DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 4, 7-12, 14, 16 and 18-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7-11, 14, 16 and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on system enhancement for Proximity based Services (ProSe) in the 5G System (5GS) (hereinafter, “TR 23.752”) and further in view of Park et al. (US 20200275513, hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 1, TR 23.752 discloses,
A method performed by a network entity in a wireless communication (Section 6.35.2.1: Procedure Enhancement for Information Provisioning to a 5G ProSe Remote UE/UE-to-Network Relay, pages 117-119. Section 6.47.2: The connection of a Remote UE via a Relay UE works according to high level steps described in Figure 6.47.2-1. The proposed authorization procedure can be triggered in PC5 link establishment between the remote UE and the relay UE, pages 148-150), the method comprising: preconfiguring a user equipment(UE) according to a proximity services (ProSe)behavior, wherein the ProSe behavior is for the UE in a restricted service area, and the UE is a relay UE or a remote UE (Solution #35: Authorization for 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay Service, page 117. Solution #36: Authorization for 5G ProSe UE-to-UE Relay Service, page 120-121. Solution #47: Authorizing a UE to be a 5G UE-to-Network Relay and how to authorize a UE to access 5GC via a 5G UE-to-Network Relay, page 147);
receiving, from the UE in the restricted service area, a service request message for control plane establishment of a PC5 procedure based on the ProSe behavior of the UE (Section 6.28: Solution #28: Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay Discovery and Connection Establishment, pages 103-104. Section 6.43: Solution #43: PC5 connection establishment for Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay without Relay discovery, pages 136-137.); and
transmitting, to information of ProSe behavior of the UE, wherein the ProSe behavior indicates that the UE is permitted to transmit the service request message for the control plane establishment of the PC5 procedure in the restricted service area (Section 6.35, Solution #35: Authorization for 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay Service, pages 117-120. Section 6.36, Solution #36: Authorization for 5G ProSe UE-to-UE Relay Service, pages 120-1123. Section 6.47, Solution #47: Authorizing a UE to be a 5G UE-to-Network Relay and how to authorize a UE to access 5GC via a 5G UE-to-Network Relay, pages 147-149).
However, TR 23.752 does not disclose, wherein the ProSe behavior further indicates that the UE is restricted from requesting establishment of user plane resources by omitting an uplink data status information element (IE) from the service request message in the restricted service area.
In the same field of endeavor, Park discloses, wherein the ProSe behavior further indicates that the UE is restricted from requesting establishment of user plane resources (an object of the transmission of a Service Request message performed by the UE is not for requesting a user plane service, but instead for establishing a signaling connection for reporting the PS Data Off status [0610]) by omitting an uplink data status information element (IE) (If the UE requests a Service Request procedure for such reasons, then information related to actual user plane resources (e.g., uplink data status or allowed PDU Session status, etc.) may not be included in the Service procedure Request message, which is transmitted by the UE [0621]) from the service request message in the restricted service area (even if the UE is located in a non-allowed area, the UE may transmit a Service Request message [0609]; When the UE transmits a Service Request message to an AMF, the UE may specify the purpose of the corresponding Service Request. For example, when performing PS Data Off status reporting, the UE may transmit the Service Request message after including a new Service type information [0618]-[0620]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify TR 23.752 by specifically providing wherein the ProSe behavior further indicates that the UE is restricted from requesting establishment of user plane resources by omitting an uplink data status information element (IE) from the service request message in the restricted service area, as taught by Park for the purpose of providing enable improved operations for a device to report a status of the device's Packet Switch (PS) Data Off, or “PS Data Off” feature [0032].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of TR 23.752 and Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further TR 23.752 discloses,
wherein the ProSe behavior of the restricted service area indicates at least one of:
denying PC5 procedure in the restricted service area (section 6. 36.2.2; when the UE is "not served by E-UTRA" and "not served by NR: Indicates whether the UE is authorized to be a UE-to-UE Relay over PC5 reference point, page);
permitting the PC5 procedure in the restricted service area (section 6.47; Solution #47: Authorizing a UE to be a 5G UE-to-Network Relay and how to authorize a UE to access 5GC via a 5G UE-to-Network Relay, page 147);
conditionally permitting the PC5 procedure in the restricted service area (Section; 6.35.3; Determine whether UE is authorized to be a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay or Remote UE; Select a PCF capable of authorization Policy and parameter for 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay; Select a PCF capable of authorization Policy and parameter for 5G ProSe Remote UE, page 120); or
