DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 7, 12, 14-29 are pending in the application as of the preliminary amendment submitted 11/15/2023. Claims 2-6, 8-11, 13 are cancelled. Claims 19-29 are newly added. Claims 1, 7, 12, 14-29 are examined herein.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/094161 filed 05/20/2022 and claims foreign priority to CHINA 202110558670.5 filed 05/21/2021.
It is noted that Applicants have not provided an English translation of the certified copy of the foreign priority application as required by 35 U.S.C. 119(b). Without the English translation, one cannot ascertain if the instant invention is supported in the Chinese application. Therefore, art prior to the PCT date, but not before the date of the Chinese application may be cited against the claims. Accordingly, claims 1, 7, 12, 14-29 have been afforded an effective filing date of 05/20/2022, the filing date of the PCT application.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 12/30/2024 and 11/15/2023 have been considered. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 27-29, the claims recite “the method comprising administering to the subject the pharmaceutical composition according to claim 19”. However, claim 19 is drawn to a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of a compound of formula (I). There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the pharmaceutical composition according to claim 19” in the claims.
For the purpose of applying prior art, claims 27-29 have been interpreted to read “the pharmaceutical composition according to claim 22” to provide sufficient antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claims 17-18, the claims recite “the method comprising administering to the subject the compound of formula (I) according to claim 1”. This broadens the scope of dependent claims 17-18 since claim 1 is drawn to a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of a compound of formula (I), which is improper.
Regarding claim 20, the claim depends from claim 7 and recites “the crystalline form I of maleate of a compound of formula (1) of claim 7, has an X-ray powder diffraction pattern with characteristic peaks …”. “Form I of maleate of a compound of formula (1)” is the most specific recitation of a solid form and will inherently exhibit the recited X-ray powder diffraction peaks of the dependent claim 20. This is not considered as further limiting the scope of claim 1, which is improper.
Regarding claim 21, the claim depends from claim 7 and recites “the crystalline form I of maleate of a compound of formula (1) of claim 7, has an X-ray powder diffraction pattern shown in FIG. 8 …”. “Form I of maleate of a compound of formula (1)” is the most specific recitation of a solid form and will inherently exhibit the recited X-ray powder diffraction pattern of FIG. 8. This is not considered as further limiting the scope of claim 1, which is improper.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
It is suggested that Applicants amend to remove the specific recitation of form I in the claims, to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 14-19 and 22-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (AU 2020386587 A1, publication date 27 May 2021, international filing date 20 November 2020, hereinafter Li).
The Li et al. reference (with common Applicant and different inventive entity) is an equivalent of WO 2021/098811 A1, in the IDS. The AU patent document is used for cleaner English translation with structures.
Regarding instant claims 1 and 19, Li teaches a pyrazolo-heteroaryl derivative of general formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, a preparation method therefor, a pharmaceutical composition containing the derivative, and a use thereof as a therapeutic agent, particularly as ATR kinase inhibitor and in the preparation of drugs for the treatment and/or prevention of hyperproliferative diseases (Abstract).
Li teaches an exemplary compound, of example 1, shown below (Pg. 4, first compound), that anticipates a compound of formula (I) of instant claim 1.
Li teaches reagents that provide acidic conditions in the synthesis schemes to include formic acid, acetic acid, hydrochloric acid, sulfuric acid, methanesulfonic acid, phosphoric acid and p-toluenesulfonic acid. This would lead to the formation of the respective salts, say, hydrochloride, sulfate, mesylate, phosphate, p-toluenesulfonate.
Therefore, the teachings of Li anticipate the limitations of instant claim 1 and 19 drawn to a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of a compound of formula (I).
Li teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of formula (I), or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent or excipient (Pg. 16, first full paragraph). Li teaches oral compositions prepared by any known method and includes mixing the active ingredient with a non-toxic pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (Pg. 18, fourth paragraph). Li teaches preparing various other compositions by mixing the active substance with an excipient (Pg. 18, fifth paragraph – Pg. 19, fourth full paragraph).
Li teaches a method for inhibiting ATR kinase, comprising: administering to a patient in need an effective amount of the compound of formula (I), or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, or the pharmaceutical composition comprising the same (Pg. 17, first full paragraph). Li teaches a method for treating and/or preventing a hyperproliferative disease, comprising: administering to a patient in need an effective amount of the compound of formula (I), or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, or the pharmaceutical composition comprising the same (Pg. 17, second full paragraph). Li teaches a method for treating and/or preventing a tumor, comprising: administering to a patient in need an effective amount of the compound of formula (I), or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, or the pharmaceutical composition comprising the same (Pg. 17, third full paragraph).
According to MPEP 2131.02(III), “A GENERIC DISCLOSURE WILL ANTICIPATE A CLAIMED SPECIES COVERED BY THAT DISCLOSURE WHEN THE SPECIES CAN BE "AT ONCE ENVISAGED" FROM THE DISCLOSURE”.
