DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6, 8-11, 29-30, 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akita, et. al. (US2004/0234849A1), in view of He, et. al. (US11108089B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Akita teaches an electrode assembly (electrode unit 2) comprising a first electrode (positive electrode 21), a second electrode (negative electrode 23), and a separator (separator 22) interposed therebetween are therebetween, the first electrode, the second electrode, and the separator being wound based on around a winding axis in a winding axis direction (“[0003] The rolled-up electrode unit 2 comprises a positive electrode 21, separator 22 and negative electrode 23 which are each in the form of a strip. The positive and negative electrodes 21, 23 are lapped over respective separators 22, displaced from the separator widthwise thereof, and rolled up into a spiral form”) to define a core (roughly corresponding to the circular portion beneath center hole 54 in Fig. 2, shown as a circle in Fig. 6) and an outer circumference of the electrode assembly (i.e. the surrounding roll, including the cell can 1), wherein the first electrode includes a first active material portion coated with an active material layer and a first uncoated portion not coated with an active material layer along the winding direction (“[0036] The positive electrode 41 has a coated portion coated with the positive electrode active material 44 and a noncoated portion not coated with the active material. The negative electrode 43 also has a coated portion coated with the negative electrode active material 46 and a noncoated portion not coated with the active material”). Akita at [0036].
However, Akita is silent as to wherein the first uncoated portion includes a plurality of segments independently bendable along the winding direction and extending beyond the separator, wherein the plurality of segments are aligned to overlap each other along a radial direction of the electrode assembly to form define a plurality of segment alignments spaced apart in a circumferential direction of the electrode assembly, and wherein an electrolyte impregnation portion in which an end of the first active material portion is exposed between winding turns of the separator is included between adjacent segment alignments of the first uncoated portion adjacent in the circumferential direction. However, because Akita teaches a separator 42 is impregnated with a nonaqueous electrolyte.
Fig 2-3, 6 of Akita.
He teaches a battery cell, wherein the electrode sheet 1 comprises a plurality of first and second current collectors 11, 12. He at [0087]. Here, these current collectors are an “uncoated portion,” and comprise “metal foils.” Id. at [0086]. The second current collector 21 may comprise a starting section 211 (comprising a portion comprising a second active material layer, which makes this the “coated portion”). This current collector comprises a first bending segment 212. Id. at [0087-88]. This provides the benefit of “This arrangement may make it unnecessary to apply an insulating adhesive on a surface of the electrode tab inside the cell 10 , and may omit a first current collector 11 with this opposite region in a cell structure of the related art, such that a thickness of the cell may become smaller, and energy density of the cell may be increased. Additionally, since the opposite region is not provided, the second current collector 21 is not in direct contact with the first current collector 11 inside the cell 10 , and an internal short circuit of the cell 10 may be prevented, thereby further improving the safety of the cell 10.” Further, this current collector my comprise second and third bending segments 214, 216; further, the separator 311 comprises bending extending portions such that “In the thickness (T) direction of the cell 10 , the first electrode tab 4 and the second electrode tab 5 do not respectively overlap with the first separator bending segment 311 d , and/or the first electrode tab 4 and the second electrode tab 5 do not respectively overlap with the second separator bending segment 312 d . This arrangement may enhance the space utilization rate of the cell 10 , reduce the thickness of the cell 10 , and further enhance the energy density of the cell 10.” These bending portions extend “in the winding direction of the cell,” which due to its substantially ovular or roll shape is “radial” and “circumferential.” Finally, “[0115] a portion from a winding start point of the starting section 211 of the second current collector 21 to a position where the starting section 211 is bent for the first time is defined as a bending portion 219 , and the bending portion 219 may be disposed between the first separator bending segment 311 d and the second separator bending segment 312 d , such that this arrangement may facilitate the realization of the winding process. [0116] In some embodiments of the present disclosure, in the thickness (T) direction of the cell 10 , the first electrode tab 4 and the second electrode tab 5 do not respectively overlap with the bending portion 219.” These portions, taking the teachings of Fig. 13 and 14 together with the textual teaching of the segments, present “first uncoated portion includes a plurality of segments independently bendable along the winding direction and extending beyond the separator, wherein the plurality of segments are aligned to overlap each other along a radial direction of the electrode assembly to form define a plurality of segment alignments spaced apart in a circumferential direction of the electrode assembly.” Regarding “overlap each other in a radial direction,” while the figures do not present numerals showing the alternating nature of the current collectors, because the same hashed / dotted lines are shown in an alternating manner, and a battery requires a “stack” of positive and negative portions which exchange electrons, these segments overlap along a radial direction based roughly on the placement of the portions shown in Fig. 14, for example, in a radial direction extending outwards from the core of the jelly roll type battery cell. Further, if applied to Akita, a separator is an “electrolyte impregnation portion,” and the arrangement of the separator of He teaches a portion “in which an end of the first active material portion is exposed between winding turns of the separator is included between adjacent segment alignments of the first uncoated portion adjacent in the circumferential direction.”
Fig. 13 – 14 of He, showing the bent portions 211, 213, 214, 219, and 311 in cross section.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the electrode assembly of Akita, such that “the first uncoated portion includes a plurality of segments independently bendable along the winding direction and extending beyond the separator, wherein the plurality of segments are aligned to overlap each other along a radial direction of the electrode assembly to form define a plurality of segment alignments spaced apart in a circumferential direction of the electrode assembly, and wherein an electrolyte impregnation portion in which an end of the first active material portion is exposed between winding turns of the separator is included between adjacent segment alignments of the first uncoated portion adjacent in the circumferential direction,” because He teaches a benefit to reducing thickness, improving energy density, and improving safety.