permitting the PC5 procedure applicable to the UE as being in a limited service state even though the UE is in a state 5GMM-REGISTERED.NON- ALLOWED-SERVICE (section 5. 4:This key issue intends to support for UE-to-UE Relay, including support for in coverage and out of coverage operation. At least the following aspects need to be considered in potential solutions: How to (re)-select a UE-to-UE Relay UE in proximity? Whether and how for the network can control the UE-to-UE Relay operation, at least including how to: Authorize the UE-to-UE Relay, e.g. authorize a UE as UE-to-UE Relay? Authorize the Remote UE to access a UE-to-UE Relay? Pages 17-18).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of TR 23.752 and Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further TR 23.752 discloses,
wherein a tracking area identity (TAI) of a serving cell associated with the relay UE is determined based on a PC5 procedure of the remote UE (section 6.23.4; To assist the Remote UE with N3IWF selection, the Relay UE advertises the PLMN ID and 5GS TAI corresponding to the serving cell in the PC5 UE-to-Network discovery Announcement message (for Model A) or the UE-to-Network Relay discovery Response message (for Model B) or in the Relay Discovery Additional Information message, page 92).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of TR 23.752 and Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further TR 23.752 discloses,
wherein the ProSe behavior of the relay UE in the restricted service area indicates: permitting the relay UE to perform a registration procedure in order to transition to a connected mode for the at least one of PC5 discovery or PC5 communication, in case that the relay UE is positioned in the restricted service area (section 6.33; Solution #33: For the dedicated application service, e.g. direct communication within a factory plant, the UEs in the same group may communicate with each other via direct PC5 link, such as the UE1, UE2, UE3 as shown in the graph below. However due to UE mobility, UE2 may move out of PC5 coverage of UE1, then there should be a UE3 to as a UE-to-UE relay to transfer the packets between UE1 and UE2, pages 112-113).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of TR 23.752 and Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further TR 23.752 discloses,
wherein the ProSe behavior of the relay UE in the restricted service area indicates: permitting the relay UE to perform at least one of PC5 discovery or PC5 communication, wherein the relay UE is in a 5GMM-CONNECTED mode or in a 5GMM-CONNECTED mode with RRC inactive indication, in case that the relay UE is positioned in the restricted service area and wherein permitting the relay UE to perform the PC5 discovery comprises conditionally permitting the relay UE to perform the PC5 discovery, wherein a condition requires that in case that the relay UE detects a match, the relay UE waits until entering or exiting the restricted service area before sending a match report (section 6.17; Solution #17: ProSe Authorization Policy and Parameter for Direct Discovery and Communication, page 71-72. Section 6.19; UE-to-Network Relay discovery. This solution provides a mechanism for the Remote UE to discover a UE-to-Network Relay and selects an appropriate UE-to-Network Relay. The Model A and Model B procedure in solution #1 is applied for UE-to-Network Relay discovery procedure. In Model A mechanism, the UE-to-Network Relay announces the discovery message which includes relay related information. In Model B mechanism, the Remote UE requests relay related information in discovery solicitation message, the UE-to-Network Relay sends discovery response message which matches the information in discovery solicitation message. Section 6.35, Solution #35: Authorization for 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay Service, pages 117-120. Section 6.36, Solution #36: Authorization for 5G ProSe UE-to-UE Relay Service, pages 120-1123. Section 6.47, Solution #47: Authorizing a UE to be a 5G UE-to-Network Relay and how to authorize a UE to access 5GC via a 5G UE-to-Network Relay, pages 147-149).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of TR 23.752 and Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further TR 23.752 discloses,
wherein the ProSe behavior of the relay UE in the restricted service area indicates permitting the relay UE to contact a network for a match report or to request a ProSe code for PC5 discovery or to perform PC5 communications, in case that the relay UE is positioned in the restricted service area (section 6.17; Solution #17: ProSe Authorization Policy and Parameter for Direct Discovery and Communication, page 71-72).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of TR 23.752 and Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further TR 23.752 discloses,
configuring UE according to the ProSe behavior in a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) or provisioned in the UE (section 6.17; Solution #17: ProSe Authorization Policy and Parameter for Direct Discovery and Communication, Support of PC5 Service Authorization and Policy/Parameter Provisioning, two following major aspects are covered, page 71-72).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of TR 23.752 and Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further TR 23.752 discloses,
wherein the ProSe behavior of the relay UE in the restricted service area indicates that the relay UE is configured to support the remote UE for ProSe services, in case that the relay UE is positioned in the restricted service area (Section 6.35, Solution #35: Authorization for 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay Service, pages 117-120. Section 6.36, Solution #36: Authorization for 5G ProSe UE-to-UE Relay Service, pages 120-1123. Section 6.47, Solution #47: Authorizing a UE to be a 5G UE-to-Network Relay and how to authorize a UE to access 5GC via a 5G UE-to-Network Relay, pages 147-149).