A reference disclosure can anticipate a claim when the reference describes the limitations but "'d[oes] not expressly spell out' the limitations as arranged or combined as in the claim, if a person of skill in the art, reading the reference, would ‘at once envisage’ the claimed arrangement or combination." Kennametal, Inc. v. Ingersoll Cutting Tool Co., 780 F.3d 1376, 1381, 114 USPQ2d 1250, 1254 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (quoting In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 681(CCPA 1962)).
In the instant case, a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of a compound of formula (I) as in instant claims 1 and 19; a pharmaceutical composition as in instant claims 14 and 22 ; a method of preparing a pharmaceutical composition as in instant claims 15 and 23; a method for inhibiting ATR kinase, a method for treating a hyperproliferative disease, a method for treating a tumor as in instant claims 16-18 and 24-29, can be clearly envisaged by a person of ordinary skill in the art, given the disclosure of Li.
Applicants may overcome this rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See MPEP 717.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 14-19 and 22-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burgdorf et al. (WO 2020/049017 A1, 12 March 2020, hereinafter Burgdorf, in the IDS) in view of Fleming et al. (Nitrile-Containing Pharmaceuticals: Efficacious Roles of the Nitrile Pharmacophore, 30 August 2010, hereinafter Fleming).
Regarding instant claim 1 and 19, Burgdorf teaches 5-morpholin-4-yl-pyrazolo[4,3-b]pyridine derivatives as inhibitors of ATR used in the treatment of cancer (Title; Abstract; Pg. 1, Lns. 5-12). Burgdorf teaches pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof having valuable pharmaceutical properties (Pg. 3, Lns. 10-12; Pg. 4, Ln. 10 - Pg. 5, Ln. 20; Pg. 14, Ln. 10-15). Burgdorf teaches the salts to include acid-addition salts of organic and inorganic acids, such as hydrogen chloride, hydrogen bromide, sulfate, phosphate, … alkyl- and monoarylsulfonates, such as toluenesulfonate, … acetate, maleate, succinate, citrate, … malate, … methanesulfonate (i.e., mesylate), …oxalate, etc.. (Pg. 15, Lns. 1-15). Burgdorf teaches an exemplary compound of example 25, shown below (Pg. 94, Lns. 12-20).
[AltContent: oval]
Example 25 of Burgdorf overlaps the scope of a compound of formula (I) of instant claim 1, differing only in the presence of a hydroxyl group in place of the instantly claimed nitrile group. Burgdorf teaches optimizing pharmacokinetic parameters by effecting suitable modifications, such as deuteration, as one strategy to enhance metabolic stability when developing therapeutic agents (Pg. 19, Ln. 1 – Pg. 20, Ln. 8).
Fleming teaches nitrile-containing compounds as an important pharmacophore in pharmaceuticals (Pg. 7902, first column, first paragraph). Fleming teaches the nitrile group to be robust and not readily metabolized, including nitriles attached to fully substituted carbons (Pg. 7902, first column, third paragraph – second column, continued paragraph). Fleming teaches nitriles play a key role as hydrogen bond acceptors and the strong dipole facilitates polar interactions in which the nitrile acts as a hydroxyl or carboxyl isostere (Pg. 7902, second column, third full paragraph). Fleming teaches α-aryl acetonitrile drugs contain the nitrile on a quaternary carbon adjacent to an aromatic ring (Pg. 7906, second column, last paragraph; Figure 14).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Burgdorf and Fleming to have replaced the hydroxyl group of example 25 of Burgdorf, with a nitrile group, as taught by Fleming, to arrive at the pharmaceutically acceptable salts of the instant invention with a reasonable expectation of success. Burgdorf teaches 5-morpholin-4-yl-pyrazolo[4,3-b]pyridine derivatives and pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, as inhibitors of ATR. Burgdorf teaches the salts to include acid-addition salts of organic and inorganic acids, such as hydrogen chloride, hydrogen bromide, sulfate, phosphate, toluenesulfonate, acetate, maleate, succinate, citrate, malate, methanesulfonate, oxalate. Burgdorf teaches an exemplary compound with close structural similarity to the instant compounds having a hydroxy group in place of the nitrile group. Burgdorf teaches optimizing pharmacokinetic parameters by effecting suitable modifications, as a common strategy to enhance metabolic stability when developing therapeutic agents. Fleming teaches nitrile-containing compounds as an important pharmacophore in pharmaceuticals. Fleming teaches nitriles play a key role as hydrogen bond acceptors and the strong dipole facilitates polar interactions in which the nitrile acts as a hydroxyl isostere.
According to MPEP 2144.09 (I), A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). In the instant case, the 5-morpholin-4-yl-pyrazolo[4,3-b]pyridine derivatives of Burgdorf and the instant compounds, with close structural similarity, have the same utility - inhibitors of ATR.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to replace the hydroxyl group of the compounds of Burgdorf with a nitrile group, as taught by Fleming, to arrive at the instantly claimed pharmaceutically acceptable salts. The motivation being for lead optimization of drug leads by incorporating the versatile functionality of nitriles, thereby modulating its metabolic stability (Fleming, Pg. 7902, second column, second full paragraph; Pg. 7903 , first column, continued paragraph).
