DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “configured for use automated storage and retrieval system” in lines 1-2, which appears to be a typo.
Claim 15 recites “delivery loading fame” in line 2, which appears to be a typo.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “that predetermined location” in the second-to-last line, but it is not clear whether this refers to the first group of predetermined locations or to the second group of predetermined locations. Claims 2-20 are dependent on indefinite claim 1.
Claim 5 recites “the one or more processors”, which lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kropp (US 2019/0210799 A1).
Consider claim 1. As best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections above, Kropp teaches a delivery container handling apparatus configured for use automated storage and retrieval system, the delivery container handling apparatus comprising: a gantry (54); a delivery container handler (48) including a first pushing arm (84) and being received on the gantry such that the delivery container handler is moveable on the gantry; the delivery container handling apparatus being configured, in use, to: move the delivery container handler on the gantry to one of a first group of predetermined locations (30) to receive a delivery container from an automated storage and retrieval system; move the delivery container handler to one of a second group of predetermined locations (52) selected relative to a delivery loading frame; and activate the first pushing arm to move a delivery container into a first position for a delivery loading frame at that predetermined location relative to the delivery loading frame (see fig. 4).
Consider claim 2. Kropp teaches that the first group of predetermined locations comprises: locations selected based on an output of one or more spurs (input shaft 30) from an automated storage and retrieval system.
Consider claim 3. Kropp teaches that the second group of predetermined locations comprises: a plurality of locations (52) selected to be adjacent to a respective plurality of positions within a delivery loading frame (50, see fig. 5).
Consider claim 4. Kropp teaches that the delivery container handling apparatus is configured such that the gantry will move the delivery container handler in a first and/or a second direction (y, z), and the pushing arm of the delivery container handler will move the delivery container in a third direction (x), wherein the first direction, the second direction and the third direction are orthogonal.
Consider claims 5 and 6. As best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections above, Kropp teaches that the delivery container handling apparatus comprises: one or more optical sensors (134) and one or more processor units (128), the one or more processors being configured in communication with the one or more processor units. Kropp’s apparatus is capable of performing the recited functional language: processing data generated by the one or more optical sensors to determine a position of the delivery container handler relative to a delivery loading frame, and processing data generated by the one or more optical sensors to determine a position of one or more features of the delivery loading frame. Please see MPEP 2114 regarding functional limitations in apparatus claims.
Consider claim 7. Kropp teaches that the delivery container handler comprises: a retractable element (82) configured to be selectively activated in use to retain a delivery container at a predetermined position on the delivery container handler.
Consider claim 8. Kropp teaches that the delivery container handler is configured to, in use, be inclined relative to the delivery container handling apparatus (see claim 12).
Consider claim 10. Kropp teaches that the delivery container handler comprises: a second pushing arm (82) configured with the delivery container handling apparatus to, in use, after the first pushing arm has pushed the delivery container into a delivery loading frame, be activated such that the second pushing arm will move the delivery container from a first position within a delivery loading frame to a second position within the delivery loading frame.
Consider claim 11. Kropp teaches that the delivery container handler comprises: a detector (134). Kropp’s detector is capable of performing the recited functional language: detecting any objects which protrude from a top of a delivery container when the delivery container is present in the delivery container handler. Please see MPEP 2114 regarding functional limitations in apparatus claims.
Consider claim 12. Kropp teaches that the first pushing arm comprises: a retractable region (region occupied by 70 in fig. 4) configured, in use, to be retracted when a delivery container is received from an automated storage and retrieval system.
Consider claim 13. Kropp teaches that the retractable region of the first pushing arm is configured, in use, to be extended such that the retractable region pushes a delivery container when the first pushing arm is activated (see arrow 78 in fig. 4).
Consider claim 14. Kropp teaches that the delivery container handling apparatus comprises: one or more delivery loading frames (50) configured and adapted to receive a plurality of delivery containers.
Consider claim 16. Kropp teaches a delivery container handling apparatus according to claim 1 (see prior art rejection above), in combination with: a delivery loading frame (50).
Consider claim 17. Kropp teaches that the second group of predetermined locations comprises: a plurality of locations (52) selected to be adjacent to a respective plurality of positions within a delivery loading frame (50).
Consider claim 18. Kropp teaches that the delivery container handling apparatus is configured such that the gantry will move the delivery container handler in a first and/or a second direction (y, z), and the pushing arm of the delivery container handler will move the delivery container in a third direction (x), wherein the first direction, the second direction and the third direction are orthogonal.
Consider claim 19. Kropp teaches that the delivery container handling apparatus comprises: one or more optical sensors (134) and one or more processor units (128), the one or more processors being configured in communication with the one or more processor units. Kropp’s apparatus is capable of performing the recited functional language: processing data generated by the one or more optical sensors to determine a position of the delivery container handler relative to a delivery loading frame. Please see MPEP 2114 regarding functional limitations in apparatus claims.
Consider claim 20. Kropp teaches that the delivery container handler comprises: a retractable element (82) configured to be selectively activated in use to retain a delivery container at a predetermined position on the delivery container handler.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kropp (US 2019/0210799 A1) in view of Delaporte (US 2019/0210221 A1).
Consider claim 9. Kropp teaches that the delivery container handler is rotatably coupled to the delivery container handling apparatus (see claim 12), but does not explicitly teach an actuator as specifically claimed. Delaporte teaches that a delivery container handler (11) rotatably coupled to a delivery container handling apparatus (109) and the delivery container handler comprises: an actuator (54, 95, 97) which is configured to, in use, be activated to incline the support relative to the apparatus (see fig. 7). It would have been obvious to modify Kropp’s delivery container handler with an actuator as taught by Delaporte in order to provide an automatic actuation means to drive rotation of the delivery container handler.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The attached PTO-892 lists references which teach various delivery container handling apparatuses having pushing/pulling arms.
/JONATHAN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652