Claim 1 is obvious over Akita, in view of He.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Akita.
He teaches the segments of each segment alignment are bent along the radial direction of the electrode assembly. He at Fig. 13-14, [0086 – 90].
Claim 2 is obvious over Akita, in view of He.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Akita.
He teaches the plurality of segment alignments extend radially along the radial direction of the electrode assembly. He at Fig. 13-14, [0086 – 90].
Claim 3 is obvious over Akita, in view of He.
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 4 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Akita.
He teaches the plurality of segment alignments are spaced at regular intervals along the circumferential direction of the electrode assembly. He at Fig. 13-14, [0086 – 90].
Claim 4 is obvious over Akita, in view of He.
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Akita.
He teaches the plurality of segment alignments are spaced at regular intervals along the circumferential direction of the electrode assembly. He at Fig. 13-14, [0086 – 90]. Some of these segments are in line, i.e. 180 degrees from one another in Fig. 14, or within a column which may be interpreted as at 90 degrees from one another. However, while line segments along the curve form an angle with adjacent segments, the precise angle of these are not specified.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the electrode assembly of Akita, such that an angle between adjacent segment alignments the circumferential direction of the electrode assembly is 90 degrees, 120 degrees or 180 degrees because changes in shape are obvious absent persuasive evidence that the configuration of components is significant. Here, because most of the segments do have the claimed alignment within the base device, one of ordinary skill in the art would not expect small changes in the alignment of the bendable portions to change the operation of the device, particularly considering these portions themselves bend and thereby would be expected to have some variance in alignment.
Claim 5 is obvious over Akita, in view of He.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Akita.
He teaches the plurality of segments have a same length in the winding direction. He at Fig. 14 (wherein the segments shown in cross section, i.e. a directional length, have the same length pictorially).
Claim 6 is obvious over Akita, in view of He.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 6 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Akita.
He teaches each segment alignment has a rectangular or fan shape when viewed in along the winding axis direction of the electrode assembly. He at Fig. 14 (wherein the linear segments are “rectangular” when viewed along the winding axis rather than in cross section due to their linear representation in this figure).
Claim 8 is obvious over Akita, in view of He.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Akita.
He teaches an electrolyte impregnation portion (i.e., a separator), and a plurality of segment alignments; pictorially, the linear length of the separator in cross section is larger than the those of the segment alignments, even as a summation of their relative areas. He at Fig. 14. However, the area is not fully disclosed.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the electrode assembly of Akita, such that wherein, when viewed in along the winding axis direction of the electrode assembly, an area of the electrolyte impregnation portion is larger than an area of the plurality of segment alignments, because changes in shape are obvious absent persuasive evidence that the configuration of components is significant. Here, because the relative layers should be comparable in width / height, and because the bending segments are intended to reduce the thickness of the cell and thereby have reduced volume compared to the remainder of the separator / current collector portions, it would be expected that, in the case that the area of the electrolyte impregnation portion is larger than an area of the plurality of segment alignments, that there would be no change in operation from the device as previously modified.
Claim 9 is obvious over Akita, in view of He.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Akita.
He teaches “[0112] In some embodiments of the present disclosure, as illustrated in FIGS. 1 to 14, the separator starting section 31 may include a first separator starting segment 311 and a second separator starting segment 312 , and in the thickness (T) direction of the cell 10 , the starting segment 211 of the second current collector 21 may be disposed between the first separator starting segment 311 and the second separator starting segment 312 .[0113] In the winding direction of the cell 10 , a portion from a winding start point of the first separator starting segment 311 to a position where the first separator starting segment 311 is bending for the first time is defined as a first separator bending segment 311 d.” This starting segment 311 is “spaced apart” from an end of the separator (the other end of 312) by the starting segment 211 (which comprises the active material layer, being the coated portion, unlike the uncoated bending segment). Consequently, He teaches a battery cell wherein, when viewed in a cross section of the electrolyte impregnation portion taken along the winding axis, an end of the first active material portion is spaced apart from an end of the separator toward a center of the electrode assembly.
Claim 10 is obvious over Akita, in view of He.
Regarding Claim 11, Claim 11 relies upon Claim 10. Claim 10 is obvious over modified Akita.
He teaches a separation distance between the end of the first active material portion and the end of the separator, but is silent as to the precise distance.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the electrode assembly of Akita, such that a separation distance between the end of the first active material portion and the end of the separator is 0.6 mm to 1.0 mm, because where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Claim 11 is obvious over Akita, in view of He.
Regarding Claim 29, Claim 29 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Akita.
Akita teaches the second electrode includes a second active material portion coated with an active material layer and a second uncoated portion not coated with an active material layer along the winding direction (“[0036] The positive electrode 41 has a coated portion coated with the positive electrode active material 44 and a noncoated portion not coated with the active material. The negative electrode 43 also has a coated portion coated with the negative electrode active material 46 and a noncoated portion not coated with the active material”).
He teaches the second uncoated portion includes a plurality of segments independently bendable (bent portions 211, 213, 214, 219, and 311) along the winding direction and extending beyond the separator, the plurality of segments of the second uncoated portion are aligned along the radial direction of the electrode assembly to define a plurality of segment alignments spaced apart in the circumferential direction, and an electrolyte impregnation portion (i.e, the separator) in which an end of the second uncoated portion is exposed between winding turns of the separator is included between adjacent segment alignments of the second uncoated portion in the circumferential direction of the electrode assembly. He at [0087 – 90, 115], Fig. 4.
Claim 29 is obvious over Akita, in view of He.
Regarding Claim 30, Claim 30 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Akita.