Regarding claim 14, TR 23.752 discloses,
A network entity in a wireless communication system (Section 6.35.2.1: Procedure Enhancement for Information Provisioning to a 5G ProSe Remote UE/UE-to-Network Relay, pages 117-119. Section 6.47.2: The connection of a Remote UE via a Relay UE works according to high level steps described in Figure 6.47.2-1. The proposed authorization procedure can be triggered in PC5 link establishment between the remote UE and the relay UE, pages 148-150), the network entity comprising:
a transceiver (an inherent feature of a network entity);
at least one processor coupled with the transceiver (an inherent feature of a network entity) and configured to: preconfigure a user equipment(UE) according to a proximity services (ProSe)behavior, wherein the ProSe behavior is for the UE in a restricted service area, and the UE is a relay UE or a remote UE (Solution #35: Authorization for 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay Service, page 117. Solution #36: Authorization for 5G ProSe UE-to-UE Relay Service, page 120-121. Solution #47: Authorizing a UE to be a 5G UE-to-Network Relay and how to authorize a UE to access 5GC via a 5G UE-to-Network Relay, page 147);
receive, from the UE in the restricted service area, a service request message for control plane establishment of a PC5 procedure based on the ProSe behavior of the UE (Section 6.28: Solution #28: Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay Discovery and Connection Establishment, pages 103-104. Section 6.43: Solution #43: PC5 connection establishment for Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay without Relay discovery, pages 136-137.); and
transmit, to information of ProSe behavior of the UE, wherein the ProSe behavior indicates that the UE is permitted to transmit the service request message for the control plane establishment of the PC5 procedure in the restricted service area (Section 6.35, Solution #35: Authorization for 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay Service, pages 117-120. Section 6.36, Solution #36: Authorization for 5G ProSe UE-to-UE Relay Service, pages 120-1123. Section 6.47, Solution #47: Authorizing a UE to be a 5G UE-to-Network Relay and how to authorize a UE to access 5GC via a 5G UE-to-Network Relay, pages 147-149).
However, TR 23.752 does not disclose, wherein the ProSe behavior further indicates that the UE is restricted from requesting establishment of user plane resources by omitting an uplink data status information element (IE) from the service request message in the restricted service area.
In the same field of endeavor, Park discloses, wherein the ProSe behavior further indicates that the UE is restricted from requesting establishment of user plane resources (an object of the transmission of a Service Request message performed by the UE is not for requesting a user plane service, but instead for establishing a signaling connection for reporting the PS Data Off status [0610]) by omitting an uplink data status information element (IE) (If the UE requests a Service Request procedure for such reasons, then information related to actual user plane resources (e.g., uplink data status or allowed PDU Session status, etc.) may not be included in the Service procedure Request message, which is transmitted by the UE [0621]) from the service request message in the restricted service area (even if the UE is located in a non-allowed area, the UE may transmit a Service Request message [0609]; When the UE transmits a Service Request message to an AMF, the UE may specify the purpose of the corresponding Service Request. For example, when performing PS Data Off status reporting, the UE may transmit the Service Request message after including a new Service type information [0618]-[0620]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify TR 23.752 by specifically providing wherein the ProSe behavior further indicates that the UE is restricted from requesting establishment of user plane resources by omitting an uplink data status information element (IE) from the service request message in the restricted service area, as taught by Park for the purpose of providing enable improved operations for a device to report a status of the device's Packet Switch (PS) Data Off, or “PS Data Off” feature [0032].
