DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant's communication filed on 11/15/2023. In virtue of this communication, claims 20 – 31 have been canceled. Claims 1 – 19 and 32 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1- 19 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (hereinafter “Park”) (Pub # US 2021/0258865 A1) in view of Kumar et al. (hereinafter “Kumar”) (Pub # US 2022/0030453 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Park discloses a method performed by a wireless device (see wireless device 1502 in FIG. 15A comprising a transceiver (see 1520 in FIG. 15A); a memory (see 1520 in FIG. 15A); and at least one processor (see 1518 in FIG. 15A / 1531 in FIG. 15B) operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory) in a wireless communication system (see FIG. 1B), the method comprising:
receiving, from a network (see network 150 in FIG. 1B), network slice information including information related to a specific network slice supported by a specific frequency (see [0200] for a specific frequency band is used to access a specific network slice, see [0203] – [0205] for the network node determining a frequency band that sufficiently support one or more network slices that the wireless device uses for wireless communications, i.e., network slice (e.g., a V2X network slice) uses a specific frequency band, see [0180], [0225], [0254] – [0260] for the wireless device receives configuration parameters indicating at least one uplink that is allowed to use for transmission of transport blocks of a logical channel that is associated with a network slice);
acquiring network slice restrictions information including information related to a restriction related to the specific network slice (see [0203] – [0204], [0225], [0244], [0275] – [0276], [0281] for radio spectrum supported by a network slice is defined and/or restricted, i.e., the wireless devices is restricted to one or more frequencies to be used for the network slice);
determining that the specific network slice is not intended to be used, based on the network slice restrictions information (see [0201], [0244] for the wireless device make a selection based on one or more criteria (e.g., carrier frequency priority, area restriction, etc.), and the selected node (i.e., cell) is not served the wireless device with a requested service).
Park teaches about mobility management in cells within a RAN area, cell selection based on carrier frequency priority, area restriction, etc., and the cell is not served the wireless device (see [0089], [0201], [0244]).
Park does not disclose applying relaxed Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurements on the specific frequency.
In an analogous art, Kumar discloses that applying relaxed Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurements on the specific frequency (i.e., particular frequency carrier) (see Kumar, [0060], [0069] – [0071] where Kumar is discussing cells that are not serving the UE, the UE is capable of performing RRM measurements for purposes of RRM, wherein RRM measurement parameters include a number of RRM measurements that are to be performed for a particular frequency carrier in a cell, include a frequency or time duration between RRM measurements for a particular frequency carrier in a cell, include whether the UE is to perform RRM measurements for a particular frequency carrier, and the UE reduce or relax the RRM measurement for a particular frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Park, and have applying relaxed RRM measurements on the specific frequency thereby enables the UE to reduce resource consumption (e.g., processing resources, memory resources, battery resources, radio resources, and/or the like) while maintaining a high level of handover reliability and mobility reliability, as discussed by Kumar (see Kumar, [0058], [0060]).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Park in view of Kumar disclose wherein the network slice restrictions information is acquired from a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) of the wireless device (see Park, [0051] for 5G supports V2X communication, and see [0225] for the configuration of the frequency range of the network slice (i.e., restricted to) is configured within a subscriber identification module (SIM) card, thus obviously USIM in 5G).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Park in view of Kumar disclose receiving, from the network, the network slice restrictions information via broadcast signaling or dedicated signaling (see Park, [0120], [0121], [0201], [0225]).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Park in view of Kumar disclose wherein the network slice restrictions information includes information related to another restriction related to another network slice (see Park, [0199] – [0200], [0203], [0222], [0236]).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Park in view of Kumar disclose wherein the restriction related to the specific network slice is depending on a specific area (see Park, FIG. 19, FIG. 20, [0201], [0221], [0222], [0236]).
Regarding claim 6, Park in view of Kumar disclose wherein the network slice restrictions information includes information informing that the specific network slice is allowed to be used in the specific area (see Park, 1920 in FIG. 19, 2015 in FIG. 20, [0201], [0221], [0256]).