Akita teaches a battery housing including an open end (cell can 1) and a bottom portion facing the open end (bottom portion 15), the battery housing being configured to accommodate the electrode assembly in a space between the open end and the bottom portion (see Fig. 1 of Akita), the battery housing being electrically connected to one of the first electrode and the second electrode to have a first polarity (“[0033] The cell can 1 comprises a cylinder 15 having a bottom, and a lid 11 fixed to an opening portion of the cylinder 15, with an insulating member 12 fitted therein around the lid. The cell can 1 is 30 mm in outside diameter and 65 mm in length. A positive electrode terminal 18 having a safety valve 14 inside thereof is attached to the lid 11 of the can 1 and provides a positive electrode terminal assembly 13. The bottom of the cylinder 15 provides a negative electrode terminal assembly 17”); a sealing body configured to seal the open end of the battery housing (lid 11); and a terminal having a surface exposed to the outside (see [0033] and outside the battery housing, the terminal being electrically connected to the other another of the first electrode and the second electrode to have a second polarity (see [0033]; the positive electrode terminal assembly 13 connects all of one polarity to the positive electrode terminal 18).
Claim 30 is obvious over Akita, in view of He.
Regarding Claim 34, Claim 34 relies upon Claim 30. Claim 30 is obvious over modified Akita.
Akita teaches the second electrode includes a second active material portion coated with an active material layer and a second uncoated portion not coated with an active material layer along the winding direction (i.e., another current collector plate 9 and extending lead portion 91), the second electrode has the first polarity (see [0007-8, 41), and wherein the battery further comprises a second current collecting plate electrically connected to the second uncoated portion (see above), wherein-at least a part of an edge of the second current collecting plate being coupled to a sidewall of the battery housing (“[0040] The flat body 51 of the current collector plate 50 is further provided, on the surface thereof to be joined to the bottomed cylinder 15, with a flat region R extending on a circular closed-loop track having a predetermined radius and provided around the center hole 54. Each circular-arc protrusion 52 of the current collector plate 50 has at the intersection thereof with the closed-loop track a flat portion 56 flush with the surface of the flat body 51 as shown in FIG. 3. The raised pieces 53 are formed outside the flat region R. Accordingly, the flat region is in intimate contact with the bottom surface of the cylinder 15 when the current collector plate 50 is placed on the bottom of the cylinder 15 as shown in FIG. 1.
[0041] In the process for fabricating the secondary cell of the invention, the current collector plate 5 for the positive electrode is pressed against current collector edge portions 48 provided at an end portion of the rolled-up electrode unit 4 as shown in FIGS. 7 and 9.” Akita at [0040 – 4], Fig. 6.
Claim 34 is obvious over Akita, in view of He.
Regarding Claim 35, Claim 35 relies upon Claim 34. Claim 34 is obvious over modified Akita.
Akita teaches the battery housing includes a beading portion press-fitted inward at an inner wall adjacent to the open end (circular arc protrusions 52), and wherein an edge of the second current collecting plate is electrically connected to the beading portion (“[0044] With the lead portion 55 extending from the current collector plate 5 and welded at its outer end to the rear surface of the lid 11 which has the positive electrode terminal 18 attached thereto, the lid 11 is finally fixed to the opening portion of the cylinder 15 by crimping to complete the secondary cell of the invention”). Akita at [0044], Fig. 6.
Claim 35 is obvious over Akita, in view of He.
Regarding Claim 36, Claim 36 relies upon Claim 35. Claim 35 is obvious over modified Akita.
Akita teaches a cap plate (flat plate 51) having an edge supported by the beading portion (circular arc protrusions 52) and having no polarity ; a gasket interposed between an the edge of the cap plate and the open end of the battery housing (insulating member 12); and a crimping portion extending toward an inner side of the open end of the battery housing to surround and fix the edge of the cap plate together with the gasket, (see the insulating member 12 and lead portion 55 in Fig. 1) wherein the edge of the second current collecting plate is interposed and fixed between the beading portion and the gasket by the crimping portion. Akita at [0007], Fig. 1.
Claim 36 is obvious over Akita, in view of He.
Claims 7, 12-28, 37-41, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano, et. al. (WO2017141613A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Akita.
Modified Akita is silent as to lengths of the plurality of segments in the winding direction increasing gradually.
Urano teaches “Usually, in a prismatic secondary battery, uncoated portions are protruded respectively at both end portions in the winding axis direction of a winding group . . . when an electrode is produced by such a method, the pressure difference generated in the coated part and the uncoated part [occurs] . . . the positive electrode and the negative electrode which are distorted are curved and deformed in the direction of the long side, the deviation becomes large when wound, and it becomes impossible to wrap neatly, which may lead to quality deterioration . . . a plurality of rectangular tabs are punched out from the uncoated portion of the electrode . . . However, at tab pitch intervals of equal pitch, the arrangement position of the tabs is the same as that of the winding group Is limited only to the wound flat portion (straight portion), and is not arranged in the curved portion. Therefore, since the position of the tab deviates by an amount corresponding to the increase in the curved circumference according to the number of turns of winding, the number of turns cannot be increased. Further, in order to further increase the occupancy rate of the electrode active material inside the battery . . . positions of the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab overlap in the thickness direction of the winding group . . . it is an object of the present invention to provide a winding apparatus capable of increasing the number of turns of a winding group and projecting to one side in the winding axis direction of a winding group.” Urano at p.1. In other words, Urano teaches that a) the amount of available “turns,” improves the occupancy rate of the electrode active material, b) the position of the tabs, including pitch, influence the number of turns because the risk of overlapping tabs. Id. To accomplish this, Urano teaches “[p.3] The positive electrode tab set 111 is constituted by at least one tab 110 and is provided at a pitch of the same pattern for each round of the winding group 40, for example. A notch portion 112 is provided between adjacent positive electrode tab sets 111. The positive electrode tab set 111 and the cutaway portion 112 are formed in succession in the longitudinal direction of the positive electrode 41 in order. In the positive electrode 41, the sum Lw of the width La of the tab set and the width Lb of the notch is set to be constant. Therefore, the positive electrode tab set 111 can be formed, for example, by punching using a single die punching die, and the positive electrode 41 can be manufactured easily. The sum Lw of the width La of the tab set and the width Lb of the notch in the positive electrode 41 is previously set longer than the circumferential length of the winding shaft spindle and is longer than the circumferential length of the innermost circumference of the winding group 40 . In this embodiment, at least one tab is set within the length range of one turn of the winding group 40. In the above explanation, the positive electrode was described as an example, but the negative electrode is configured similarly.” Id. Finally, this “pattern” is presented within Fig. 4, wherein the apparent height and width of the tabs appear to increase as they make turns about the battery roll. Id. at Fig. 4.