Regarding claim 16, the combination of TR 23.752 and Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further TR 23.752 discloses,
wherein the ProSe behavior of the restricted service area indicates at least one of:
denying PC5 procedure in the restricted service area (section 6. 36.2.2; when the UE is "not served by E-UTRA" and "not served by NR: Indicates whether the UE is authorized to be a UE-to-UE Relay over PC5 reference point, page);
permitting the PC5 procedure in the restricted service area (section 6.47; Solution #47: Authorizing a UE to be a 5G UE-to-Network Relay and how to authorize a UE to access 5GC via a 5G UE-to-Network Relay, page 147);
conditionally permitting the PC5 procedure in the restricted service area (Section; 6.35.3; Determine whether UE is authorized to be a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay or Remote UE; Select a PCF capable of authorization Policy and parameter for 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay; Select a PCF capable of authorization Policy and parameter for 5G ProSe Remote UE, page 120); or
permitting the PC5 procedure applicable to the UE as being in a limited service state even though the UE is in a state 5GMM-REGISTERED.NON- ALLOWED-SERVICE (section 5. 4:This key issue intends to support for UE-to-UE Relay, including support for in coverage and out of coverage operation. At least the following aspects need to be considered in potential solutions: How to (re)-select a UE-to-UE Relay UE in proximity? Whether and how for the network can control the UE-to-UE Relay operation, at least including how to: Authorize the UE-to-UE Relay, e.g. authorize a UE as UE-to-UE Relay? Authorize the Remote UE to access a UE-to-UE Relay? Pages 17-18).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of TR 23.752 and Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further TR 23.752 discloses,
wherein a tracking area identity (TAI) of a serving cell associated with the relay UE is determined based on a PC5 procedure of the remote UE (section 6.23.4; To assist the Remote UE with N3IWF selection, the Relay UE advertises the PLMN ID and 5GS TAI corresponding to the serving cell in the PC5 UE-to-Network discovery Announcement message (for Model A) or the UE-to-Network Relay discovery Response message (for Model B) or in the Relay Discovery Additional Information message, page 92).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of TR 23.752 and Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further TR 23.752 discloses,
wherein the ProSe behavior of the relay UE in the restricted service area indicates: permitting the relay UE to perform a registration procedure in order to transition to a connected mode for the at least one of PC5 discovery or PC5 communication, in case that the relay UE is positioned in the restricted service area (section 6.33; Solution #33: For the dedicated application service, e.g. direct communication within a factory plant, the UEs in the same group may communicate with each other via direct PC5 link, such as the UE1, UE2, UE3 as shown in the graph below. However due to UE mobility, UE2 may move out of PC5 coverage of UE1, then there should be a UE3 to as a UE-to-UE relay to transfer the packets between UE1 and UE2, pages 112-113).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of TR 23.752 and Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further TR 23.752 discloses,
wherein the ProSe behavior of the relay UE in the restricted service area indicates: permitting the relay UE to perform at least one of PC5 discovery or PC5 communication, wherein the relay UE is in a 5GMM-CONNECTED mode or in a 5GMM-CONNECTED mode with RRC inactive indication, in case that the relay UE is positioned in the restricted service area and wherein permitting the relay UE to perform the PC5 discovery comprises conditionally permitting the relay UE to perform the PC5 discovery, wherein a condition requires that in case that the relay UE detects a match, the relay UE waits until entering or exiting the restricted service area before sending a match report (section 6.17; Solution #17: ProSe Authorization Policy and Parameter for Direct Discovery and Communication, page 71-72. Section 6.19; UE-to-Network Relay discovery. This solution provides a mechanism for the Remote UE to discover a UE-to-Network Relay and selects an appropriate UE-to-Network Relay. The Model A and Model B procedure in solution #1 is applied for UE-to-Network Relay discovery procedure. In Model A mechanism, the UE-to-Network Relay announces the discovery message which includes relay related information. In Model B mechanism, the Remote UE requests relay related information in discovery solicitation message, the UE-to-Network Relay sends discovery response message which matches the information in discovery solicitation message. Section 6.35, Solution #35: Authorization for 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay Service, pages 117-120. Section 6.36, Solution #36: Authorization for 5G ProSe UE-to-UE Relay Service, pages 120-1123. Section 6.47, Solution #47: Authorizing a UE to be a 5G UE-to-Network Relay and how to authorize a UE to access 5GC via a 5G UE-to-Network Relay, pages 147-149).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of TR 23.752 and Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further TR 23.752 discloses,
