub20150111450A1.
Claim 16 is directed to the textile elementary monofilament consisting of a polyester of formula (I)
(I),wherein m represents a total number of ethylene glycol furandicarboxylate units and n represents a total number of cyclohexanedimethanol furandicarboxylate units, with n being non- zero and m+n > 25, wherein a mole ratio between ethylene glycol units denoted EG and cyclohexanedimethanol units denoted CHDM ranges from 0/100 mol/mol to 20/80 mol/mol, and wherein the textile elementary monofilament has a melting point Tm of greater than or equal to 240°C, a tenacity of greater than or equal to 2.5 cN/tex, and an elongation at break of greater than or equal to 10%.
CN108129644A discloses a furandicarboxylic acid polyester prepared from furandicarboxylic acid or an ester thereof, 1,4 cyclohexanedimethanol and optionally ethylene glycol. The amount of cyclohexanedimethanol may constitute 100mol% of the glycol component, corresponding to an EG/CHDM ratio of 0/100. Page 2 lines 33-40, page 3 lines 10-11 and 21-28.
Example 11 shows a polyester prepared from diethyl 2,5 furandicarboxylate and cis and trans 1,4 cyclohexanedimethanol without ethylene glycol. The polyester has an intrinsic viscosity of 0. 83dL/g, a melting point of 255.1C, a tensile strength of 52 MPa, and an elongation at break of 36%. See page 10 lines 9-19. Lastly the reference teaches that the polyester may be used in fibers. Page 1 lines 6-15, page 4 lines 29-33.
CN108129644A does not disclose forming the polyester into a textile monofilament having the claimed chain length and monofilament tenacity.
USPub20150111450A1 discloses fibers formed from polyalkylene furandicarboxylate prepared from furandicarboxylic acid and a C2-C12 diol, including ethylene glycol and 1,4 cyclohexanedimethanol. See paragraphs [0016]-[0020]. The reference teaches polymers having at least 25 repeat units and molecular weights suitable for fiber formation. See paragraphs [0021]-[0022]. The reference also defines fibers as including continuous filaments and monofilaments and discloses using the fibers in fabrics and textiles. See paragraphs [0040]-[0042] and teaches the claimed tenacity and elongation ranges in paragraphs [0024]-[0025], Example 4 and Table 10.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the polyester of CN108129644A into a textile monofilament using the spinning method of USPub20150111450A1 because the reference teaches that furandicarboxylic acid polyesters prepared from C2-C12 diols, [0030], including 1,4 cyclohexanedimethanol,[0021], are suitable for producing monofilaments having useful textile properties.
Claim 17 is directed to the textile elementary monofilament according to claim 16, wherein the polyester has a weight-average molar mass of greater than 45000 g/mol in PMMA equivalent.
CN108129644A disclose polyesters having intrinsic viscosities of 0.6-1.2 dL/g. see page 3 lines 33-34. USPub20150111450A1 discloses polymers that can form molecular weights above 45,000g/mol and explains that increasing molecular weight also increased fiber tenacity. See paragraphs [0022] –[0027]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since USPub20150111450A1 discloses manipulating the molecular weight , [0026], to obtain the desired fiber strength.
Claim 18 is directed to the e textile elementary monofilament according to claim 16, wherein the polyester has an intrinsic viscosity of greater than 0.7 dL/g.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since CN108129644A discloses an intrinsic viscosity of 0.83dL/g in Example 11 which is greater than 0.7dL/g. See also page 10 lines 9-19.
Claim 19 is directed to the textile elementary monofilament according to claim 16, wherein the tenacity is greater than or equal to 3 cN/tex, and the elongation at break is greater than or equal to 15%.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since USPub20150111450A1 discloses spun filaments having tenacities over 3cN/tex and elongations exceeding 15%. See paragraph [0014], Tables 4,5 and 10.
Claim 20 is directed to the textile elementary monofilament according to claim 16, wherein the textile elementary monofilament has a shrinkage of less than 14%.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since USPub20150111450A1 teaches drawing and annealing the filaments using heated rolls at temperatures of 60-110C. See tables 5,6 and 8.
