Claims 1-13 are pending in this application.
DETAILED ACTION
1 The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b):
Claims 1, 3 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 7, 9 and 10 provide the use of alkyloxy-substituted anthracene-9,10-dione but, since the claim does not set forth any steps involved in the method/process, it is unclear what method/process applicant is intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced.
Claims 1, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed recitation of a use, without setting forth any steps involved in the process, results in an improper definition of a process, i.e., results in a claim which is not a proper process claim under 35 U.S.C. 101. See for example Ex parte Dunki, 153 USPQ 678 (Bd.App. 1967) and Clinical Products, Ltd. v. Brenner, 255 F. Supp. 131, 149 USPQ 475 (D.D.C. 1966).
Claims 3, 8-9 and 11 recite the phrase “in particular”. The phrase “in particular” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. Correction is required.
Claims 10, 12 and 13 recite the limitation “the mixing of which is carried out”. It is unclear what is mean by this limitation?. Is it means that all the substituents being selected? Or mixtures thereof?. Also the phrase “carried out” is unclear. Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
4 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by Gardi et al. (WO 2006106049 A2)
Gardi et al. ((WO’ 049) teaches compounds having the following formulae (A-7), (A-8), (A-9) and (A-10):
Which are identical to the claimed formula (I), when in the claimed formula (I), R1 and R2 are independently linear or branched alkyl radical having 1 to 20 C atoms and X is H atom as claimed in claims 1, 2, 10 and 12 (see page 50, formula (A-7), page 51, formulae (A-8) and (A-9) and page 52, formula (A-10), wherein the compound having a formula (A-9) is a liquid compound and does not contain any bleaching agent as claimed in claims 4 and 5 (see page 52, lines 7-9). Gardi et al. ((WO’ 049) teaches all the limitations of the instant claims. Hence, Gardi et al. (Gardi) anticipates the claims.
5 Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by Willan et al. (J. Org. Chem. Vol. 46, 1981).
Willan et al. (J. Org. Chem. Vol. 46, 1981) teaches a compound alizarin dimethyl ether having the following formulae:
Which are identical to the claimed formula (I), when in the reference’s formula, R is H (formula 12a) or R is a methyl (Me) group (formula 12b), and when in the claimed formula (I), R1 and R2 are both hydrogen (H) atoms or R1 and R2 are both linear alkyl radicals having 1 C atom as claimed in claims 1-2, 10 and 12 (see page 1059, the formulae 12a and 12b), and wherein the compound alizarin dimethyl ether (anthraquinone or anthracene derivative) is prepared by recrystallization from acetone-ethanol, which inherently should be in a liquid form and does not comprise any bleaching agents as claimed in claims 4 and 5 (see page 1059, second paragraph under the formula 12a or 12b). Willan et al. (J. Org. Chem. Vol. 46, 1981) teaches all the limitations of the instant claims. Hence, Willan et al. (J. Org. Chem. Vol. 46, 1981) anticipates the claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
6 Claim 6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not teach or disclose a washing agent comprising alkyloxy-substituted anthracene-9, 10-dione of the general formula (I) that present as a prefabricated dosage unit with a water-soluble coating as claimed in claim 6.
/EISA B ELHILO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761