wherein the ProSe behavior of the relay UE in the restricted service area indicates permitting the relay UE to contact a network for a match report or to request a ProSe code for PC5 discovery or to perform PC5 communications, in case that the relay UE is positioned in the restricted service area (section 6.17; Solution #17: ProSe Authorization Policy and Parameter for Direct Discovery and Communication, page 71-72).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of TR 23.752 and Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further TR 23.752 discloses, configuring UE according to the ProSe behavior in a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) or provisioned in the UE (section 6.17; Solution #17: ProSe Authorization Policy and Parameter for Direct Discovery and Communication, Support of PC5 Service Authorization and Policy/Parameter Provisioning, two following major aspects are covered, page 71-72).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of TR 23.752 and Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further TR 23.752 discloses,
wherein the ProSe behavior of the relay UE in the restricted service area indicates that the relay UE is configured to support the remote UE for ProSe services, in case that the relay UE is positioned in the restricted service area (Section 6.35, Solution #35: Authorization for 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay Service, pages 117-120. Section 6.36, Solution #36: Authorization for 5G ProSe UE-to-UE Relay Service, pages 120-1123. Section 6.47, Solution #47: Authorizing a UE to be a 5G UE-to-Network Relay and how to authorize a UE to access 5GC via a 5G UE-to-Network Relay, pages 147-149).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TR 23.752, and further in view of Suzuki et al. (US 20190150066, hereinafter “Suzuki”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of TR 23.752 and Park teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of TR 23.752 and Park does not explicitly disclose, wherein the UE is configured to release the ProSe behavior in the restricted service area, in case that the UE is configured for multimedia priority service (MPS), mission critical services (MCS) or another high priority access service, and wherein the another high priority access service is explicitly or implicitly identified by relay service codes as preconfigured or provisioned to the UE, or based on other indications in discovery messages or responses.
In the same field of endeavor, Suzuki discloses, wherein the UE is configured to release the ProSe behavior in the restricted service area, in case that the UE is configured for multimedia priority service (MPS), mission critical services (MCS) or another high priority access service (Device to Device (D2D) Proximity-based Services (ProSe) refer to a set of features supporting device to device communication in the Enhanced Packet System (EPS). ProSe features include ProSe Direct Discovery, which enables proximate devices to discover each other and the services proved by each other, and ProSe Direct Communication. ProSe features can be used for public safety applications (e.g. mission critical push to talk (MCPTT)) and/or for commercial applications, see the background) and wherein the another high priority access service is explicitly or implicitly identified by relay service codes as preconfigured or provisioned to the UE, or based on other indications in discovery messages or responses (each remote UE 130 may define its own set of threshold(s) and/or criterion(a) for determining whether a service interruption is expected. For example, a remote UE 130 that is considered to be of higher priority or considered to be more time sensitive may define threshold(s) and/or criterion(a) that will determine a service interruption is expected in conditions that may be tolerated (and thus not determined to be indicative of an expected service interruption) by a lower priority or less time sensitive remote UE 130… At 605, the remote UE 130 may perform discovery (e.g., ProSe direct discovery) to find one or more target relays and/or suitable UEs that might potentially operate as a relay or that can be configured to operate as a relay. In some examples, discovery to find target relays and discovery to find suitable UEs that might potentially operate as a relay or that can be configured to operate as a relay may be performed independently. In some examples, information from the relay 135 and/or the base station 120 (e.g., information provided in the status report and/or provided in the transmitted message indicating an expected service interruption, as described above) may be used by the remote UE 130 to prioritize discovery and/or selection of a target relay or suitable UE, [0072]-[082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of TR 23.752 and Park by specifically providing wherein the UE is configured to release the ProSe behavior in the restricted service area, in case that the UE is configured for multimedia priority service (MPS), mission critical services (MCS) or another high priority access service, and wherein the another high priority access service is explicitly or implicitly identified by relay service codes as preconfigured or provisioned to the UE, or based on other indications in discovery messages or responses, as taught by Suzuki for the purpose of providing a link between a relay and a communication target and/or a link between the relay and a user equipment (UE) in order for the UE initiates one or more actions to reduce or avoid the expected service interruption (abstract).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of TR 23.752 and Park teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), however the combination of TR 23.752 and Park does not explicitly disclose, wherein the UE is configured to release the ProSe behavior in the restricted service area, in case that the UE is configured for multimedia priority service (MPS), mission critical services (MCS) or another high priority access service, and wherein the another high priority access service is explicitly or implicitly identified by relay service codes as preconfigured or provisioned to the UE, or based on other indications in discovery messages or responses.
