DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1 and 3-18 are pending in the instant application. Applicant’s election of Group II, Claims 8-12 in the reply filed on 31 December 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 1, 3-7, and 13-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 31 December 2025.
Claim 2 was canceled by Applicant’s amendment. Claims 17 and 18 are newly added. Claims 1, 3, and 5-16 are amended. Claims 8-12 are being examined on the merits.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because all of the figures have either overlapping text in the titles and/or axis, or the axis title is covering the entire axis or the labels/numbers. This makes the figures difficult to read and interpret because the essential information is not legible.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 8 at line 1, the phrase “Process for” should instead read --A process for--. Appropriate correction throughout Claims 8-12 is required.
In Claim 8 at lines 2-3, the phrase “wherein the process comprising” should instead read either the phrase --wherein the process comprises-- or --the process comprising--.
In Claim 8 at line 8 (in step b), the phrase “with stirring in range” should instead read --while stirring in a range--.
In Claim 8 at line 8 (in step b), the phrase “for a period in a range” should instead read --for a period of time in a range--.
In Claim 12 at line 1, the phrase “The process to” should instead read --The process according to--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitations "the extract" and “the carrier.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein the maqui stem cells are previously dried,” however it is unclear when in the method “previously” occurs.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a concentration of the resulting mixture,” however it is unclear whether the concentration is referring to dry weight of the stem cells, the solvent, a particular component within the mixture, etc. Appropriate clarification is required.
All other claims depend directly or indirectly from rejected claims and are, therefore, also rejected under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) for the reasons set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zuñiga et al. (EP 3,398,607 A1) in view of Azmin et al. (Sep Purif Rev, 2016, 305-320).
The instant claims are as of record, drawn to a method for obtaining a composition comprising an extract of maqui stem cells comprising mixing in vitro cultured stem cells with water, ethanol, or a mixture thereof; incubating the mixture while stirring; separating the liquid extract; and combining the extract with a carrier.
Zuñiga et al. teach a production method for a composition comprising phenol extracts of Aristotelia chilensis (maqui) wherein in vitro cultures of meristematic (stem cell) explants of maqui were extracted with 25-85% ethanol using diffusion or maceration (mixing) techniques at a temperature of 20-70°C (Zuñiga et al., [0018]-[0020]; as required for instant Claim 8). Antioxidant capacity was determined using an ethanolic extract of maqui at a concentration of 0.1 g fresh/ml ethanol, or 10 w/v% (Zuñiga et al., [0021]; as required for instant Claims 8 and 10). The extract was additionally combined with canola oil (carrier) wherein the ethanolic extract (liquid phase) was dried in a rotary evaporator (Zuñiga et al., [0025]; as required for instant Claim 8).
Zuñiga et al. do not teach wherein the solvent is added gradually until the concentration of material in the solvent is relative to the dry weight of the material; stirring the mixture during incubation; or separation of the liquid phase via centrifugation or filtration.
Azmin et al., however, teach a variety of herbal processing and extraction techniques well-known to a skilled artisan. Azmin et al. teach that prior to extraction, harvested plants (e.g., meristematic extracts grown in vitro comprising stem cells) must be pre-processed, which includes drying to remove moisture for preservation, preventing bacterial activity, and restricting fungal growth (Azmin et al., Steps in Herbal Processing, page 307; as required for instant Claim 9). Azmin et al. also note that solvent system, solvent-to-herb ratio, particle sizes, temperature, duration, and agitation rate are all important parameters which can be determined via preliminary studies (Azmin et al., Steps in Herbal Processing, page 307). Separation a liquid phase comprising the extract is also discussed for various methods and can be conducted using a rotary evaporator (centrifugation; Azmin et al., Soxhlet Extraction, page 310; Marinated Extraction, page 311; Steam-distillation Extraction, page 311; Ultra High Pressure Extraction, page 312-313; as required for instant Claims 8 and 12).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the methods of Zuñiga et al. and Azmin et al. to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. Zuñiga et al. teaches extracts of in vitro cultures of meristematic (stem cell) explants of maqui, and a skilled artisan would be motivated to utilize the various methods of Azmin et al. to arrive at an optimized method for ethanolic extraction of maqui stem cells in order to obtain a composition. A skilled artisan could do so with a reasonable expectation of success because the methods of Azmin et al. are well-known in the art of herbal extraction and would be further motivated to arrive at an optimal extraction method due to the high antioxidant content and antibacterial properties of maqui (Zuñiga et al., [0012]-[0013]). Additionally, if not expressly taught by Zuñiga et al or Azmin et al., based upon the overall beneficial teaching provided by Azmin et al. with respect to optimization of extraction techniques in the manner disclosed therein, the adjustments of particular conventional working conditions (e.g., determining one or more suitable material to solvent concentrations by dry weight (instant Claim 8); stirring speed and incubation time (instant Claims 8 and 11); and drying temperature and time (instant Claim 9)) is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan.
With respect to the USC 103 rejections above, please note that the intended use of the claimed composition made via the claimed process (regenerative, antioxidant, protective, and repairing properties of the skin) does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is intrinsic to the composition reasonably suggested by the cited references, as a whole. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the prior art composition. In the instant case, the intended use does not create a structural difference, thus the intended use is not limiting (see, e.g., MPEP 2112).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Please note, since the Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing Applicants’ composition with the composition of the prior art, the burden is on applicant to show a novel or unobvious difference between the claimed product and the product of the prior art. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980), and “as a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith.” In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685,
688 (CCPA 1972).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/J.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1655
/AARON J KOSAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655