Fig. 4 of Urano.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the electrode assembly of Akita, such that lengths of the plurality of segments in the winding direction increase, as in Fig. 4 of Urano, because Urano teaches a benefit to the number of turns and thereby occupancy rate of the electrode active material of the battery. Further, it would be obvious because Urano identifies the pitch, width, and length of the tabs as interrelated, result effective variables which control the amount of available turns without tabs overlapping, which would be obvious to modify as a result of routine optimization.
Claim 7 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Akita.
Modified Akita teaches lengths and pitches of the plurality of segments in the winding direction are assigned with values substantially equal to values mathematically designed using a predetermined length of a segment in the winding direction (“winding circumferential length L at the start of winding”) via routine optimization. Regarding, to “and a predetermined angle between adjacent segment alignments in the circumferential direction based on an approximate winding turn structure in which semicircles having periodically increasing radii are connected in the winding direction” this “increasing semicircle” structure is shown via Fig. 1-2 of He; the presence of bending portions along this semicircle implicitly discloses a predetermined angle between segments, similarly aimed at maximizing the amount of turns.
Urano teaches the height, width, and pitch of the tabs, and thereby segment alignments of modified Akita, are result effective variables which modify the amount of turns which may fit within the roll, which in turn determines electrode active material occupancy rate. For this reason, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the relative heights of the segments through routine optimization, such that a predetermined angle between adjacent segment alignments in the circumferential direction based on an approximate winding turn structure in which semicircles having periodically increasing radii are connected in the winding direction.
Claim 12 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 relies upon Claim 12. Claim 12 is obvious over modified Akita.
Modified Akita teaches lengths and pitches of the plurality of segments in the winding direction are assigned with values substantially equal to values mathematically designed using a predetermined length of a segment in the winding direction (“winding circumferential length L at the start of winding”) via routine optimization. Regarding, to “and a predetermined angle between adjacent segment alignments in the circumferential direction based on an approximate winding turn structure in which semicircles having periodically increasing radii are connected in the winding direction” this “increasing semicircle” structure is shown via Fig. 1-2 of He; the presence of bending portions along this semicircle implicitly discloses a predetermined angle between segments, similarly aimed at maximizing the amount of turns.
Urano teaches the height, width, and pitch of the tabs, and thereby segment alignments of modified Akita, are result effective variables which modify the amount of turns which may fit within the roll, which in turn determines electrode active material occupancy rate. For this reason, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the relative heights of the segments through routine optimization, such that an n+lth pitch (Dn+I) adjacent to an n+lth segment along the winding direction is assigned with a value substantially equal to a value determined using the following formulas: Case 1: Dn+1=ODn+1 * Rn+1 = (90"-OAn+1) * Rn+1 Case 2: Dn+I=ODn+1 * (Rn+Rn+1)/2 = (90"-OAn+1) * (Rn+Rn+1)/2 (n is an integer greater than or equal to 0; a start point of a first semicircle corresponds to a location of a first segment in the winding direction; Rn is a radius of an nth semicircle; Rn+i is a radius of an n+lt h semicircle; OAn+1 is a circumferential angle of the n+l th segment; ODn+1is a circumferential angle for a pitch of the n+1th segment, wherein the formula of Case 1 is applied when an arc corresponding to the n+lth pitch (Dn+i) is located in the n+lth semicircle, and wherein the formula of Case 2 is applied when the arc corresponding to the n+lth pitch (Dn+I) is located over the nth semicircle and the n+lthsemicircle).
Claim 13 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 relies upon Claim 13. Claim 13 is obvious over modified Akita.
Modified Akita teaches lengths and pitches of the plurality of segments in the winding direction are assigned with values substantially equal to values mathematically designed using a predetermined length of a segment in the winding direction (“winding circumferential length L at the start of winding”) via routine optimization. Regarding, to “and a predetermined angle between adjacent segment alignments in the circumferential direction based on an approximate winding turn structure in which semicircles having periodically increasing radii are connected in the winding direction” this “increasing semicircle” structure is shown via Fig. 1-2 of He; the presence of bending portions along this semicircle implicitly discloses a predetermined angle between segments, similarly aimed at maximizing the amount of turns.
Urano teaches the height, width, and pitch of the tabs, and thereby segment alignments of modified Akita, are result effective variables which modify the amount of turns which may fit within the roll, which in turn determines electrode active material occupancy rate. For this reason, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the relative heights of the segments through routine optimization, such that the semicircles have radii increasing by Δ/2 (Δ is an interval between adjacent winding turns) at every 1/2 winding turn.
Claim 14 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 15 relies upon Claim 14. Claim 14 is obvious over modified Akita.