Claim 21 is directed to the fabric comprising at least one textile elementary monofilament according to claim 16.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since USPub20150111450A1 discloses fabrics and textiles prepared from its furandicarboxylic acid. See claims 12 and 13.
Claim 22 is directed to a process for preparing a textile elementary monofilament consisting of a polyester, comprising successively: a step of transesterification of a composition comprising a compound of furandicarboxylate type, denoted RFC, of general formula (II)-
, wherein R represents an alkyl group comprising from 1 to 3 carbon atoms or a hydrogen atom, wherein the composition further comprises at least one glycol compound selected from the group consisting of 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol and a mixture of 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol and ethylene glycol, and wherein transesterification is performed at a temperature increasing with a ramp of at least 1 °C/min in a range from 180°C to 280°C, with a glycol compound/RFC mole ratio ranging from 1.1 to 2 in the presence of a Lewis acid catalyst; a melt polycondensation step performed at a temperature of greater than or equal to 260°C and a pressure of less than 100 mbar so as to obtain the polyester, the 1,4- cyclohexanedimethanol being present in the composition of the transesterification step in a content such that a mole ratio between ethylene glycol units and cyclohexanedimethanol units in the polyester on conclusion of the polycondensation step ranges from 0/100 mol/mol to 20/80 mol/mol; and a step of spinning the polyester so as to obtain the textile elementary monofilament.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since CN108129644A discloses preparing the polyester by reacting furandicarboxylic acid, dimethyl furandicarboxylate or diethyl furandicarboxylate with 1,4 cyclohexane dimethanol and optionally ethylene glycol. See page 2 lines 33-40, page 4 lines 8-12, page 8 lines 37-45, page 10 lines 9-30. The disclosed furandicarboxylate compounds which satisfy the claimed formula II hydrogen , methyl or ethyl. Example 11 uses 0.20mol of diethyl furandicarboxylate and 0.30 mol of cyclohexanedimethanol which gives a ratio of 1.5. the reaction mixture with zinc acetate gradually heated to 240C and then polycondensed at 260C and a pressure below 200Pa. the resulting polyester has ethylene glycol / See also page 10 lines 9-19 and Example 11.
USPub20150111450A1 discloses transesterifying dimethyl 2,5 furandicarboxylate with approximately two equivalents of a diol at 180-240C followed by polycondensation under reduced pressure and spinning the resulting polyester into fibers. See paragraphs [0048] and claim 14. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to spin the polyester produced by the process of CN108129644A because USPub20150111450A1 teaches spinning similarly prepared furandicarboxylic acid polyesters into filaments. See paragraphs [0040]-[0042], [0089] and claim 14.
Claim 23 is directed to the process according to claim 22, wherein, in the transesterification step, the temperature rises continuously in the range from 180°C to 280°C at a ramp of less than or equal to +5°C/min.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since CN108129644A, on page 7 lines 16, 27, 43, page 10, lines 9-14, and USPub20150111450A1, in paragraphs [0046]-[0048], and [0051] both references teach gradually increasing the reaction temperature during transesterification.
Claim 24 is directed to the process according to claim 22, wherein the catalyst used in the transesterification step is selected from the group consisting of hafnium acetylacetonate, zirconium acetylacetonate, titanium tetraisopropoxide and titanium tetrabutoxide.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since CN108129644A discloses using tetrabutyl titanate as an esterification catalyst. See page 4 lines 8-19, page 6 line 17, page 8 lines 24-35, and page 9 lines 3-12. USPub20150111450A1 teaches titanium alkoxies including titanium tetraisopropoxide and titanium tetrabutoxide and zirconium and hafnium catalyst. See paragraphs [0048]-[0052] and [0082].