Regarding claim 7, Park in view of Kumar disclose wherein it is determined that the specific network slice is not intended to be used, based on that the wireless device is not located in the specific area (see Park, FIG. 19, FIG. 20, [0209], [0218] - [0222]).
Regarding claim 8, Park in view of Kumar disclose wherein the specific area is a geographical area and/or a tracking area (see Park, [0048], [0057], [0089] – [0091], [0202]).
Regarding claim 9, Park in view of Kumar disclose wherein the restriction related to the specific network slice is depending on registration of one or more network slices (see Park, [0090], [0201], [0205] – [0207]).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Park in view of Kumar disclose wherein the network slice restrictions information includes information related to a certain time period in which the specific network slice is intended to be use; wherein it is determined that the specific network slice is not intended to be used, based on that a current time is not in the certain time period (see Park, [0121], [0198], [0200] – [0205], [0210] for wireless resources including time period for cells support or not support network slice).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Park in view of Kumar disclose receiving, from the network, a first configuration for normal RRM measurements (i.e., baseline RRM measurement parameters); and receiving, from the network, a second configuration (i.e., reduced RRM measurement time duration relative to the baseline RRM measurement time duration) for the relaxed RRM measurements, wherein the second configuration includes relaxed RRM measurements criteria (i.e., reduced time duration) (see Kumar, [0069], [0105]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Park, and have receiving from the network a first configuration for normal RRM measurements and receiving a second configuration for the relaxed RRM measurements, thereby enables the UE to reduce resource consumption (e.g., processing resources, memory resources, battery resources, radio resources, and/or the like) while maintaining a high level of handover reliability and mobility reliability, as discussed by Kumar (see Kumar, [0058], [0060]).
Regarding claim 14, Park in view of Kumar disclose wherein the wireless device is in communication with at least one of a user equipment, a network, or an autonomous vehicle other than the wireless device (see Park, FIG. 1A, 1B, see [0204] for V2X communication).
Regarding claim 32, Park discloses a base station (see BS 1504 in FIG. 15A) in a wireless communication system (see FIG. 1B, FIG. 15A) comprising:
a transceiver (see 1510 in FIG. 15A); a memory (see 1514 in FIG. 15A); and a processor (see 1508 in FIG. 15A) operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, and configured to:
control the transceiver to provide, to a wireless device (see wireless device 1502 in FIG. 15A), network slice information (see [0225], [0254] – [0260] for the wireless device receives, from the base station, parameters indicating one or more frequency ranges for a network slice);
control the transceiver to provide, to the wireless device, network slice restrictions information (see [0203] – [0204], [0225], [0244], [0275] – [0276], [0281] for the BS assists in selecting/determining a frequency band that may sufficiently support one or more wireless resources (e.g., network slices) that that wireless device use/require for wireless communications, a radio spectrum supported by the wireless resource (e.g., a network slice) is defined and/or restricted).
Park does not disclose that control the transceiver to provide, to the wireless device, RRM measurements rules.
In an analogous art, Kumar discloses that control the transceiver to provide, to the wireless device, RRM measurements rules (see Kumar, [0009] for the BS transmits an indication of an RRM measurement parameter range; and wherein determining the one or more RRM measurement parameters includes determining the one or more RRM measurement parameters based at least in part on the mobility prediction for the UE and the RRM measurement parameter range, thus obviously RRM measurements rules, also see [0069] – [0071] where Kumar is discussing reduce or relax the RRM measurement parameters for particular cells and/or frequency carriers, relative to baseline RRM measurement parameters for the UE and/or for the wireless network, based at least in part on the mobility prediction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Park, and have control the transceiver to provide, to the wireless device, RRM measurements rules, thereby enables the UE to reduce resource consumption (e.g., processing resources, memory resources, battery resources, radio resources, and/or the like) while maintaining a high level of handover reliability and mobility reliability, as discussed by Kumar (see Kumar, [0058], [0060]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is Kim et al. (2021/0289438) for access information is information stored in a subscriber identity module/universal subscriber identity module (SIM/USIM) of a terminal.
/MONG-THUY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645