Modified Akita teaches lengths and pitches of the plurality of segments in the winding direction are assigned with values substantially equal to values mathematically designed using a predetermined length of a segment in the winding direction (“winding circumferential length L at the start of winding”) via routine optimization. Regarding, to “and a predetermined angle between adjacent segment alignments in the circumferential direction based on an approximate winding turn structure in which semicircles having periodically increasing radii are connected in the winding direction” this “increasing semicircle” structure is shown via Fig. 1-2 of He; the presence of bending portions along this semicircle implicitly discloses a predetermined angle between segments, similarly aimed at maximizing the amount of turns.
Urano teaches the height, width, and pitch of the tabs, and thereby segment alignments of modified Akita, are result effective variables which modify the amount of turns which may fit within the roll, which in turn determines electrode active material occupancy rate. For this reason, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the relative heights of the segments through routine optimization, such that wherein Δ has a value substantially equal to a sum of a thickness the first electrode, a thickness of the second electrode, and two times a thickness of the separator.
Claim 15 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 16, Claim 16 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Akita.
Urano teaches a cut groove (notch portion 112) is interposed between adjacent segments along the winding direction (“[p.3] A notch portion 112 is provided between adjacent positive electrode tab sets 111”), and wherein the cut groove includes a lower portion of the cut groove having a bottom portion, and a round portion configured to connect both opposite ends of the bottom portion and sides of the adjacent segments (because the notch crosses between portions of the roll, this bottom portion is formed by the coated or uncoated portion of the electrode). Urano at [p.3.].
Claim 16 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 17, Claim 17 relies upon Claim 16. Claim 16 is obvious over modified Akita.
Urano teaches the bottom portion of the cut groove is spaced apart from the active material layer by a predetermined distance (notch width value B). Urano at [p.3.].
Claim 17 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 18, Claim 18 relies upon Claim 17. Claim 17 is obvious over modified Akita.
Urano teaches the bottom portion of the cut groove is spaced apart from the active material layer by a predetermined distance (notch width value B). Urano at [p.3.].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the electrode assembly, such that it a separation distance between a lower end of the cut groove and the active material layer is 0.2 mm to 4 mm, because where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device; here, there is no indication the relative dimensions would change the operation of the assembly, as the relationships between the groove and the active material layer would be expected to depend primarily on the relative sizing of the entire assembly.
Claim 18 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 19, Claim 19 relies upon Claim 16. Claim 16 is obvious over modified Akita.
He teaches “[0025] In some embodiments of the present disclosure, another surface of the finishing section of the first current collector corresponding to the first electrode tab is provided with an insulating adhesive or a hot melt adhesive.
[0026] In some embodiments of the present disclosure, a surface of the first electrode tab is provided with an insulating adhesive or a hot melt adhesive.” This serves to fix the electrode tab to the separator; as modified by Urano, this logically would be disposed beneath or about the cut groove, such that an insulating coating layer is formed located at a boundary between the active material layer and an area of the uncoated portion in a region where the bottom portion of the cut groove and the active material layer are spaced apart.
Claim 19 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 20, Claim 20 relies upon Claim 16. Claim 16 is obvious over modified Akita.
Urano teaches “each segment alignment includes a radial region in which heights of the segments increase from the core of the electrode assembly toward the outer circumference of the electrode assembly.” See Urano at Fig. 4.
Claim 20 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 21, Claim 21 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Akita.
Urano teaches the height, width, and pitch of the tabs, and thereby segment alignments of modified Akita, are result effective variables which modify the amount of turns which may fit within the roll, which in turn determines electrode active material occupancy rate. For this reason, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the relative heights of the segments through routine optimization, such that each segment alignment includes a height variable region in which heights of the segments increase stepwise from a first height (hi) to an N-1th height (hN-1), N is a natural number of 3 or more) from the core of the electrode assembly toward the outer circumference of the electrode assembly, and a height uniform region in which heights of the segments are uniform as an Nth height (hN, greater than hN-1).
Claim 21 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 22, Claim 22 relies upon Claim 21. Claim 21 is obvious over modified Akita.
As understood, “when a starting radius of a winding turn containing a segment with a height hk (k is a natural number of 1 to N) is defined as rk, 90% or more of a diameter of the core of the electrode assembly is not covered by the bent portion of the segment located at the rk” is covered by the extending bent portion of “a segment” starting at the core of the electrode, because as shown within Fig. 4 of Urano and implied by Fig. 4 of He, the bent portions extend away from the core region and for practical portion almost 0% of a diameter of the core is covered by the segments.
Claim 22 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 23, Claim 23 relies upon Claim 21. Claim 21 is obvious over modified Akita.
Urano teaches the height, width, and pitch of the tabs, and thereby segment alignments of modified Akita, are result effective variables which modify the amount of turns which may fit within the roll; in turn maximizing the amount of turns increases electrode active material occupancy rate. For this reason, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the relative heights of the segments through routine optimization, such that when a starting radius of a winding turn containing a segment with a height hk (k is a natural number of 1 to N) is defined as rk and the radius of the core is rc, the height hk of the segment satisfies the following formula:
2mm ≤ hk ≤ rk – a*rc (α is 0.90 to 1).
Claim 23 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 24, Claim 24 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Akita.
He teaches “This [invention] may make it unnecessary to apply an insulating adhesive on a surface of the electrode tab inside the cell, and may omit a first current collector with this opposite region in a cell structure of the related art, such as the first current collector disposed between the starting section and the second intermediate segment of the second current collector, and disposed between the first bending segment and the third bending segment, or the like, such that a thickness of the cell may become smaller, and the energy density of the cell may be increased, thereby improving operational performance thereof. Additionally, since the opposite region is not provided, the second current collector is not in direct contact with the first current collector inside the cell, and an internal short circuit of the cell may be prevented, thereby further improving the safety of the cell.” He at [00336]. This indicates that, within the segment alignment, there may be a “segment skip region having no segment.”
