DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 5, this claim requires “using a second reduction gas”, however claim 1 from which Claim 5 depends, already requires a second reduction gas; therefore, an antecedent basis issue arises as it is unclear if the recited second reduction gas is intended to further describe the recited second reduction gas of claim 1 or if it is a separate gas, making the metes and bounds of the claims indefinite; claims 6-14 are rejected from their dependency on claim 5.
Regarding Claim 13, this claim requires a pre-reduction and end reduction zone, however claim 1 similarly already requires this limitation, therefore an antecedent basis issue arises as it is unclear if the pre- and end-reduction zones from claim 1 are being further limited or if these are separate zones.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bueno et al. (US6395055B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Bueno teaches s process for direct reduction of iron ore to sponge iron, (direct reduction of mineral iron, See Abstract)
wherein the iron ore passes through a reduction zone for reducing the iron ore to sponge iron (reduction reactor, Col. 2, Lines 5-10)
wherein the reduction zone is subdivided into a pre-reduction zone 12 (first stage) supplied with a first reduction gas 17 (Col. 2, Lines 10-19)
and into an end-reduction zone 14 supplied with a second reduction gas 18 (Col. 2, Lines 20-28) (See Fig 1)
wherein the first reduction gas has a different gas composition compared to the second reduction gas as the gas moves up from the first reduction zone to the second where the reaction in the bottom section forms a “high content of H2 and CO” (Col. 2, Lines 40-55); one of ordinary skill in the art would expect a significant difference in hydrogen volume from one section to the other to represent the “high” formation of hydrogen, more than the claimed 5% volume difference; alternatively on of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to ensure final conversion in the second region is as high as possible, forming as much hydrogen as possible including the claimed difference for the purpose of forming as much reduced Fe in the reaction Fe+CH4=Fe+2H2+CO as taught by the prior art.
Claim(s) 2-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bueno et al. (US6395055B1) in view of Boehm et al. (US20210246521A1).
Regarding claims 2-3, Bueno teaches injecting mixing gases by controlling percentages of reducing gas in the two zones of the furnace (See claim 9) where a first and second gas inlets may be supplied into the respective zones (Col. 5, Lines 14-20); the reducing gas of stage one (pre-reduction zone) are a mixture of CO and H2 (Col. 6, Lines 10-16); however, the prior art does not teach or suggest the reduction gas mixture consists only of hydrogen. However, Boehm teaches direct reduction of iron oxide material to iron sponge may be done with a reduction gas consisting at least predominantly of H2 (Abstract); therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify at least the reduction gas mixture of the first stage with a reducing gas consisting of hydrogen as a substitution of one well known reduction gas for DRI with another to predictably reduce iron oxide.
Regarding Claim 4, the inlet gas may be preheated to 650-950 C (Col. 6, Lines 60-65) reading on the claimed range of 500-1200 C.
Regarding Claim 5, the second reduction gas comprises CO, carbon monoxide, a compound of carbon and oxygen.
Regarding Claims 6-9, the reduction gas comprises CH4, a compound of carbon and hydrogen (Col. 7, Lines 8-12), and is considered to result in at least some carburization as taught by applicant in (Page 10 of the specification); since similar conditions are present which would result in carburization, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect a similar amount of carbon content on the sponge iron product under the expectations that products formed by similar methods have similar properties. (See MPEP 2112.01(I))
Regarding Claim 10, the inlet gas may be preheated to 650-950 C (Col. 6, Lines 60-65) overlapping with the claimed range of 700-1300 C.
Regarding Claims 11-12, the reactor comprises a shaft furnace and a cooling zone after the reduction zone cooled with cooling gas CH4 (See Col.7, Lines 7-12) (Fig 1) (ore moves down in a vertical direction)
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bueno et al. (US6395055B1) in view of Boehm et al. (US20210246521A1) as applied to claims 2-11 above, in further view of Shipley (US2752234).
Regarding Claim 13, Bueno is silent regarding the use of a fluidized bed reactor for the two zones; however, Shipley teaches a method of a continuous gaseous reduction of iron ore where a primary and secondary reactor may be used where fresh reducing gas is added to recover metallic iron (See Claim 2); therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the zones of Bueno to be fluidized bed reactors for the purpose of forming reduced iron in an efficient manner (Col. 1, Lines 30-45)
/RICARDO D MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738