Thus the teachings of Burgdorf in view of Fleming render the pharmaceutically acceptable salt of a compound of formula (I) as in instant claim 1 and 19, prima facie obvious.
Regarding instant claim 14-15, 22-23, the combined teachings of Burgdorf and Fleming render the pharmaceutically acceptable salt of a compound of formula (I) as in instant claim 1, prima facie obvious. Burgdorf teaches pharmaceutical formulations comprising the pharmaceutically acceptable salt and a suitable carrier or excipent in various embodiments (Pg. 21, Ln. 4 – Pg. 26, Ln. 15). Burgdorf teaches preparation of formulations for oral administration by comminuting the compound of interest and mixing it with a pharmaceutical excipient comminuted in a similar manner (Pg. 22, Lns. 2-8).
Regarding instant claim 16-18, 24-26, 27-29, the combined teachings of Burgdorf and Fleming render the pharmaceutically acceptable salt of a compound of formula (I) as in instant claim 1, prima facie obvious. Burgdorf teaches methods of treating diseases utilizing pharmaceutical compositions comprising these compounds (Pg. 1, Lns. 8-10). Burgdorf teaches the compounds, including pharmaceutically acceptable salts being suitable as pharmaceutical active ingredients in the treatment of cancer (Pg. 28, Lns. 20 – Pg. 29, Ln. 5). Burgdorf teaches use of the pharmaceutically acceptable salts in the treatment of an ATR-induced disease in a mammal by administering a therapeutically effective amount to the sick animal in need of treatment (Pg. 29, Lns. 6-12). Burgdorf teaches use of the pharmaceutically acceptable salts for the inhibition of ATR (Pg. 29, Lns. 17-20). Burgdorf teaches use of the pharmaceutically acceptable salts in the treatment of various tumors (Pg. 29, Ln. 20 – Pg. 30, Ln. 2).
Therefore, the teachings of Burgdorf in view of Fleming, render a method of inhibiting ATR kinase in a subject in need thereof; a method for treating a hyperproliferative disease in a subject in need thereof; a method for treating a tumor disease in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the subject the pharmaceutically acceptable salts OR the pharmaceutical composition according to the instant claims, prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 14, 16-19 and 22-29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 19-22 and 24 of co-pending Application No 17/778,632 in view of Burgdorf et al. (WO 2020/049017 A1, 12 March 2020, hereinafter Burgdorf, in the IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The instant claims are drawn to a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of a compound of formula (I), wherein the pharmaceutically acceptable salt is selected from the group consisting of hydrochloride, sulfate, hydrobromide, mesylate, p-toluenesulfonate, maleate, phosphate, formate, acetate, succinate, fumarate, citrate, malate, hippurate and oxalate.
The claims of co-pending ‘632 application are drawn to a compound of formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, with variables as defined in claim 1 of the reference application. Claims 8 and 24 of the reference ‘632 application teach a species of compound of formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof that anticipates the instantly claimed compound as in instant claim 1. Claim 19 of the reference ‘632 application anticipates a pharmaceutical composition as in instant claims 14 and 22. Claims 20-22 of the reference ‘632 application anticipates a method of inhibiting ATR kinase in a subject in need thereof; a method for treating a hyperproliferative disease in a subject in need thereof; a method for treating a tumor disease in a subject in need thereof, as in instant claims 16-18 , 23-29.
The reference application do not teach the specific pharmaceutically acceptable salts as in instant claim 1 and 19.
Burgdorf teaches 5-morpholin-4-yl-pyrazolo[4,3-b]pyridine derivatives as inhibitors of ATR used in the treatment of cancer (Title; Abstract; Pg. 1, Lns. 5-12). Burgdorf teaches pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof, specifically hydrogen chloride, hydrogen bromide, sulfate, phosphate, … alkyl- and monoarylsulfonates, such as toluenesulfonate, … acetate, maleate, succinate, citrate, … malate, … methanesulfonate (i.e., mesylate), …oxalate, etc.. (Pg. 15, Lns. 1-15). Burgdorf teaches an exemplary compound of example 25 with close structural similarity to the instant claims (Pg. 94, Lns. 12-20).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the said pharmaceutically acceptable salts, as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success. Claims 1, 8, 19-22 and 24 of co-pending application 17/778,632, renders the instant claims 1, 14, 16-19 and 22-29 prima facie obvious in view of Burgdorf.
Therefore, instant claims 1, 14, 16-19 and 22-29 and claims 1, 8, 19-22 and 24 of co-pending Application No 17/778,632 are not patentably distinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
The crystalline form I of the maleate salt of a compound of formula (I), has been found to be free of prior art.
Claims 7 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Claims 1 and 14-29 are rejected.
Claim 7 and 12 are objected to.
No claims are allowed.
/P.S.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627