DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6,9-11,15-29,32-34,39-40,42-53,58 and 61are pending in the instant application. Claims 3, 5-6, 42-53, 58 and 61 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
An action on the merits of claims 1-2,4,9-11,15-29,32-34 and 39-40 is contained herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The examiner has considered the information disclosure statement filed most recently of record.
Status of Rejections
Double Patenting
The rejection of claims 1-2,4,9-11,15-29,32-34 and 39-40 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 8/5/2026, with respect to the rejection set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 5/8/2026, have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. Applicants suggest that since all the rejections have been overcome, the instant application must be allowed over the provisional ‘231 application due to the earlier filing date (citing MPEP 804(I)(B)(1)(b)). The examiner disagrees since all of the rejections of record have not been overcome (see maintained 103 rejection below). Thus, the rejection is maintained.
35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 1-2,4,9-11,15-29,32-34 and 39-40 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 8/5/2026, with respect to the rejection set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 5/8/2026, have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
To reiterate the rejection of record, the instant claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO 2021/003467 in view of WO 2020/148442 and in further view of GREENAN et al., "Preparation and Characterization of Novel Crystalline Solvates and Polymorphs of Psilocybin and Identification of Solid Forms Suitable for Clinical Development", Retrieved online from ResearchGate: https://www.researchgate.net/publication/339238710, 29 page – (all mentioned in IDS).
The instant claims are drawn to compositions comprising dispersions of the compound of formula I (in particular the elected species psilocybin) in amorphous form along with a polymer and salts, stereoisomers, tautomers, and solvates thereof. Some dependent claims recite specific weight percentages of components, polymer types, additional excipients known in the art, and inherent characteristics regarding said compositions.
WO 2021/003467 teaches generically compositions comprising psychedelic compounds and a polymer wherein said compounds may be chose from psilocybin (see claims 1-2) at page 45 of document. The document teaches tablets for oral administration of the latter (see claim 8) and starting at pages 26-28 teach varying amounts of active agent employed, specific polymers, and preservatives. The document does not state the psilocybin being in an amorphous form.
GREENAN et al. teaches that various forms of psilocybin are known in the art including the recited and claimed amorphous forms (see abstract). Lastly, WO 2020/148442 teaches methods of preparing solid dispersions of known pharmaceuticals stating that amorphous forms of these dispersions are often pursued due to improving dissolution performance and dissolution rates over their crystalline form (see page 4 of document, lines 24-35). Thus based on these teaching, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to prepare the solid dispersion compositions described in WO 2021/003467 comprising the known amorphous forms of psilocybin due to their suspected advantageous properties. Thus the claimed compositions would have been considered obvious.
Dependent claims reciting specific weight percentages of components, polymer types not explicitly taught, additional excipients known in the art, and inherent characteristics regarding said compositions do not tip the scales towards patentability since this would have been viewed as routine optimization or inherent properties of an obvious composition. Generally, differences in these variables will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Applicants present several arguments and the examiner will respond to each point that is brought up by Applicant. Initially, Applicants attack the Greenan reference suggesting that due to the difficulty preparing the amorphous form (inferior properties), one skilled in the art would not have pursued this particular form for drug development. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Simply because the document described some difficulty in preparing the amorphous form of psilocybin does not discredit it as a potential drug candidate. In particular since the art teaches that amorphous forms of drugs have desirable properties and characteristics compared to their crystalline forms (see below, WO 2020/148442, page 4):
;
one skilled in the art would have pursued the amorphous form of a drug including psilocybin. WO 2020/148442 further describes methods of preparing amorphous solid dispersions of known pharmaceuticals that may have issues with dissolution performance and poor solubility which Applicants have admitted on record is problematic with amorphous psilocybin in their own disclosure (see page 2, lines 1-7, note that amorphous psilocybin crystallizes readily from the usually water soluble amorphous state).
WO 2020/148442 offers solutions to the issues regarding the amorphous form of psilocybin by preparing solid dispersions of amorphous drugs by improving dissolution performance and dissolution rates over their crystalline form (see page 4 of document, lines 24-35).
Applicants also argue that Arnold (WO 2021/003467) is deficient since it is only exclusively related to making solutions of psilocybin. The examiner respectfully disagrees again. The formulations disclosed in Arnold are not limited to nasal sprays or solutions but also includes tablets for oral administration of the latter (see claim 8). Thus Applicants are inappropriately limiting the scope of what the reference teaches generally.
Lastly, Applicants argue that the process of preparing amorphous solid dispersions as described in Lubda (WO 2020/148442) are not applicable to the instant claims since psilocybin and compounds of formula I are readily soluble in water. The examiner disagrees once again. The examiner points out to Applicant that the instant claims are not drawn to simply psilocybin and compounds of formula I but amorphous forms thereof. Once again as stated in the art and the instant specification, the amorphous form of psilocybin was known to possess poor dissolution performance and poor solubility (crystallizes readily from the usually water soluble amorphous state). Thus the teaching in Lubda is applicable to the recited amorphous form for improving these properties. Additionally Applicants’ arguments suggesting that the conditions described in Lubda for forming the claimed dispersions would degrade psilocybin due to the extreme conditions described therein are found unpersuasive. Applicants have not provided any evidence of record to support the alleged degradation issues. Additionally the document is not limiting to “a hot-melt extrusion process” for preparing these dispersions but teach a myriad of process such as spray-drying, utilization of solvents, etc. (see page 5, lines 1-8). One skilled in the art could have readily employed any of the prior art methods to obtain these solid dispersions. Therefore based on the preponderance of evidence provided by the examiner and lack thereof by Applicant, the claimed compositions would have been considered obvious due to the art detailing the preference of amorphous forms over their crystalline counterparts and means of preparing solid dispersions thereof for further improving their physical and chemical properties.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN E MCDOWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1624