DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding Claim 20, Applicant recites the limitation “… the needle cover sheath…”. However, Claim 20 is written as being dependent on claim 13 which make no prior reference to “a needle cover sheath”. Rather, the needle cover sheath is introduced in Claim 19. For the sake of prosecution it will be presumed that Claim 20 was intended to be dependent on Claim 19 and therefore includes all of the specific limitations directed toward “a needle cover sheath” thereby providing proper antecedent basis for the terminology used in Claim 20. However, appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim (s) 1-3, 6-9, 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2007/0250035 (“El-Nounou”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,419,777 (“Hofling”) and U.S. Patent No. 5,693,029 (“Leonhardt”) . Regarding Claims 1 , 8, and 13, El-Nounou discloses a catheter device (10) and associated method of its use to deliver a therapeutic fluid to a vessel (Abstract), comprising: positioning a catheter device (10) within the vessel (17) , the catheter device comprising: a hub (19); a guidewire tube (Par. 25 – now shown; re: “In an alternative embodiment, the catheter is configured with a guidewire lumen therein for slidably advancing over a conventional guidewire”) extending from the hub and defining a guidewire lumen comprising a longitudinal axis. Should Applicant argue that the guidewire lumen, not being shown, is insufficient to resolve the particular structure to the ordinary artisan the following is presented. Hofling discloses a related catheter device (40) wherein the device includes a central guidewire tube (see Fig;. 6, not labeled – i.e. the tube which retrains guidewire 43) extending from a hub (55) to define a guidewire lumen comprising a longitudinal axis, the guidewire tube and lumen running along the catheter shaft to permit over-the-wire advancement of the catheter. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a centrally located guidewire tube and lumen in the catheter device of El-Nounou, as disclosed by Hofling, in order to provide a specific structure known to the prior art for providing a guidewire lumen for advancement of the catheter as is particularly suggested in the alternative embodiment of El-Nounou. A plurality of fluid delivery elements (20) disposed about the guidewire tube (see generally, El -N ounou Fig. 3 and 4 with consideration as to the modifications of Hofling, Fig. 4, 6, and 8) , each fluid delivery element of the plurality of fluid delivery elements including a proximal portion (see generally 25) , a distal portion (see generally 22) , a hinge portion (not labeled – compare Fig. 1 and 6 – i.e. the location at which outward deflection in the radial direction occurs) therebetween, and one or more needles (22) on the distal portion extending in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the guidewire lumen (see Fig. 6 – wherein the integral guide member 15 has been replaced with a guidewire lumen and conventional guidewire in view of Hofling) , a distal end of each fluid delivery element configured to adjust between (i) a naturally biased and expanded position (see Fig. 6) at a spaced distance from the guidewire tube (consider the modifications in view of Hofling) in which the proximal portion is angled with respect to the distal portion via the hinge portion and (ii) a compressed and retracted position abutting the guidewire tube (see Fig. 1); and a compression sheath (13) disposable over and slidably movable relative to the plurality of fluid delivery elements (see Fig. 1 and 6 in sequence) ; and moving the compression sheath of the catheter device proximally toward the hub to move from (i) a covering position (Fig. 1) in which the compression sheath covers the hinge portion of each of the plurality of fluid delivery elements such that the plurality of fluid delivery elements are in the compressed and retracted position to (ii) an expansion permitting position (Fig. 6) in which the compression sheath does not cover the hinge portion of each of the plurality of fluid delivery elements such that the plurality of fluid delivery elements are in the naturally biased and expanded position. El-Nounou discloses the invention substantially as claimed except that that the in the compressed and retracted position the proximal portion is in alignment with the distal portion. Rather, in the compressed, retracted position (see Fig. 1) the system still presents with bending between the compressed and expanded positions. However, Leonhardt discloses a related catheter device (10) which likewise comprises a plurality of fluid delivery elements (24) having a proximal portion (30) and a distal portion carrying at least one needle (32), the fluid delivery elements being configured to transition between an expanded position (see Fig. 2 ) at a spaced distance from the in which the proximal portion is angled with respect to the distal portion via the hinge portion and a compressed position (Fig. 3) in which the proximal portion is in alignment with the distal portion . While Leonhardt fails to disclose any particular or specific benefit to constructing the fluid delivery tubes with such a bending condition the prior art establishes that this is a known and useful shape. The ordinary artisan would reasonably recognize and appreciate any benefits which might flow naturally from such a configuration including, but not limited to, reducing the profile the device in the compressed position versus the configuration described by El-Nounou. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the fluid delivery elements of the invention of El-Nounou such that they lie along a straight axis in the compressed state with the proximal portion being aligned with the distal portion, as disclosed by Leonhardt, in order to convey any potential benefits associated with such a known, predictable, and expected configuration such as minimizing the profile of the device in the compressed delivery configuration. It has been held that such changes in shape are obvious and require only routine and customary skill in the art, particularly when already known to the art, when they convey only a predictable and expected outcome, see In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). El-nounou discloses the invention substantially as claimed except that that the plurality of fluid delivery elements extend from the hub such that they communicate with a corresponding plurality of ports, each of the ports being configured to receive the fluid. Rather, El-nounou discloses a single fluid delivery lumen (24) and a manifold (25) for conveying fluid to the fluid delivery lumens, collectively. However, both Leonhardt (see Fig. 1) and Hofling each disclose similar catheter devices where the hub includes a plurality of ports where Hofling explicitly discloses that the plurality of ports (59) correspond to the fluid delivery elements (45) via lumens (58) to provide “fluid flow communication between the medication inlets 59 and the corresponding injection needles”. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the fluid delivery elements of El-nounou to run extend along the shaft of the catheter device to an catheter hub having a plurality of ports with each fluid delivery element corresponding to a respective port, as disclosed by Hofling, to confer any possible benefits which might be immediately envisaged by the configuration described by Hofling, including, but not limited to, ensuring equal distribution of a medicament through each fluid delivery element. It has been held that the duplication of parts of an invention is obvious and requires only routine and customary skill in the art when only predictable and expected results are conveyed, see In re Harza , 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Regarding Claim 14, El-nounou discloses the one or more needles penetrating a vessel wall of the vessel when in the naturally biased and expanded position (see Fig. 6) . Regarding Claim s 2 and 15, El-nounou discloses each needle of the one or more needles on a respective fluid delivery element comprises a needle lumen that is in fluid communication with a corresponding port of the plurality of ports of the hub through a corresponding lumen of the respective fluid delivery element of the plurality of fluid delivery elements (as modified in view of Hofling) , and further comprising delivering the therapeutic fluid from the hub through the plurality of ports of the hub through a corresponding fluid delivery lumen of each of the plurality of fluid delivery elements and through a corresponding needle lumen of each needle of the one or more needles (Abstract – El-nounou with consideration as per the modifications in view of Hofling) . Regarding Claim 16, El-nounou discloses moving the compression sheath of the catheter device distally away from the hub to move from (i) the expansion permitting position in which the compression sheath does not cover the hinge portion of each of the plurality of fluid delivery elements such that the plurality of fluid delivery elements are in the naturally biased and expanded position to (ii) the covering position in which the compression sheath covers the hinge portion of each of the plurality of fluid delivery elements such that the plurality of fluid delivery elements are in the compressed and retracted position (Par. 52 – assumption of the collapsed configuration being understood to involve advancing the sheath in contrast to the withdrawing movement which permits expansion) . Regarding Claims 3 , 9, and 17, El-nounou discloses each needle of the one or more needles includes a taper at a distal end of the needle, the distal end of the needle being spaced away and extending in a direction facing away from the guidewire tube (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 6 with consideration as to modifications in view of Hofling to provide the central guidewire tube) . Regarding Claim s 6, 7, 11, 12, and 18, El-nounou discloses the plurality of fluid delivery elements comprises at least four fluid delivery elements, each of the plurality of fluid delivery elements are equidistantly spaced apart from one another on a shared plane through which they intersect (see Fig. 3, 4, and 6) . Allowable Subject Matter Claim(s) 4, 10, and 19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT WILLIAM R CARPENTER whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3637 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Mon. to Thus. - 7:00AM to 5:00PM (EST/EDT) . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT KEVIN SIRMONS can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-4965 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /WILLIAM R CARPENTER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 03/02/2026