DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
The lead line for reference character 102 in Fig. 2 is not directed to the “inner surface” of the endless track as described in the specification.
The lead line for reference character 104 in Fig. 2 is not directed to the “outer surface” of the endless track as described in the specification.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "100" and "730" have both been used to designate the same structure in Fig. 15B as evident from the sharing of the same lead line.
Each distinct part, including modified parts, should be labeled with a distinct reference character to be in compliance with 37 CFR 1.84(p). Note at least the following informalities:
The part labeled with reference character 100 in the embodiment shown in embodiment of Fig. 8B is distinct (i.e., modified) from the parts labeled with this same reference character in at least the embodiment shown in Fig. 7B.
The parts labeled with reference characters 100, 136a and 136b in the embodiment shown in embodiment of Fig. 9B are distinct (i.e., modified) from the parts labeled with these same reference characters in at least the embodiment shown in Fig. 7B.
The part labeled with reference character 100 in the embodiment shown in Fig. 10B is distinct (i.e., modified) from the part labeled with this same reference character in at least the embodiment shown in Fig. 7B.
The part labeled with reference character 100 in the embodiment shown in Fig. 11B is distinct (i.e., modified) from the part labeled with this same reference character in at least the embodiment shown in Fig. 10B.
The part labeled with reference character 100 in the embodiment shown in Fig. 12B is distinct (i.e., modified) from the part labeled with this same reference character in at least the embodiment shown in Fig. 11B.
The part labeled with reference character 100 in the embodiment shown in Fig. 13B is distinct (i.e., modified) from the part labeled with this same reference character in at least the embodiment shown in Fig. 12B.
The part labeled with reference character 100 in the embodiment shown in Fig. 14B is distinct (i.e., modified) from the part labeled with this same reference character in at least the embodiment shown in Fig. 13B.
The part labeled with reference character 100 in the embodiment shown in Fig. 15B is distinct (i.e., modified) from the part labeled with this same reference character in at least the embodiment shown in Fig. 14B.
The part labeled with reference character 100 in the embodiment shown in Fig. 16B is distinct (i.e., modified) from the part labeled with this same reference character in at least the embodiment shown in Fig. 15B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 12-14 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Helsper (DE 4014790 C1).
Regarding claim 1, Helsper discloses a reinforcement member 3 configured to be at least partially embedded in a continuous body of an endless track 8 (Fig. 1), comprising: a tubular (note that inasmuch as the body comprised of 9, 12 and 13 includes openings 19 that are long, round, and hollow like a tube, the body is considered to be tubular) and elongated body (comprised of 9, 12 and 13) having: an upper face (unlabeled upper surface of 9 in Figs. 1-3), a lower face (unlabeled lower surfacer of 12 and 13 in Figs. 1-3) opposite from the upper face, each of the upper and lower faces having a depth (dimension either in the thickness direction shown in Fig. 2 or dimension in the longitudinal direction of the track) and a length (dimension shown in widthwise direction best shown in Fig. 2) greater than the depth (Fig. 2), a central portion at 6 configured to be laterally centered in the continuous body (Figs. 1 and 2) and a lateral arm (leg 12 and “left” side portion of 9 as shown in Fig. 2; leg 13 and “right” side portion of 9 as shown in Fig. 2) extending from each side thereof (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Helsper further discloses the reinforcement member is made of a metallic material (“steel” per Title and Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Helsper further discloses the metallic material is one of aluminum and high strength steel alloy (evident from Title and Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Helsper further discloses the reinforcement member formed of a unitary metal (“one-piece casting” per Abstract) so that opposite long edges 20, 21 of the metal are brought in proximity to one another to form a junction at 20, 21 along the length on the lower face of the reinforcement member (Figs. 1-3). Note the specific method (i.e., stamping by a unitary metal sheet) by which the reinforcement is formed is not afforded full patentable weight in a product claim (See MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 7, Helsper further discloses least one of the upper face and the lower face includes an elongated bulge 6 (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 12, Helsper further discloses a pair of elongated grooves (unlabeled circular groove at each end 10, 11 best shown in Figs. 1 and 3) formed on both sides 10, 11 of a junction on the lower face of the reinforcement member (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 13, Helsper further discloses a pair of apertures (unlabeled aperture that extends through the upper face of the reinforcement member at clamp seat 6 as shown in Figs. 1-3 and the unlabeled aperture that extends through the lower face between free ends 20 and 21 as shown in Figs. 1-3) extending through the upper and lower faces of the reinforcement member (Figs. 1-3), the apertures being located proximal to distal ends of the reinforcement member (i.e., both apertures of the claimed pair are located near the distal ends at 20, 21 of the reinforcement member as shown in Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 14, Helsper further discloses the tubular and elongated body defines a pair of oppositely curved and elongated surfaces (at 15 on each end of the body in the width direction as shown in Fig. 2) joining the upper and lower faces of the reinforcement member (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 40, Helsper further discloses an endless track 8 for a tracked vehicle (“Vehicle” per Title), the track being disposed around at least a driving wheel assembly (not shown, but implicit from at least the use of the “chain guide sprocket 2” and a plurality of idler wheel assemblies (not shown, but implicit structure of the tracked vehicle as evident from at least the Title and Figs. 1-3), the endless track comprising: an inner surface (unlabeled upper surface of 8 shown in Fig. 1) engageable (i.e., capable of being engaged) by the driving wheel assembly and by the idler wheel assemblies (evident from Fig. 1), an outer surface (unlabeled lower surface of 8 shown in Fig. 1) engageable (i.e., capable of being engaged) to a ground surface (Fig. 1), one or more lugs 2 projecting from the inner surface and configured to (i.e., capable of) transmit driving power from the driving wheel assembly to the endless track (evident from at least Fig. 1 that the “chain guide sprocket 2” is capable of transmitting driving power from the drive wheel assembly to the endless track), and one or more reinforcement members 3, each reinforcement member being embedded in a carcass of the endless track (evident from Fig. 1), the length of the reinforcement member being oriented along a track width of the endless track (Fig. 1), each reinforcement member being aligned with a corresponding one 2 of the one or more lugs (Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8-10, 15, 18, 19, 21 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 13 March 2026, with respect to the rejections of newly amended independent claim 1 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Junginger and Oyama have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims as noted in the previous office action under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Junginger and Oyama have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of newly amended independent claim 1 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Helsper have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that the cross-member or reinforcement member 3 of Helsper is not tubular. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted above, inasmuch as the body of the reinforcement member 3 comprised of 9, 12 and 13 includes openings 19 that are long, round, and hollow like a tube, the body can reasonably be considered to be tubular.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615