Claim 25 is directed to the is directed to the process according to claim 22, wherein the polycondensation step is performed at a temperature of greater than or equal to 270°C.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since CN108129644A teaches performing polycondensation at 240-320C and temperatures of 270C, 280C, 290C and 300C. See page 4 lines 26-28, page 8 lines 24-35, page 9 lines 3-12 and page 10 lines 20-41.
Claim 26 is directed to the process according to claim 22, wherein the polycondensation step is performed at a pressure of less than 50 mbar.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since CN108129644A teaches performing polycondensation below 200pa and specifically below 100Pa in several examples and those values are below 50mbar. See page 4 lines 26-28, page 8 lines 24-35, page 9 lines 3-12 and page 12 line 31.
Claim 27 is directed to the process according to claim 22, wherein, following the polycondensation step, a forming step is performed, in which the polyester is rapidly cooled by placing the polyester in contact with water, then cutting the polyester into granules, and then drying the polyester at a temperature ranging from 80°C to 100°C at a pressure less than or equal to atmospheric pressure under an inert atmosphere.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since USPub20150111450A1 teaches discharging the molten polyester into a water bath, cutting the resulting strand into pellets and drying the polymer before melt spinning and it would have been obvious to dry the pellets at 80-100C under an inert atmosphere because the drying temperature and pressure would have been adjusted to remove water while avoiding degradation of the polyester. See Examples 1-3 and paragraph [0047].
Claim 28 is directed to the process according to claim 27, wherein, following the forming step, a crystallization step is performed, when the composition used in the transesterification step does not comprise ethylene glycol, at a temperature ranging from 120°C to a melting point of the polyester and for a time ranging from 15 min to 2 h, and performed, when the composition used in the transesterification step comprises ethylene glycol, at a temperature ranging from 220°C to the melting point of the polyester and for a time ranging from 10 min to 2 h, followed by a solid- phase post-condensation step performed at a temperature increasing in a range from 200°C to 260°C and for a time ranging from 1 to 60 h.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform solid phase polymerization at the claimed temperature and time which using the higher melting polyester of CN108129644A since the solid phase temperature and time would have been adjusted according to the polyesters melting point and the desired molecular weight.
Claim 29 is directed to the process according to claim 28, wherein the solid-phase post-condensation step is performed at a temperature increasing in a range from 210°C to 260°C for a time ranging from 24 h to 72 h under a flow of inert gas.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since USPub20150111450A1 teaches discloses the solid phase polymerization under vacuum and a nitrogen purge to increase polymer molecular weight and temperature and time are related process conditions that would have been adjusted to increase molecular eight without melting the polyester. See Example 1B, Example 4 and paragraph [0055].
Claim 30 is directed to the process according to claim 22, wherein the spinning step, performed as a last step of the process, is performed at a temperature above a melting point of the polyester, adjusted so that the pressure at a die inlet is between 3.3 and 10.0 MPa, followed by a drawing step on a series of drawing cups, each drawing cup being at a temperature ranging from 40°C to 160°C, a draw ratio ranging from 3 to 6.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since USPub20150111450A1 discloses melt spinning above the melting point of the polyester at a die pressure of 400-100psi, which corresponds to about 2.8-7.6 MPa which overlaps the claimed pressure of 3.3-10Mpa. See Example 1C. The reference also teaches drawing the filaments using heated rolls at 60-110C and ratios of 3.0-3.6 which fall within the claimed temperature range of 40-160c and ratio range of 3-6. See Tables 3,5 and 6.
In conclusion, in view of the above, there appears to be no significant difference between the reference(s) and that which is claimed by applicant(s). Any differences not specifically mentioned appear to be conventional. Consequently, the claimed invention cannot be deemed as unobvious and accordingly is unpatentable.
Information Disclosure Statement
Note that any future and/or present information disclosure statements must comply with 37 CFR § 1.98(b), which requires a list of the publications to include: the author (if any), title, relevant pages of the publication, date and place of publication to be submitted for consideration by the Office.
Improper Claim Dependency
Prior to allowance, any dependent claims should be rechecked for proper dependency if independent claims are cancelled.
Correspondence
/Terressa Boykin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765