Urano teaches the height, width, and pitch of the tabs, and thereby segment alignments of modified Akita, are result effective variables which modify the amount of turns which may fit within the roll; in turn maximizing the amount of turns increases electrode active material occupancy rate. For this reason, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the relative heights of the segments through routine optimization, such that wherein, based on a cross section along the winding axis sequentially along the radial direction, each segment alignment includes a segment skip region having no segment, a height variable region where the heights of the segments vary, and a height uniform region where heights of the segments are uniform, and the plurality of segments are disposed in the height variable region and the height uniform region and are bent along the radial direction of the electrode assembly to form define a bending surface region extending along the radial direction.
Claim 24 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 25, Claim 25 relies upon Claim 24. Claim 24 is obvious over modified Akita.
He and Urano at Fig. 4 present a series of bending segments, which follow an imaginary line parallel to the winding axis, such that wherein, when the number of segments meeting an imaginary line parallel to the winding axis direetion-at an arbitrary radius location of the bending surface region based on the acenter of the core of the electrode assembly is defined as a stack number of the segments at the corresponding radius location. He at Fig. 4, Urano at Fig. 4.
Urano teaches the height, width, and pitch of the tabs, and thereby segment alignments of modified Akita, are result effective variables which modify the amount of turns which may fit within the roll; in turn maximizing the amount of turns increases electrode active material occupancy rate. For this reason, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the relative heights of the segments through routine optimization, such that the bending surface region includes a stack number uniform region where the stack number of the segments is uniform from the core toward the outer circumference of the electrode assembly and a stack number decrease decreasing region located at an outer side of the stack number uniform region in which the stack number of the segments decreases toward the outer circumference of the electrode assembly.
Claim 25 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 26, Claim 26 relies upon Claim 25. Claim 25 is obvious over modified Akita.
He and Urano at Fig. 4 present a series of bending segments, which follow an imaginary line parallel to the winding axis, such that wherein, when the number of segments meeting an imaginary line parallel to the winding axis direetion-at an arbitrary radius location of the bending surface region based on the acenter of the core of the electrode assembly is defined as a stack number of the segments at the corresponding radius location. He at Fig. 4, Urano at Fig. 4.
Modified Akita does not set forth the stack number of segments, and only sets forth the dimensions of the cell can 1, namely 30 mm in outside diameter and 65 mm in length. Akita at [0034]. However, Urano does teach a benefit to increasing the number of turns, and logically, an increase in the size of the battery can / size of the apparatus would be expected to increase the total amount of power provided.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery assembly of Akita, such that in the stack number uniform region, the stack number of the segments is 10 to 35, because mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04 (V)(B).
Claim 26 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 27, Claim 27 relies upon Claim 25. Claim 25 is obvious over modified Akita.
Akita teaches the first electrode may comprise a positive electrode.
Modified Akita does not set forth “and a stack thickness of the segments in the stack number uniform region is in the range of 100 µm to 875µm.”
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery assembly of Akita, such that a stack thickness of the segments in the stack number uniform region is in the range of 100 µm to 875µm, because where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Claim 27 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 28, Claim 28 relies upon Claim 25. Claim 25 is obvious over modified Akita.
Akita teaches the first electrode may comprise a negative electrode.
Modified Akita does not set forth “and a stack thickness of the segments in the stack number uniform region is in the range of 100 µm to 875µm.”
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery assembly of Akita, and a stack thickness of segments in the stack number uniform region is in the range of 50 µm to 700µm, because where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Claim 28 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 37, Claim 37 relies upon Claim 30. Claim 30 is obvious over modified Akita.
He teaches “This [invention] may make it unnecessary to apply an insulating adhesive on a surface of the electrode tab inside the cell, and may omit a first current collector with this opposite region in a cell structure of the related art, such as the first current collector disposed between the starting section and the second intermediate segment of the second current collector, and disposed between the first bending segment and the third bending segment, or the like, such that a thickness of the cell may become smaller, and the energy density of the cell may be increased, thereby improving operational performance thereof. Additionally, since the opposite region is not provided, the second current collector is not in direct contact with the first current collector inside the cell, and an internal short circuit of the cell may be prevented, thereby further improving the safety of the cell.” He at [00336]. This indicates that, within the segment alignment, there may be a “segment skip region having no segment.”
Urano teaches the height, width, and pitch of the tabs, and thereby segment alignments of modified Akita, are result effective variables which modify the amount of turns which may fit within the roll, which in turn determines electrode active material occupancy rate. For this reason, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the relative heights of the segments through routine optimization, such that the electrode assembly includes a height variable region where heights of the segments vary, and a height uniform region where heights of the segments are uniform, and the plurality of segments are disposed in the height variable region and the height uniform region and are bent along the radial direction of the electrode assembly to define a bending surface region.
Claim 37 is obvious over Akita, in view He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 38, Claim 38 relies upon Claim 37. Claim 37 is obvious over modified Akita.
He and Urano at Fig. 4 present a series of bending segments, which follow an imaginary line parallel to the winding axis, such that wherein, when the number of segments meeting an imaginary line parallel to the winding axis direetion-at an arbitrary radius location of the bending surface region based on the acenter of the core of the electrode assembly is defined as a stack number of the segments at the corresponding radius location. He at Fig. 4, Urano at Fig. 4.