In the same field of endeavor, Suzuki discloses, wherein the UE is configured to release the ProSe behavior in the restricted service area, in case that the UE is configured for multimedia priority service (MPS), mission critical services (MCS) or another high priority access service (Device to Device (D2D) Proximity-based Services (ProSe) refer to a set of features supporting device to device communication in the Enhanced Packet System (EPS). ProSe features include ProSe Direct Discovery, which enables proximate devices to discover each other and the services proved by each other, and ProSe Direct Communication. ProSe features can be used for public safety applications (e.g. mission critical push to talk (MCPTT)) and/or for commercial applications, see the background) and wherein the another high priority access service is explicitly or implicitly identified by relay service codes as preconfigured or provisioned to the UE, or based on other indications in discovery messages or responses (each remote UE 130 may define its own set of threshold(s) and/or criterion(a) for determining whether a service interruption is expected. For example, a remote UE 130 that is considered to be of higher priority or considered to be more time sensitive may define threshold(s) and/or criterion(a) that will determine a service interruption is expected in conditions that may be tolerated (and thus not determined to be indicative of an expected service interruption) by a lower priority or less time sensitive remote UE 130… At 605, the remote UE 130 may perform discovery (e.g., ProSe direct discovery) to find one or more target relays and/or suitable UEs that might potentially operate as a relay or that can be configured to operate as a relay. In some examples, discovery to find target relays and discovery to find suitable UEs that might potentially operate as a relay or that can be configured to operate as a relay may be performed independently. In some examples, information from the relay 135 and/or the base station 120 (e.g., information provided in the status report and/or provided in the transmitted message indicating an expected service interruption, as described above) may be used by the remote UE 130 to prioritize discovery and/or selection of a target relay or suitable UE, [0072]-[082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of TR 23.752 and Park by specifically providing wherein the UE is configured to release the ProSe behavior in the restricted service area, in case that the UE is configured for multimedia priority service (MPS), mission critical services (MCS) or another high priority access service, and wherein the another high priority access service is explicitly or implicitly identified by relay service codes as preconfigured or provisioned to the UE, or based on other indications in discovery messages or responses, as taught by Suzuki for the purpose of providing a link between a relay and a communication target and/or a link between the relay and a user equipment (UE) in order for the UE initiates one or more actions to reduce or avoid the expected service interruption (abstract).
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 11457402: A determination can be made as to whether a mobile equipment has valid credentials for accessing an available public land mobile network. Availability of restricted operator services access support can be detected. A cell of a public land mobile network that supports restricted operator services access can be selected as a serving cell if restricted operator services access support is available and the mobile equipment does not have valid credentials for accessing the available public land mobile network.
US 20230319549: The present invention relates to the field of well-known cellular wireless communication systems (CCS), e.g. LTE, 4G or 5G networks. The cellular wireless communication system comprises a core network (CN) and a Radio Access Network (RAN) comprising multiple cellular base stations (BS). The cellular communication system may provide a cellular network that supports network slicing and indirect connections, while mobile devices may connect to the core network via the base stations.
US 20220337990: A user device, UE, for a wireless communication system, is described. The UE is to receive a configuration command, the configuration command to cause the UE to act as a relay UE so as to provide functionality to support connectivity to a destination for one or more remote UEs of the wireless communication system. Responsive to receiving the configuration command, the UE is to accept or reject the configuration command.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641