Urano teaches the height, width, and pitch of the tabs, and thereby segment alignments of modified Akita, are result effective variables which modify the amount of turns which may fit within the roll; in turn maximizing the amount of turns increases electrode active material occupancy rate. For this reason, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the relative heights of the segments through routine optimization, such that the bending surface region includes a stack number uniform region where the stack number of the segments is uniform from the core toward the outer circumference of the electrode assembly and a stack number decrease decreasing region located at an outer side of the stack number uniform region in which the stack number of the segments decreases toward the outer circumference of the electrode assembly.
Claim 38 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 39, Claim 39 relies upon Claim 38. Claim 38 is obvious over modified Akita.
He and Urano at Fig. 4 present a series of bending segments, which follow an imaginary line parallel to the winding axis, such that wherein, when the number of segments meeting an imaginary line parallel to the winding axis direetion-at an arbitrary radius location of the bending surface region based on the acenter of the core of the electrode assembly is defined as a stack number of the segments at the corresponding radius location. He at Fig. 4, Urano at Fig. 4.
Modified Akita does not set forth the stack number of segments, and only sets forth the dimensions of the cell can 1, namely 30 mm in outside diameter and 65 mm in length. Akita at [0034]. However, Urano does teach a benefit to increasing the number of turns, and logically, an increase in the size of the battery can / size of the apparatus would be expected to increase the total amount of power provided.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery assembly of Akita, such that in the stack number uniform region, the stack number of the segments is 10 to 35, because mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04 (V)(B).
Claim 39 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 40, Claim 40 relies upon Claim 38. Claim 38 is obvious over modified Akita.
Akita teaches the first electrode may comprise a positive electrode.
Modified Akita does not set forth “and a stack thickness of the segments in the stack number uniform region is in the range of 100 µm to 875µm.”
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery assembly of Akita, such that a stack thickness of the segments in the stack number uniform region is in the range of 100 µm to 875µm, because where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Claim 40 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 41, Claim 41 relies upon Claim 38. Claim 38 is obvious over modified Akita.
Akita teaches the first electrode may comprise a negative electrode.
Modified Akita does not set forth “and a stack thickness of the segments in the stack number uniform region is in the range of 100 µm to 875µm.”
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery assembly of Akita, and a stack thickness of segments in the stack number uniform region is in the range of 50 µm to 700µm, because where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Claim 41 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 41, Claim 41 relies upon Claim 38. Claim 38 is obvious over modified Akita.
Akita teaches a current collecting plate welded to the bending surface region, wherein, in the radial direction of the electrode assembly, at least 50% of a welding region of the current collecting plate overlaps with the stack number uniform region (because all of the extend leads, as modified, meet and are welded to the current collector plates 50, these are above 50%). Akita at [0003, 15 -22]; regarding the modification, this also implicates He at [00118 – 121], Urano at Fig. 4.
Claim 41 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Urano.
Regarding Claim 43, Claim 43 relies upon Claim 30. Claim 30 is obvious over modified Akita.
Akita teaches the battery is cylindrical, but is silent as to “has a ratio of a diameter to a height greater than 0.4.”
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the electrode assembly of Akita, such that has a ratio of a diameter to a height greater than 0.4, because where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Claim 43 is obvious over Akita, in view of He.
Claims 31 – 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Guen, et. al. (US 20160043378 A1).
Regarding Claim 31, Claim 31 relies upon Claim 30. Claim 30 is obvious over modified Akita.
Akita teaches a first current collecting plate electrically connected to the first uncoated portion (“[0015] The current collector in the form of a strip forming the positive electrode 41 or the negative electrode 43 has a projecting edge 48 at at least one of opposite ends of the electrode unit 4 which one end is opposed to a bottom wall of the cylinder 1” ; see also “[0015] The current collector plate 50 is welded to the bottom wall of the cylinder 15”), wherein the bottom portion of the battery housing includes a perforation hole (see [0007]; the terminal which meets center hole 15).
Modified Akita is silent as to “and wherein the terminal is a rivet terminal that insulated in from the battery housing in the perforation hole formed in the bottom portion of the battery housing and electrically connected to the first current collecting plate to have the second polarity.”
Guen teaches a rechargeable battery, wherein “[051] Negative and positive insulating members 61 and 62 are respectively installed between the negative and positive electrode lead tabs 51 and 52 and the cap plate 20, in order to electrically insulate the negative and positive electrode lead tabs 51 and 52 from the cap plate 20. Further, the negative and positive insulating members 61 and 62 are respectively combined to the cap plate 20 at one side while enclosing the negative and positive electrode lead tabs 51 and 52, the rivet terminals 21a and 22a, and the flanges 21b and 22b at the other side. This may stabilize the connection structure therebetween.”
Fig. 2 of Guen; the Office notes only the teaching of the rivet terminal and cap structure is applied, rather than the electrode structure.
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to further modify the battery of modified Akita, such that it comprises a rivet terminal, such that the terminal is a rivet terminal that insulated in from the battery housing in the perforation hole formed in the bottom portion of the battery housing and electrically connected to the first current collecting plate to have the second polarity, because Guen teaches a benefit to stabilizing the connection structure.
Claim 31 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Guen.
Regarding Claim 32, Claim 32 relies upon Claim 31. Claim 31 is obvious over modified Akita.
Akita teaches an insulator (insulating member 12) which is formed with the cell can 1 and the lead portion 55 to insulate the top portion of the battery housing. Akita t Fig. 1.
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to further modify the battery housing of modified Akita, such that interposed between an inner surface of the bottom portion of the battery housing and an upper surface of the first current collecting plate to electrically insulate the inner surface of the bottom portion of the battery housing from the first current collecting plate, because mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, and Akita teaches this insulator protects the inner surface of the top portion of the battery housing. Akita at Fig. 1.
Claim 32 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Guen.
Regarding Claim 33, Claim 33 relies upon Claim 32. Claim 32 is obvious over modified Akita.
As modified, modified Akita teaches the rivet terminal includes a flat portion at a lower end (see Fig. 2 of Guen), wherein the insulator includes an opening (see Fig. 1, of Akita; note that in cross section, this indicates a ring which exposes an opening to the lead portion 55; see also Fig. 2 of Guen) that exposes the flat portion, and the flat portion is welded to the first current collecting plate through the opening. Fig. 2 of Guen, Fig. 1 of Akita.
Claim 33 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Guen.
Claims 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Chen, et. al. (CN 113097612 A).
Regarding Claim 44, Claim 44 relies upon Claim 43. Claim 43 is obvious over modified Akita.
Modified Akita teaches a cylindrical battery but is silent as to “wherein the battery . . . has a form factor of 46110, 4875, 48110, 4880, or 4680.”
Chen teaches a battery which has a cylindrical structure which improves “the safety of the cylindrical battery,” thanks to its inner recess; Chen teaches that this structure is consistent with 4680 batteries, although this effect is not particularly limited. Chen at [p.1-3].
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to further modify the battery of modified Akita, such that it comprises 4680 battery structure, because Guen teaches a benefit to safety.
Claim 44 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Guen.
Claims 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Zhang, et. al. (CN 107331809 A).
Regarding Claim 45, Claim 45relies upon Claim 30. Claim 30 is obvious over modified Akita.
Modified Akita teaches a cylindrical battery but is silent as to “wherein the battery has a resistance of 4 miliohmmilliohm or below.”
Zhang teaches that “The existing 18650 battery or 26650 battery is mainly made of a single-pole ear or a two-pole ear. The manufactured battery has a relatively large internal resistance of 8-15 milliohms, which is not suitable for a battery with a high rate of rapid charge and discharge.” Zhang at p.1. Zhang teaches “First, the battery's internal resistance is greatly reduced to 2-3 milliohms, suitable for high-rate charge and discharge.” Zhang at p. 1-3.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would find it obvious to further modify the battery of modified Akita, such that its resistance is 3-4 to 2-3 milliohms, because this provides a benefit of being suitable for high-rate charge and discharge.
Claim 45 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Zhang.
Claims 46-49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Guo, et. al. (US 20200144582 A1).
Regarding Claim 46, Claim 46 relies upon Claim 30. Claim 30 is obvious over modified Akita.
Modified Akita teaches a cylindrical battery but is silent as to a battery pack.
Guo teaches “[0003] A high voltage battery pack typically powers the electric machines and other electrical loads of the electrified vehicle. The battery pack includes a plurality of battery cells that store energy. The battery cells must be reliably connected to one another in order to achieve the voltage and power levels necessary for powering these electrical loads. Busbars are commonly used to connect the battery cells.”
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to further modify the battery of modified Akita, such that it comprises a battery pack comprising the battery cells of modified Akita, because Guo teaches such a structure permits the user to achieve the voltage and power levels required for high loads like an electric vehicle.
Claim 46is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Guo.
Regarding Claim 46, Claim 46 relies upon Claim 30. Claim 30 is obvious over modified Akita.
Guo teaches “[0047] This disclosure is not limited to pouch cells, however. In particular, prismatic, lithium-ion cells and cells having other geometries (cylindrical, etc.) and/or other chemistries (nickel-metal hydride, lead-acid, etc.) could alternatively be utilized within the scope of this disclosure.” Regarding “wherein the plurality of batteries are cylindrical, and wherein the plurality of batteries are arranged in a predetermined number of columns, and the electrode terminal of each battery and an outer surface of the bottom portion of the battery housing are arranged to face upward,” because Guo teaches “[0045]The battery cells 56 may be stacked side-by-side along a longitudinal axis A to construct a grouping of battery cells 56 , sometimes referred to as a “cell stack” with the former stipulation, this indicates the “side-by-side” configuration is arranged in the claimed direction; see also Fig. 3 below, indicating these are connected by a busbar 60, standing upward.
Claim 46 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Guo.
Regarding Claim 48, Claim 48 relies upon Claim 47. Claim 47 is obvious over modified Akita.
Guo teaches a plurality of bus bars (multiple busbars 60, 60A, 60’) configured to connect the plurality of batteries in series and parallel, wherein the plurality of bus bars are disposed at an upper portion of the plurality of batteries (Fig. 2), and wherein each bus bar includes: a body portion configured to extend between electrode terminals of adjacent batteries; a plurality of first bus bar terminals configured to extend in a first direction from the body portion and are electrically coupled to an-electrode terminal=terminals of a batteries located in the first direction; and a plurality of second bus bar terminals configured to extend in a second direction of the body portion and ar eelectrically coupled to surfaces of the bottom-bottom portions of the battery housings of he batteries located in the second direction. Guo at [0048 – 54], Fig. 2 (“[0051] The terminals 58 A- 58 E of the groups G are electrically coupled to the busbar 60 . Multiple groups G of the battery cells 56 can be arranged along the axis A within the battery assembly 25 . The terminals of the battery cells in each of the other groups G are secured to other respective busbars 60.”).
Claim 48 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Guo.
Regarding Claim 48, Claim 48 relies upon Claim 47. Claim 47 is obvious over modified Akita.
Guo teaches a vehicle ([0005]); modified Akita teaches a vehicle comprising the battery pack according to Claim 46.
Claim 49 is obvious over Akita, in view of He, further in view of Guo.
Conclusion
/K.R.H./Examiner , Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725